Everyone can’t stop talking about the boy who fell into the gorilla cage at Cincinnati Zoo and prompted zookeepers to kill poor silverback gorilla Harambe.
The 4-year-old boy who fell into the gorilla pit at Cincinnati Zoo on May 28 sparked a national controversy after 17-year-old silverback Harambe was shot and killed. His name is Isiah Dickerson, and he was visiting the zoo with his mom, Michelle Gregg. His mother is already under fire for not paying enough attention to her child.
In order to get down where Isiah did, he had to make his way through a barrier and into a moat, according to Daily Mail, the outlet which identified the boy and his mom. It’s still unclear exactly how Isiah got into the cage, but it didn’t take long for onlookers to notice that there was a child sitting directly in front of Harambe. Because of the quick action zookeepers took in getting Isiah out of the pit, he managed to walk away with a concussion and a few scrapes rather than broken bones or even death.
But the reason for his miraculous safety is what has put the zoo and Isiah’s family in a questionable spot.
As soon as Harambe came in contact with Isiah, zoo officials reportedly had no choice but to shoot the gorilla in order to protect the child which hasn’t sat well with animal lovers, celebrities, and organizations alike.
Although famous zookeeper Jack Hanna explained that the boy would have died if the gorilla hadn’t been killed, the public outrage was more in response to the lack of parental responsibility that led to the gorilla’s tragic death.
Despite the backlash, Michelle quickly defended herself in a lengthy Facebook message. After initially thanking those who extended prayers for her son’s recovery and giving an update on Isiah’s condition, she wrote:
“As a society we are quick to judge how a parent could take their eyes off of their child and if anyone knows me I keep a tight watch on my kids,” she continued. “Accidents happen but I am thankful that the right people were in the right place today. Thank you to everyone that helped me and my son today and most importantly God for being the awesome God that he is.”
Cincinnati police are investigating the situation to determine whether it’s appropriate to press charges on Michelle for being neglectful of her son.
Hollywoodlifers.
*They should leave this woman alone abeg...Some kids are like magicians,the more you try to watch over them the less you see.I know what i am talking about....If the boy had died people would have been saying the gorilla should have been killed...A precious life was saved,pity the gorilla died!..life goes on!
#my2cents!
Well said STELLA, I don tire for this news, they should be thankful for the boy's life.
ReplyDeleteIs the gorillas life more precious than the baby's life?
DeleteSo life of a gorilla is now being equates to that of human. Issorait.
Delete...TAG A FRIEND, COMMENT & PRAY 4 SDKBLOG...
They made the right choice by killing the gorilla cos from what I watched, the late gorilla turned the boy into a toy, dragging and flinging the boy around which could have killed him. But the mother of the child was highly negligent and irresponsible. Zoos are always crowded with different kinds of people, she should have paid more attention to her child; what if there was a kidnapper around or the boy fell into a lion's cage? They should better press charges on her
DeleteEnough of this gorilla story biko.
DeleteIndeed. It isn't possible to watch over children 24/7.
DeleteMoreover, I think the zoo needs to take responsibility for this; obviously the enclosure wasn't well sealed, hence the boy was able to fall through.
Click my name for all your celebration cakes and cupcakes, cheers
Thank God that's all I can say
ReplyDeletePeople saying that the gorilla shouldn't have been killed am sure
ReplyDelete1) Are not parents
2) Did not watch the video of how he was dragging the poor boy like a wet rag
3) Has never given birth.
Kill the gorilla or watch it kill a boy? Kill the gorilla I say...nearly extinct or not.
Haaaaa, did I watch a different video? Thought Harambe was trying to prevent the little boy from drowning??
DeleteAmerica with all these yeye activists.... The mother was careless sha
ReplyDeleteNo she wasn't abeg,some kids are wonders like stella said,my 2nd daughter..OMG!! I hardly take the kids out becos of her,no time we go out I don't cry searching for her,I think I need to get a chain,tie it arnd her waist and around mine too. Kai ..I was like that wen I was a kid too,my mum says so.. Lol
DeleteBuy a leash and strap her to your arms.
DeleteThank God the child is not dead, some kids can just put one in deep trouble.
ReplyDeletei read alot of shitty remarks from empty headed Americans, how could anyone in their right frame of mind put an animals life before a human? i wonder if they'd make such annoying statements if it were to be their flesh & blood, humans can be so insensitive.
ReplyDeleteGunning down the gorilla was the best option, better than using a tranquilizer to put the animal to sleep, tranquilizers take approx 3-4mins b4 they kick into action, given the size and strenght of that animal, who knows what harm it'd do to the boy before falling unconscious, wheres the time and Nigerian fuel to take that chance?
Stupid hypocrites eat and digest cows daily, yet be crying over one ugly gorilla.
They should come and go to cross River and see that Harambe chilling in the thick forests of my granny's village. Extinct ko! Near-extinct ni!!
ReplyDeleteAs for that little boy and his mother, it's possible the boy is problem child part 1 and 2. Some kids ehn them no dey hear word. Like my small nephew. Magician 101. You need to tie a rope to his waist and yours so he can stay close. If not? He will just fly everywhere and when you ask him he will explain in details why he did it. Moving mouth!! With plenty English his teacher taught him.
Still, I blame the mother oh! When u know u have such a child you fix your hand on his ear and drag him about in such places. So he stays put. But if you do that in America they will say it's child abuse. So they are the architects of their misfortune.
That said, I'm an environmentalist and I will say a childs life is more important than a gorillas. They should find another specie and send one of their gorillas to cross breed. It will cost them some money but it's worth saving a child for.
