Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: NYSC - Corps Member Cries Out On S3xual Harassment By Soldiers In Ondo State Camp

Sunday, May 01, 2016

NYSC - Corps Member Cries Out On S3xual Harassment By Soldiers In Ondo State Camp

This is serious!

''Good day Stella,I was posted to ondo state for my National youth service corp.I am currently at the orientation camp at ikare.

The male soldiers are really harassing us.yesterday around 11 pm my period started so I went out to bath,to my surprise someone flashed me a torch light without saying anything while I was naked.

I ran into my hostel but later came out the second time after 20 minutes to complete my bath and to my surprise,he was still hiding in the darkness.

The person still flashed the light to my body without saying a word,so I ran back leaving my bucket behind.

Then I decided to pretend to go and ease myself,so as to take my bucket,this time I dressed up and held a torchlight, to my shock I saw this man standing in the darkness,he asked where I was going to and I said I was going to ease my self ,then he ordered me to put off my torch light and he waited by the entrance of the toilet.

When I came out of the toilet he was still standing there and asked me to come close to him,I told him I cannot come close to him,he asked why,I told him because it is night,he then said we will see in the morning.

This happened inside girls hostel.These male security operatives derive joy in entering girls hostel to chase us every single day while there are female soldiers and man o war in this camp.

Please I would love the appropriate authorities to do something about it before it is too late.
Thanks''

47 comments:

1. Why didn't you go out with your fellow corp members to avoid stories that was too much risk?

1. So one can't have privacy in Nigeria again abi? Her family might as well have escorted to camp na.

2. U b mumu....is it a must to go with a partner..can't u read n comprehend...she dey do federal wahala and needs to clean up d iranu#mitchew#

Mc pinky

3. Abi o....the poster is simply breaking the rules. You should have showered before lights out...period or no period. Don't go out alone after dark. Nothing happened to you this time.

4. Stella I served in Ondo in 2011 and this is true. Back then we were sleeping when a fellow corper Woke up to pee. As she came out of the bathroom she saw the a soldier by the entrance. As she made towards the room he tried grabbing her. She shouted her head off. Of course all of us woke up and ran to see. The idiot ran away. The annoying part is she couldn't identify the human being. But he was dressed in his kit, she said. And only soldiers patrol at night cos the camp is in ikare a deep seated village.
      After some time, the soldiers started having gf among us. That eased konji. Even our Ms. NYSC was dating soldier then. That's when the harassment stopped.

2. Poster abegi shut did anyone touch you? Are you a Virgin?
    Man something never enter deep inside your something and pour inside before?

1. Now I can see dat common sense is far from wia u r..u r a problem to a whole system.and wen a sub-system I faulty then it affect d whole system..

Pls,free adult education at ur disposal.....terms and condition applied

Mc pinky

2. James u b fool oo. Ur parents no jst try.

3. Jamisi, dia u are again. When will you receive sense?

3. Poster abegi shut up. Did anyone touch you? Are you a Virgin?
    Man something never enter deep inside your something and pour inside before?
    U must be another beautiful Bianca.
    Nonsense

1. James u re a fool..God punish u for ds comment...u myt as well be a Rapist..Fool

2. Oh really,you too shut up cos you av just yarn dust

3. Imagine someone telling your daughter this?
      Please think properly before you type. I pray these careless words don't haunt you in future.

4. are you for real, buh I served there.

am sorry to change the topic. mehn I listened to Drake's One dance with Kyla and WizKid, pls what's the hype all about? cos wizkid's version seem more like a background iiish. ain't hating tho

5. Babe this has been happening na...no be today matter...during my time,they will stand there when we have òur bath till we finish...na me konji go hold...next time dont run, cos it will never stop else u shower before lights out or go to the bathroom

6. Madam, please don't damage any institutions reputation for nothing.
    I was expecting to read where a soldier groped u or asked u for sex.
    The soldiers were sent there for a reason. I don't think u will want them withdrawn. So you will no their importance.

