Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Diezani Reacts To Al Jazeera’s Documentary And Says She Is Dressed As A Common Criminal Without Court Conviction..

Tuesday, June 14, 2016

Diezani Reacts To Al Jazeera’s Documentary And Says She Is Dressed As A Common Criminal Without Court Conviction..

''Many times, my detractors have gotten away with these irresponsible smear campaigns because they have become accustomed to my characteristic approach of silence in the face of these callous attacks'' -Diezani

Immediate-past Minister of Petroleum Resources, Mrs. Diezani Alison-Madueke, has reacted to a recent documentary by Al Jazeera, in which it was alleged that her piece of property in Abuja worth $18m and her jewelry worth $2m, have been seized by Nigeria’s anti-graft agency, the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC. 

In a statement to Vanguard on Monday, Diezani decried that the report represents everything ridiculous and despicable about professional media practice and global best practices in the war against corruption, adding that it was the latest attempt to give a dog a bad name in order to hang it.

She said: “My attention has been drawn to a report by Al Jazeera, which was released on Monday as a testament to the effectiveness of Nigeria’s Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) in its war against corruption. “In the video report, which has been widely circulated in the social media, there are claims about me owning a property in Abuja allegedly worth $18 million. 

The report, which represents everything ridiculous and despicable about professional media practice and global best practices in the war against corruption, is the latest attempt to give a dog a bad name in order to hang it. “Clips of jewelry allegedly worth over $2 million were also copiously displayed as if to feed the cravings of an audience gratified with the notion that every wealthy Nigerian is corrupt. 

“This will not be the first time calculated attempts have been made to demonise and damage my reputation in the public space. Many times, my detractors have gotten away with these irresponsible smear campaigns because they have become accustomed to my characteristic approach of silence in the face of these callous attacks. “The latest in the string of propaganda attacks launched against my person since I left government as Nigeria’s Petroleum Minister is this Al Jazeera report, which without any court conviction anywhere in the world attempts to dress Diezani Alison Madueke in the garb of a common criminal. 

“This, to say the least, is the height of journalistic brigandage and a sheer mockery of Nigeria’s anti-corruption war before the eyes of the world who are watching and asking if the war against corruption is a circus show where suspects are prosecuted and sentenced on the pages of newspapers and video blogs without anything as remotely in the semblance of a trial in the courts of law. “When did it become a crime to own a property in Nigeria? 

When did it become a crime for a woman of my status to have in her possession, jewelry? Jewelry, which women all across the world, including the woman selling tomatoes in Bodija market have in abundance in their closets? In which court of law, anywhere in the world was I prosecuted by the EFCC and found guilty of corruption? “With all sense of modesty, I say this only for posterity and for the records. I have strived within my means and the blessings of God to live a decent and accomplished life. I studied architecture in England and obtained a bachelor’s degree from Howard University, United States of America in 1992. 

When I returned to Nigeria that same year, I joined Shell Petroleum Development Corporation. “In 2002, I obtained an MBA at Cambridge University, United Kingdom. In April 2006, I was appointed by Shell as the company’s first female Executive Director in Nigeria. In July 2007, I was appointed by the late President Umaru Musa Yar’Adua as Minister of Transport. 

“The next year in December 2008 I became Minister of Mines and Steel Development. In April 2010, I was appointed as Minister for Petroleum Resources and served in that capacity till May 2015. During this period as Petroleum Minister, I had the honour of serving Nigeria and representing her in the Organization of Oil Exporting Countries (OPEC) where I was elected first female President. “All through my career, I have strived to maintain a record of hard work, integrity and excellence, giving my best to society, because my parents raised me in the consciousness that a man or woman’s greatness is defined not by the amount of wealth they have acquired but the impact of their service to God and humanity. “Coming at such a critical time in my life when I am battling cancer, this poorly executed propaganda bares on its face like tribal marks, a clearly malicious attempt to victimize an innocent woman in what appears an exaggerated plot to validate and give credibility to the anti-corruption crusade under Nigeria’s new regime. People who are battling cancer or those who have lost their loved ones to this medical condition understand what I am going through at this time. 

“This is what makes me ponder at the cold-heartedness of those who will go any length to defame and destroy in the name of propaganda. What happened to our shared humanity?,” asked Diezani. Continuing, she said: “I have absolute regard for the law and believe that people who have breached the laws that govern societies should be made to face the wrath of the law. But in a civilized society, a responsible government owes its citizens absolute commitment to the principles of rule of law, equity, fairness and justice.

