''....But we do not want you to be uninformed brothers about those who are asleep, that you may not grieve as others do who have no hope. Therefore, mourn not, cry not, grieve not; but rather give thanks to God for the life lived,”
these were the soothing words of Pastor Biodun Alimi, the officiating minister
during the funeral programme for Adesola Olubola Ogunmefun and Funmilayo Odusina, the two students of the University of Lagos who drowned at the Elegushi beach earlier this week.
Despite the advice from the man of God, family members and friends of the two young women could not hold back their tears, as they wept bitterly while paying their last respect.
Their remains were retrieved from the Lagos General Hospital, Marina, Lagos and moved to the Private Vaults Garden, a section of the Ikoyi Cemetry in Lagos. It was a solemn environment as deafening silence enveloped the entire area. And the people, all wearing mournful faces, started arriving in groups of two and more as the mourners found their way to the already set grave.
As the lone voice of the officiating minister boomed out, it reverberated far and struck an emotional button in the families of the deceased, as they broke down in tears.
At exactly 12pm, the remains of the two were simultaneously committed to mother earth with their graves not far apart from each other. Their friends, all wearing yellow T-shirts that had the pictures of Adesola and Funmi boldly plastered on it, wore long faces as they tried to cope with their loss.
It will be recalled that the Post-Graduate Students of the University of Lagos, Funmi, 24 and Adesola 27 died last Sunday while celebrating the birthday of a friend a Elugushi Beach, Lagos.
While consoling the bereaved families, the officiating minister, who spoke on the transiency of, said the bereaved must be grateful for the fact that the dead knew God before their demise, saying that a life without Jesus was a waste.
He said death was an inevitable phenomenon for all and sundry and urged people to make positive impacts on others and leave indelible mark as they go about their daily lives. According to him, though their time on earth was short, they made their marks in the lives family members, friends and colleagues.
The Nation cullage
*Really sad*
May God tested their souls in peace
ReplyDeleteSo sad! God pls comfort the families! Rip ladies
DeleteHmmmm,so sad may jehovah God comfort their families.
DeleteThis is extremely sad. No soothing words will suffice it to comfort their loved ones. Just like that? I beg the person whom they went to celebrate at the beach will never forgive herself.
Delete*rest*
ReplyDeleteRip babes
ReplyDeleteSo sad.
ReplyDeletePeople be careful.
Some water bodies have spirits that drag u in with so much force.
Some people aren't meant to even go near water especially if you are from the marine world.
This life is full of mysterious happenings.
Cos I look like a mermaid I've been told never to visit water bodies or even play near.
May God protect all the youngsters with bright future especially the mermaid looking ones.
Amen
Dear mammy water look alike,don't you bath? Just asking ooooo!! No harm biko
DeleteAre you serious right now? Lol you look like a mermaid? Do you have fin like legs or?
DeleteHehehehe..M-amie d mammy water welcome back dear..We have missed u so much here...Ofoduziri Ezemoney and Okija wife.
DeleteThis is indeed very sad but God knows best. May their gentle souls Rest in the Bossom of the lord.
ReplyDeleteRIP
ReplyDeleteThis is so painful.
ReplyDeleteRIP to the dead.
This is so sad mehnnnn,i feel bad for their parents. May we not loose our lives in the process of celebrating others. Rip ladies.
ReplyDeleteMay they RIp. So sad
ReplyDeleteThat's really sad...continue to rest in peace
ReplyDeleteEyahhh
ReplyDeleteIt's well
RIP
ReplyDeleteWhat a painful demise. May their souls find solace in the bossom of the Almighty, and may their families find strength to bear this irreparable loss.
ReplyDeleteMay dere gentle souls RIP! Life is all vanity.
ReplyDeleteMy condolences. May God grant their families the fortitude to bear the loss.
ReplyDeleteSo sad.
ReplyDeleteChai! their friend that organized the party might never forgive herself.
ReplyDeleteExactly
DeleteSo sad my condolences.
ReplyDeleteIt was a very sad event. Cant believe we wont see u again Sola. Sunmibola, the courage and strength u have ehn. No be here. I pray God continues to strengthen u for ur folks n Bola.
ReplyDeleteIt is well. Its tge saddest news this year. Sola, im not worried cos i know u r def in Gods arms.
i have been thinking lately,y exactly do pple go to beaches to celebrate birthdays?
ReplyDeleteABout a year and half ago,a student of unilag also Eniola Abiola had gone to a birthday parry at d beach but never returned,is d beach now a party venue?
this generation.There is more to it than the eye can admit.
Beach parties
I won't even agree to organise a pool party not to talk of a beach party which is all the more dangerous
Deletei have been thinking lately,y exactly do pple go to beaches to celebrate birthdays?
ReplyDeleteABout a year and half ago,a student of unilag also Eniola Abiola had gone to a birthday parry at d beach but never returned,is d beach now a party venue?
Beach parties
i have been thinking lately,y exactly do pple go to beaches to celebrate birthdays?
Beach parties
Rip ladies.
ReplyDeleteI pray that God comfort both families.
Yes the beach can be used as a party venue if you don't know....just say your RIP and leave...
ReplyDeleteRIP to the dead