Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Dogara Says Reps Members In Sex Scandal Innocent Until Proven Guilty

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Dogara Says Reps Members In Sex Scandal Innocent Until Proven Guilty

Having failed to keep the allegations of sexual misconduct levelled against three of his colleagues by the US government under cover, the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Yakubu Dogara,in the early hours of Saturday took to social media to comment on the allegations.

A statement issued by his spokesman Turaki Hassan, said the Speaker who responded to questions on the allegations, urged Nigerians to refrain from passing judgment and wait for the outcome of the investigation by the parliament.

According to Dogara,  “judgment can only be passed when an allegation is proven”.

Apparently expressing doubt in the veracity of the claim made by the US Ambassador to Nigeria, Mr. James Entwistle in the petition containing the allegations, the Speaker opined that “as ambassadors of the House and indeed, the entire country, the members in the middle of the scandal would have known not to bring dishonour to the institution they represent”.

He however, vowed that the House would conduct an investigation into the allegations, stating that: “together with the US Embassy in Nigeria, we will get to the bottom of this matter”.

The Speaker further explained that apart from the letter, no evidence had been forwarded to his office, and that there can be no conviction without a trial.
Dogara also disclosed that the lawmakers have given him assurances that they are prepared to defend themselves at their own cost.

Speaking on the attempted rape allegation, Dogara noted that it was not alluded to in the letter he received saying; “We await the result of the investigation into the matter”.

The bubble revealing the scandal had busted following failed attempts by the Speaker’s office to handle the matter in-house by copying each of the affected lawmakers the letter to respond.

However, when the reporter who broke the story got wind of the letter from Lagos, he reached out to the Speaker’s Media Aide who denied it’s existence, not knowing that the reporter already had it in his possession.

Ignorant of his source and directive, the Speaker’s Aide was said to have ?called the reporter’s superiors in Lagos with a view to blocking the story from coming out, only to see him later in the Speaker’s office in company of the House Spokesman, Abdulrazak Namdas and Hon. Mark Gbillah who’s one of the accused lawmakers.
culled -independentng.com

*The men MIGHT be INNOCENT....no one has thought of that!

16 comments:

1. Well, that's what our laws say
    These politicians sha...
    They wanted to gbensh oyibo tohtoh before coming back to naija.
    Remember back in the day when i used to arrange uni babes for my politician boss and his friends...
    No wonder they still love me till this day

1. We sent them out as ambassadors, and they couldn't stand above reproach. They smeared our image with tar and came back. See their faces. There are thousands of diplomats, Civil servants, even students who travel yearly and represent us well. Yet only 10 of u travelled and 3 showed us how dishonourable they were. Stella, so u mean that in 17 years of democracy and with so many senators and members that have been traveling to US, they just decide to pick on these 3? No, it just shows that we elected poorly bred idiots to represent us.

2. Abegi, they go dere and think they can behave the way they behave here, d US have Zero tolerance to stuff like dis, stupid old men.

3. They are not! Shameless men.
    Just because they happen to be in power and anything is obtainable in Nigeria, they thought they could get away with it in the US.

Silly horny men!

4. Either innocent, guilty or how good the American investigators are, they're entitled to fair hearing.

Your comment will be visible after approval.

5. Innocent until proven guilty truly.
    Alot of people have suffered cos of being branded guilty umtil proven innocent.

6. Yes pls, I'm in total support of this. I do not trust white women one bit. Maybe they weren't paid as much as expected and so they came up with this.

If the US can't come up with solid proof, they can go to hell with their accusations.

1. See hw dumb u are. Olosho mentality. They weren't paid enough and they made it up to accuse 3 men at a time? U r dumb as fuck

7. What happened to the Nigerian "guilty until proven innocent" norm?
    I hate this country!

8. They are shameless randy law breakers

9. O! So now dey knw wat d law says?,buh wil acuse odas for being guilty to thr aledged crimes.. Mtcheeeew

10. There is no smoke without fire. They are guilty.they are just trying to cover face.

1. Were u there? Did u see them commit the act? Did they defend themselves in court and lost??

You Nigerians are bunch of shameless people. If this case was against their people in d US, will they rush and label them guilty without a court hearing?

Don't u people have sense????

Nna, I'm seriously pissed at d useless comments I'm reading even from the so called educated lots.

Bunch of educated illiterates.

Same reason half of u will hear archaic and spell it hechaic.

Nonsense people.

11. Nhmmm.
    This one dogara is saying is his business. At least they have been banned from entering the U.S, that's punishment enough. Randy fools, behaving as if they were created to fuck!