“If there is one person in Nigeria that believes that petroleum prices should not go up by one Naira, it is President Buhari,” Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, SAN, asserted earlier today at a public book presentation event in Abuja.
Explaining the difficult decision announced last week by the federal government, Prof. Osinbajo said the President simply had no other option.
Although the President did not want the fuel price to go up, the Vice President said “he is left with no choice. What can we do if we don't have foreign currency, we have to import fuel.”
While observing the petroleum products are being imported today into the country, he asserted that even “if we repair our refineries today, we would still be able to refine 40% of our petroleum, so we still need to import.”
Prof Osinbajo then raised a rhetorical query: “in the absence of foreign exchange and you have to import your refined petroleum, what are you left with?
The Vice President who spoke at the public presentation of Anatomy of Corruption in Nigeria: Issues, Challenges & Solutions, a collection of essays edited by Yusuf O. Ali, SAN, asserted that “a lot of the problems associated with the refineries are corruption related.”
He also attended the public presentation of Prof. Ladipo Adamolekun, who just published his autobiography, I Remember.
According to the VP, corruption “explains why many States are owing salaries and continue to owe salaries.”
Furthermore he noted that “when we look at corruption and its deleterious consequences, we must relate it directly to what we are experiencing at this time.”
For example, he said “most of the States, since February 2016, many have been owing, some up to 6 months. When we came into office we tried to settle many of those debts but the Federation Account is lower and we are unable to find the resources to shore up the Federation Account.”
Driving home the point about the consequences of corruption, the Vice President said “When you consider that today, Nigeria's reserves stands at about $27billion and we are investigating $15billion from one sector alone. That is over half of the entire reserves of the country.
“We are investigating cases which shows that over $15billion was lost in one type of contracts alone. We are not talking of oil contracts, we are talking of security related contracts alone. We have not talked at all about oil contracts, several billions.
“How we dimension the problem must be different. We can not look at it the same way as if it is just petty stealing. This is not just stealing the resource of the country, it is stealing the future as well.
“Let me just state one clear example. All through the period when Nigeria was earning over 100 - 115 dollars in proceeds of oil for a period of almost 5 years, the external reserves of Nigeria remained much the same. It did not (significantly) increase at all despite the very high earnings.
“And that is why we have the situation that we find ourselves today. It is the external reserves that a country resorts to as a last resort in protecting its currency.”
Doing a quick international comparative analysis using another oil-producing country, the VP said “when countries were experiencing these high prices, some countries were putting money aside, Saudi Arabia saved over $700billion,-(as at last year) so when their currency began to suffer, of course they were able to shore up their currency with their reserves.”
In the case of Nigeria however, Prof Osinbajo lamented that “we are unable to do so. And the reason is because the reserves have been depleted. It is the same reason why it is difficult to do very very many other things that we should be doing as a nation.”
He then declared that corruption poses an existential threat to the country.
“I want to just very quickly say that corruption has no label. It is not just a social evil, it is an existential threat to our country. There is no doubt at all that this is unlike other countries, (where) people say that there is corruption everywhere, which is true.
“But I think the one distinguishing feature for Nigeria and for many other countries like ours is that it is a threat that directly affects the lives and livelihoods of everyone.
“It is not just an evil, it is not just an immorality, it is an existential threat because it could truly destroy lives and it has destroyed many many lives and has continued to destroy the Nigerian economy.”
Prof. Osinbajo then declared that “unless there is a determined effort to fight corruption at all levels, unless that effort is determined, unless we have the political, the judicial, even the religious will, we would find ourselves in a continuous cycle of corruption, economic adversity, more corruption, more economic adversity.”
“As I observed at another event, when you look at those who are accused of corruption in Nigeria, look at any typical case of fraud or corruption, you will never find three Igbo men (by themselves alone) or three Yoruba men or 3 Hausa speaking men, (by themselves alone) NO! You will find federal character, well-represented.
“You find the Yoruba man, you find the Igbo man, you find the Hausa man, the Fulani man. All different groups are very well-represented. Amongst them you will find Christians and you will find Muslims.
“All of the defenses that people put forward, that, oh! it is the Igbo man, oh! it is the Hausa man, it is Yorubas, and so on, none of that is demonstrated by the facts.
