Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Kachikwu Says A Niger Delta Militant Called Him After Sahara Reporters Published His Phone Number

Wednesday, May 11, 2016

Kachikwu Says A Niger Delta Militant Called Him After Sahara Reporters Published His Phone Number

The Minister of State for Petroleum Resources, Dr Ibe Kachikwu, on Tuesday revealed that he had been receiving threats through messages and phone calls from a militant.

In his speech at the federal government town hall meeting held in Kaduna State, the Minister lamented the outcome of attacks on oil installations, mostly carried out in the Niger Delta region.

He noted that the incessant attacks and destruction of pipelines was draining the country’s resources, but added that the government was on top of the situation.

In his words, “Last week, my phone number was published in Sahara Reporters and then I began to get millions of phone calls.”
“One of the first phone calls I took not knowing who was calling me was from a militant somewhere and when I picked up the phone, he said, ‘Are you the minister of petroleum’, I said yes.
“He said I dey go blow pipeline tomorrow, and I said why would you do that my brother if you love Nigerians? He said ‘are you sure you are the minister’, I said yes.
“Then he said for being so humble, I will drop the plan. That’s the kind of environment under which we operate.”

Kachikwu further pleaded with Nigerians to be patient over the current economic challenges facing the country, stressing that the Buhari-led administration has the ability to bring the situation under control.

He added, “The reality of our situation is that wherever I turn when I was appointed, I had problems. If I turn to the refineries when I joined in October, they were not working. If I turned to the pipelines, they were non-existent.
“But I wasn’t discouraged, because if I had problems, what will I say of a man who at his age took over the mantle of this country? His Excellency, the president so that gave me a lot of encouragement,” he concluded.

Dailypost

29 comments:

1. When they "blow up" pipeline,the innocent suffers for it.

2. Funny story,militant go just drop plan like that,is he the only one going for the mission.

1. Nna ehn, he doesn't even know how to lie. This one is a learner.

2. Eka joy, you must really think in that your myopic primitive mind that everyone is a messed up fabricator and bloody liar like you

3. Anon,light a candle let the wax drop on that empty skull of youra for 5minutes bf coming bk to make an post,mayb you would begin to reason well.

3. Oga,go and tell your stingy Buhari to settle those millitants!...
    Give them what they eat and they will free you people...
    Government have been settling them for a very long time now and your Buhari cannot come and change the deal!...it's not possible oh!...
    If you and Buhari have the interest of this country at heart,tell him to do the needful!...
    All these his initial gra gra will not save him!...

1. Queen of the blog ,e Kuu isokuso,so because the oil is in their land,we should all worship them Abi?main reason why gej was booted out,wiv the level of grants and opportunities that region had in d last 6yrs,they shld go and sit down and pls tell them dat oil dem go drink am last,I personally promise them Becos very soon all states will have oil and they'll be d ones begging expatriates to come and drill from their soil,annoying fellows everywhere,he shld bribe them,rubbish talk, and they shld keep squandering the country's main income source on them alone:pls fink about our unborn generations even if your kids are born in d US,fink about others.#mythots.I'm waiting for your response cos I know you.

2. Queen and boss is the same as Rolex chicken.

3. Queen and boss is the same as Rolex chicken.

4. Is it that you are a disgrace to the Igbo tribe .I suppose this is not how Igbo's think.I have many of them as friends!!

Surprisingly "Ukwu dimond" also shares the same ideology and James many times.

This is knowing that you are almost 100 % Christians

Please stop throwing Gods name into shame by these careless statements

These acts of supporting corruption was what made God turn his back on his beloved first born Judah.

Please what is the source of your wisdom.it is definitely not from God!!!!

5. Yes it is in our land I am a pure rivers girl you people haven't seen anything yet
      You better start looking for your own resource's or better still join the herdsmen in their cattle business.

6. Hahaha, your and your idiotic brothers are jobless abeg.....so, d govt shud continue paying them for doing nothing???? This is one of the evil of GEJs govt I swear. Well, newsflash, the days of #turning the other eye is over. The govt shud be decisive about this and every one involved should be jailed.

4. There is a rumour in town that there will be an upward review on petroleum prices starting from next week. NNPC official price will be 110 while others will sell between 120-130.

This increament will only tantamount to more hardship and sufferings to Nigerians.

1. Shey you were chanting Sai baba and change?...
      Deal with it!...this is just the begining!...

2. She is d queen of idiots indeed. Always sounding dumb,I will surely celebrate one intelligent comment from such a schumbag. And to think she spews trash so confidently

5. I don't believe this gist, you better go and settle those guys you and your oga @ the top.

6. Rolling my eyes with this story.... Ain't feeling d made up story.

7. Someone should please tell Kachikwu to stop talking. Anytime this man talks,fuel increases in price.

8. We are waiting for the change kachi.

9. I just love this man.

10. I knew revealing the numbers was for a reason.now they will start telling us different lies.

11. Well in as much as I am not happy not happy with the new petrol price but I think our main focus should be on all these retailers oshi. . I don't have problem with the main oil marketers but I however do have major problem with the petrol retail marketers.. because it will be twice as sad that we nigerians are made to pay N145 for 1 litre of petrol which is now double the initial retail price.. but this petrol service stations have all manipulated their petrol dispensing pumps.. you pay N145 for a liter of fuel which makes 5ltrs of fuel =N725 but by the time u are done paying you will realise that the litres you got was just 2.5litres but the meter will read 5 liters on the screen of the pump.. This is crazy and should be addressed quickly and with a tough hand.. Even some NNPC service station are guilty of this.. We cannot not afford this expensive play...