AIDS Health Care Foundation, AHF, has claimed that Nigeria has the second highest burden of HIV, after South Africa.
A release issued on Friday by Kemi Gbadamosi, AHF Senior Manager, also claims that only about 45 percent (about 70 million) of Nigerians are aware of their HIV status.
The release quoted Dr Adetayo Towolawi, the Country Programme Manager of AHF Nigeria, as saying that 45 percent was quite low judging by Nigeria’s population size.
Already, Towolawi said that 3.4 million people were living with the virus in the country, and further observed that achieving an AIDS-free generation was possible if more people knew their status and those found positive placed on treatment.
He disclosed that as part of the AHF’s contribution to Nigeria’s HIV/AIDS response that his organisation had flagged off a testing campaign aimed at reaching 15,000 Nigerians with free HIV test.
Towolawi said the campaign would be held in partnership with state and local government authorities with the target of realising the UNAIDS/AHF global goals on HIV/AIDS.
“ The HIV testing campaign is part of the organisation’s robust prevention activities for the year and a strategic tool in ensuring that more Nigerians know their HIV status.
“ As part of AHF Nigeria’s testing scale up plan, the testing campaign will target Abuja, Anambra, Benue, Cross River, Kogi and Nasarawa States.
“In addition to HIV testing, individuals will also have an opportunity to check their blood pressure, receive health and wellness talks among other services.
“In the country, relevant stakeholders and partners are scaling up testing uptake and AHF Nigeria is taking measures to consolidate these efforts and champion community-driven testing outreaches,’’ Towolawi stated.
The statement also quoted Elizabeth Duile, the Prevention Programme Manager of AHF, as saying that the foundation was committed to ensuring the availability of HIV testing services in the country.
Duile said the campaign would provide a platform to educate individuals and communities.
“Ending AIDS starts with a commitment to act and everyone has a responsibility in stopping the spread of the virus.
“ People are often reluctant to test for fear of the result and stigma; today there are mechanisms in place to check stigma and discrimination.
“This will ensure that people living with HIV have access to treatment, care and support,’’ she said.
The News Agency of Nigeria, NAN, reports that AIDS Healthcare Foundation is the largest non-profit HIV/AIDS organisation in the world and provides health care to more than 600,000 patients in 36 countries.
AHF Nigeria has been operating in the country since 2011 and has presence in six states.
NAN
80% of Uniformed men and their partners are infected.
ReplyDeleteI agree. I dey fear soldier well well....dem too dey get HIV
DeleteI have been living positively with the virus for about 5yrs now and I can tell people IT IS NOT A DEATH SENTENCE, not knowing your status is!!! It's not really as bad as people fear, once you know, the battle is won, at least, half way.
ReplyDeleteI eat right, take my meds, eat loads of fruits,rest well and avoid all forms of stress and mosquitoes and I feel better now than I did before I knew, now I take very good care of myself.
Get tested people, HIV doesn't kill, not knowing does.
Na wah oh!,..
DeleteHope you are not sharing it like kolanuts...
I no fit shout mehn!..
Confirmento! Ye shall live long! Go and get tested people! Know your HIV status. It isn't a death sentence!. Too many of us are ignorantly carrying and sharing the virus around 4 real!
DeleteWord!
DeleteEesah,are you trying to tell us something?
DeleteMay God save us all.....
ReplyDeleteNo, God can't save us all when we are busy gbenshing unprotected! Preach to them to go and get tested either or gbensh with caution. We sabi over spiritualize things for Africa. This one no be God matter at all
DeleteHave Mercy on us o'lord!
ReplyDeleteContinue sleeping with people I meet on S&M without condom o nd random people too.. HIV is real.. Go for screening nd use ur head people!!
ReplyDeleteYou*
DeletePoverty brought all this. A woman can accept to sleep with a man unprotected because of money. Especially this hard times.
ReplyDeleteGood move. Zip up but if you cant continue skin to skin after all e no dey show for face.
ReplyDeleteSecond!!!!!......I do not believe it all.
ReplyDeleteWe are so first...... Summon the Mrs in Nigeria and see the number you will get. Many men are treating themselves while their trusting wives and newborns are months from full blown AIDS.
How can u say we are first when 90 percent of South Africans are living with HIV,a south African is HIV positive until proven otherwise
DeleteWow!...
ReplyDeleteQueen Linda, go and get tested o! When last you been go test? U wey get plenty sugar sons
Delete*mischievious laughter*
Lmao at Eesah!...
DeleteThis life wey dey sweet like honey abeg
I don't joke with my health oh..HIV and Cancer dey scare me like hell so I'm always careful...