“That is why it is important that as a Nigerian elite, we have the special privilege of education, we have a special privilege of position. It is the responsibility of that privilege that we must fight everything that normally hinder and distorts our economy and kill our people as well.”
“That is why we must as an elite in leadership fight corruption. Some people suggest it is a matter of religion, It is not a matter of religion, I pastor a church. I pastor churches, so I know. What is important is that we must recognize corruption for what it is. Make no excuses for it and fight it with determination
“I want to assure you that the government of President Buhari is determined to fight corruption, and that despite whatever those naysayers may say, we would fight it with everything that we have and we will leave a legacy in this nation of at least a government that chose to stand by principle and chose to stand by doing things right.”
End time commissioner Osunbade
ReplyDeleteEnd time spoiling my Pastors name.
DeleteOne trillion u need education..osinbajo is d vice president and not a commissioner..olodo
DeleteWasnt it Buhari that called him osubade?
DeleteKikikikikikikikiki
ReplyDeleteFrom the little I was able to grab as I ran through, I see these monkeys are still in d game of blaming the past govt for everything they are doing wrong.
Nna, that's ur business biko. Leave d price at N145, una go still receive una punishment in thousand folds. As for me, no more buying fuel(our light is fairly ok), anytime we see light we use, and na to dey trek sure pass now maybe I will finally get that size 8, I've been hoping for.
Eka, why can't you save money from your Ikorodu primary school teaching job and buy a bicycle? Kikikiki
DeleteEka, don't you think Nigerians deserve an explanation from their leaders explaining the causes of the situation we find ourselves in today?
DeleteU ran through without understanding it properly cos u were in a hurry to comment. Now go back and read to understand
DeleteYou are a fool. I pity the generation of nigerian youths. Just look at what you wrote...utterly senseless. These blogs only breed a generation of morons. Incapable of deciphering little English.someone has explained that the government is low of foreign reserves but your low IQ didn't get that..even your hero Jonathan is glad he didn't win. Nobody would want to be in such an ugly mess.Lord why did you punish us with thieving leaders and moronic youths?????why????
DeleteCan u hear ursef Eka joy,calling it leaders monkey,when even in ur house u can lead talkers of local govt,,instead of flipping through stuffs like this why don't u read and know exactly what going on in the nation.
DeleteStella u need to encourage people to read more educating things and get enlighten about the economy of this nation not people just talking any how and expect buhari to do magic and turn this around over night..
Can u hear ursef Eka joy,calling it leaders monkey,when even in ur house u can lead talkers of local govt,,instead of flipping through stuffs like this why don't u read and know exactly what going on in the nation.
DeleteStella u need to encourage people to read more educating things and get enlighten about the economy of this nation not people just talking any how and expect buhari to do magic and turn this around over night..
It's good to educate yourself on an issue before you pass judgement. Sanusi lamido made this prediction in 2012 that should nigeria continue paying for subsidy, by 2015 the government wouldn't have money because at that time (2012) they had already depleted the reserves and that's why nigeria still seemed ok.
DeleteHere's the link:
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=t7QDjzTTrag
Watch from 18.48 to hear his prediction.
Have you forgotten that before the presidential elections 27 out of the 36 states could not pay salary, some for as long as 11 months!? Was that Buhari’s doing? Was it not this same buhari who bailed out these states who were struggling a year before his administration when he didn't have to?
Before you say something silly like this administration was against jonathan removing subsidy, think, shouldn't that be enough to tell you that jonathan was to weak to be a president? He lacked the political will to do anything, whether fight corruption or do what is best for the nation.
You don't have to like buhari but remember that the government failure is directly related to nigerias. The cost of food and fuel will just be the tip of the icebergif things don't go well. Nobody is saying you shouldn't criticise but criticism should be constructive and not based on ignorance or sentiments. We're in this together
Lol
DeleteHahahahahahaha... Your size 8 comment got to me mehn
DeleteSee them fools. Biko face front. Save ur advice for people that will actually heed them. Mbok
DeleteAll ds buhari supporters bold anonymous.lol..if u must troll be objective..
