Tuesday, May 17, 2016

How To Grow Your Frontal Hairline Naturally And Maintain Healthy Hair

You love your hair?Relax and keep reading!

Good day BVs and BVNs.
Today we will talk about having a healthy hairline. Now, I'm no beauty blogger or anything.  I'm just a cosmetic junkie and I thought to share some information with interested BVs.

What is the hairline? 
The hairline is the NATURAL portion of your hair that is closest to your face. It's casually called 'edges'. According to Wikipedia, it is the edge of a person's hair, especially on the forehead.

You can usually identify the position of your original hairline by facing a mirror and looking up without moving your head. Your frown lines should show where your hairline once was. This may have receded due to poor haircare and pulling of hair strands. But honey, THAT is your trur hairline and it's very very re-achievable. P.S: Check your toddler pictures to confirm  Lol

Why you need a full hairline:
In men and women, the hairline actually gives your face a better definition - better symmetry and proportion. Whether you use edge control or not, having a full and fluffy hairline defines your face better and can actually improve on your facial appearance.

Things that destroy your hairline:
1. Extensions- weaves and wigs pulling and tugging at your hairline.
2. Tight ponytails- stressing the hairline area.
3. Dying of the hair - cuts the hair
4. Lack of deep conditioning and hair treatments.
5. Err.... Drug addiction too. 

How to regain your hairline - NATURALLY
Now there are surgical methods of growing your hairline, but let's leave that to the Hollywood celebrities and work with our budget and location. 

Cosmetic products-  In my experience, I recommend the following as they are easy to get in and from Nigeria.  They also do quite a good job.

A. Rogaine  (also called Regaine) is a tested and trusted product. It helps to fill in bald spots generally, including the hairline. Now some of the hair may fall off once you stop using the product and with constant use, the new hair may be a deviated shade from your original hair colour. That's a disadvantage. But it is good for a temporary fix especially if your hairline is very terrible. This can be gotten from good pharmacies, as it is usually doctors recommended. 

B. Dr. Miracles Nape and Temples balm- This is actually very effective for growing the hairline. It is quite affordable too. The disadvantage is that it's not suitable for daily use, as it the follicle stimulants are very harsh. This eventually causes the skin on the area of application to get very dry, preventing hair growth. 
You can get this from any good supermarket where haircare products are stocked. 

Natural products- This is actually the best way to grow your hairline. It does take a alot of patience but is very rewarding. Don't expect magic but a gradual rejuvenation of the hairline.
 Peppermint and eucalyptus oils are your best friends. They are follicle stimulants and let your hair get all the 'goodness' from growth oils.

Mix A.: 10ml of essential peppermint oil, 125ml (4oz) of Black Jamaican castor oil popularly called BJCO (carrier oil).
Mix both together and use on your hairline at least once a day. Massage it in for a few minutes to stimulate the follicles. Don't just apply and drop. Make sure you get busy with stuff once you're done and don't go straight to bed. Because that would mean it rubbing off on your pillow.  30 minutes should be okay for absorption. 

Mix B: 10ml eucalyptus essential oil, Full bottle (118ml) of Wild growth oil (carrier oil).
Mix both together. Use just as you use Mix A.

Now, if you want to use olive oil, or castor oil as carrier oils,  you're most welcome. Coconut oil? Yes, but you may have to let it melt prior to doing this. (I think coconut oil should be used on the hair itself as it is more of a conditioning oil than a growth oil). I recommend using two oils only cos using more than two can make the concentration quite heavy and for those who use makeup and want to apply during the day, it will slide on to your face - especially in our hot weather. Caution please.
Now for where to get these, I recommend good supermarkets like that popular one in Lekki  Or.... Instagram naturalista hair product vendors. 
Also check on our online stores, the popular ones. Yes they have lots of vendors on there. 

Things to avoid: 
1. You should consider NOT doing any hair style that puts pressure on your hairline.  I would recommend a full wig movement for a period of time, while using these treatment concoctions. (*whispers* why do you think all these IG shakara babes go on wigs now and then?  Who no like edges on fleek? Lol). 

