Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Court Rules Against German Man's Decision To Call Himself Baron

Friday, June 03, 2016

Court Rules Against German Man's Decision To Call Himself Baron

Germany does not have to recognise a man's decision to call himself Count and Baron, the European Court of Justice has ruled.

Nabiel Peter Bogendorff von Wolffersdorff changed his name while living in the UK to Peter Mark Emanuel Graf von Wolffersdorff Freiherr von Bogendorff. He has dual German-UK citizenship.

Graf and Freiherr means Count and Baron.

Germany abolished titles in 1919 so citizens would be equal before the law.

Mr Bogendorff von Wolffersdorff lived in the UK between 2001 and 2005. He changed his name under UK rules and became a citizen of both countries.
When he moved back to Germany his new name, with its titles, was not recognised there.

Mr Bogendorff von Wolffersdorff says that this has created problems with identity documents, including getting German officials to recognise his passport.
He also has trouble convincing people that his young daughter is related to him.
Her name is Larissa Xenia Graefin von Wolffersdorff Freiin von Bogendorff.

Mr Bogendorff von Wolffersdorff took his case to a district court in the town of Karlsruhe, which asked the European Court of Justice (ECJ) for advice.

The Luxembourg-based court ruled that countries are not always obliged to recognise name changes that contain noble titles.
The ECJ said that although some Germans do still have pre-1919 titles in their names, it would "run counter to the intention" of the law if Germans could "adopt afresh" those abolished titles by moving to another EU state and changing their name.

The ECJ also said that although the titles Graf and Freiherr are not official titles in either country, they do "give the impression of nobility".

But while the ECJ recognised the restrictions on his life, and said that Germany should allow Mr Bogendorff von Wolfersdorff to change his forenames from Nabiel Peter to Peter Mark Emanuel, it said that the principle of equality before the law meant the restrictions on one individual were "justified by public policy considerations".
bbc report

21 comments:

1. Hmmmm * scratching head* wondering how this one take "consine" me

2. And what do i make of this Stella? Biko can't sleep I need sometin or someone to serenade me with good music or lullaby mbok. Who is awake?

1. U wan do am via wifi?? #clears throat#

3. Ewoo, its still thursday here ooo, am seeing friday, God is great, sleep small nah

4. See as I dey bite my tongue,trying to pronounce the names..lol

5. Na over feeding dey worry this one.

6. I pity the daughter.

7. Abeg he should go sit down somewhere! Baron ko,Baroness ni.

8. Stella wee nor sleep

9. Replies
    1. Hahahaha true na soso red wine names o..this one trillion eh

10. Lol!
    They shld have allowed him na

11. Who title help?
    *side eyes ๐Ÿ‘€ at adaeze yobo*

12. Don't have a fucking idea of what this is about and couldn't careless about it but since sleep has eluded me for no reason let me just comment

Anonymous๐Ÿ’‹๐Ÿ’‹๐Ÿ’‹

13. Stella nawao how I want take get the Koko of this jist when I never fit pronounce the names wen dey inside the jist..person go read story reach the end confuse join ..hian

14. With #6600 you can own a laptop, car, jeep, secure housing fund and scholarship fund for your children and lots more... This is simple and straightforward.
    Its simply by networking without selling or buying . For Those who will believe, this is the best and fastest way to be rich.
    No skill, education and qualification needed. Give this a try.

Ask me how. Add on whatsapp for details 07061120828

15. GLO introduces cheapest Android, PC, BB monthly plans. This plan list is a step close to being unlimited and totally free. Grab these new codes and subscribe your mobiles for unlimited surfing and streaming.

Still trending cheat : MTN 500MB for N25. - Airtel free Facebook

see codes now: http://goo.gl/rnA6x6