Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: EFCC Watches Over Ex-Customs Chief Dikko in Hospital

Monday, June 20, 2016

EFCC Watches Over Ex-Customs Chief Dikko in Hospital

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) is watching over a former Comptroller-General of Nigerian Customs Service(NCS), Abdullahi Inde  Dikko in a hospital in Abuja.

Dikko, who is being investigated over alleged N42billion fraud, has been in hospital since he surrendered to the EFCC for interrogation  last  Thursday.

A top source in the anti- graft commission, who spoke in confidence, said: “When Dikko reported at the EFCC, he was looking pale. It was obvious that his health was in bad shape.
“We interacted with him and relocated him to a hospital for treatment. From the first day, we allowed him to stay in hospital. Our operatives are only watching over him at the hospital.
“We need to set the records straight. He was never at any time detained in EFCC’s custody because of his frail health. But we are monitoring him in a hospital.”

Out of the total fraud sum Dikko is being grilled on the sources of funds with which he acquired a N2billion mansion at 1, Audu Ogbe Street, Jabi Abuja.
The anti-graft agency had been on the trail of Dikko since January 8 when its operatives stormed the posh residence of the ex-Customs boss.

Following search pressure, Dikko gave himself up on Thursday by responding to the outstanding invitation of the EFCC.

Looking pale, Dikko arrived at the EFCC’s headquarters at about 10am for interrogation which lasted about eight hours.

culled -thenation

30 comments:

1. Mtchewwww...they never fall ill before EFCC.

2. Get well soon oh, you have questions to answer and money to return

1. Yes! They should watch him like a hawk and monitor him like monitoring spirit! The guy na barawo ne!

3. Aaaaah you guys should better watch him closely o cause any attempt to lose this man means that a huge percentage of our funds will go foen with him...In fact y' all should better psmper him so he start writing down the location of the various loots

4. They will be very healthy when they are stealing... but when the day reckoning comes they will have one illness or the other. Make una no worry, God will disgrace you all.

1. It's the curse average nigerian put on their that's finally materialising. More to come. Watch this space

5. There is something that I don't understand, why is that some of them once they leave their office falls sick?

6. Why do they always fall ill when it's payback time?
    Mschewwwww

7. Pray he recovers fast so he can come and respond to the charges

8. Replies
    1. No. This particular guy has cancer

9. Please don't die.. We need our money!

10. Please don't die.. We need our money!

11. Why do they always fall sick once caught?Hiaaaa!

12. Replies
    1. This one no be witch-hunt since he is not from ur village, ba?

13. All em seasoned crooks. I remember how he orchestrated the organisation of various awards that was eventually bestowed on him. Amongst these numerous awards was the title of best Comptroller General Nigeria has ever had. Who remembers watching the numerous documentaries on his achievements?
    Only in Naija would someone leave office for a day and at the mention of probe or EFCC, they miraculously become sick. A person with a clear conscience fears no accusation.

1. My dear, He is the best CG Customs has ever had o.

14. Now he's on the verge of death, they say he was not in detention. Where was he taken to the hospital from?
    Ok, its not detention,
    Institutional custody.

15. The laws are clear on the time frame for detaining people and when they can be charged and put into proper prison custody and its for good reason. Dont bring a case against a man when you have not done proper investigation.
    Those telling me its to safeguard them from escape, i'll have you know that over 1 million citizens are in American watchlist. They live their normal lives, even commit more crimes. Some people like were put under financial surveillance for 15 years, look at the Madoff fraud for example. By the time they will nail you, you can have no where to run and your trial will start immediately.
    In Nigeria EFCC takes people in custody, torture them or keep them more than the constitutionally allowed time, file fake charges, later upgrade the charges. The men go to court, say they were under duress or go on appeal where the whole case will be thrown out for being tainted and compromised or alternatively, they go on plea bargain like Ibru, keep a stash of the money with them, agree to release peanuts and get 1 day in prison sentence(wich the EFCC agree to because mehn, these people dont have evidence and it can take 6years to finish the matter), the people walk almost free, everyone blames the judges and judiciary. The money they surrendered embezzled by EFCC and govt again. Next 4 years, the new govt begins another probe into missing funds and missing recovered funds and another set of court parading and waste of tax payers' money. Merry go round.

If the system of surveillance, forensic science, detention and investigation cannot be upgraded, nothing. No progress can be made. I wont stress this topic again, lol. Watch it play out

1. You like comparing nigeria to America like you don't know what's up. Is it not in this same naija that a man was given a 3 million naira fine for embezzling 25 BILLION naira or there abouts? One of the igbinedions.

You're an intelligent person but you sometimes choose to throw logic out the window and talk like nigeria is not nigeria. If you don't reside here then it's understandable.

Dikko has been wanted for months but only turned himself last week and was taken to the hospital the same day or the next. He has cancer and it's in its late stages with the disease now beyond being curable, I guess that's why he decided to submit himself and see what happens.

2. America and Nigeria are 2 different countries with different factors affecting each, you can't use the same indices to judge both. You also cannot substantiate any of the claims you've made as you're not part of the investigation. Justice doesn't follow public opinion, because you have damned an individual in your mind doesn't make the person guilty or culpable. No government or agency has the resources to surveil a single individual for 15 years and that didn't happen in Bernie Madoff's case...check your facts

3. Abeg shut up with ur meaningless epistle. Where's the sense in this?

16. They steal and steal but suddenly fall ill when they come under the radar.

17. Tooor!
    Once they are nabbed,they fall sick.
    42B???
    I just have an instant cold.

18. Say what you may about Dikko but one thing can never be taken away; HE WAS THE BEST CG NCS EVER HAD.
    He upgraded Customs in many ways but yes he was a thief.

19. Make person no died for EFFC hand. B 4 the worse will happen in nigeria. Cos too much of everything is bad.