Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Subsidy Removal: NLC Blasts Buhari And Vows To Shut Down Economy

Thursday, May 12, 2016

Subsidy Removal: NLC Blasts Buhari And Vows To Shut Down Economy

Contrary to government’s claims that the organized labour was part of the agreement for the total removal of fuel subsidy, the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC) Wednesday described the development “as an act of insensitivity and impunity”.

The NLC in a statement by Dr Peter Ozo-Eson, General Secretary, said; “The unilateral increase in prices of petroleum products today by government represents the height of insensitivity and impunity and shall be resisted by the Nigeria Labour Congress and its civil society allies.
“With the imposition on the citizenry of criminal and unjustifiable electricity tariff and resultant darkness and other economic challenges brought on by the devaluation of the Naira and spiraling inflation, the least one had expected at this point in time was another policy measure that would further make life more miserable for the ordinary Nigerian.

“The latest increase is the most audacious and cruel in
the history of product price increase as It represents not only about 80 per cent increase but it is tied to the black market exchange rate.
“Furthermore, the process through which government arrived at this is both illogical and illegal as the board of the PPPRA is not duly constituted. In our previous statements and communiques, we had stressed the need for reconstituting the boards of NNPC and PPPRA and wean both away from the overbearing influence of the Minister of State for Petroleum
Resources who has assumed the role of a Sole Administrator. The allusion to the fact that the this increase was arrived at after due consultation with stake holders is not only ridiculous and fallacious, it goes to show that the brief meeting held today during which government was advised to shelve the idea until at least it meets with the appropriate organs of the Congress was in bad faith.
“Accordingly, we urge the government to revert the prices to what they were. We would want to put everybody on notice that we shall resist this criminal increase with every means legitimate.
“Already an emergency NEC meeting has been scheduled for Friday, May 13, 2016 to decide on the next line of action. Meanwhile, our affiliates, state councils and civil society allies are requested to commence mobilization immediately.”

Dailypost

65 comments:

1. God, I was shocked when I read about the subsidy removal and the new price of fuel. Which way Nigeria? How do they expect the common man to survive amidst naira fall, poor electricity supply and all? This is pure evil! May God never leave his own to suffer.

1. This Government is highly hypocritical.

How can they do this now, when even the hope of Nepa light we don't have and the economy situation is extremely bad like this.

At least during Jona's time things weren't this bad,yet we still were made to protest against sudsidy removal.It obvious we were so blinded by anger and the quest for change to see this coming.

All the promises to make nigeria a better place for the poor masses, was it just another political lie?

2. Pls fight for us. Save d poor man's business. Save us from spending our meagre salaries on just transportation and fueling of gen alone. God is ur strength

1. You guys should better brace up for it instead of letting one yeye NLC deceive you as if they were not at the meeting.

2. Las las FG go do wetin dey their mind.Kpata kpata dem go reduce am.
      Buhari is a disaster, king Nebuchadnezzar of our generation but finally he must enter bush ga taa afifia.

3. How much do u already buy fuel per liter in ur location?

4. Tuscany, we were just managing to buy at that price cos kaichukwu kept promising things would go back to normal. Now that it's going to be permanently at this price, it's really scary. You guys that are rich will say things about how Nigerians will adjust and stuff but what about us, the poor people?

5. Eka, forgive me , now I know better.I used to think you were annoying until this Fan bulshit started acting like a rabid dog on this blog.

That girl irks me with her receded hairline,yuck, very unlikeable.

3. Abeg oh! Make dem do something, hope dey are nt making mouth sha.... wow been long I commented, I miss stella sha. But am bk now.

1. It's been removed and no going back and there's is no perfect time for it other than now. Don't be deceived, people are buying it more than that amount before now.

4. Nigerians are about to witness untold hardship,God have mercy on us.

5. Nigerians are about to witness untold hardship,God have mercy on us.

6. Hmmmm, Baba after arranging, concluding traveled & ask his Min of state to do the announcement, cuz there was rumour abt it before he travel
    May God help us in this country.

7. Hmmmmm, this is not a good move dear federal government.
    If increment in PMS is the solution to this fuel crisis, then let salaries be increased.

1. My dear, even if salaries are increased the price of all commodities will increase. Hence no significant change to salaries. Fuel can be increased but to 145 naira per litre is just outrageous.

Companies might further downsize if this goes through cause if they don't, it will affect profits.

