Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Buhari Sends Powerful Message To Nigerians From London

Tuesday, June 14, 2016

Buhari Sends Powerful Message To Nigerians From London

One year after voting the All Progressives Congress into power, some Nigerians who were believers of president Muhammadu Buhari's ‘change’ agenda are no longer certain his administration can deliver on its promise.

Buhari has during the election promised to bring about the long-awaited positive  change in the country.

President Buhari, who is currently in London, lists three changes Nigeria needs In this article for American paper Wall Street Journal..

Nigeria is at a crossroads. Just over a year ago, people voted in a historic democratic election to end corruption and business as usual, opting instead to build an economy that delivers for all Nigerians.

The old order was based on an unsustainable commodities super cycle. While the boom had many positives and contributed to Nigeria becoming Africa’s largest economy, it fostered an epidemic of corruption and inefficiency. Foreign businesses and financial institutions also benefited as some people spent and sometimes hid huge sums abroad, lifted by the rising tide of oil exports and dollar revenues.

Now we are living in a new world of low energy prices. The economy has slowed while unemployment and inflation have jumped. Longstanding structural imbalances and over-dependence on imports have been cruelly exposed. We are an oil-rich nation that imports most of our gasoline. We are a farming nation that imports most of our basic food staples. This is simply not acceptable or sustainable.

Our solutions must be in proportion to the challenges. Fundamental change takes time and we are driving not one but three changes to reposition Nigeria for inclusive growth.

Restore Trust

We have begun to tackle the endemic corruption and mismanagement that is crippling our economy and corroding trust in our institutions. The anticorruption fight is at the heart of combating poverty and improving security. We have stepped up enforcement and new prosecutions to get our house in order, and I have called for foreign governments to work with us to identify where funds stolen during previous administrations are lodged and for multistate cooperation to combat oil theft.

Fighting corruption is not enough. We need accountable government and a public sector that can do more with less. We have already taken initial steps by bringing all government finances into a single treasury account where we can monitor spending and impose discipline, implementing zero-based budgets and benchmarks targeted at waste and fraud, and establishing electronic platforms for government agency interface.

Rebalance Our Economy

In a world of lower oil prices and dollar revenues, the only sustainable path is to reduce Nigerians’ overreliance on imports. We must rebalance our economy by empowering entrepreneurs and producers, big and small, to create more of what their fellow Nigerians demand. The supply of foreign exchange to the economy must be increased. This requires radically increasing exports and productivity and improving the investment climate and ease of doing business.
Nigeria’s growth and job creation will be led by the private sector. 

We are a young, entrepreneurial society with vibrant success stories in new industries such as telecommunications, technology and entertainment. Government is doing its part to lower taxes on small businesses, eliminate bureaucracy to bring the informal economy out of the shadows and provide development funding for priority sectors such as agriculture. The central bank has moved to introduce greater flexibility in our exchange-rate policy. These actions are a downpayment on our people’s ability to succeed.

Regenerate Growth

We must reposition our economy by attracting investment in domestic industries and infrastructure. Nigeria has huge untapped gas reserves and also a critical shortage of electricity. Our private sector loses too much of its revenue due to brownouts and power outages. Half of my fellow Nigerians have no access to the power grid. Investment in our power infrastructure, restructuring of the state-run oil-and-gas sector and development of other industries such as solid minerals, metals and petrochemicals will help to create a virtuous circle of growth and exports while creating jobs and reducing poverty.

I am optimistic that our actions are providing the breathing room Nigeria needs during this period of fundamental change. But we cannot improve living conditions and restore fiscal health without making people feel safe and secure—just as we cannot defeat militancy without reducing poverty and dislocation.

One of our main achievements this past year has been to unite regional and global allies to push back Boko Haram. What we do in the next three years to build an economic bridge to Nigeria’s future will be just as important for bringing lasting peace and prosperity.

67 comments:

1. Kai buuhari,thuunder fire ur mouth for there,devil

2. Buhari is a disgrace!!! All talk and little action.

2. Let me be sincere I ddnt read d write. Buhari I am tired of talk talk. Promises upon promises.

3. Imagine, He is addressing us from London.. How very loyal of him!
    Biko, come back home and address this rumours about the Oyo state government privatising their education sector....
    I saw the children 'protest' video and it's really disheartening!

1. Sorry people, I know this is outta place but I won't rest until I say this;

Rihanna's ANTI album rocks, big time!!... 'Close to you' 'Love on the brain' be giving me life!!.. Love me some Riri!!

