The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission says due to the current anti-corruption war, looters have stopped keeping money in banks and have resorted to storing cash in their abandoned properties.
The acting Chairman of the EFCC, Mr. Ibrahim Magu, said this at a workshop titled, the ‘Role of Professionals in the Fight Against Corruption’ in Abuja on Friday.
Magu said, “People are now scared of keeping monies in banks, as it can be traced easily. Monies are now kept in abandoned houses in the country.”
He also charged bureau de change operators and financial institutions to desist from being used as conduit pipes to launder money.
According to him,” BDCs move billions of naira in a day and there is no proper documentation of money laundered. I appeal to the BDCs to stop that, as we will begin to prosecute bureau de change operators to serve as deterrent. Bankers are also involved in corrupt acts, as they don’t carry out due diligence.’’
Magu charged professional bodies in the country to join hands with the anti-graft agency in the fight against corruption and economic crimes.
He added, “Instead of conniving with people to launder the proceeds of corruption, I beg you to join hands with the EFCC to fight corruption.
“Many professionals celebrate criminality by doing a lot to foster corruption, which adds more to money laundering. I don’t intend to criticise the work of professionals, but to solicit their support in order to make Nigeria better for the younger generation.’’
The EFCC boss further revealed that the commission would soon be going after accounting firms that collaborate with bankers to steal government funds.
Punch Reportage
Lol, I'm laughing real hard
ReplyDelete*Larry was here*
Pray i just mistakenly stumble on a ghana must go full of USD abandoned by one of these looters in one of my project sites
DeleteSomeborry shout amen!
Looters is now a name in this location called Nigeria. Why tell us? Abi you dey tell us so we go go look abandoned house? Who find should keep. Fools!
DeleteAmeeeen emperor
DeleteGood to know. From now on, I will start searching all the abandoned houses in my neck of the woods. Who knows, I fit find plenty dollars. Blog Visitors, get ready for a shoki rain. It is our stolen money. Finders are keepers.
ReplyDeleteOkay ooooo @ Anon6:59 but be careful ooooo cos they have dogs and voodoo in those kind of properties!
DeleteNa only dogs n voodoosn what about the high tension electric wires wey dey deir fence, e go just chop your blockos comot
DeleteKikikikikikikikkikikikiikkkiki
Lol. The fear of EFCC is the beginning of wisdom in handling money.
ReplyDeleteYour comment will be visible after approval.
Odiegwu
ReplyDeleteNa today? Them full Abuja
ReplyDeleteUntil I hear a looter has been jailed den I'll know EFCC is real.Till den bunch of Mediocres all of them.
ReplyDeleteThe BDC part is so real. I know a lady that always look for avenue to buy dollars inflows last year, any amount you called it is fine by her and she doesn't buy small amount, the least she ever bought is 100million dollars in 3days, I always wonder who are customers are but now nothing again as no money to launder.
DeleteThe least she ever bought is 100 million dollar and u know her.
@Jennah keep talking anyhow. U think u are in your bedroom?
C'mon girl
DeleteNo let EFCC to look for u o o
The internet never forgets or forgive
@ Jenna, all you do is to know of a lady who guys dollars, what do you do? Please go make frds with her so that she can help your miserable gossip life, idiot!! You think efex are saints,they are evil tools used by their frustrated master Buhari
ReplyDelete@ Jenna, all you do is to know of a lady who guys dollars, what do you do? Please go make frds with her so that she can help your miserable gossip life, idiot!! You think efex are saints,they are evil tools used by their frustrated master Buhari
ReplyDeleteSince you have this information@efcc, go after them and employ people to search all abandoned or uncompleted buildings owned by them and get all the money asap. Am tired of all these talks everyday without any headway mcheeeeeeeeeeew.