I don't believe this!
ReplyDeleteI just don't believe it!
Wow!
With the amount of baby mamas and abortions going on daily, you think it is only pregnancy that is the result?
DeletePple living in denial will say it's a lie until dey catch it. Lol
ReplyDeleteWhat!!!
ReplyDeleteHow can???
I don't want to believe this report jor oh
Na wah o! Make them calm down na. Too many things to be worried about in this country. Now the small minutes pleasure wey dey make man happy & forget the wahala & relieve stress, they want to take that away from us kwa!
ReplyDeleteThis is a vital aspect of our lives. They shd not scare us with it biko!!!!
*Ghanaman signing out*
Alot of these beauty queens and models are infected...trust me on this one
ReplyDeleteStella, stop this funny look biko, with the way these ur Bvs are sleeping around with no condoms nko?
ReplyDeleteHnmm
ReplyDeleteI knw we hv very poor statistics taking here in Nigeria,so dis cld b flawed. But I won't doubt our rating. Just look @ d anon post,there is so much unprotected sex. It almost as if sex has turned to food. U wld see comments he can fuck well,but I hv a bf. Automatic multiple sexual partners and u will say I hv 2 bf's I am faithful to so no need for protection. Also there is an apparent increase in the number of gay and lesbian ppl or bisexual ppl. Most times ppl who hv sex with their own sex are very Lose and careless,I saw in comment section a lady saying she slept with sum 1 she just met(her fellow lady) does she knw d ladies medical history. U wld get Hiv from ur gay or lesbian partner and gv it to ur spouse. Many of u see homosexuality as not cheating so u wld b fucking as ur spirit leads. How d disease no go seriously start to spread. Men and women are now so promiscuous,we hv always had lose ppl,but dis era of sexual freedom and exploration of d youth,diseases like this wld definately be on d rise. Every 1 pls use protection and homosexuals pls control ur urges and get a single partner,especially dis new era of lesbians everywhere u ppl wld soon b d major distributors of this disease.
ReplyDeleteThe fact that we have poor statistics and data keeping coupled with the fact that 80percent of Nigerians don't know their status is the more reason the statistics is even LOWER, imagine if everyone gets tested. The value they are working with is only the people who have come out to be tested and probably registered for medications.
DeleteSo my dear, we might even be the ist in Africa.
And so many people are still having sex without condom
ReplyDeleteChoi
God have mercy
Wait o! What's with this smiley Stella has up there? Madam, dont u also encourage it? This minute u preach to ur BVs to pretend to be mermaids, the next minute you release top govt officials numbers to these ur thirsty whores of BVs u got! Madam, if u want to preach right,preach and if it's all about gbenshing,the let it be! Don't be two faced. Even 2baba no dey hide where him stand! So stand for something$post o! I'm a BV as well$i am sometimes ashamed.
ReplyDeleteCommon people. Nigeria has a population of 170 million.Naturally you should expect a relatively high number of HIV infections. If they rank with percentage of the population, I don't think Nigeria will be among the first five.
ReplyDeletetake anything AHF says very seriously. their facts and figures are impeccable.
ReplyDeleteNot in the least surprised. With the numerous confessions here, numerous abortions, mabaise girl ranting on & on about being healthy, the increase in gay sex & oral sex in general, it had to come. Then add those abokis who give pedi & Mani, careless barbers & weaves with infected sewing needles. Don't forget blood transfusion. We overtook Kenya! To think just a few years ago we celebrated a drastic reduction in the scourge. Oh well.
ReplyDeleteThe weave sewing needles scares me most. I remember years ago when I visited home and this lady at the salon pricked my scalp with the needle (no blood though) and just said "aunty sorry o". I was wondering how many scalps must been pricked with the same sewing needle and had a small trickle of blood sef.
DeleteThank God for small mercies and since then, I always take my weave needles with me to the salon. Some laugh and some think I'm being all diva'ish but mehnnn, better safe than sorry!
Even scarier, what if the person doing your hair had it? It pricks her then pricks you?! .......... With your own needle?! God help us.
Delete*has
DeleteIt's Not That Easy To Get HIV that way, it's very possible but less rampant compared to through sex, reason being that the Virus only replicated in a human cell so once it's outside a human cell, eg on needles, dried up blood on surfaces, it cannot survive more than 5 minutes....the most common way are through sexual intercourse and unscreened blood transfusion.
DeleteSome many pple still do without condom.
ReplyDeleteNa wah oooo
The question is: Do you know who your partner is fucking after you? and who is fucking the person your partner is also fucking? Don't trust anyone I tell you.