8. Showdown in Little Tokyo. If I hear!

1. Kehinde Ake where have you been? Missed your comment on this blog.Good to read your comment again.

9. All these people should let us rest biko.

1. U better shut up!
      Stupid Lil winnie.
      Se you all were baba go slow spokes person,now this and you are "this people should let us rest biko". Where in the bible did you read that there is rest for the wicked?

10. Those illiterate at NLC should better shut it already! We wouldn't have been in all this mess if we had allowed GEJ removed the subsidy then. What needed to be done, had to be done. We just delayed the process. They should look at the core reasons of certain actions before they start protesting about.

1. Don't mind them.
      They never see sumthing.

2. You are quite daft

Removing subsidy and putting official price of fuel at 145 seems okay to you?? If they want to remove subsidy shouldn't official price be at 110 at least or even 100??

Official price at 145 means we can even buy more at some filling stations.. Some people are so blind in supporting a failing government that they loose their reasoning..

Didn't this same government say nothing like subsidy?? How come all of a sudden their was subsidy??

3. True but shouldn't they have put their house in other first before doing this? Like ensure there is fuel everywhere and steady electricity. Cos as of this morning, black market is selling at N300 per litre. How about think of the suffering Nigerian first?

4. Yes
      It's the right thing to do but the time is not right

Wicked dictator in agbada no consideration for the mass

5. Thank you.
      The NLC is a corrupt institution. They are always used by these subsidy cabal to stop subsidy removal.

6. I am sure you can't even afford a car in your next generation so u won't understand.
      Your own is to enter Keke go and fuck and come back while your father would be buying fuel for Gen

11. God punish all those that voted Buhari in, unfortunately this will continue till 2019

1. God doesn't work that way, my dear. If He did, he would have first punished y'all that still clamour for that daftie under whose watch our nation was ruthlessly robbed. So instead start praying for God to enrich you and see you through the hard times. 'Cos times are hard!!

12. Buhari's brain is no longer functional. We warned Nigeria to leave this deranged bigot, but they didn't listen.

1. Lol! See frustration at play. Don't worry, you will be alright.

13. Some people are funny** why do people think the marketers will be the one to suffer in this subsidy removal?? This is the best news for them if you don't know.. You think subsidy payment was profiting them?? Subsidy payment that the government divert and don't give to them making them loose money??

When Buhari stepped in didn't he acknowledged that the marketers haven't been paid for 6 months?? So imagine how they were loosing in that 6 months..

Do you people even know the meaning of subsidy?? It means if the marketers import at 100 naira, the sell at 70 naira because the government will pay them the 30 naira on top of it due to agreement.. So why would you think they have been gaining from the subsidy when it's actually there money.. Subsidy that was always short paid..

This is really good for them if you don't know. When they import at 80 naira, they can decide to sell at 100 naira or 120 naira. No one will import at 100 naira and still sell 80 naira as no one would want to loose. They will all at least sell between 120 upwards to make their money..

There money wouldn't be tied down in the name of subsidy. The will have more money to do business and be able to bring in more products ad they wouldn't be scared of their money not be paid.

So please before you come and say oil marketers will suffer thinking you are making sense, think differently... They will be more than fine. This is a good development for them. Same thing Goodluck wanted to do and they were ganged against them..

The only people to be pitied is the masses as everything will hike in price. From transportation cost, to food cost, employers will sack more people because they will have less money to run their companies.. Everything will be high in price until crude oil price goes up..

Those thinking it will be hard before it will be good, keep deceiving yourselves..

Oh well, my family and I will make it even in the midst of hardship.. We are favored

14. NLC should get lost ! Were they not there at the meeting ? No reasonable Nigerians will listen to you stupid group.

1. Oh please shut up. Shut your bloody rat trap! Subsidy removal is important but at this time? This is a time when over 65% of the citizens are experiencing untold hardships and all you can say is tht nobody will. Listen to the NLC. Really? Do you need a slap to be reset to factory setting or are you just plain stupid?
      My friend, kindly step down from your willy nilly horse and see the hardship it will unleash.
      Show some empathy or shut up.
      Between, I don't give a rat's tutu about your bloody opinion.

15. Pls they should protest oh. This time I will join. 110 naira is wise not 145. That's day light robbery of the poor. No way.

16. It is well...how many people are ready to protest in this economic hardship on an empty stomach? If this will bring long term progress,let everyone tighten their belt after all we purchased #200 and above during the last scarcity..

17. They were in that meeting when the decision was taken and now they are screaming mtcheeeew.
    People in my area have been buying fuel between 200-164 for the past one month, so no difference, all we pray for is that this puts an end to the scarcity.