2. I also saw that video and I think it's really sad. Parents can't even afford to pay the fees in the public schools and they want to privatise in Our state... SMH I don't know where Nigeria is headed

4. Bla bla bla...I didn't bother reading,ho ha! Till I see d changes not reading it.

5. Bla bla bla...I didn't bother reading ho-ha! I am tired of reading this paper change. I want to see d changes korokoro.

6. Still waiting for CHANGE sir.

7. WHICH WAY PRESIDENT BUHARI? I THOUGHT YOU HAVE EAR SICKNESS? OR ARE YOU IN SOHO WEST-END, LONDON ENJOYING YOURSELF? FOR YOUR INFORMATION, NIGERIANS ARE HUNGRY AND DYING IN THOUSANDS

8. Buhari wrote for Wall Street Journal?

Bwhahahhahahahahaahah.

Then im Anthony of Padua

9. did I read i?t Hell No

10. Buharia!

Buhariwa Nigeria.

11. Mtsheeeew, this long speech on top wetin? Waka Waka buhari.

12. Everyone who voted in Mr President vis now complaining, wish you all were wise a year ago, you can't expect a strict man to rule a country and u think u can smile

1. Talk for yourself. I'm not complaining

2. @Lafresh me neither!
      I support this motion big time!! It's not gonna be easy because we didn't see the rot in the system. But for us to move forward we have to hit rock bottom. And that's what's going on now

3. I am with u guys.. Patience is virtue. u need to wash a dirty cloth bfr u can re-wear. it takes tym to wash, dry off, iron n bfr it looks good again.. we need to chill mehn.. Yea! we r really affected buh I strongly bliv in ds change era..

4. Your name alone imply your geopolitical zones that is how majority of the people from southwest reason. I wish u n ur family more and more suffering, since u derived joy in suffering b 4 u enjoy.

13. Buhari and APC are a failure, a scam, a pyramid scheme.

14. *adjusts pillow*

Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

15. Mtchewwww APCcan be equated to a nagging woman!! All talks with no action

16. No structure party thats how they will waste 4 yrs and corruption will still be there looking at them. Look me I look you..

17. Lia Lia talk

18. People are suffering and you are still telling us stories

19. I tire for all these lies o. Buhari people are suffering

20. Even on the ear surgery bed,he is still making empty promises? Change ke,hunger ni.

21. Buhari and his talks, just tired to even hear it.

22. Can you imagine the shit you're saying ....how can you stop all those things without creating room for employment,infrastructures n other means for your country to survive.
    Everything you're doing is just effecting the poor masses, you stopped foreign goods,succeeded in chasing investors,a lot of people have been sacked and ure spewing trash.mtchew

DAIZY

23. As anybody succeed in registering for their N power project.because am beginning to think is a fraud.

24. I prefer reading all this comment than that thing buhari has written

25. Seriously buhari are all these change,hmmmm

26. Shoki shoki ! 10 to 12

27. Why is it that it's only when he travels that he addresses the nation. I just tire for the man, is he a president in diaspora or an away president.

28. I didn't bother reading jor.
    Too much talk No action. Mtchewwww!

29. Dis change na audio?? Cos we no dy see am ooohh

30. Stella I can see from the comments by your BV the level of mentality a lot of the BVs have. So sorry and sad, very sad. Sorry Blog Visitors come 2019, PLEASE VOTE for JONATHAN AND PDP. No right thinking person needs to be explained that the world of oil producers are feeling this pain today. Most of you will prefer Corruption to continue as long as you can feed your stomachs today. Sorry again this blog is meant for only critical thinkers and not ignorant kids

1. You're a fool
      Idiot

2. Just look at yourself before calling someone a fool,I really doubt if you can make it in life

31. He should come and address us from home. Unable to talk in his country but free to talk in another man's own. Ajala the President.

