The management of the African Independent Television (AIT) Tuesday sacked all the workers at its Benin City station, for allegedly demanding for their unpaid 16 months salary arrears.
In a letter dated 2-6-16 and signed by one Mr. Victor Okasoga, a Senior Manager in charge of Human Resources, the management said the appointments of the affected workers have been terminated with effect from June 13, 2016.
The letter directed those affected to handover all company properties in “your possession especially your identity cards to the Head of Center,” adding, “failure to surrender company properties in your possession may delay the processing of your entitlements.”
It would be recalled that the affected workers, including reporters, cameramen, presenters and producers, had three weeks ago protested the non payment of their salaries.
The Benin Centre of the Station has been off air for several days now.
AIT was founded by High Chief Raymond Aleogho Dokpesi who is being tried by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, for money laundering.
PM news
*wondering what some people did with the armsgate money*
Na wah....Just like that?
So whatever he used the dasuki money for that he couldn't pay his staffs
ReplyDeleteAIT will be sold off soon, just waiting for IBB approval.
DeleteHe must refund Dasukigate oh
Are these not the people ruth kadiri is abusing? And you say God should not judge? Even salary he can't pay!! Tufia!!
DeleteThis man is just shameless. He's always in one ish or other. Especially as it concerns his staff. He never ever pays their salaries. Every xmas they most protest or strike in his establishment. Haba!!!!
DeleteOnly in Nigeria! Land full of primitive bush meats!! How dare they sack people for demanding their rights??
ReplyDeleteOnly in Nigeria
DeleteModern bushmeat dey?
DeleteTimes are hard even for the high chief. Very soon we'll hear that AIT has been sold off.
ReplyDeleteAkuko!....
ReplyDeleteThat arms gate money is false!...
I'm suprised some of you believed that shit!...
This rain is making u cranky, come join Emjay & I, d 3some go bad!
DeleteQueen sorry to say but it's true.
DeleteAbeg the man don spend the money finish. Or he returned the rest of it.
DeleteServes them right, why didn't they keep quite and continue working.......now they are jobless bcos of ordinary 16month salary
ReplyDeleteYour parents must be ashamed of you Henry Eze. Jumping from blog to blog acting daft and without home training everywhere you go. Shameful.
DeleteSorry 2 say, @ henry na u mumu pass. As far am concern they have been out of job over a year.
DeleteSomebody is still feeding this idiot
DeleteOrdinary 16 mths ?! I bunno ezigbote ike ezi...QED
DeleteBiko to process which title? We will be here when these workers will cry out again alleging the fact that they haven't been paid. What I am seeing in the bank shows that most of these so called big men shouldn't even be referred to as millionaire not to talk of B. #Heartlessbunch
ReplyDeleteAh! My dear most of them live on loans oh! They don't have shishi. Plus they must womanize too! Dokpesi has children from 4 different women who still tax him of kez. Plus side chicks and all. Plus salary plus children's bills. Lolol.
DeleteThese Media houses na wah! Just finished reading a heart breaking account of the goings on in This day Newspaper. Rewind to a few weeks it was Jimoh Ibrahim and employees of Newswatch.Federal Ministry of Labour & Productivity what are you guys doing?
ReplyDeleteJimoh Ibrahim is another irresponsible entrepreneur. Na name dem carry for head.
DeleteEnd time wreck
ReplyDeleteOriegwu oo
ReplyDeleteHe sacked the workers without paying them abi?
ReplyDeleteWhen I heard about the assassination attempt on him, I really didn't pity him because he no try at all. Imagine owing salaries for sixteen months and still no remorse but decided to sack! God is soaking Dokpesi's koboko in hot pepper soup
After partaking in d dasuki loot, u still have the mind to owe your workers & sack them!
ReplyDeleteSmh!!
Wickedness in high places!!
The people should be the1st to go to court and have the properties of ait and accounts frozen so they can be paid
ReplyDeleteWondering ke! Some of their side chics benefitted from it too, so it can't be recovered fully.
ReplyDeleteBut this is inhumane, in this hard time?
This man sef; always in the news for one negative report or the other, Oga nothing positive abt u at all.
ReplyDeleteThis man is really high
ReplyDeleteso to demand for salary is now a crime abii
and 16months no be beans o
GOD FORBID employers like him
Infact he has to be sued
Only in this country. Just like that. What were they even still doing in such a place?16 months and unpaid. How do they expect they will get to work and feed their families. He is sacking them with the intention of paying them off with which money? All the money he made during the campaign he could not afford to even pay them something. Meanwhile their families are living large. Nonsense.
ReplyDeleteShebi he don dey pay the money. Shame on the man for sacking people like that. So they should not ask of their monies. Na wa for this country.
ReplyDeleteAlways bulldozing the victims to silence
This has been dokpesi's style for years, constantly owing in all his branches. He only funds his lavish lifestyle and his women
ReplyDeleteThat is rubbish, you don't want to pay but you can sack for Africa. I will not hand over the company's properties without my outstanding salary paid if I was a staff there. People should please fear God, someday we all we go to our creator, to answer all the wrong we all did. Why not pay them all their outstanding before the sack?
ReplyDeleteWhich company property sef? As if it will yield money to the workers. Nonsense
DeleteSee scope. Then hire new staff., do the same thing to them and the cycle goes on ad infinitum. This is the height of evilness. I suggest they sue him as a group. They'll have a better case that way. Abi? Lawyers in the house?