I have been wrongfully and maliciously maligned and those behind this reckless action know it.

“I leave them to posterity, their conscience and above all the Almighty God who is the final judge of all.” 

*Hmmmmm,if only this woman will break her code of silence and talk and put some of these allegations to rest.If you are innocent,name those who are responsible for what they are accusing you of please....The amount mentioned is always so shocking that one wonders how this is possible *tongue in cheek*

49 comments:

1. But shebi she and her family denied this cancer ish before? The seat is getting hotter and the once denied cancer has been accepted to be eating her. Hmn... what other denial will turn around to be agreed as true? We sit and watch.

2. If she get cancer e concern you?why most she tell you. The malaria way you get last week did you tell us? What of the STD u been get last year you tell us? So a woman can't be successful again? Am happy she is coming out to speak up now. Una fashola, Amechi and co. And this babe no be mate! Even Tinubu check her records, I'm one Nigerian that stands by her till she is tried and found guilty.

2. APC and their lies,propaganda and deceit!...
    I pity gullible Nigerians that they are brainwashing!...
    They are using all these stories to cover up their failures!...
    Shame!...

1. Oh shattap! Stupid goat

2. My cheap ass short temper lesbian. How market?

3. D unloyal married woman deceiving young girls how market

3. So, our communal resources you mine and steal.

4. If u are innocent, come to Nigeria and prove it, criminal.

1. So they can her like mko or do efcc arrest

2. God bless you @ angelray4sdk! You just wrote what I was about to write. Exactly! She should come to Nigeria and repeat what she just told vanguard newspaper! She is part of the constipation that Nigeria is suffering from ! Rubbish!

5. Thiefy thiefy OLE

You be thief, I no be thief
    You be Ole, I no be ole
    You be armed robber, I no be armed robber.

1. No mind am... thief thief Madueke.
      Thief thief woman, may God punish you and all your geneations.

6. And she goes "When did it become a crime for a woman of my status to have in her possession, jewelry? Jewelry, which women all across the world, including the woman selling tomatoes in Bodija market have in abundance in their closets?"

Madam Diezillions, the difference is that those market women's jewelries which they have in abundance are 'rawu-rawu'. If you add all, then fit no reach 20k.

The jewelries you posses are fine gold, 100% gold-plated accessoriesn raw diamonds, worth millions of dollars. You dig? That my dear is the reason why you are going to be redressed shortly in an orange jumpsuit.

1. Orange jumpsuit and a government bangle (handcuffs) since she loves jewelries so much. Kikikikiiki

7. She remembers there are women in Bodija that sells Tomatoes. Wow!

I read d headline,saw "Dressed.....

And rushed to see if the Vera Wang fitsπŸ˜‚

Chai. A part of me now feels bad. I am not like this o. Kikikikikikikiki.

1. You're such a silly being. You hubby must always be in fits of laughter. I love your wits. Who wouldn't love an orange jumpsuit by sister Vera

2. LMAO @ Sr Vera.
      James' paddy u sef get am for body. Lol

Anther thing that's making me laugh is that she asked " What happened to our shared humanity"

Hello!!!
      *waves @ Teddy*

3. Atheists stepbrother14 June 2016 at 20:16

Shoki 10 to 12 Naija time

8. Talk or keep quiet for ever. This has been going on now for sometimes. Diezani please go and clear your name. We know APC are liars.

9. Welcome to the buhari led govt. But madam u sef no try at all. U are an uncommon criminal. Lmao

10. The question is what would Al Jazeera gain smearing her name? Money, fame or popularity? Aljazeera is bankrolled by one of the richest people and nation on earth. They are reputed for investigative journalism and more so very popular in the world with wide audience. I hate it when African leaders fail and try to hide under Witch-hunt.

11. Why would anybody address her a common criminal? There is nothing common about her abeg, the media should take the hint and address her as a rich crook though innocent till proven.

12. All I feel is pity for her but den...,

13. that igbo girl14 June 2016 at 12:37

ok lets forget corruption for a minute and take a look at this woman's qualifications....damnnnnnn her CV be giving me life

1. With that do people think she can't afford the purest of gold

They should her for the court to convince

14. Madam why not sue Federal Government and EFCC ..............
    kikikikikikikikikikiki

15. But es ma, did you steal or not? Are you ready to swear with Ayelala?

16. This woman should be hiding herself in shame with the kind of embarrassment she's cause this country. If she wasn't involved in fraudulent activities, who will be bold enough to address her as a "common criminal"

1. Don't mind this stupid fantastically corrupt common criminal.

17. Smh, so knows that there women in bodija market that sells tomatoes and have jewellery. But she doesn't know they can't be compared to her own jewellery collection? Pls madam, let the law take its cause like u said. If u are guilty, u will surely pay the price!

