Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Doctor Who Ran Abuja Hospital With Fake Certificate For 10years Nabbed.

Wednesday, June 15, 2016

Doctor Who Ran Abuja Hospital With Fake Certificate For 10years Nabbed.

Investigations by the Medical and Dental Council of Nigeria (MDCN) led to police arresting a man who ran a private hospital for 10 years in Gwarimpa area of Abuja, where he offered surgeries and antenatal care, using forged certificates.

Victor Moffat Akpan was the owner of Luna Maternity and Surgery, an outfit he opened in 2006 as a “surgeon” using a forged practice licence—four years after MDCN refused to grant him licence to practice as a homeopath.
He's understood to have delivered by caesarean section a set of conjoined twins who later died at National Hospital in 2013.

Dr Henry Okwuokenye, head of inspectorate unit at MDCN, who had been investigating Akpan, said the council did not grant him a homeopathic practice licence because the school he claimed to have graduated from in Enugu was unapproved to train students in alternative medicine.

Akpan told police during questioning on Friday that in 2002 he paid N15,000 to one Mike Nwagbara, then an administrative official with the University of Nigeria Teaching Hospital in Enugu state, to get a forged MDCN practice certificate.

The certificate, exclusively seen by Daily Trust, used a folio number—unique to every doctor—registered to a Dr Tuoyo Awani, a 1995 medicine and surgery graduate of University of Benin.

Some documents also thought forged show Akpan to have interned at a Calvary International Hospital in Enugu in 1996, done his National Youth Service Corps with Prisons in 1997, attended an update course by the West African College of Surgeons in 2001 and a postgraduate course on the “scientific basis of obstetrics and gynaecology in 2002.”

But his 1990 Senior School Certificate from Eastern Nsit Secondary School, Odot, showed he did not make an acceptable credit in any of his six subjects: all were P7 and P8, apart from an A3 in Geography.

Investigations show Akpan presented the forged documents to unsuspecting officials of Private Health Establishment and Monitoring Committee (PHEMC), which regulates private health outfits in Abuja, to get Luna registered.

His big patient load goes back to 2007, and his clinic expanded to hire five staff, working in a converted apartment where he performed caesarean sections, removed fibroids and delivered babies from women.

dailytrust reportage

36 comments:

1. Chai some people are just heartless. What happened to honour and integrity. People always forget that a good name is better than silver or gold.

1. Only in Nigeria you see people looking for certificate, obviously this man hasn't killed anybody and he has been doing a good job even better than those with the certificate.
      They better realease him he is not the cause of our poor health sector he has been doing a good job.

2. Abi oh Rolex make them free the man

3. See how igbo people think? They should release him??? What is wrong is wrong! Maybe you should go there & find out how many have died there.

4. Moron I am not Ibo or igbo

2. I did the sign of the cross after I read this. God save us all from quacks like this.

1. Abegi! Make we hear.
      He's far better than some doctors with Certificates. I know what I am saying.

3. I said before and I will continue saying it that most medical practitioners in Nigeria are fake!...
    Most of them are drop outs from medical school...
    God will continue exposing them one by one!...

4. Dear lord he must have killed a lot of ignorant folks and coincidentally saved some. Chai Naija o where anything goes.Then one two goody shoes will tell me not to love money hehehe ..wetin go carry person wey get money go this kind make shift health centre tufia...lock him up and throw away the keys unam ikot

5. This man can kill ooo.
    This is how women die daily from the Ill hands of fake practitioners parading themselves everywhere..

6. Shantelle's Empire15 June 2016 at 14:28

Omg omg....whats that on his palm @ pic2? Is that fibriod or feotus?

7. Replies
    1. That is a billion dollar question. I mean this dude didn't even attend a university. How the FUCK was he able to that?

8. Please I have just found out that I am pregnant. Does anyone know any good and affordable hospital I can register with? I stay at Ajah

1. Safeway maternity sangotedo,thats the cheapest.Doren nd Budo u can't afford!

2. Lagos island maternity hospital.

3. Lagos Island maternity ooo! 👌

9. Hey!!! And sm1 took bribe 4rm him to allow him kill people. Nigeria which way 4ward biko nu

10. This post jst brought tears to my eyes...dis greedy idiot has killed many innocent souls..
    On d night i deliverd my princess in march a woman was rushed into d labour ward..happened dat she was already due for delivery buh she started bleeding dat morning
    She was rushed to dis guys hosp...instead of dem to tell her dey couldnt handle her case dey kept her dere n she was bleeding...after some hrs dey refered her to gwarimpa gen hosp...frm gwarimpa dey refered here to wuse gen hosp
    Frm wuse dey refered her to fmc..
    Dat was already around 10pm..someone dat has been bleeding since ooo
    Was at fmc she entered active labour n within 10mins she gave birth to a dead child
    D doc was like if only she had come few hrs earlier dat beautiful baby would have been saved
    Can never forget dt gory experience of watching a woman give birth to a dead baby...thank God he has been caught..

1. Aunty how did you know all the details? Did you follow the woman as she was moving from hospital to hospital? And which FMC( federal medical center) is in abuja? Only know about FSH jabi. Thank God he has been exposed..

2. FSH jabi is now FMC Abuja. Read to understand. She delivered her baby in the same hospital. Don't u think she would have heard the details from the woman? Hian!

3. Don't mind her, we're you there? So why didn't gwarinpa and wuse general take care of her why didn't you call them out too, wetin this man do inside.

11. I can imagine the number lives that would have lost through him. May God save us.

12. This one would have killed so many people mistakenly ooo for 10 good years God have mercy.

1. My dear not mistakenly O. This is worst than witchcraft. And they abound. All these one bedroom flat clinics. Just that govt hospitals have their plenty issues too. And Bubu went abroad for ear infection. After. All d empty promises. That's for those who believed anyway.

THE DEBT
      Chike stared into the photograph with a smile on his face.

"You guys look so good together"He said still staring at the picture.

"The Photographer was fantastic."came Edidiong's voice from the kitchen.

Felix rolled his eyes and whispered,
      "The idiot kept on staring at her cleavage like some lustful beast with a hard on the size of Jurassic world.Dude was supposed to be a professional for Christ sakes" continue reading

13. I hope he gets the right judgement

14. The details are not too clear,anyway God will help us in the country.

15. The details are not too clear,well God will help us in this country.

16. Nigeria my country where anything goes. One need to beware of those private hospitals

17. Everyone that helped him must be arrested. It's people like this that tarnish the name of the profession daily. Everyone else involved must be arrested also and charged to court.
    MDCN your work is not just to collect money from us. There should be constant verification of all practising doctors and clinics. Not just the big ones. Because if this guy was caught 10years ago he would never have gotten where he did.

1. Inspectorate of the Ministry of HEALTH and EDUCATION

DO YOUR JOB!!!!