Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ooni Of Ife Hawked Biscuits And Sugar To Survive

Monday, May 09, 2016

Ooni Of Ife Hawked Biscuits And Sugar To Survive

The Ooni of Ile Ife, Oba Adeyeye Ogunwusi, Ojaja II, on Friday held youths in Ile Ife spell bound as he narrated how he rose from grass to grace through hard work and determination to make it in life.

Addressing participants at the Ife Youths Economic Summit with the theme: “Intrepreneurship: Building Entrepreneurship Competency and Self-Reliance Among Ife Youths,” sponsored by Oba Ogunwusi and Senator Babajide Omoworare, at Ile Ife, Oba Ogunwusi charged youths across the country to face the reality of the moment and liberate themselves from the shackles of poverty.

The front line monarch told the youths that he started with hawking in the market even as a graduate adding that there was nothing he did not sell apart from human parts to survive.

Oba Ogunwusi told youths to learn from how perseverance, dedication and hard-work eventually changed his story.

Oba Ogunwusi explained that he had always wanted to be on his own and run private businesses, saying his dream almost ended abruptly, when he became father at the age of 20.
“At 20 when people would still be under the care of their parents, I became a father and the horizon was very gloomy. I was torn between Pharaoh and the deep Red Sea. When I left polytechnic, I was thinking about setting up an accounting firm and continue in that line of business.

“On the other hand, I was also contemplating going into business. Buying and selling and being my own boss. Shortly after my NYSC, I experimented with some businesses but I could not cope.
“I could not understand the language spoken in the market. What was it that I didn’t sell? Except human parts. I sold biscuit, vegetable oil, rice, sugar, name it. I kept on working. The going was rough and tough but I was not deterred.
“In the market, I started meeting people. I met Alhaji Aliko Dangote, I met Dr Adeleke, many emirs. Because I was dedicated and focused on what I was doing, I kept on going. Bit by bit, people started noticing me.

“As business improved, I began to divest into other things. Today, I give God all glory for making me to choose to be my own boss. I am one of you. Let’s start something new and create jobs. The future belongs to us and we must seize the initiative”, the monarch concluded.

Goldmynetv.

51 comments:

1. All of a sudden, y'all were once hawkers ba? First Dino, now u. Issoke.

1. No mind them, na so them de hawk whenever they become prominent. Ndi asi

2. Empty barrel, must you always talk? I'm sorry for your boyfriend and future husband

3. Stella bikonu, e don do biko, abeg, joo, da Allah.

4. Sorry for Ur stupid sef anon. Oshisco.

2. That is good...am sure some people did. He's famous that's why his own is news.

1. Wait I'm confused... Isn't he from royalty? Honest question. How come he hawked?

3. I should now do backfling??..mtchw

4. Chai.....SDK! Encouraging though..

5. This is a good story. Do not allow your background put your back on the ground.
    Hardwork pays.

6. And i am ezemmuo who is into sacrifice right from birth till now so that i can survive and the worst part of it is that most of my clients are popular pastors mostly from nigeria and also politicians who wants to die there.

Omenala ga adiririri

Iseeee

1. Loooooool who is this one again

7. Oni... how do you make your money?

1. Good question but we will never get an answer to. He met those he mentioned in the market I beg which market we need to know so that we too can go there to display our goods, hope its the same market he met the Olori.

8. Yes,he's saying the truth. I've always been motivated by his story.

9. Good for him.

What did Olori do to get to where she is?

10. I'm richer than him yet don't brag nor tell the poor BVNs what I did way back..... Well I was never poor so no old story to tell.

11. Being an Oba is 'grace'? Pele o

12. Replies
    1. Yes monkeynofine,everybody have! Smh

13. Its all about determination,thank God he got to his destination

14. From grass to grace,
    From clown to crown...

15. Almost every great man or woman always claim to have hawked before.How come nobody knew that?...mtchew..I don't know if it is pity they deserve.

16. Saloni ZeeWorld9 May 2016 at 19:54

Woow... that's nice. from grass to grace... Just like me, i hawked okpa on the streets of Mumbai, India but today i am the biggest Indian Actress and very popular in una Nigeria!! Kikikikikiiii Itz me Saloni, the Nigerian Indian Half Caste... Saloni Season 50 is out oo...

1. See how zee world distorts brains

2. Try and do MP test 😂😂😂😂 This is malaria ++++

3. 😀😃😃😃😃.. Hey!! I swear i laughed so so hard at this comment.. Abeg who patronize you nne.. Satej or Prateesh hahaha

4. Saloni ZeeWorld10 May 2016 at 00:39

Kikikikiiii i see all of you my fans.... Savvy, Oby O, Shennel, Chikito & Sue!! Itz not easy being an Indian actress. @OBY O Na Prateesh oo kikikikikikiiiii!!

5. Hilarious 😄😄😄biko eating and reading comments on this blog is at your own risk o! You can choke on your food.. Chai.. Thanks for sending me to bed laughing jare my dear Saloni..

6. Looooool yall are hilarious. So they sell okpa in Mumbai?

7. Saloni u don break my ribs..... Choi!! Even wen i dont read the gist... I will always read the comments... SDK.. I hail

17. Most we all hawked something before we can make it in naija? Y won't u hawked wen u all abandoned farming?

18. Showe me any one who has made it to the top and didn't come up with a sad past.
    Well it is good for encouragement and motivation.

19. People always say hardwork and dedication, we know that, but they never tell you the koko. That particular one thing they did that changed their lives forever. Only few mostly foreign peeps such as Steve Jobs tell you what's up. Our Naija peeps? All na smokescreen. I hail O Oba.

20. So? How is this news. Stella's obsession about the Oni is becoming too much.

21. All of them, all of them hawked. Tomorrow DJ cuppy will come and tell my grandchildren generation that she hawked CDs in Alaba, mtcheeww.

1. Hohohohoho lol

2. Ab loves to laugh12 May 2016 at 10:50

Hahahhahahahahahahaahahhhaahahahahahahahahahahahahahahhahahaahahahahahahahahahahahhhahhhahahahahahahahahahahahahhahshhhahhhshhshhhsh

22. Stella, u are either obsessed with this oni or you must be his official press 'seke'. They should give u chieftaincy in Ife as the Eleti Ofe of Ife Land. In fact na u for be Stella Otiti