18. You don't need to be convicted. We all know u ain't clean. The media court has tried and convicted you already. Don't know why I don't pity this woman one bit

19. Your husband passed the baton of stealing to you, the only problem was you became greedy and insatiable.. Come home and face EFCC nnem when tbey arw through with you in the UK.

20. Madam diezani I pity you but you have to come and account for it

21. Don't blame her after all stealing wasn't a crime during her time as a minister according to her former boss.
    She is absolutely right. She is not a thief, she is a saint.

22. "What happened to our shared humanity?,” asked Diezani

Madam, you should have asked yourself this same question when u were in power and untouchable not just now in the midst of all d huge allegations staring u in d face.
    I never knew u were aware that there were some women like u selling pepper in Bodija market just to survive while u and ur cohorts were carting away billions of dollars. God may seem silent but HE sees all. Now in ur present state, u suddenly compare urself to those women who u never thought about when you had d chance of making an impact. Pls show us one bodija pepper selling woman that has the kinda jewelleries u're talking about.

Ti oba aye o ba le mu e, Oba oke nko? Pity? I do not feel anything of such for u.

We all know the saying.......there's an atom of truth in every rumour. Even ur boss, GEJ is no longer denying d corruption that characterized his government, so what's ur point Dieziani?

23. the women in Bodija market do not buy jewelry worth $600,000, the women in Bodija market who you have aptly compared yourself know the dignity in legitimate work and the value of money that they genuinely have worked and toiled for. When you schemingly played the cancer card we pitied you since you read blogs I would suggest that in future you do not compare your self to the Nigerian woman working and toiling legitimately to earn her keep because that will not earn you any PR points. The woman in Bodija market is the woman who sells fish with dignity and honesty to train her son until he becomes a graduate she is no criminal, since you care so much about posterity here is how they will remember you, your legacies are "okpolor eyed" "ole" "liar"

1. .I'm soliciting for help as I have come to
      swallow the
      humble pie and beg here. I graduated from the university recently and
      unfortunately I'm having an extra year. All effort to come up with the
      tuition fee for the extra year hasn't been successful and school will
      soon resume. I'm on my knees, Kind hearted BV's should please help me
      out as I have no other means of getting the fees now. The little I
      have gather is no where close to half the fees. Please help me. I can
      be reach on sundaimykhail@gmail.com thanks

24. the women in Bodija market do not buy jewelry worth $600,000, the women in Bodija market who you have aptly compared yourself know the dignity in legitimate work and the value of money that they genuinely have worked and toiled for. When you schemingly played the cancer card we pitied you since you read blogs I would suggest that in future you do not compare your self to the Nigerian woman working and toiling legitimately to earn her keep because that will not earn you any PR points. The woman in Bodija market is the woman who sells fish with dignity and honesty to train her son until he becomes a graduate she is no criminal, since you care so much about posterity here is how they will remember you, your legacies are "okpolor eyed" "ole" "liar"

1. Your mother's breast milk did not go in vain.. You get sense!

25. This woman's pedigree!!!
    Dayuuuum.

Ma'am, I raise my cap for you. Respect!

Apart from Family,if further boasting my CV is the only other thing I achieve,i will be the happiest woman alive!

26. Bloody rogue,you are a shame to womanhood,if you are as innocent as you claim,a western educated lady such as yourself should know that you can resort to the court and file charges for libel and xter assassination.And that will be a great pointer towards your innocence, not the crocodile tears n stupid press releases your putting up

27. May you and all your generations die a painful death Diezani, but may you suffer first before you die.
    All those Nigerians that died because they could not afford common healthcare because you stole our countries money, may their spirits haunt you for the rest of your short miserble life.

28. Did you think about "shared humanity" when you were sharing our money with your brothers.
    Thunder strike you and your cancer riddened body.
    Come and cure that cancer. Spirit will send tripple diseases your way.
    Then you will know that MAN is SPIRIT.

29. Somebody please slap this woman for me.

1. Lmao if only you can give me T-fare I don run this errand finish.

BTW is it police slap, mopol slap or Army slap you want me to give her? which one pls indicateπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

Na joke I dey o.runaway#

30. Replies
    1. Phd in GREED was ommitted from the cv. Kikikikikiki.