Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: LUTH Resident Doctor Cries Out Concerning Management's Shabby Treatment Of Doctors

Thursday, May 26, 2016

LUTH Resident Doctor Cries Out Concerning Management's Shabby Treatment Of Doctors

This is a cry FOR HELP that should be looked into by the Appropriate Authorities because of the issues raised therein......Otherwise we would continue to have Medical casualties like the case of Ngozi Udebu which is used as an example in this cry for help.

#RIPNgoziUdebu and all others who perished in Hospitals that should have saved their lives!.

''Dear Stella,
I do hope you are doing good? Thanks for the good work you've been doing both home and abroad. I would appreciate it if you could publish this on your blog.

As a medical doctor working and doing a residency program in Nigeria, (Lagos precisely) one has to be extra strong to survive, thrive and excel in the program. Lagos itself is a place filled with enough stress and adversity. Health has been defined by the WHO as a state of complete physical, mental and social well-being and not merely the absence of disease or infirmity.

I must tell you Stella, the residents in the department of Internal Medicine in Lagos University Teaching Hospital (LUTH) are unwell and may be so for months to come judging by the definition above. 

Internal Medicine in most hospitals see close to 70% of the patient load. The hospital has just come up with anew policy in the department mandating all units in internal medicine to be on call everyday. This means that residents in the eight units of internal medicine (Respiratory, Neurology, Cardiology, Nephrology, Hematology, Endocrinology, Dermatology and Gastroenterology) are on call in the hospital everyday with only about two call rooms. 

We are expected to 'manage' and sleep in our cars at times with poor toilets and mushin boys lurking around to steal your valuables.

The way internal medicine was structured normally is that a unit is on call each day out of the aforementioned eight units who manages the patient and calls the appropriate unit involved to see the next day and takeover the management. This is what is done in saner climes and even other teaching hospitals in Nigeria.

The hospitals abroad that practice specialized calls have adequate facilities to cater for the doctors on ground at work. Internal Medicine is one of those specialties that everyone passes through a general training and thus is equipped to manage and stabilize any  medical case that is brought into the hospital.

The hospital is saying that Surgery does specialized calls...but the hospital has easily forgotten that 70% of the patient load that comes are usually medical cases.
Residents are breaking down, some may need to be in the hospital every other day for a month making it half of the month to sleep in. Patients will be mismanaged as the doctor is not healthy.

Residents are getting to the point where they are thinking of withdrawing from the program The hospital needs to understand that this will be counterproductive as ultimately patient care would be compromised. Several meetings have been called...yet the management is adamant. 

LUTH was in the limelight a while back about a patient that died and most of the complaints laid by the husband of the deceased were administrative and structural problems. The genesis of this new rule (which they know is just eye service to look good to the public) is the case highlighted Why then must the residents be made to suffer for it?

If we do such specialized calls, the labs are not working overnight, CT scan is not working. What magic are we supposed to perform by putting ourselves at risk sleeping in our cars? Those that don't have cars should probably sleep on the corridors? 

Our consultants are not saying anything...everyone is just going with the flow. Studies have shown that more medical errors occur when there is intense stress on the part of the doctors 

It is not okay. Younger doctors are humans too and this is a cry for help through you that it is a recipe for disaster for both the doctors and the patients.

Thank you Stella. Keep up the good work. 

Concerned Resident''.

35 comments:

1. Doctors too like money...Always demanding and doing nothing oo...They have only their pocket at heart and not that of their patients

I lie?

@Orela dimples

1. @Galore, u dnt undastd anytin, u dont understd what it means to be on call everyday, no tym for urself and family, its madness, and in a place like luth, with d patient load, dis is serious, and d I-dont-care consultants wont feel concerned.. Y r medical seniours always belittling deir juniors, onlywen it affects dem before dey do sometin...

2. Please Don't say tHat. I work in the Carribeans and everyday im glad to go to work because I know I get paid so well. Please Stop witH all this nonsense. WHo no like money?

3. @Anonymous 11:06

Sorry dear

You will be Consultant very soon....Just keep the positive mind...Thanks for correcting me with love

The other Foolish @Anon....I don't have your time Mr Caribbean

4. Kuins' Cakes N More, Abuja. 08077010809.26 May 2016 at 13:29

Doctors complain yet patients complain about them, who do we believe... Sigh.