2. Err.... I'm of the opinion that you ditch the edge control until you get your hairline back and but some people don't have an issue with that. Best to study the strength of your hair and see what works. 

3. Not sticking to your routine. Try and use the oils at least once a day. It's very important. 

Hmm.... have I left anything out? I hope not!!  Thanks Stella! Thank y'all for reading. 

BLOG VISITOR Chikito a.k.a The professional runs girl 

DISCLAIMER: Kindly note that this write - up is for people who have no medical or genetic reasons that might be causing hair loss, but are struggling to grow their hairline. Apologies for any offence taken. 

80 comments:

1. Can't read because my fontal hairline is too full.

1. Who ur full hairline epp

2. Please where can I get this oils in Ibadan. Please any one here in IB should help a sister. Am on my natural hair.

3. Check the online shopping malls. Order and have it delivered to you

2. With the rate of things happening in naija, who hairline epp?

3. Abegi make una go hide. Wen extention dey raign non of una think about natural hair oooo now wey human hair don dey expensive na now una wan promote natural hair.? Cheap things.

1. U must b high on thyme if u think growing ur natural hair is cheap. A month of buying natural hair product can buy u a sleek extension.

2. @Tessbaby- honestly quality hair products ain't cheap. You're right.

4. Thanks so much! Just what I need for my Front hair...

5. It's not BJCO, it's JBCO. Jamaican Black Castor Oil not Black Jamaican Castor Oil. Other than that, informative article.

6. Chi chi chikito...thanks for the tips. Oya,all those isi nwanyi Onitsha and mama eko hair them,come and apply this tips.

7. I think mine is hereditary #iyaekostyle. I've tried all I could except Dr miracle's balm. Was on perfectil for months, massaging warm oil (castor, coconut, jojoba, hair trigger, homemade olive grass oil, hempseed oil etc) but it won't just grow. Won't give up tho, thinking of trying hairfinity next

8. JBCO works wonders on the hairline.

You forget to tell them to be patient.

I have a good hairline, even braids don't do any damage to it.
    Thanks all the same.

9. Thanks 4 sharing! but no time...lol

10. Nice one, Chiki.

It's Jamaican Black though, not Black Jamaican.

Let me add something.

It's best to sleep on a satin/silk pillowcase or use a satin/silk bonnet / scarf to cover your hair, before bed.

This is because cotton, absorbs oil, which drys out the hair, and this material also causes friction as it's not silky.

So you can imagine your dry strands rubbing against a rough surface as you toss and turn at night.
    Dry hair is prone to breakage.

Then, for those that fix weavons in a bid to retain growth, but don't see anything, it's not because your hair isn't growing. It's simply because you don't moisturize it while carrying your weaves, and even braids, so by the time you loosen your hair, the growth you got from the duration of carrying the style, will just break off as you're loosening it and while washing.

It's not hard to keep your hair moisturize while carrying a style. A spray bottle containing leave -in conditioner, water and oil (either olive or coconut) , is enough to keep your strands moisturized. At least, doing so every 2-3 days is enough.

NB: Just lightly spraying your hair beneath. Not dumping water on it, else, you'll get it all smelly..lol.

Believe me, it won't smell if you do it right.
    And there are youtube videos that could help with the right way of doing this.

And again, always brushing your edges make them thin out faster, especially with fine brushes.
    This is because the fine bristles could create split ends as they are run through the hair, and once a strand splits and isn't taken care of by trimming, it travels down to the root and sheds. So, imagine this happening on a regular. With time, there'll be little or nothing left to fleek...hehehe.

Also, massaging your hair/edges helps with blood circulation to the area, which stimulates the follicles and helps with hair growth.

Best done with JBCO for faster and thicker results, especially those baby edges.

Well, these are the basics.

Excuse any typos abeg. No time to proof read.