ReplyDeleteAnd for the married woman that said she sleeps with seven men just to provide for the family, I will say she is a big disgrace to womanhood. So because she said no one should call her out people started petting her by asking her to reduce it to 2 men smh... Are you guys really kidding me on this? I have deduced from all these stories that most women whose husbands are not doing well financially is as a result of their bad behaviour.
Like serious, how do you expect God to bless your home and hubby when you are sleeping with different varieties of men? Let me say this to all the married women that sleep around- things will never be well with your husbands as long as you keep sharing your body with different men. Even the bible can bear me witness. A woman begins to destroy her home and husband the day she gives her body to another man bec both man are wife are one body one soul and anything you do to one, destroys the other.
Madam, if you are reading this I want you to stop. The money you've gotten from those men use it to start a bizness which will enable you take care of your family. Your duty as a wife is to go down on your kneels to pray for your hubby and not sleep around. I will tell you the truth even if no one wants to bec they are guilty as you are or don't want to be insulted. Insult me if you like but I've just told you the truth and that is what Mother Nature is known for.
How many of our mothers married our fathers as rich men? but today so many of you are enjoying wealth like your dad woke up one morning to see trees of money planted at his backyard. Hard work and prayers pays. Yes! you can hold me by that word. So many mothers drove taxi, sold food, Okpa, clothes etc to train their children so why then will you sell your body and even justify yourself on top of your wrong doings. You are just greedy and lazy and only want quick cash. Get your lazy ass up and stop that rubbish bec the people you are doing it for, will grow up one day not to appreciate it but rather will "HATE YOU". No child wants to hear or see his/her mother raise them as a prostitute bec that is exactly your profession now.
Who is a prostitute? Anyone who exchanges his/her body for money. Whether you give it a subtle name or not; prostitution is prostitution and yes, you don't need to stand on the road to be a prostitute as long there's transaction then you are in the circle.
The problem in dt woman dt is sleeping with 7 men can dt money b used for good,even if she starts a biz,it may eventually crash. Madam if u want to start a biz no use ashewo money,start applying for giveaways on dis blog and use it to start ur biz. Ashewo money is only good to buy house or car. It is very bad to invest it in biz,d biz may flourish initially but when e wan crumble e go just happen in d blink of an eye without 1/2 warning.
DeleteMy dear i was surpirsed too when she was being petted for being a prostitute. People are encouraging all sort of vile things. Look at the annonymous post..so many married women sleeping with different men, men sleeping around, single girls getting pregnant for married men, lesbianism is on the increase. The world is coming to an end very soon. Plenty people are living with the virus without the slightest knowledge. Sex have now turned to the cheapest commodity! So disgusted right now!
DeleteBest write up ever...mother nature pls recommend beautiful young angel for me with good qualities ma marry
DeleteHow many pple HV u provided for on ds platform? Pls stop judging & face ya front. Mtcheeeeeeew!
DeleteEveryone has to be extra careful these days. Ladies, before they fix your weaves in the salon, insist that they clean the tips of the needles with cotton wool soaked dissolver/nail polish remover. It acts as a disinfectant.
ReplyDeleteHIV no dey show for face ohhh.
ReplyDeleteI am a medical profession, please take my word.
You will be shocked at the people living with this virus for you can never ever guess even with 1 million naira.
Medical profession indeed!...
DeleteNow I know why there are so many quack doctors in Nigeria!..
Saturday laughs candidate? Dokita go blame typo nah nah, what happened to proof reading??
DeleteWhere did he say he was a doctor? Mind yourself o
DeleteGod bless you mother nature..my thoughts exactly..
ReplyDeleteAlarming! As for me, I always ensures my boo checks his status every 6months, that way, I'll know mine. ABC rule should be embraced by all
ReplyDeleteAnonymous, I know it is me you are referring to and yes, I haven't provided for anyone on this blog bec they are not my responsibility. I have my own problems and needs to take care of. I sold Okirika after my NYSC bec I needed to be busy with something while I was submitting my CVS to different organisations and that Okirika business was my NYSC allowee that I saved up.
ReplyDeleteThere is no excuse for one to sell his/her body for money or material things. Yes!! I'm not innocent but I will speak the truth and let the guilty ones learn or remain that way shikina.
You that is talking, how many people have you helped on this blog and outside this blog??
@ Oge God bless you too my dear. @ Chijokie Okafor lol... I no get babe to give you oh! the ones I know na money dem like pass their destiny. If you are serious, I will find one for you just list your flavours lol.....
ReplyDeleteThis is not hard to believe. In l
ReplyDeleteD hospital where I work, for every ten admissions at least four r positive. Quite sad