7. And most of these girls dat cry sexual harassment falsely are usually those wey their something don collect prick tire

1. I swear,I don start to like u for ur foolihness.anyway,no one is useless.u r adding sometin 2ur society.

Mc pinky

8. Replies
    1. No be today My Dear. During my service year when we were taking our baths outside. Some boys would just be flashing us torchlight still we finished. We would scream & curse but they just kept on doing it, till one day a girl asked us why we were so bothered. According to her, the guys were doing themselves more harm than good, getting their senses stimulated with things they would never get to touch. So Pls corper make friends in your room, always have someone with you when you want to pee late at night, follow the crowd and don't be a loner. Bath when everyone is bathing. Good luck

9. Hian!!! U can't talk ni? U can't tell him to excuse u?

1. She can't bc it is night 😂😂😂

10. It's so sad that women can't shower in peace and to think you have to go outside. Please ensure someone goes out with you next time until this issue is resolved..
    Check out www.townkryer.info and become a townkryer yourself😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊

11. It's so sad that women can't shower in peace and to think you have to go outside. Please ensure someone goes out with you next time until this issue is resolved..
    Check out www.townkryer.info and become a townkryer yourself😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊

12. I served in Lagos but was posted to Ondo,Ikare akoko for my Orientation camp.Though I only stayed a week in camp cuz I had to go for my clearance in law school,but Soldiers only came to chase corp members out in the morning,or chase them back to their hostels and entered the hostels to make sure the lights were really out.I didn't hear of any sexual harrassments by any soldier.They all respected themselves,except of course if it's a mutual agreement between the Corp member and the soldier.Some shameless Corp members were openly flirting with the soldiers to gain little favours from them.So dear poster,I won't honestly say that I can relate to this complaint of yours,but that's in no way saying that you're telling lies please.

1. Different soldiers for different batches

2. You only stayed a week yet you think you are in a good position to question if it happens?

13. A friend of mine complained about same thing yesterday!but hers is different,she is serving in ogun state

14. Not new my dear...and I hope when more people speak out, the inhumane treatment of girls in NYSC camps by soldiers will stop. When I served, the soldiers, all male will come in at 4am to chase us out..they didn't care what state of undress you were in...they stared at breasts and bums openly...they were all animals.

I suspect that most people are so battered and broken by their first week in camp that by the second week, all you can think of is "let the third week come quickly so you can get out fast"! I even had it easy, I was a camp Doctor, so the soldiers respected me. Many of my friends in camp were not so lucky.

Horrible but mandatory experience. I could not wait to leave.

Dr S.

15. At Awgu camp Enugu we experienced the same.soldiers pointed torch at us.if u date them you will be exempted from strenuous camp activities.

1. Who told you u will be exempted na wetyn dem use deceive u!! I served there too

16. Please what are you talking about? You are not meant to be out after 10pm and @ 11pm you were outside. Please I don't see anything "sexual harassment" about this gist

1. @Rogers, abegi no mind the foolish poster. She thinks sexual harassment is a word you can just throw anyhow.
      And gullible fellows are even supporting her

2. Oga if you're pressed at night don't go and pee cos lights are off. You hear?

17. I camped in Ikare Akoko and I did not xperience such......call d attention of your camp director or camp commandant.

18. Hahahaha it's funny, but seriously is too bad.

19. So sorry honey..are there no bathrooms? Pls bath before lights out, and use the bathrooms...Those camps are horrible places.

20. Soldiers are also human beings.Blood in their veins,they get a hard on,they fuck,they also die! They behave same way every man would.Responsible or not.Meanwhile, I think you gave him the opportunity. I didn't read anywhere here where you asked "Why are you point your flashlight at my naked body?"
    You also went out THREE times after the first incidence.He must have assumed you were enjoying it.Some of you girls don't even know how to conduct yourselves, later you'll be screaming rape or sexual harassment.

21. Its a normal thing in ondo camp o,served in ondo2012, and d soldiers show us pepper during orientation, gbenshing things every night with d females,all d soldier fine sha.

1. Yea some are cute sha. But that's no excuse mehn. I'm too fresh. Me I was down with malaria after 1st week. So I was exempted from marching under sun and early morning parade. I'd just show them my exemption permit and sleep away. When everyone has rushed out, I go to bathroom and bathe. Shikena!

22. James, what is wrong with you? Must you comment all the time? If you have nothing meaningful to say, then shut the fuck up. Your conduct is too unbecoming of a literate. Receive sense!!

23. That's how one idiot photographer use to point touch at our naked body in imo camp, we usually bath around 3 am. He will point torch and we will run inside, only for me to come out to brush and he asked me why I was naked " immediately I saw his face I asked what he was doing at that time in female hostel, that's how he said he will push me down I dared him and some foolish girls came and was pleading with him to calm down, thinking he was a soja , I no gree oh, I said he must take me to d camp comdt,I told him once we get to d middle of d field he will regret walking me down naked cos I will shout rape and he won't escape it that I will so cry and he will b asked questions, the next thing I heard was u re lucky that he will leave me cos of d oda girls. D next day I reported him, and he was asked to apologize to me cos he said he was drunk