2. So Mushin boys are thieves? Wow!
    Poster, you should have just said "area boys"
    Back to the issue at hand; I hope the right persons see this and help out

3. Hi Stella, I used to work in LUTH, so I perfectly understand this patients point of view.
    But I perfectly understand and I will put more light on this matter.

In LUTH, what operates on a normal day is that there is a speciality on call expected to see all patients that come into the accident and emergency.
    So if Dermatology unit is on call and a patient comes with heart failure(a cardiology case) or a Hyperglycemic (Diabetic)emergency(an endocrinology case). Dermatology unit will manage this patient on their own till the next day... then they ask the specialty involved to review the patient.
    Why is this wrong?
    Call duty starts from 4pm to 8am the next morning. This automatically means the specialty that should see this patient wouldn't get a consult till the next day and they won't see the patient not even early the next day but till later and when they even review they say they won't take over the management of the patient because the patient is still in the emergency
    What does this result to?
    A cardiology patient is being managed fully by a dermatologist
    An endocrinology patient is being managed by a Nephrologist

Did this writer say this doesn't happen in saner climes? Dear writer, please get your facts write. It is a teaching hospital for crying out loud. A diabetic patient ought not to be managed by a dermatologist.
    Even in UCH, a resident doctor in every specialty is on call everyday and they can be called to see the patient at any given time and not till the next day
    Dear Doctor, would you take your father if he has a heart failure to a dermatologist to manage?
    I understand your plight as resident doctors in internal medicine hardly do any work.
    Stella, you won't believe the junior residents are on call just once in a month or once in six weeks
    Dear doctor, it's time to work, Even pediatrics in LUTH isn't this bad, learn from them.
    You'll get used to it and you'll be fine.

From a reasonable Doctor.

1. spot on,and they will learn more too.

2. *Perfectly understand this Doctor's point of view

3. *get your facts right

4. Doctors like you are the very problem we have in the medical profession. The poster is not complaining about the new policy. But there should be conducive call rooms for doctors. Smh @ you will get used to it and you will be fine. Get used to sleeping inside a car all in the name of call duty.

5. With only 2 call rooms? And by the way how many residents are in each unit? If they are up to 5 then it's reasonable, if only 1 resident, then it's disastrous. Doctors hating themselves since time immemorial.

4. The resident doctors should forward this issue to the Minister of health who is a medical doctor also.

Stella many may not understand but asking all units to be oncall everyday is recipe for disaster, imagine been treated by a doctor who has been on his feet for over 12 hrs n who has no place to rest his head.
    LUTH needs more doctors and dey also need better structure or else the living morgue called LUTH will soon start churning out more corpses than healthy people... My 2 cents

1. Abeg chop kiss! U don summarise am. When people r treated by Docs that r psychologically suffering,odikwa very risky

2. U talked right.

5. Anonymous 10:57,u r far from being reasonable,mind u,am not d poster and I don't even work in Luth.u got it all wrong,and I will highlight one by one
    1,it is perfectly ok for another specialist to manage any specialty in internal medicine,that is what produces well rounded Doctors,as they gather a lot of experience from other speciality even while fine tuning one. What about private hospitals?even the very expensive ones? Patients are received and stabilised by medical officers before they eventually get specialist care. Every sane Doctor should be able to stabilise a patient.
    2,u were comparing internal medicine to peadiatrics,mind u,i have worked in Luth before and am aware that each peadiatric ward has at least 2 decent call rooms for the Docs on call to stay. Medical wards don't have any call room,so u expect them to subject themselves to carparks every other night,thats just terrible.
    Anonymous Doc 10;57,so if your wife with kids is in this dept we r talking about,or u r a nursery sch child u will b happy that your wife or mum sleeps out 15days in a month.thats just wicked. We Docs r our own enemy. Prof Bode, reverse this new rule.and Galore STFU! U don't know what is being discussed. The poster is not asking for more money but better working conditions like a roof over her/his head at night. Stella,the voice of the oppressed,pls post my comment.