18. Was shock to my marrow when I got to NNPC this morning to hear 145naira per litre
    This is not just fair when there are no power supply no water no local refinery

19. Nigerians should better apologize Jonathan, where are the Soyinka, Tunde Bakery,Falana, Odumakin and there likes

1. Don't mind them....
      They are all hiding their face in shame!...
      Useless old men!...

2. Soyinka n co., ur present is needed here.

20. But we all know that the best thing to do is to remove subsidy.

21. This was what GEJ was talking about when these animals, APC shut down the country, occupying Nigeria and everywhere occupy-able. Useless APC idiots. Everything that GEJ wished this nation, they were quick to criticise. This is very good for Nigerians. At least , they now know the real agenda of the APC. This is the moment of truth.

22. No pain no gain!!! NLC should shut up!!! U are sick the doctor said u require surgery u said no cos of the pain. Yet u want to be healthy. The economy is sick and a surgery needed to be performed to it to get well. The downstream oil sector need to be fully deregulated to allow the forces and demand and supply to work. Power also needed to be fully deregulated. Over time price will stabilized. This was done in the telecom sector. Nigeria want good life yet they don’t want to pay the price!!!
    It’s like a student who want to pass professional exam without reading!!!

1. You shut up!,..
      Stupid hypocrite!..were you not the one crying foul when the last adminstration wanted to do same thing?...
      Mumu!..

2. Please stupidly stop comparing telecommunications and oil. This 2 have nothing in common. Use another example stop trying to sound intelligent but yet daft

3. They wld come for u,but u hv said d truth,Nigerian politicians hv realized dt as long as u can gv d citizens d bones for dem to chew on,dey won't disturb u. Just gv dem small light and petrol no need to make any changes,dey wld b happy. Ppl don't want to accept dt for progress to happen things must definately change. D UK and USA u r seeing today have experienced their own difficult times,what did d citizens do,d blessed natural inventors started creating machines and tools to easy d suffering. It is sum of dese inventions we r enjoying. This is time for ppl to sit down and think,d engineers to think of cheaper and efficient ways of generating energy for the masses. It is time for ppl to put on their thinking caps. We may rant all we want on social media but we as d citizens of dis country hav to sit up,we hv to learn to hold our leaders accountable. We hv to open our eyes to bigger things. See sum of u condemning d lady who sold made in Nigeria shoes,dt d shoes won't last. Some of u think buhari's failing is a good thing,if he fails he will not suffer,it is u and I dt wld bear d brunt. He is there,complain all u want ,but he has decided to take d tough decisions that need to b taken. Yes dey protested during Jonathan's regime,he shld hv stood firm. Tough decisions must b made and u must see Dem thru,if it wld bring progress. May God gv is wisdom. Cursing Buhari wld not affect him or his children,it wld affect only us. I pray God see's us thru dis trying times. U r free to curse me,but I knw my heart is clean,what wld I do now, sit up,and buckle my belt, and do only profitable things. This our country even if fuel is 300 per liter u wld still see ppl in beer parlours and in clubs popping champagne. Time to set ur priorities right. If ur car is too expensive to run,take public transport. Abroad how many ppl drive deir cars to work.

4. Anon 09:32 your head is there jare. You are spot on. Sometimes you just have to stop, then proceed. The problem with GEJ was we didn't trust the daftie to use the money well. The likes of Alex Badeh, Metuh, FFK etc wld have carted it all away. Buhari and Kachikwu I trust.

NLC?? I laugh. Those ones are just looking to enrich their pockets o! Don't be deceived.

5. My question is why would this policy be good now when same people in govt now rejected it in 2012? Why would they think that the past administration didn't foresee sabotage by oil marketers?. Why would they think that the last govt didn't have the interest of the masses?.  If they were not part of the sabotage then why did they staged and pay people to reject policy that would have improved a great deal the lives of people?.

23. I pray somthin good comes out o!

24. Till we see action.NLC noisemaker.

25. NLC should just shut up. Afterall they were chanting Sai Baba. Now sai baba has come to work for them, they are crying.

Please everyone this is CHAIN. Make una manage am. Na manage dey dis country.

We are a citizen of management.

Eka forget that thing ooo. NLC is a toothless barking bingo

26. The removal of subsidy at this difficult times?

27. It is well....

28. It is well....

29. common man will survive. Afterall when Jesus was born, there were common men, so stop saying common man, there is no common man.

Them go survive

30. Replies
    1. Amen
      When there is a casting down for others
      There is a lifting up for us in Jesus Name amen