Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: CBN Kick-Starts Flexible Exchange Rate Today

Monday, June 20, 2016

CBN Kick-Starts Flexible Exchange Rate Today

History will be made today as the Central Bank of Nige­ria (CBN) finally commences the much-awaited market-driven flexible exchange rate regime to ease the foreign ex­change (forex) scarcity in the country.

This is coming on the heels of various endorsements given to the policy by finan­cial analysts who see it as the final solution to the volatility in the forex market.

However, indications have emerged that the apex bank has thrown the door open to other banks to participate, even if they do not meet the criteria as a systemically im­portant banks.

The apex bank had speci­fied in the initial guidelines that those to serve as the bulk traders, dealing directly with CBN, would have 40 per cent liquidity ratio, N200 billion shareholders’ funds and N400 billion foreign cur­rency assets for qualification as Foreign Exchange Primary Dealer (FXPD).

The reviewed guidelines state: “In order to further deepen the FX market, the Central Bank of Nigeria has decided to allow any Autho­rised Dealer who is inter­ested in acting as a Foreign Exchange Primary Dealer (FXPD) to apply even if the said Authorised Dealer did not meet the quantitative criteria stated in the CBN Guidelines for Primary Deal­ership in Foreign Exchange Products released on June 15, 2016.

“The Central Bank of Ni­geria shall evaluate all the first set of registered FXPDs by December 31, 2016. The evaluation shall cover both quantitative and qualitative Foreign Currency Balance Sheet, adequacy of Pre-Set­tlement Risk (PSR) lines for other Authorised Dealers, etc. Please note also that the performance and market conduct of the FXPDs in their dealings with the CBN shall be a major factor in the said evaluation.”
THESUN

17 comments:

1. So how much is dollar against naira?

2. This is really great news for the masses and bad news for all those Hausas that sell dollars!
    Quite frankly, Am abit surprised that the President is enacting a policy that wouldn't really favour "his brothers".
    All the same, why did it take so long for the President to bring this to reality, must everything be done at a slow pace???
    Finally, how do we ensure that the FXPDs are not mainly from "one region" of the country.
    Have a blessed week!

Akubuine Kingdavid.

1. Anon, see ehn. Ruling naija is not like ruling a small Kingdom. Before you make a decision, you have to put certain things on ground. I prefer slow and steady to white washing. So if he takes his time and does the right and long lasting things, so be it.
      Did u hear that fuel price is dropping in some places? Hmmm.. Some are buying at 138-140. I pray it continues that way and it truly drops in 6 months. I'm not an economist, so na the small one wey I know I dey talk.

3. Haba the criteria is too much na, my bank can't meet that na, CBN kilode??? Tone it down a bit biko

4. Patiently waiting to see how this unfolds

5. Wash
    Wash
    Wash

If you want to know the exact exchange rate...go to Sabo bureau d change

All dss one wen Central Bank dyy talk,Na wash

6. What does this mean biko?

7. My own is how much is the exchange rate. So that i go know what to do

8. Sitting pretty and waiting for price of dollar this week before I can go ahead with what I want to do. Can't afford to buy 370 and I hear by Friday it's cheaper. It will pain me. So let me be patient and watch...

9. I really don't see how history will be made on this.During Gej's tenure,this was the system of the day.PMB came and stopped it and now they are going back.its all been trial and error during this administration.they should please bring in technocrats.

10. Nice one.. let's see how it goes.. but we all need to start doing things differently.........Breaking News! Breaking News!! 
    In 2008,a man from Switzerland by name Fred Zulie won a global award with plant stem cell research which has the capacity to regenerate new cells healing most of the world devastating diseases including cancer,heart disease, stroke, autism, brain tumour, low sperm count, no sperm count etc Now, this company Phytoscience, is giving hope to millions of sick people and financially empowering thousands.They building hospitals, Stadium etc. Now they are Nigeria.To participate in ongoing recruitment contact us on +2347018868234. Text and calls