A Federal High Court sitting in Lagos has sentenced a former Director-General of the Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency, Mr. Raymond Omatseye, to five years in prison for a N1.5bn contract scam.
The former DG was arraigned on a 27-count charge of alleged bid rigging and contract splitting worth over N1.5m by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC.
This anti-graft agency said the offences contravened Section 58(4) (d) of the Public Procurement Act, 2007.
dailypost report
1.5b
ReplyDeleteWow!
DeleteWay to go PMB
I am so impressed
Finally someone has been sentenced to jail.
5 years is too small jor
ReplyDeleteWell, hope they recovered all the money he stole?
Penal code ain't that tough on corruption cases, especially when the offender corporate and refund...
DeleteMaybe we need a review but 5 years sound like 90 to rich folks
Goodluck to him. He will be drinking ijebu garri and undone beans. Abi dem don change for the prison?
ReplyDeleteWho don enter prison, help us tell us the type of food they give to people
Others loading! I know many people will be praying for Buhari to die but as many as they are that wish that,may they all die before him IJN!
DeleteIf na poor man,na to burn him alive but people like these thief them go say na witch hunt. Abeg make dem add hard labour as jara for him.
DeleteIf you have money you can be eating fried chicken every day. Not just in nigeria
DeleteGood for him.
ReplyDeleteWas this the guy spraying foreign currencies from a huge bag in a public function?
ReplyDeleteYes o. Now it is time to eat sour beans and yam pottage with mmanu akagbe.
DeleteSoon he will come up with,medical attention abroad bla bla bla. Quack ti take over. Kedu Nurse Eliza, Omotosho bute ike kam duwaaaa.
Good news,One down.
ReplyDelete...Jona and his fellow thieves to go
DeleteAbi o Bitchplis Awon lo kan. Its just a matter of time o ma kan won.
DeleteWho's next?
DeleteBitchplis lmao
Lol is just a matter of time. Just imagine the amount stolen and some see no wrong in it.
DeleteOh my!!!
ReplyDelete99days for the thief, one day for the owner....
ReplyDeleteSeen
ReplyDeleteYou ehn
DeleteI wanna laugh out so badly but his elderly face makes me kinda feel guilty. Hahahahahaha
ReplyDeleteVERY GOOD! This is just the beginning. I am happy there is no option of fine.
ReplyDeleteAfter draining the country,they must enter kirikiri.
After APC is done with sanitization, the next party should continue probing the ones in office now.
Stella abeg check your heading; which one is" 5 years in goal"? Lol.
ReplyDeleteClick my name for all your celebration cakes and cupcakes, cheers
**sorry, read 'gaol' incorrecty, my bad!
ReplyDeleteChai! What a epic disgrace
ReplyDelete5 years in what did you say Stella... Gaol?
ReplyDeleteonly 5years? They should increase it to 15years.
ReplyDeleteWhat about Nigeria meteorological agency director, (nimet) they should hold him too ooo,they wil send staff for training he will not give them money, please d autority in charge should investigate him.
ReplyDeleteHave a happy stay in prison!
ReplyDeleteThe jail term seems quite small. If a goat thief can do two years or more. A billion naira thief should be able to stomach a life time sentence comfortably without blinking.
ReplyDeleteFor ten years sef, some people go kpake some kain change.
The jail term seems quite small. If a goat thief or petty crimainal can do two years or more. A billion naira thief should be able to stomach a life time sentence comfortably without blinking.
ReplyDeleteFor ten years sef, some people go kpake some kain change, not to talk of dis wan wey go even do send-off go jail dreaming of 1.5b after two and half years.
Good job PMB & EFCC. Now, would you go and convict the real thieves of our common patrimony? Namely, all the fat cats who own oil blocks each worth an average of ONE HUNDRED BILLION DOLLARS (hard currency). Why would this type of stupendous loot in the hands of a few in Naija even be prolonged any further given the facts? Is the injustice, flagrant human rights abuse and inhumanity to the suffering masses by those in its power corridors not enough? When will this sheer madness end, in order, to realize a secure future for both present and future generations of Nigerians? #goodcausetospeakup
ReplyDeleteMake I hear word jare, how many northerners have been tried and jailed or are they all saints? The former CG of customs that stole and returned over 900b Naira is still free. Until Buhari is able to try and jail him, I will still believe his corruption fight is targeted at only a section of the populace.