ReplyDeleteIf the company only fell on hard times since Buhari became president, what then did they do with their reserves? Depleted within 16 months?
ReplyDeleteBig lie. This man has been owing salaries since when OBJ was in power. He should not come and use Buhari as an excuse oh.
DeleteInjustice everywhere
ReplyDeleteThis Dokpesi man must be a wicked and evil man.
ReplyDeleteHow can you owe your staffs 16 months salary.
And they will be forming big men everywhere.
I guess no more funding from the government. This is just the beginning of their downfall. Awon Ole.
ReplyDeleteThat was how the man I worked for 2months didn't want to pay me and 5 others; I resigned and still went to collect my salary. He wanted to post me and I angrily threaten him with police; before I will reach my house, a police man called me and asked me to report that my former boss reported that I was causing nuisance. I called my hubby's friend that's a top Air force man and he gave me an office; we went straight to DPO office. After explaining my plight, the DPO told the DCO that's in charge to called the man to fix a date he will come and pay me my money. That was how the idiot reported himself to the authority. He thought I don't know anybody. He paid me half last month and will complete half this month. My case with him caused him to start paying others. Chi Austin
ReplyDeleteDokpesi! Dokpesi!! Dokpesi!!! How many times did i call you??? You go about pledging heavy amount of money at church events, yet you refuse to pay your workers.. This is the height of wickedness!! I hope you know what the bibke says about a work man and his wages?? Pay these people before tbe wrath of God descends on you...
ReplyDeleteMy dear sister @StellaDimoko there is nothing as arm gate money... Pls research on the duties of the national security adviser. Most monies were used in settlements of volatile areas and calming down nerves.. Nigeria is a third world country and certain modules of leadership maynot be popular but they are quite effective. For example, do you know how many Group of BokoHaram allegedly may have been settled under the last regime? Do you know how many Avengers that followed ? What about uprisings from other areas, religious faith balancing and calming down of nerves? Who is on the saddle of responsibility to disburse monies in all this areas? Will they have gotten the money from ministry of works or Labour? Leadership in Nigeria is not easy.. A whole lot is involved. The NSA of the present administration is currently involved in the settlement of the current Niger Delta situation, monies definitely will be disbursed? What caption do you name monies paid to militant and what receipt do you actually require from the militant? Remember this is security interwoven prosperity issue.. Which is better, to allow militants to degrade income or to settle with peanuts and allow production/prosperity to atleast meet the budget. I didn't say that they never stole BUT everyone public servant working in Nigeria has stolen money from government at one time or the other inclusive of BUHARI. People should not be deceived, arms bought under the Jonathan administration was still being used atleast till then recently passed budget.
ReplyDeleteMr BUHARI, while we wish you success, we thought you would have ran an inclusive government. The acclaimed vision and primary focus is in the interest of making Nigeria better for all.. And not only for the members of our party APC. I thought you would have written your name in gold in the sands of time by involving all and sundry, giving armnesty to Nigerians from all works of life whom may or maynot have offended in the past; this would have been inclusive of yourself and part members.. We would have introduced stringent and composite laws on corruption going forward.. Nigerians would have honestly embrace such a situation. We have very good heads in the PDP that would have been adopted. We should have balance government in the areas of appointment, North, East, south and west. You would have succeeded in laying a sustainable foundation for democracy.. It would have been more efficient. EFCC should have been abolished. We all know they are the main criminals.. They keep playing with the Nigerian public. They have penchant knowledge for investigation, reasons why they haven't worn a difficult case or jailed any important personality if not helped or influence by the political class of the day.. There should have been judicial cleansing, judging from the public perspective. The interest of the people should have been the basic priority and not the interest of government. "Laws are created from man for man" The Ex NIMASA DG jailed for 5 years has been released on bail for 500k. The Fidelity MD has been reinstated after being allergies to have mingled "in Stella's voice" with $115M in cash. This only happens in Nigeria. Our political class is only very desirous and serious when it comes to issuing out news and stories that will seem to whimp up undue sentiments. We are in a sad situation.
Nigerians agree with me that it's important we go to the street and demand for the real change. It's important we ensure that the modest amongst us becomes a reflection of our society. We cannot continue to have the same people make a fuss of all of us, as if we are fools. Having believed that TIME is the least common multiple, I want to believe that with time, we shall know the truth and the truth shall set us free.. Shalom!!
This your epistle is all over the place and at the same time making no sense and constantly contradicting yourself.
DeleteStopped reading when I came to the part of "everyone has stolen money in government including buhari". Shows the kind of person you are.
Everybody has sinned so nobody should tell anyone not to do wrong. Everyone has stolen money so why arrest anyone? People with opinions like yours disgust me. You've been broken and fractured by oppression and corruption that you no longer see anything wrong in anything. May God help you.
I'm sure you are not old enough to have witnessed stories on the news line immediately your so called only Nigerian "Saint" was dismantled from office during his military regime neither did you hear about the PTF funds which was allegedly traced to his inlaw's account... Continue to swim and simmer in your lack of knowledge and constructive argument.. I do not ordinarily indulge with insolence BUT bring yours up and I will dismantle you. The truth will disgust you BUT you vocally explode at unfounded, unsustainable misguided misrepresentations and lies news paper trials. It will be the turn of you or a close relative soonest..May God punish you, fool!!!!