A misunderstanding over touching a cake baked by his friend has led to the death of Onyeka Jackson, who was reportedly stabbed to death by his colleague, Daniel Okorie, in Iyana Isashi area of Lagos, on May 24.
It was gathered that after the close of work on the said day, Onyeka trailed the 26-year-old Daniel to his house at 102, Iyana-Isashi area, over the misunderstanding caused by the cake-touching incident.
He reportedly banged on Daniel’s door until he opened and an argument ensured, which later degenerated into fisticuffs at a nearby bus stop.
When Vanguard got to the scene of the incident at Iyana Isashi, traces of dried blood were still visible on the ground, leading to the suspect’s apartment.
A neighbour (names withheld) who spoke to Vanguard, said: “Sincerely, I do not know what the bone of contention was. But we saw the two of them quarrelling and later they started fighting.
“Before people could separate them, Daniel had stabbed Jackson in the chest and he was bleeding profusely.”
Suspect’s account
According to Daniel: “Jackson and I work at the same place in Iyana-Era. That day we had a misunderstanding in my place of work. Few minutes after I got home, someone was hitting my door. But I was surprised to see Jackson at my door.
“While we were quarrelling, I took a kitchen knife to threaten and chase him out of the compound. It was while we were fighting outside the compound that I stabbed him. I did not mean to kill him.”
Contacted, Lagos State Police Command Public Relations Officer, Dolapo Badmus, said that the police arrested a murder suspect, Daniel Okorie, last Thursday morning at 102 Isashi Road, Clinic Bus Stop. He allegedly stabbed Onyeka Jackson to death while they were fighting.
“The exhibit has been recovered, while the corpse of the deceased has been deposited at Badagry General Hospital for Autopsy. Meanwhile, investigation is in progress at the State Criminal Investigation and Intelligence Department, SCIID, Panti, Yaba, Lagos.”
Vanguard
Na wah oh....
CAKE?
i know we have some Bv's at Iyana Isasi cos one or two have mailed me before...make una give us update if una sabi wetin happen.
Death over cake, seriously?
ReplyDeletePeople just take unnecessary risk, May his soul RIP.
DeleteU see devil? Because of foolish pride, he followed his colleague home to continue the fight
DeletePlease let's always choose the path of peace, some battles are avoidable
So he paid transport to trail his colleague to his house just to prove what point?
DeleteIt seems jealousy about who bakes better cake must have started this whole thing.
Why should he follow him to his house? I am sure he has been looking for who will kill him. He must have made mouth how he will beat him outside work premises so he won't be sacked.
Instead of going home, you followed him to his house. His Domot when you no even get energy to fight. Abeg make I see road jare!
That spirit of death really overwhelmed you. Ashawo Esther, you are next.
See how death was pushing him just because of cake, something that can be ignored.
ReplyDeleteWetin cake go cause... Nawa Rip
ReplyDeleteCos of cake, can you imgaine?
ReplyDeleteThis post takes me back to memory lane because I used to date a man around iyana. The guy was 37old living in his family house. Anytime he's mum is coming to the bedroom he will quickly hide the mrbiggs and ice cream he bought for me. Then I was 20yrs old.. I left him when my friend in school introduced me to a better guy. ..Money is good, within a month I forget about him.. Lord I thank you for your mercy that I didn't end up there but here in UK with lovely kids. Proudly British, even if I don't speak queens English I'm learning from my kids.
ReplyDeleteHis mother not he's mother
DeleteYour kids must teach you how to contruct English sentences too
Bush somebody. ..smh
DeleteAwww. Good for you.The future belongs to the living.If there's life, there is hope.
DeleteMadam anonymous wey dey correct English, did you just say "contruct"???
DeleteEnd time happenings bikonu!...
ReplyDeleteWerz d cake btw?
Fighting for cake. I hope it's butter iced cake and not some rubbish fondant cake. If it's buttered,then it's totally worth d fight. RIP to the dead. See ya in cake heaven.
DeleteMake Ajay cake bake cake give them nah, which kian fight and death be this one. RIP sha.
ReplyDeleteEnd time cake.
ReplyDeleteJust like that?
ReplyDeleteAnger is a terrible thing, just negodu.
ReplyDeleteHmm. Death push Jackson to the house of who will easily kill him. Life!
ReplyDeleteSome people need to learn,there are some people out there that are hungry for death,death is already standing behind them,they only just need a little push or slap from someone to get to the other side.may GOD not let us encounter with such people in JESUS name...see this man now,he wanted to die by fire by force he even went on to knock on his killer's door himself,why could he not have just let the quarrel end there at work earlier.
ReplyDeleteYou are right. Fight is no longer in my dictionary. If u slap me i go turn waka comot
DeleteSee as he just allow devil use am clean he yansh.
ReplyDeleteSee wetin longerthroat cake don cause. Iyana sachi, iyana oba, ikotun egbe, okokomaiko he be like say na poor people full that place self.
ReplyDeleteMay God help the Daniel. Now both of them no eat cake.
The man that went to look for a fight, death don they call him since, just that na mugu fall follow am. Now that guy will have to pay for the rest of his life.
Painful.
It's too petty to fight over something this trivial.
DeleteJehovah!
ReplyDeleteNa who die lose.
ReplyDeleteWhat a sad way to die..
ReplyDeleteGod have mercy upon your pple..
Rest in peace...
James, come in here!!!
ReplyDeleteThe cause of death is very clear, what's the need for autopsy again? RIP to the dead..
ReplyDeleteRIP Onyeka, BUT your village people really followed you that day to the end.
ReplyDeletewhat else could be the reason why someone will trail another from work to his home over a misunderstanding that happened in the office if not his village people.
I'm thinking he was marked to died that day, because if Daniel hasn't killed him something else would have.
Truth!
DeleteNawa
ReplyDeleteThe days are evil.
ReplyDeleteKeep us, guard us, feed us, lead us, for we have no help but Thee O Lord.
Death has really knocked on the door & the unfortunate colleague helped him to open the door. Some people has already been destined to die please May we never let them use us as a conduit pipe to the after life.
ReplyDeleteHe was destined to leave dis world, unfortunately his colleague fell victim to have killed him. Both his colleague too is destined to die by hanging or jailed for life.
ReplyDeleteThis world is deep. May we prevail over spiritual attack.
Hmmm.. Cake??
ReplyDeleteGood for them
ReplyDeleteEverybody in isashi knows that Daniel has mental problem na. He just got out of jail for attacking a pregnant woman...even killing the baby. The Jackson he killed has even helped him before. He even tried to stab someone else after he killed jackson
ReplyDeleteThe level of frustration, poverty,anger, hunger, hopeless feel of Nigerian situation is gradually stripping away our sanity.
ReplyDeleteWe are quick to deride, curse, hate and do all evil sorts that should not be all because of hardship.
I pray that the level of degeneration going on doesn't get to a point that animals will be of better behaviour than omo naijas.
Devil is really prowling the streets while unleashing mayhem and terrible news like MTN.
We better cling to God and learn to live at peace with self as to give it to another.
1000 ways to die. RIP to the dead.