Good to know
ReplyDeleteMy tots exactly Stella. If d boy had died, pple wld say they shld av killed d Gorilla. U can nvr satisfy human beings n by d way a human life is far more valuable than any animal whether or not it's d last specie available on d face of d earth
ReplyDeleteSome of these oyinbos are sick, would they have the boy killed than saved?
ReplyDeleteSo true Stella!
ReplyDeleteUseless white people. So they preferred the life of the gorilla to that of the child.
ReplyDeleteThis one boy they saved today could save millions years later and our grand and great grand children will read it on the "these are just pictures..." section in SDK's great grand child's blog *sideeyes*
ReplyDeleteAnd some silly people think that the gorilla's life was more important, saying the zoo keepers shouldn't have shot it. They should leave the boy's mom alone it was an accident, her eyes Can't be everywhere @ the same time. Though I blame her for not be cautions enough.
ReplyDeleteThank God for his life
ReplyDelete#istandwithStellaonthis
ReplyDeleteD woman is a dull mum. There's a way u hold a child nd he won't fall or wander away.
ReplyDeleteI am very sure u do not have a child.
DeleteD woman is a dull mum. There's a way u hold a child nd he won't fall or wander away.
ReplyDeleteGorilla ova somone's life kwa?? Their heaf
ReplyDeleteThis people and their reasoning is just annoying. When they came to Zimbabwe to kill a white lion,who said anything?
ReplyDeleteNo one wanted the gorilla to die but the child's life comes first. Let them take several seat abeg.
The criticism is just annoying like they would have preferred if the boy had died instead.
Thank God you are safe bro.
ReplyDeleteBuy Recharge cards here any time any day for the same price
Don't mind the idiots taking sides with the gorilla. If the boy was white, there won't be this much noise over killing the gorilla.
ReplyDeleteLast year, some US doctors went to Kenya or so and killed a lion in the zoo just for the fun of it, where was the outcry? What a world where people value the life of an animal over that of a precious child. The zoo keepers did the right thing, thank goodness they weren't thinking like these noise maker nimcompoop. The boy is such a cutie. Thank God for his life.
Am with u
ReplyDeleteThe woman should keep quiet. She is an shameless careless mother. What of if the child was kidnapped in such a place?
ReplyDeleteIdiot. Wat du u know
DeleteShe's an shameless careless mother' as if that wasn't enough you went further with what of if'
DeleteWho would have kidnapped the child? Gorilla? #porusbrain
Shameless not, careless maybe. You are right in the boy might have been kidnapped. Sick child molesters everywhere.
DeleteCute boy.
ReplyDeleteHope PETA fanatics won't stalk this boy in school. Lots of crazies out there.
Was in d mall wit my kid. She said she wanted water. I opened d bottle d cap fell before i cud pick it up Boom she had gone. My goodness i was crying looking arnd d kept announcing missing 5 year old girl pls return if seen. Only for them to see her in d main entrance. Dat she was looking for where to wee. Omg. Hmmm pls i dnt blame d mom. Even a second d kid can disappear. Lol. Not funny then. But i can laf now
ReplyDeleteYep, absolutely.
DeleteAnoda dumb mum. So u can't gve ur 5yrs old an instruction like don't move an inch? Nd she will obey? If u knw u av a wakabout child,u should knw u need to be extra cautious.
DeleteStupid anonymous am sure ur a perfect mom. Obviously am not. Madam perfect u must ve bin learning mummy work as a serial baby mama. Ignorant adult
DeleteHow dare you call anyone a dumb mum when you're clearly not one yourself? Children are children, please stop with the holier than thou attitude.
DeleteMost mothers would tell you that kids are highly unpredictable, especially when they're out and about.
Please don't ever call anyone a dumb mum. That's extremely rude, uncouth and unnecessary.
Like you can ever love a child more than its mother.
Abeg stop am
dis white pipo sef...most would haff preferred d boy was left for died instead of killing an animal...wat rubbish...i nor blame them sha...most of all dis so called animal right activist are not yet parents...if not they won't be acting dis way...thank God a precious life was saved...
ReplyDeleteThank God the boy was saved. I really don't care about that animal.
ReplyDeleteThank God for the boy's life.
ReplyDelete@ the Mum, You keep a tight watch on your kids? No you don't! this negligence is telling me something else.
If there's anywhere to keep a tight watch, its a place with Gorillas and wild animals (caged or not)
She was negligent (for sure) but that doesn't mean they shouldn't have killed the Gorrilla. I'm glad the son survived.
The mom and little boy are very lucky. Imagine if it had been in a lions den or a snake pit. Extra caution is important especially in a place like the zoo. Why is the little boy not strapped in a stroller. What if he got kidnapped by a child molester. Poor animal ,held in captivity and minding his business.only to be wasted.
ReplyDeleteWhat do u mean "poor animal". What about chickens n turkeys that get slaughtered everyday. Abeg shush!
DeleteStella ooo I love u, how u write, when u yab us, ur choice of words, never a dull moment with you. U found ur calling yes, u r meant for this job.God bless u.my dear kids r like magician ooo I got three of them. I don't blame the woman my sister.
ReplyDeleteKids these days are even worse than Houdini. I don't understand this self righteous attitude. Yes, parents should always keep a tight watch on their kids but you can't judge here. Except there's footage showing that she neglected him for long, I don't think anyone should play Judge Judy here.
ReplyDeleteFor all we know, she might have been looking for the child before her attention was drawn to the danger he was in.
Let's learn to have a little empathy and be objective. It won't kill.