1. I got your point, I'm happy you said you've worked in LUTH, I'm not saying other specialties should not stabilize a patient... definitely that's standard practice,but the input of the speciality is needed.
      If you've worked in LUTH, you know how long it takes before the speciality that should take over management does sometimes. They keep dragging it.
      That being said, what should these residents fight for? Provision of better call rooms, employment of more doctors.
      Even doctors in the "big" private hospitals that you mentioned will invite a specialist when it's not a GP case.
      If you've worked in LUTH you should know internal medicine in LUTH is substandard, how will a resident doctor be on call once in 6weeks?

2. They are not asking them to be on call everyday, resident doctors in internal medicine in LUTH leave patients to the mercy of house officers alone. It is not so in surgery
      They can look for a way to work it out
      If a unit has 4 resident doctors.. they could make a roster to favor them, it could be one doctor per week.
      There are ways to sort this things out and patient care should be paramount to us as doctors!
      My 2cents!

3. You are a reasonable doctor@Anonymous 11:41. Don't mind Anonymous 10:57; Doctors hating doctors since time immemorial.

4. Tnx Doc,i actually started wondering if anonymous 10.57 is a doc. Im a house officer in one of the hospitals in the east and we have similar problems. I worked under nephrology and i pity d resident there, infact i pity all the Junior regs! They have 8 junior regs in the dept and at a point some went for exams so only 5 were around. 5regs covering 8 units and after calls, they are expected to do morning review where they are drilled on mgt of the pts they met during their call. And they had just one call room. What about the house officers? We have no accommodation within the hospital,the call room is a mess,in fact our problems here are too numerous to mention. And saying a dermatologist shouldn't manage a cardiology case, haha! Na wa o!

5. Dere is nothing wrong wit any unit reviewin any case, how will d residents learn? And d issue of long drillin morning reviews were d consultants who r hardly arround drill regs, HO's and students is annoyin...doctors dnt std by each oda....dats y we hav JOHESU issues, and consultant nurses doing ward rounds...

6. Dere is nothing wrong wit any unit reviewin any case, how will d residents learn? And d issue of long drillin morning reviews were d consultants who r hardly arround drill regs, HO's and students is annoyin...doctors dnt std by each oda....dats y we hav JOHESU issues, and consultant nurses doing ward rounds...

6. Whether they have problem(s) or not, they should render good services at all times even if no salary. #myOwn

1. Fool...that's why you please keep buying. Oloshi

2. Hope you are practising this nonsense u are spitting from your mouth. I seriously pray you are not getting paid

3. #your own,na very selfish one wey go land you in hot okro soup one day.u don't care whether your caregiver has problem or not or even if no salary, I laugh in french,u go surely enter one chance for hospital one day with your attitude. Selfish bitch.

4. If your husband is a doctor and hasn't been paid salaries for 3 months, what would u say? STFU.

7. Thank you from a Reasonable Doctor. Only complaint from resident doctors that dont want to work.

8. I didn't know we actually have many doctors in this house and they got time as well.

But I wonder why they are all anonymous !!!.

9. i know i am done with calls! Medicine is a passion but they should at least make it convenient to pursue that passion

10. I hope this colleague is sincere. I am a supernumerary resident in LUTH. The truth of the matter is that resident doctors in internal medicine are used to doing calls once in a month while their colleagues in other units do about 2 calls per week. This is far below what is required for a doctor being trained to become a specialist. Then where do other residents sleep when on call. Almost all their senior residents have accommodation within LUTH. Even while on call a few of them prefer to see limited number patients by giving 1001 excuses while they may not attend to their patients. Management came up with with possible ways of reducing delayed admission and preventing patients waiting unattended to, but they decided to be frustrating it by all measures including the use of resident association and framing of lies... I will encourage LUTH to base the employment of resident doctors purely on merit. There are many serious and committed doctors who are not connected, seeking employment into residency programme.

11. The problem we have in this country is using mam know man for all employment. I am sure these residents believes that they will always be protected by their God fathers when they refused to see their patients. In fact you may even be punished if you report them for not being on their duty post. That is Niger civil service for you.

12. Yes I agree with you. In LUTH When you go for interview, just believe say dey don take people wey they know already.If u dey go interview and you hear say dey don take some people already for locum for the post wey dey advertise and you come apply, just waka go papahouse-no job for you.