A diamond-encrusted crocodile-skin Hermes handbag with white gold details has broken the record for the world’s most expensive ever sold at auction, fetching nearly $300,000 at a Hong Kong sale.
The rare Himalaya Niloticus Crocodile Diamond Birkin 30 went to an unknown phone bidder late Monday for HK$2.32 million ($298,655), beating a pre-sale estimate of $2 million, the auction house Christie’s said.
“It was the world record price for any handbag sold at auction,” Bingle Lee, a Hong Kong-based spokesman for Christie’s, told AFP.
Designer handbags are increasingly seen as investment opportunities and are the latest craze for collectors, taking global auction houses by storm and scoring record prices.
The new record beat one set last year, also in Hong Kong, when a fuchsia-coloured Hermes bag sold for $222,912.
The handmade bag — described by the London-based auctioneers as the “rarest, most sought-after” — is encrusted with diamonds, while the buckle and trademark mini Hermes padlock are made of 18 carat white gold.
“It is believed that only one or two of the Diamond Himalayas are produced each year, globally, making it one of the lowest production runs for handbags,” Christie’s said in a statement issued before the sale.
The bag was made in 2008 and is from Hermes’ iconic “Birkin” series named after actress and singer Jane Birkin, who was born in Britain and lives in France.
A smaller Himalaya Niloticus Crocodile Diamond Birkin 25 handbag will go under the hammer on Wednesday with an estimate price of HK$1.3 million to HK$1.5 million.
The auction was part of the firm’s 30th anniversary sales to mark its presence in Asia, with a range of luxury goods on offer, including Chinese paintings, watches and wine.
tribune.com.pk
Wow!
ReplyDeleteRich people doing rich thingt.
DeleteTomorrow now,one aunti will claim she has two of that.
DeleteI actually have one of it.Hames bags are the bump.
DeleteWailing wailer.
DeleteHohohohoho @ Anonymous 21:11
DeleteWhich Aunty o?no let her catch you @Anonymous 21.11
DeleteLadies check for affordable revlon lipsticks at diapersnmum.com
Anon 21:45 indeed you have it
DeleteI will get there.
ReplyDeleteJust a matter of time.
See you soon Hermes!
Ugly-ass bag
DeleteHer mess handbag indeed...
ReplyDeleteCan't see anything special in the bag
ReplyDeleteSame here... Nothing special in the bag to me.
DeleteI thought I was the only one.
DeleteSome people would soon buy China made and lie with receipt *lips sealed*
ReplyDeleteIf I have the money, why not.
ReplyDeleteEnd time S.P
ReplyDeleteS.P=Senior prefect Abi😂😂😂😂😂😂😂One Trillion has killed me.
DeleteLmao ..this one trillion with your coded bad mouth..who is smelling pussy now choi lol
DeleteLol 😁
DeleteYou are crazy
One trillion is crazy. LMAO!!!
DeleteGood to know
ReplyDeletedem dey sell d gold on d bag
ReplyDeleteHmmmmmm
ReplyDeleteHmmmmm
ReplyDeleteEven when I get there, I doubt I will spend such amount on a handbag. Am not even a handbag freak.
Good for d buyer, seller and Hermes!
Rocky how stupid can you be? I read ur comment on the stingy post and shake my head
ReplyDeleteNothing special in this bag so if/when i do get there, I still won't buy it.
ReplyDeleteFootballers and basketballers wives over to you
ReplyDeleteThis comment has been removed by a blog administrator.
ReplyDeleteI will buy a bag for 105 million naria, Oriegwu.
ReplyDeleteVanity!
ReplyDeleteIf only it will guarantee internal life.
ReplyDeleteBut it will guarantee external life nau.
DeleteNo be only internal. Ma external life. Razzo
DeleteI hear it guarantees External life instead.
Delete*Eternal* hun
Internal kwa.What of external
DeleteAda u disappoint me...at ur level u cant still place the difference between eternal life and your 'internal' life. If they ask you now, you will claim 'grajuate' oriegwu oo..
DeleteHuh?
DeleteEternal
Delete*don't thank me * lol
Internal life ke?
DeleteExternal life nko?..
Your name sef is spelt wrongly..
Nwanbueze abi Nwabueze..
Are you speaking back of Igbo?..
Intravenous life nko? 😂😂😂 #dead
DeleteFunny enough,idont like this Hermes bag
ReplyDeleteFunny enough??? Please explain how it's funny. People will be using the expression "funny enough" without understanding.
DeleteHow will u like it when it is 10 naira leather u normally carry as ur handbag
DeleteHow will u like it when theonly handbag u know is that black 10 naira leather
DeleteSee this mumu anonymous o, for the last 4 years, I have not spent naira, so go and kill urself.. Who naira epp? Lol
DeleteDiamond encrusted, white gold details.
ReplyDeleteI'm a white diamond already. What do I need it for?
Hehehe.
They want you to be blinking na
DeleteHmmm..madness
ReplyDeleteNo matter how rich I become I would never buy this bag
ReplyDeleteNever!
Not worth it.
Tout I am the only one, for what now, there re other things I can buy certainly not bags mbok.
DeleteMe too
Delete#yawns
Hmmm.ikr
DeleteU ARE A BROKE ASS NIGGER.THAT'S WHY
DeleteWhen there lot of life to be reach out to. Iranu.
DeleteMy thoughts exactly. Feed the world if you don't know what else to do.
DeleteI'll buy it only if it comes with Eternal life and a one way ticket to heaven..
Delete#WasteofResources
Wahala dey oo
ReplyDeleteHmmm
ReplyDeleteLet them Kardashian girls buy they have the money
ReplyDeleteWhen a Hermes iconic “Birkin” series is named after you......
ReplyDeleteFree yearly supply ti takeover...
Nice but I doubt I can ever spend so much on a bag no matter how rich I ever become.
ReplyDeleteOnly if it comes with a fuel dump.
ReplyDeleteWaste. Fire 🔥
ReplyDeleteLol not worth it...Babe u know nothing about investments. You think he or she who purchased that bag did so jst to have millions hanging on their arms? It's for investments, eventually they will sell the bag for a higher price......forgive any typos am feeling sleepy already
ReplyDeleteWomen will go and still their husband's money to get this
ReplyDeleteBelieveAll...i no follow u believe the spelling for this ur 'still' ooo...it is 'steal'...dont blame typos...thank me later...