A 27-year-old mother of four, Halimat Adejoke, was on Tuesday saved by the police from committing suicide on the Third Mainland Bridge, alongside her a 12-month-old baby.
Adegoke had on Tuesday evening attempted to jump into the lagoon with her baby, when policemen attached to the Rapid Response Squad (RRS), saved her and her baby.
An unidentified cab operator had reportedly drawn the attention of the RRS operatives, who were ensuring a patrol of the Third Mainland Bridge, to the woman.
The RRS operatives reportedly quickly arrived at the scene and prevented the woman, who had a baby strapped on her back, from jumping into the lagoon.
Adegoke told the police that she had actually wanted to jump into the lagoon but said she did not even know the reason, why she attempted to commit suicide.
On interrogation at the RRS headquarters in Alausa, Halimat claimed that she had trekked from her home at Medina Estate in Gbagada to the Third Mainland Bridge, to commit suicide.
She also claimed to have heard a voice, which directed her out of her home to go jump into the lagoon, adding that she decided to listen to the voice because it was “repeated and constant.”
The rescued woman, a University of Lagos (UNILAG) drop out, told the RRS officers that before the incident, she had issues with her husband before relocating to her parent’s house in Gbagada, Lagos.
The lady along with her baby were, however, on Wednesday morning, handed over to her relatives.
Tribune
Hungry
ReplyDeleteMost likely depression; hope she gets help.
DeleteClick my name for all your celebration cakes and cupcakes, cheers
All this people tblizzing .... Issorite
DeleteHian!...
ReplyDeleteThey would have allowed her to kill herself because of a man...
Mtcheew..
But she wud hv saved herslf d stress by drinking....i kid!
ReplyDeleteI'm glad she was rescued, clearly a cry 4 help.
End time Teebillz
ReplyDeleteGosh I reject frustration
ReplyDeleteDepression is now the order of the day in 9ja now. Stella, you too can testisfy to that with the rate BVs now comment, frustration is killing many people. No money, no food and no job, I don't know how people will survive this
ReplyDelete*Larry was here*
She heard a voice?
ReplyDeleteNa mental problem be that
Na so he take dey start
Over thinking don make her to begin run mental small small
Shwooooo..
ReplyDeleteNa wa o,this Nigeria is getting hard n tiring as the day goes. Abeg i won port to another country
ReplyDeleteDepression is real
ReplyDeleteThank God help came
Manipulation.
ReplyDeleteAll these people hearing voices calling on you to commit suicide na wa.
ReplyDeleteYou people should tell the voice you are hearing to tell you how to make money.
Gbam!
DeleteDoing it the ogbanje style😂
ReplyDeleteFrustration & depression everywhere..
ReplyDeleteI thank God for der safety..
God have mercy on your pple
Hiaaah
ReplyDeleteWhat is it with the O people and suicide everyday?
This is getting out of hand.
The FG should please intervene.
SMH
ReplyDeleteNow thats BLACK MAGIC voicing into the womans head to go jump...Yoruba people i hail unaa
ReplyDeleteThat should be post partum depression.
ReplyDeleteNa WA ,frustration everywhere.
ReplyDeleteMtchewwwww!
ReplyDeleteShe shud be charged to court for such is an offense.
#attemptedsuicide
No matter how badly frustrated one may be,....
Hian!!!! Double hian!!! She heard a voice? Chukwu okike biko kwa
ReplyDeleteSee what depression causes to the human mind.see woman you have no right to take ur life and dat of ur child,especially dat of your child.
ReplyDeleteCOWARDS.
Even if you are having issues with your hubby,suicide isn't an option.Remember there's life after marriage.
Stella please help her
ReplyDeleteNa jazz them jazz the woman.. remote control Voice.
ReplyDeleteDepression at work, hope the family will take her to get professional help asap. Thank God for His mercies. Two souls would just have perished for nothing. Most likely she is not empowered (no job, no business) and marriage has broken down. Women must be empowered and independent to survive the sometimes hardships/realities of life.
ReplyDeleteWhat up with more nigerians becoming Sucidal of late?
ReplyDeleteQuickly she was handed over to relatives, no investigations of any kind? She may just need counseling or some form of medical intervention but what do I know, naija I hail oooh.
ReplyDeleteWhy lagos lagoon again! That place need deliverance.
ReplyDeleteWireless control Via voice over. May God deliver oo
Too much wahala for naija
The island is now the convergent point for suicide! OK oh but on a serious note people need to take time to be alone like yoga, meditate and reflect, it helps refresh the spirit soul and body.
ReplyDeleteThe spirit of depression
ReplyDeletePoor woman,(sighs). She is sick. She needs a Psychiatrist or the services of a psychiatric hospital. When they say they hear voices, it is real. But again Africans always down play thus kind of issue. Till she will commit the suicide or even drown that baby of hers, only then will someone conclude that she's been sick all along.
ReplyDeleteU ppl no see say she dey hear voices,it cld b a mental condition,do u knw if it dis her mental condition dt made her to seperate from the husband. She cld b having hallucinations and d rest. I am not a psychiatrist but dere are oda mental conditions dt can cause hearing voices. This lady isn't a Teebillz case, dis is more serious.
ReplyDeletewen ur village witches holds their annual conference and u are in d agenda.....trek all way to 3rd mainland bridge...okay oh
ReplyDeleteAt 27 years, she already has four children. That itself is suicide!!!
ReplyDeletePsych case,how sad!!!!
ReplyDeleteShe lives in my estate n I spoke with her this morning. She told she has had mental problem for 11 years now n she said it a spiritual thing. She was a very brilliant girl,but now she can't boost of a degree. She told me to always pray for her. I can't write all what she said to me. I really feel for her.
ReplyDeleteHmmm. May God touch her