32. Miss critical thinker for ur information Nigerians Ave sacrificed enough for this government. Can u tell me one thing this administration has done 4us over 1 yr of voting Apc. Its all sham and deceit. Wht abt d compulsory tax every bankable Nigerians pay each time u do a transaction. We were told oil contribute only 15% of our Gdp and ds government has targeted 2.5 trillion annually frm u and I frm d compulsory 50 naira tax we pay and still can not deliver any of their campaign promises after 1 yr into power. Ur kids must ave bn calling u a lair if u kp making promises to them witout jst fulfilling any. Ive lost faith and confidence in ds administration because its obvious we made a wrong choice

33. I love your Bvs Stella! They are so realistic! They are the ones that will say the truth! That old Cargo Actor that went to carry his daughter's age and started posing different styles for pre-wed photos! My dear na so I fear Nja youths that wey come they praise the Man o! After sampling all the babes finish he come go carry the one wey be wetin them wan take do sacrifice!God forgive me! Stella na only this Bvs for your blog talk true for the matter! I do not know him from any whr sha! Was just jobless that day at work,so decided to carry out the experiment with that story!

34. We warned you youths who voted him in. The first time he ruled we had so much hardship.I remember I had just concluded my Masters degree then and wanted to travel out for further studies. Buhari and Idiagbon's policies then had stifled foreign exchange. For me to get $400 (the maximum BTA then) to travel with then was a big herculean task. Its the same thing repeating again 30 years after! Buhari on his own means well, hates corruption, is an upright man, but ittakes much more than just that to lead. He doesn't have the requisite skills, intelligence or education for country leadership.Period. We warned you all. But you wouldn't listen. It was SAI Buhari, Febuhari etc.. Youths were not willing to listen. Granted, Jonathan wasn't the best of them all either. So much looting took place under his watch and he looked the other way. But- Is it that out of 160 million Nigerians we do not have few vibrant intelligent young men who can lead the country? We do. But these few people are hidden. Quiet. They have no money to run politics. Are therefore silenced. So we keep recycling the same old people who have been in government for years and have nothing new to bring to the table anymore. Lick your wounds y'all. You voted him in. You cooked your goose,Nigerian youths. Now stew in it!

35. We warned you youths who voted him in. The first time he ruled we had so much hardship.I remember I had just concluded my Masters degree then and wanted to travel out for further studies. Buhari and Idiagbon's policies then had stifled foreign exchange. For me to get $400 (the maximum BTA then) to travel with then was a big herculean task. Its the same thing repeating again 30 years after! Buhari on his own means well, hates corruption, is an upright man, but it takes much more than just that to lead. He doesn't have the requisite skills, intelligence or education for country leadership.Period. We warned you all. But you wouldn't listen. It was SAI Buhari, Febuhari etc.. Youths were not willing to listen. Granted, Jonathan wasn't the best of them all either. So much looting took place under his watch and he looked the other way. But- Is it that out of 160 million Nigerians we do not have few vibrant intelligent young men who can lead the country? We do. But these few people are hidden. Quiet. They have no money to run politics. Are therefore silenced. So we keep recycling the same old people who have been in government for years and have nothing new to bring to the table anymore. Lick your wounds y'all. You voted him in. You cooked your goose,Nigerian youths. Now stew in it!

1. Best comment, no the yorubas voted him in, now they r all complaining,even his SAs are complaining,things are too hard and can never change,they r only giving us false hope

2. Well said. I m scared, the hardship is hitting deep.

3. U don't make sense at all. If Jonathan had continued we are all going to b in a big mess.
      Buhari, is still d best option for now.
      After his tenure, credible candidates will come up. Then Nigeria will smile again.
      U b end time commentator.

36. Arrant nonsense. Cock-and-bull story.Nobody gives a damn about all these paper grammar. Nigerians are pressed on every side while you galavant around the globe. We want practical solutions. He can hand these paper rhetorics to his kids for their academic term papers.

37. What is this man talking about? Which mismanagement are u tackling? Your officials fly private jets on a daily basis on public funds while the ordinary people are suffering. Your officials keep forcing government parastatals to employ their wards instead of giving everyone equal opportunity to compete for the job vacancies. You haven't done anything to change anything Mr president, the only changes you've done is to make bad policies that have increased the cost of living and sufferings to those who voted you in, aside that every other thing is business as usual so stop talking/praising yourself and start working please

38. Back to sender! Tufiakwa!!! Ndi ochi!!!!!!

39. Buhari is a failure. The only thing he planned to do when he become the president is to fight the opposition all in the name of corruption. Nah today plenty money was looted . APC keeps saying jonathan administration ONLY destroy nigeria. That is a lie, wetin buhari dey do now. He has destroyed the country in less than one year. Is tinubu not corrupt? He is corruption personified. They have shared lagos state. Let another party win lagos, their yansh go come out. People are dieing due to sufferings. Revolution is coming. #NaijaYouthArise.