Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Teen Sues Egypt Airline For Taking Him To The Wrong Destination

Saturday, May 21, 2016

Nigerian Teen Sues Egypt Airline For Taking Him To The Wrong Destination

Joshua Adekunle-AbdulAzeez on Thursday filed a lawsuit of N500 million  before a Federal High Court in Lagos against the airline which wrongly
routed him to Moldova, instead of Ukraine, where he schools.

Madam Favour Anire-Gbenebichie, his mother filed the suit on her son's behalf. He is seeking reliefs from the defendant in the sum of N500 million as general damages; the sum of N373,891 as special damages, being the cost of the
full economy return ticket which the claimant had purchased from the defendant and which he was prevented from using, 790 Euros or its naira equivalent
at the prevailing exchange rate, as special damages, being the cost of additional one-way economy ticket from Istanbul to Kiev which the claimant’s mother
purchased after he was denied access into Turkey.

The claimant also demands the sum of 160,341 Indian rupees or its naira
equivalent at the prevailing exchange rate, as special damages, being the value of the electronic appliances removed from the claimant’s damaged suitcase as a
result of the defendant’s recklessness in the course of his four-day ordeal.

Adekunle-AbdulAzeez is also asking for the sum of $1,721.74 or its naira equivalent at the prevailing exchange rate, as special damages, being the value of lost items from the claimant’s missing and damaged suitcases as a result of the defendant’s recklessness, and the claimant’s counsel’s legal fees.

The case has been adjourned for hearing on June 27 and July 3, by the Chief Judge, Justice C. A.Obiozor who demanded that the claimant be on ground before further  proceedings.
Vanguard reportage.

30 comments:

1. Easy case,if they are nice people they will accept 200million. I swear,this case is a cool way of making big money.

2. I remember this story. So they are in court? Good. They really treated the boy badly. I think this happened a year or two ago.

1. What a very stupid response from ' HER IDIOT' ! It's silly Nigerians with mentality as yours that draw this nation backwards !

2. Shut up you ugly negative hearted thing.
      Similar thing has happened to a student before and he was paid almost 100million or so just for flight cancellation. This same Egypt air and that was because they even begged him to settle out of court. It happened in this country and he has been paid.
      People like you are the reason Nigerians keep quiet and get treated like trash even in their own country.
      As Educated as you are,someone like you would have discouraged him to just keep quiet.
      Do yourself a favour and follow this case then dig a grave and bury your self cos the case will even be won with a law student.

3. What are you saying Elena, so you mean even with their evidence (tickets,flight no, and everyother thing they have) they don't deserve to go to court?
      You are a dissapointment,yet people like you come out and expect things to work in Nigeria.

1. There goes another chicken brain!

4. Hmmmm! Madam Stella, this your poster above reminds me of close up toothpaste ad!

5. Hehehe! Cheesy!

6. Let one big company comman do me wrong na lemme sue also.

7. Replies
    1. Which kain yeye 2 million, how much is only the additional stuff that is not included in the main compensation. Even the lawyer fee sef, and the boy will have to come down to Nigeria again to testify.
      My dear, even for flight delay people have been settled for more. The case is a win for them, no need to hurriedly settle except the airline will offer like 300million first.
      If not,at the end of the case,the minimum the judge might give them is 250million and that won't include other damages. Money dey this case o and it is not the type of case that wastes time cos the evidence is both online and with the boy. The airline cannot deny that he wasn't a passenger.

8. Just be glad nobi that plane wey dey go Paris, they put ur son madam.

9. yes ooo nice move, imagine if his ukr registration was to expire the following day... This shit happened to a friend about 4years ago, due to the flight delay, he arrived Donetsk on the day his registration was to expire and was thereafter deported... niccur started all over again for fresh visa application...long story short, that was the end of his schooling in Ukraine after 3years of schooling in ukr... Make dem sue the yeye airline

10. yes ooo nice move, imagine if his ukr registration was to expire the following day... This shit happened to a friend about 4years ago, due to the flight delay, he arrived Donetsk on the day his registration was to expire and was thereafter deported... niccur started all over

11. yes ooo nice move, imagine if his ukr registration was to expire the following day... This shit happened to a friend about 4years ago, due to the flight delay, he arrived Donetsk on the day his registration was to expire and was thereafter deported... niccur started all over again for fresh visa application...long story short, that was the end of his schooling in Ukraine after 3years of schooling in ukr... Make dem sue the yeye airline

12. Jesu!! The hustle is real mehn.. see people staying up.till 3/4am for 200naira shoki them.. una try o. I don't have airtime but its not worth my night sleep

13. Unfortunately this seems a bad case.

According to the Statement of Claim, the final destination was "KIV" instead of "KPV" for Kiev airport, and they noticed it when it was purchased. So what did they do to get it corrected?

The guy then traveled without the error being corrected and thus duly ended up at "KIV" Airport. So it seems he was flown to the airport indicated on the ticket.
    Irrespective of where he wants to go t, an airline will only fly you to wherever airport is shown on your ticket.

If you plan going to Los Angeles (LAX) but buy a ticket indicating LOS, na Lagos dem go drop you.

1. What do you mean? Is it the individual that issue tickets to themselves? Are they the ones that label LOS and LAX.
      He paid them for a ticket to LAX and they printed a ticket to LOS for him. It is their mistake not his cos they too can get confused.
      Get your facts right. You are not the passenger and you don't have the ticket in question.

2. I actually followed the story when it happened, he went twice to their VI office to complain and flagged it at the airport.
      He was told to shut up and stop complaining- the kid was locked up without food for more than 48hrs and had to be hospitalized after deportation to Nigeria
      Very sad story

3. True @Duchess. I also followed the gist. They insisted it was the same destination when they queried the error. They even tore his passport when he was in transit, after subjecting him to series of humiliation. Which is another crime against the government of Nigeria. The young man was put through hell and back.