1. You ve said it all. Well said.

In addition to these, onion juice does wonders too. It will grow ur edges at the same time treat itching scalp and hair breakages.

2. White kisses 💋 u just said it all ......
      #ILOVEMYHAIR

3. Choi. Long epistle but it worth it. Nice one.
      Choi choi.

4. My sister calls me an aladura worshipper anytime she sees me in my satin bonnet. I had to go an make a satin pillow case.

You also saw the BJCO instead of JBCO? Lol

That reminds me, my spray bottle content is almost gone.

5. @white D, please help list d products i need for proper hair growth....my hair is natural....

6. White diamond are you sick or something. God. See epistle longer than post

7. Pinky, na that onion I never try o. Skeptical much, though I've heard a lot of positive things about it. Might try it someday.

Ollie,'limme o'...hehehe.
      You're not the only one with satin bonnet problems o. I jejely made myself a satin pillowcase abeg.
      Lmao, pele. Yeah,it gives a very soft feel the next day.

Amanda and Sexiest, namaste!

La fresh, Lwkmd. I don't blame her o. Sometimes I don't understand the way some satin bonnets look.

Refill it na. Always comes in handy especially when protective styling.

Sexy Boocalher, the basics are : liquid (water or/and leave in, oil;preferably olive or coconut and cream, for sealing in the moisture -i use shea butter. If you have access to cocoa butter, better). It's called the LOC method, each letter representing each ingredient.
      If you don't want shrinkage because you're carrying your hair out, use just leave in, don't let water touch your hair.

Create a hair regimen. Deep conditioning, protective styling, trims when needed, protein treatments, pre poos, co- washing for when you don't want to shampoo but you feel your hair is sort of dirty.

Avoid products that contain sulphates and alcohol. They dry out the hair. Look for a natural hair shampoo, or use black soap.

Don't be a product junkie. It doesn't help. Once you know what your hair likes and what it doesn't, it'll be easier for you to maintain and cheaper.

There are many good brands from which you can choose your hair products: Shea Moisture, Cantu products, Manetabolism, Beautiful Textures...

If there's anything you want clarified here, you can Google it. You'll see lots of answers and even tutorials. Hope this helps. :D

8. Gracias and God bless!!!

11. I have heard so much about this Jamaican Black Castor oil for hairline growth.
    Laziness abi lack of time won't let me go in search of all these things. Chai.
    Luckily,all is still well.

Bv White D,oya take over.
    You Love Hairrrrrr.

1. Hehehe.

You know this dear.

*scrolls up*

Lmao.

2. You can just buy it off of Konga. Quiet inexpensive.

3. Scroll up and read she learnt well from you. Miss talk talk. Kai

4. White D,sooooo informative. God bless you dear and Chikito.

Free,wonderful info,who wouldn't appreciate this? Except a killjoy who lacks Sunshine..i'm sure we don't have those here,or do we?
      Collect kisses@Whitey muaaahhh!!!!! Talk on!

Oh tnx Unashamed,on it right awaayyyyyyyy.

Ollie hun,Konga all da wayy!

And my hair does that disappearing act too@Ollie. Today my hairline is all healthy and full,the minute I do braids,i start using torch light to look for my precious hair.

I tell my stylist,"don't pull my hair biko,it Is more important than all these extensions".

When extensions are gone,i have my precious hair to console me mbok.

*bookmarking this page*

5. What of AMLA OIL?
      Someone mentioned the other day that it helps in growing hair naturally,and I just bought it...
      Does it really work?

12. This ain't for me
    My hairline is perfect.

13. Thanks chikito
    I love hair talk

I massage mine with castor oil only.

