Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ibe Kachikiwu Explains Why Petroleum Prices Will Reduce Soon..

Friday, May 13, 2016

Ibe Kachikiwu Explains Why Petroleum Prices Will Reduce Soon..

Minister of petroleum says new development will bring amazement to Nigerians
– Reveals that the fuel subsidy removal was inevitable following Nigerians’ struggles

Dr Ibe Kachikwu, Nigeria’s minister of Petroleum Resources, has urged Nigerians to be patient as the increased fuel prices will soon reduce.
The minister, who made the statement during an interview with Channels television on Thursday, May 12, assured that Nigerians would be amazed at how the prices of petrol will dropin six months.
This statement was necessary following the new pump price of petrol (between N135 and N145 per litre) from N86 and N86.50.
Kachikwu told Nigerians that the market dynamics will set in pretty soon “because there are a lot of Nigerians who are very active, very bullish, very talented in doing this; they just have been prevented by government intrusions.
“As it gets better and it gets to a point where we find that the market has stabilised in terms of supply, we will begin to pull back a bit in terms of determinants for pricing.”
He explained further that “you will be amazed at what will happen to your N145 price because it will go downwards.
“You don’t give what you don’t have. We want Nigerians to understand that we feel the pain, and we have tried to avoid it since I came in October. We have done everything we can.
“We first went on to the issue of the subsidies that we inherited which, by the way, were based on 50 to 55 million litres consumption, and we said the number looked bloated. So, we did an experiment and came to a conclusion that this country doesn’t consume more than 45 million litres a day.
“Then we came to a second point and said, ‘We are not even going to have subsidy again. We are going yo exit it because there was just too much fraud involved in it.'”
Speaking further, Kachikwu stated that the ministry was left with no option since Nigerians had struggled a lot.
“Queues continue to go and they are back. And it will continue to happen unless we address the issues.
“If you free up Nigerians to find sources of funds, they will find those secondary funds. They will import the product; the burden on the NNPC will reduce and the country will have peace and subsidy will go away permanently.
“I am appealing to Nigerians to please for the first time realise that we are doing our very best. I have together with everybody who is in this government worked night and day looking for solutions.
“We mean well and Nigerians should please trust us. Give us a chance, you will be surprised what will become of your PMS price over the next six to eight months,” the minister explained.
Meanwhile, Governor Ayodele Fayose Ekiti state, southwestern Nigeria on Thursday called President Muhammadu Buhari a hypocrite.

He also described the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) as an advanced fee fraud practitioner for deceiving the country’s citizens till it removed subsidy from premium motor spirit, also known as petrol.

Fayose, like many other Nigerians has remained angry since the Wednesday announcement by Kachikwu, the country’s minister of state for petroleum.
The governor, seen as a major critic of the president, released a second statement stating that Buhari and his APC had defrauded Nigerians by increasing the price of petrol from N86.50 to N145 per litre.

Naij.com

39 comments:

1. I won't trust you,i will patiently but angrily wait for d 6 months to see d transformation.

1. Trust APC at your own risk

Of the many campaign promises made, which has been fulfilled?

They only end up denying the promisee

Hahahahahahahahahahaha...

2. Yeah, am angrily waiting too

2. Just stay on that drawing board and get it right Kachukwu. I pray for more Wisdom una way.

Nigerians are not complaining because they just wanna talk(infact I think we have the shortest memory ever and can absorb so much rot) Things are just hard. So I totally understand the harsh reaction to this.

God Bless Nigeria.

3. Yes we see reasons with you Mr Kachikwu but you & your Oga @ d top who doubles as Minister of Pet& President has refused to see reasons with the suffering masses! U don't just wake up one morning & remove subsidy entirely pls.What happened to d gradual withdrawal method? No increment in minimum wage or measures 2 helpout in dis gnawing economic crunch! Soon d poor will have nothing left to eat than 2 become carnivorous on the upper class! The wave tide is gradually getting thicker! Be warned!!!

4. Thing is he has spoken well but i don't trust this govt atall.They wil say one thing n do another.Pls bring back our subsidy!

5. I feel like putting a pestle in fayose and ffk mouth most times. They talk too much.

6. Synchro System13 May 2016 at 07:32

Really? If that's the case can we have an agreement/draft co-signed by Labour and Federal Government. I support the removal of subsidy but not increment cus the price of crude oil has fallen globally. Buhari please don't be insensitive to Nigerias plight.

7. Stella, how is this news great now. I will go with Fayose. They are hypocrites. Why didn't they let us suffer it when Jonathan wanted to remove subsidy. We would have been done with the presumed suffering and things would have stabilised by now. They are Hypocrites! They are feeling jack of what Nigerians are feeling now. But God is watching them via 3D. Hypocrites!

1. A lot of ppl didn't undastand what subsidy meant then,I can say if I knew what I know now,I wld hv supported it then. That is life,we make wrong decisions @d right time. But it just had to b done. The global forces are no longer in our favor. I keep thanking God we aren't as bad as Venezuela,those ppl queue for food and diapers. God pls let things b tough but it shldnt get dt bad for us IJN.

2. @anon 8:55, doing the right thing at the wrong time you mean.

One of the things that got people angry about jonathan's subsidy removal was the timing. He removed it on January 1st of a new year. A lot of people travelled expecting to come back with an already budgeted amount, only to find out the money can't bring them back again. A lot of people got stranded! Besides, no communication whatsoever, no sensitising of the public, nothing! He even announced it when he was doing his routine new year address to the citizens.

