Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: ASUU Rejects S3xual Harassment Bill

Tuesday, June 21, 2016

ASUU Rejects S3xual Harassment Bill

Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) has rejected the ongoing s*xual Harassment Offences Bill, in the Senate, saying the bill was targeted at lecturers.

According to the union, the bill is vindictive and it undermines university autonomy.

ASUU President Prof. Biodun Ogunyemi, while speaking yesterday, in Abuja, at a public hearing on the bill, organised by the Senate Committee on Judiciary, Human Rights and Legal Matters, asked the Senate in particular and the National Assembly, in general not to allow the bill have its way.

Professor Ogunyemi said their is an existing law that prescribed punishments over misconduct generally among both staff and students, clearly articulating appropriate redress mechanism.

“Any law or bill which seeks to supplant these laws violates the university autonomy,” he said.

“In this particular instance, the bill violates the Federal Government of Nigeria and ASUU agreement of 2009 and as such should be rejected,” Ogunyemi said.

He also noted that s*xual harassment was a societal problem and not peculiar to tertiary institutions and so tertiary institutions should not be singled out for such law.
Thisday cullage.

*University autonomy that is violating privates nko?Abeg pass that bill fast!
Blokos when say e no hide emself,e no go see where hide!

34 comments:

1. Hehehehehee... I can't stop laughing. They are fearing. Hahahaha.

2. Madam Stella...this your quote na apology abeg......too raw.

I think lecturers are on fire now. If them no wan change, we go change them. But all these small small girls with kalangoes buttocks too will not stop missing class, tests, assignment and will not stop going to see them in office.

3. Shame

Fear dy catch dem

4. So they don't want the bill because they know they won't stop it, useless people

5. Stupid lecturers with their watery argument.

6. Jokers! That Bill must scale through IJN

7. Jokers! That Bill must scale through IJN

8. Lecturers and sexual harrassment is like Akamu and Akara

9. I knew it...most of them like anything in skirt.

10. Well, no amount of laws should be too much to check the unwanton sexual misconducts of university lecturers and students too because it's no news that some students actually depend on sexually transmitted degrees to scale through school.

11. Yeye people
    Fear dey catch dem

12. Randy lecturers. Let them pass the bill quickly.

13. Wetin concern me.....na only girls dey suffer the abuse, i have just one and shes 9 plus shes going to sch abroad

14. Men are so foolish. Penis matter is their whole life! Useless lecturers every where if they aren't guilty why are they afraid na?

1. Be there talking nonesense, u think it is easy to become lecturer, let them enjoy their right

2. Be there talking nonesense, u think it is easy to become lecturer, let them enjoy their right

15. The bill is needless if required mechanism is not place.

Who do students report to? University staff?
    Am more concerned about the enforcement

16. The fear of #SexualHarrasmentBill is the beginning of wisdom...Na wah for all this den yeye lecturers o......................This 5 Millionaire Traits Will Get You to the Top

17. Sex perverts!pass that bill o

18. That bill should be passed as soon as possible to put randy lecturers who harass students they can father.Why are they afraid?

19. This bill is nice but it is one sided, it should be something general both in the Universities and outside. Na this senators fuck students pass, so it should be a general law. Let us say no student relationship with anybody holding a public office, lecturers, house members, senators, politicians and even government workers.

20. The bill should be passed all this lecturers that harasses student up and down will stop the nonsense act.

21. Hehehehe. Mr. Professor,na guilty conscience dey worry you? Oriegwu!!!

22. Of course they will reject it now. It's their area of speciality so they will fight to keep it and keep harassing the students. Rubbish ppl.

23. They are not singled out but their own is too much.yeye people #smh

24. Haha Stella I fear this your blokos adage oh

25. Hehehehehe see partners in crime o, I just knew they were going to be against it.

I think there should be a section in the bill were student who are found guilty(e.g offering sex for good grade) will be punished also.

26. Useless people let them pass the bill so fast, they want to be enjoying free pussy abi.

27. Dem dey fear lol. This bill MUST pass oooo. It is time they stood up for the students. If the university had laws why where the laws not used to help the students. Those days when you go and report to another lecturer say one dey harass you, e go tell you either say "YOU GET PROOF" or AVOID THEM!! now with this bill, na police straight and the police dem find money so they go investigate.

28. This is one of the issues I've with ASUU, it's like sexual harrassement is synonymous with lecturers (bearing in mind that it can't be all of them...). But I'm not aware of ASUU coming out at any time to condemn this act or sanction any member, they'd rather be silent. Sexual harrassement is also an injustice ASUU must stand up against.

29. With the way these lecturers behave, one will think they don't have their kids in Nigeria schools or non of their kids will ever school here. It's funny how they are rejecting the bill; their conscience isn't clear and they are scared AF.
    Note: not all lecturers harass students.