Friday, June 17, 2016

Former Minister Ajumogobia Shuns MEND Appointment As Negotiator

Former Minister of State, Petroleum Resources, Henry Ajumogobia, SAN, named by Movement for the Emancipation of the Niger Delta, MEND, as one of its mediators in the planned dialogue with the Federal Government, has rejected the appointment.

In a statement, he said: “My attention has been drawn to widespread reports in the media claiming that I had agreed to participate in negotiations with the Federal Government over the issue of attacks on oil installations in the Niger Delta on behalf of some of the alleged perpetrators of these actions or connected persons. This is not so.

“I wish to make it absolutely clear that I do not know the alleged perpetrators nor have I offered to serve as their representative in prospective discussions with the Federal Government in any capacity whatsoever.

“I was recently contacted by someone, who claimed to represent MEND. In that conversation, the caller asked if I would be willing to participate in an initiative to find ways to end the attacks on oil installations through dialogue towards restoring peace and stability in the region."

Vanguard

8 comments:

1. And what was your response to the caller?

2. Good move. Cos such it'll be bad publicity for such a fine gentleman...not forgetting is reputation too.

*Ghanaman signing out*

3. MEND is not in control of this, Niger Delta Avengers (a.k.a Tompolo) is

4. If na Jona de there you for gree sharp sharp make you fit negotiate your share! Now you take sense de draw body bc THIS IS CHANGE! Sense Peter! You wan form like say no be you with MEND de liaise b4. You and the likes of you, God is watching!

5. Why the side eye nah? The man those not want to involve himself, this Niger delta thing is serious trouble. Buhari could have left it the way it was,not everything need change