White diamond get in here

14. Mon Ami is a Gagool! Point noted! Loool

Kelvin Dat Edo Boi ( Stellz Cousin )

1. *side eye* I'm the only Gagool here..#backtoghostmode

15. Shantelle's Empire17 May 2016 at 13:53

This your tory too long. Bvs if you want your hair to grow long & full,mix your hair cream with Indian hemp aka 'Igbo'. Come back and testify. No jokes

1. Shantelle u know I love ❤ ya but u failed on this

If u want your hair to grow and be HEALTHY

..love it

...create a hair regimen....deep condition,co-wash,moisturize and seal,e.t.c

Whitey educate them more

2. Simple. No be d epistle wey white diamond type. Sick

16. JBCO and onion juice.its been a month and I can see the difference.
    Thanks for this piece.
    Natural for 2yrs and counting.I love my halo.

1. Chop 💋 kiss
      My hair is relaxed though
      #TEAM HEALTHY HAIR

2. IV heard so much about this onion juice. Recommended it for someone and the person said it's working.

I don't try any hair growth stuff though. I have full and long hair.

I transitioned for one year and been natural for 2yrs plus now.

3. Amanda chop kiss back.

Lafresh,wow!I can just imagine the length of your hair though healthy hair is beautiful no matter the length.kudos

4. Can d onion juice be bought in d market or do I hv to prepare it myself by blending d onion???

17. Replies
    1. Mumu, oya contribute na, what do you use for your hair and how do you manage your receding hairline, hermaphrodite!!

18. Chi A.K.A professional runs girl, thanks for this mehn! I'm planning to dye my hair, I think I might postpone it. Long hair is not in my family though. I'll look for most of these products and try them.

19. Chikito me i dint read all oooh. Tho my frontal hair don finish. But I no send again mbok. Spent a lot for the head but no improvement so I wan rest.

20. The natural hair Muppet for me is epic,lmaoooooooo

21. Nice one Chikito.. Edge control has got nuffin on me.. My edges are ok but i have a problem... Hair dey pain me too much these days? I became overtly receptive to pain. Dunno y. Contemplating going"gbadagba" but Jasmine and whitie have given me insightful tips... Will cut off d relaxed part and get on d naturalistas' train... Hope i wont regret dis decision.. *scratches hair*

1. *sobs* just lost another relaxed sista
      Whitey and jasmine if I catch u girls eeh...

At the end our aim is. HEALTHY HAIR

2. Hahahahha. Amanda baby, i am still contemplating it oo.. I dnt want to cut it and start regretting. Lmaooo

3. This Gbadagba gets me every damn time. LOL

My scalp is highly sensitive too,like I can't deal.

To weave my hair for fixing is a challenge,braids are even worse.

I have a low threshold for pain,but it is increasing daily,and I love Shakara.

Please any remedy for us? Make we dey massage am or what?

4. Amanda Favour, i'm sorry o. Lol.

Chysugar, u av to be bold before you do it o. Coz after cutting and u look at the mirror, u'll cry small sha

22. Nice write up. As for not going straight to bed after applying the oils...well you can. You just need a silk scarf/bonnet or a silk pillowcase and you're good to go. Everywoman needs a silk hair bonnet to protect her hair at night. Made mine myself,it's quite easy,lots of DIY vids online.

1. Chop 💋 kiss
      Ur head dey there

2. Yea forgot to add silk pillowcase/scarf/bonnet. Thanks for the reminder.

23. Nice, losing edges is every woman's nightmare

24. Nice, losing edges is every woman's nightmare

25. i need a new fronttal hairline. Mine has turned to iyamileko

26. Thanks for posting. I struggled for about 3 years after I lost my hair due to fertility treatment. I tried a lot of things that didn't work but just two months now I started using selsun shampoo and my hair is back.

27. Chikito you did well, thank you for the write up.

28. Shantelle's Empire17 May 2016 at 14:58

Oh chikito? Nice

29. JBCO did nothing for me
    I mix with rosemary oil and didn't see much
    Im getting that temple balm next
    shout out to all naturalistas

1. Use only JBCO and be patient.

2. Add peppermint oil and try. Do the scalp massage too. Then see how it goes before you go the temple balm way.

30. We have scanty hair in out family. But recently started struggling with my hairline,
    I hope this 'll help