DeleteI am bold and I am a buhari supporter.no fool will bully me into going anonymous. I use my brain to think..
DeleteI know eka joy has trampled on her own brain while trekking from mowe to ikorodu.
Story
ReplyDeleteGod fix it
ReplyDeleteNA LIE
ReplyDeleteThe house boy has spoken!...
ReplyDeleteI don't know why people keep saying they are blaming the past goverment....who squandered money? who put us where we are today? The past govt will continue to be blamed.Doesnt meant,the current govt isn't working....pls Nigerian youths should read widely and stop the traibalism,party affiliations and ethnicity!
ReplyDeleteRead widely bawo? I'm reading the Great Gatsby after which I plan to read Purple Hibiscus is that wide enough for you? Buhari supporter oshi, reckless baboon. You said "doesn't meant" and "youthS" so I find it hard to take you serious. I know ur type, tribalism will not let you be objective. Suffering and smiling nitwit!
DeleteI was really looking forward to the strike. I was practically praying for it. Just to rest lol.
ReplyDeleteGod will definitely see us through this trying time we're in. Na that one concern me.
ReplyDeleteNonsense and ingredients.
ReplyDeleteIt was the only logical decision under the circumstances
ReplyDeleteStory story
ReplyDeleteSo no strike tomorrow, this people Don spoil my plan.
ReplyDeleteMtchewwww! Same story
ReplyDeleteJargon...all I want to hear is salary increment to cushion the whole tension going on in the country. Good will punish all the troublers of this country, may they and their families never know peace, sorrow will be their lot. I am so vexed right now. Deziani and Co, God punish you all
ReplyDeleteNa witchcraft they disturb, I will personally bankroll your deliverance... Deziani bawo? Na your type they blame your grandfather for your failure to provide for your children. Not learning anything, flat on their ass Oshi.
DeleteLet the blame game continue!
ReplyDeleteAnyhow dem do,I go survive!
This man won't stop running his mouth will he?
ReplyDeleteStory for the Gods.Politicians been deceiving themselves since 1300
ReplyDeleteThey shld rot in hell!
ReplyDeleteMscheew...making someone go thru stress over tashere income, my God will visit you guys soon for this wickedness.
Clueless people!...
ReplyDeleteWhat you people wished Jonathan has come back to hunt you guys one million folds!...
Kwakwakwakwa...
Nyoorrr!...
Buhari can't even address Nigerians on his own...
Shame!..
Osinbajo is talking like a senseless foolish human being.
ReplyDeleteWith the money they hv ,what exactly has him and his Oga Buhari achieved since they came to power?
Talk is always cheap.
Useless man in a useless government.
Na your mama dey useless.you this product of a prostitute and a thief!!!..
DeleteNigeria will be great again!! I still believe.
ReplyDeleteI see this government is all about blame GEJ till our tenure elapse. It is absolutely absurd to assert that everything wrong with a country of 56 years is caused by a presidency of 5 years. This is what you get when power is wrestled through all manner of propaganda and falsity.
ReplyDeleteYou are wise...
Delete1000000 likes!...
No it is not wrong. A country of 100 years can be destroyed in 6 days. Its all about letting corruption thrive. If one person could squander $2.1billion.Imagine all other moneys that went missing. The previous government ruined a lot.
DeleteGod bless our nation Nigeria. Thank God that we have good hands to govern us at this period of economy crunch all over the world. They stole all, putting it in the hands of just few who care nothing about the future of the country. It was just about them and them alone, "afemi afemi syndrome". VP you are right sir, it was not about religion or tribe but a careless leader who never have anything to offer. We believe in you and Nigeria will over come and they must be made to return all.
ReplyDeleteThey stole all abi?...
DeleteWhat of the ones they "claimed"they recovered?...
Yemi7 up,your brain is retard!...
GBAGBAGBAGAAAUUUNN!!!
DeleteWhere is Mr President?
ReplyDeletewho is even asking this mistake of a local god this giberish he is saying. as for me and my community, we have ironed our protest polo for tomorows demonstration. to abyss with industrial court
ReplyDeleteNothing dey happen you this lazy son of a crack head.which leprosy community??there will be no strike!!you hear.mugu
DeleteIt is well with Nigeria