But in this case, the debate has been on for months. And when they wanted to remove it finally, they had meeting with the stake holders : labour union, the economic forum, all governors etc.

It's painful but if it will eliminate the age long fraud, then I'm game....

*iamtito*

3. @anon 10:12 u r so so right.... There wld hv bin no better time...

8. I've been trying to make sense of the subsidy removal. At this point all I can say is, let's wait and see. The idea sounds good in principle, I just hope it works out as expected. Sometimes the cure for a problem makes it worse before it gets better.
    The only downside is the increased suffering for the masses. God be with us!

9. oga kachikwu,mayb u hvnt noticed dat d law of gravity does nt apply to d prices of goods in naija.

notin eva cums down in naija.stop deceiving us biko.

1. I was jst about to type this. He is lying!!!!!!+

10. He should just do it fast!
    Very fast!

11. What's great about this news ? Stella are you delusional ??..

1. Rob if u are male then u are absolutely un couth. My God u talk worse than a woman... Chaiiiii!!!!! U said dere are no intelligent ppl on dis blog,why d fuck do u still comment with 'dullards' ahhh Han... U r just plain rude and I feel sorry for ur spouse cos when u hv a misunderstanding u wld just b spewing insults from ur mouth.

2. 8:59 Stella welcome o. Madam anonymous

3. Uncouth not un couth.. There is no space in between the un and couth.

4. D space was put by my phone, yes a typo. @ anon 09:50 pls this isn't Stella, b4 she write anoda unnecessary memo. I am not her defender but I hv been following Rob's comments and he is so quick to insult. He asked if she is delusional I mean what did she say dt wld result in him asking if she is delusional. I cannot fight stella's battles and she didn't ask any of her bv's for help but I just had to state my opinion. @rob thank u,it was a typo but pls change if u can. U are slowly becoming anoda James.

12. How do you make your money pained bitch. No company advertises here. Poor blogger

13. I thought this administration was gonna be better.. I guess i was wrong...its really a shame to be expecting miracles from an old and senile Buhari who was dwelling among cows in daura..smh

14. Nah! I don't trust dem APC 1 bit. Dey talk n den deny dey eva said anything like dat.

15. Nigerians that wanted to crucify Jonathan for this same issue where are they now? Buhari just took us 4 years backward, i see Jonathan smiling and shaking his head at Nigerians.

1. No ma/sir or sirma. he didn't .take for instance a road construction with faulty foundation ,to correct the fault or defect d road as2be total pulled down .apc or pdp dudes re not angels (angel fatai shara)even I(mr ak) am not an angel let just pray for them,trust God and keep dem on dere feet God help us all.

16. Nigerians that wanted to crucify Jonathan for this same issue where are they now? Buhari just took us 4 years backward, i see Jonathan smiling and shaking his head at Nigerians.

1. Like my grandmother would say "otua kam si imi ya diwa ndi na-akpo anwuru!" They never see anything...They never know wetin wan hit them... just singing in tubaba's voice

17. Mr Ibe, now we should wait again patiently for 6-8months?
    Tell me why I should even trust you again?
    'If you free up Nigerians to find sources of funds, they will find those secondary funds.
    They will import the products...bla bla bla.
    Ofcourse we will; we don dey suffer tey tey.

18. They should first apologise to Goodluck Jonathan for all they said when he removed fuel subsidy in 2012. Does it mean that bec Buhari administration did it,it's now commendable. What they dis is just a clear case of dog licking it's vomit. You crucified someone else when he did it and said it's scam,fraudulent etc but now you still did the same thing. Thus people should just stop deceiving Nigerians.

19. Kachiukwu and Liar Mohammed there is no difference.

APC has always been full of lies. Their good morning is lies

20. pls as the business of importation of fuel is now open to all and Nigerians want cheaper price of fuel my advice for Fayose and PDP is that they should go into the oil business and create PDP or FAYOSE Filling station and sell their product for N50 and see if he will not be elected for the President. Nigerians are more wiser, God bless Nigerian

21. I am all for subsidy removal but it should be gradual so we can cushion the effect. On that Wednesday before this thing was announced, people who queued at filling stations for 86naira ended up buying at 145naira on that same queue immediately the announcement was made. Is it fair? Why are our leaders so insensitive to the plight of the masses.. I spent 2k on transport to work yesterday for what I normally pay 1000-1200naira to crown it all I have not been paid salary since January. God what is all this?

1. Madam how can u say govt? This just shows u man's inhumanity to man.... We are very wicked as citizens to each oda. Ur Oga has not paid u since January, how does he expect u to report to d office,so don't blame govt but blame d citizens what dey bought with subsidy dey wld now increase d money,are dey not wicked.

22. This Buhari's government is scam! From the document released by NNPC in March 2016, what FG actually pay as subsidy to Oil Market N12.00 per liter! Now they increased fuel price by N58.50 per liter ie.(N86.50 + N58.50 = N145.00) So if you minus the N12.00 they actually pay as subsidy from the N58.50 they added this May, you find out that the FG is robbing the masses by N46.50!

So, from the enumeration above, Buhari and his APC gang are not only removing the subsidy, they are also robbing the poor masses in order to finance their budget! The painful part is that Buhari does not care if the poor masses starve to death! I'm not usually pessimistic but the way Buhari is going about his governance, Nigerians will look like they just came out of a civil war by the time he finishes his tenure in 2019!!!