Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Doctors In House Section

Tuesday, May 10, 2016

Doctors In House Section

Where are the Doctors?

ABDOMEN PAIN AND HEAVY PERIOD

Been feeling pains in my abdomen and heavy periods..went to the hospital..did scan and ultrasound and the doctor says it's fibroid...that one is quite big and the other is small..and I will need it to be operated on...

I'm not married yet neither do I have a child...I'm confused...please those who have had this before,how did you go about it?

Did you operate it immediately? Or can one get pregnant with it? Is it advisable to just remove it now?please I'm confused...though the doctor said I should do the surgery but I'm scared...will it affect me getting pregnant if I do it now?

44 comments:

1. Eya!! I can relate. The pain no be here oooo.

I've not been able to comment or read comments. What happened??

1. I will advice you go for the surgery because you're having symptoms already.

If you don't get pregnant on time after the surgery it will grow back.

If you can bear the pain then leave it and remove while having your baby.

2. I always had heavy periods but didn't get to know I had fibroids until I had a miscarriage after I got married. I did not remove the fibroids via any means neither am I planning to as I read in line that most black women have it and it is not harmful.

I am currently pregnant, almost due to have my baby and I have had no complications whatsoever.

1. Thank God for You. I'm currently in the hospital just did mine yesterday. Mine was too big and would compete with a baby. It was the size of a baby and there were smaller ones as well. And it became this big cos I was waiting and saying wasn't harmful. My dear poster if the doctor says surgery then get it done .

3. U shld be asking ur doctor all these question

4. U shld be asking ur doctor all these question

1. N u should not b commenting on a sensitive post like this. Please stick 2 IHN. Tnx.

Poster it won't affect ur chancesof getting pregnant but I really do not see d hurry in it unless urs in a state of buohaha. U can actually birth kids with it altho I don't know how complicated it is.

2. @Tessbaby- She really should be asking her doctor these questions. Except we are medically trained and qualified (which majority of the BV's here are not) then she should be asking her doctor who would give her the right information. Like you said, it is a sensitive topic and people have different kinds of fibroids and different experiences with it (and they would only advise based on that).

5. Going for the surgery won't affect your chances of getting pregnant BUT
    I would advise you not to operate on it for now cos even after the surgery,it will still grow back...
    Some people uses theirs to birth all their kids...
    Get married first before knowing the steps to take!...

1. Queen Wat brand of bell life style product did u use? There are different types

6. Hi poster, I was in your shoes 5 years ago. I was diagnosed with a fairly large tumour which I had removed a few months later after a lot of crying and asking "why me?". I got married the following year and had my twins 2 years ago. Nothing prepares you emotionally for such news but you have to be strong and do what's best for you. With God on your side, nothing would go wrong and you will birth your babies at the right time but please make sure you follow all instructions given post-op strictly. It is well with you.

7. This post reminds me of my male bff...
    Very funny guy...
    He was advising me to at least get pregnant and go for an abortion
    His reasons were;
    A woman in her late twenties is expected to have children
    Her womb should be carrying something
    If its not pregnancy, then it would fibroid.
    Don't know true this is,
    But that shii got me so scared
    I miss the stupid boy tho...

8. You guys won't cease to amaze me
    Y didn't u allay your fears to d doctor?
    Better go and remove the damn thing

1. My dear Dr's will always tell u it's gonna b ok. So I don't see anything wrong in seeking d opinions of those who ve experienced it b4. This is where reality sets in.

9. If you dont operate it now, you will continue having discomfort. Heavy flow and more blood clot.

Zero your mind and go and do the surgery. If you are afraid you will die, just know that you will not die. Pray about it.

10. D earlier u get d damn thing out, d berra.

11. Nobody will marry you with fibroid, better go for opration. Only a mature man will marry u with scar from fibroid too.

12. Dear Poster,Your best bet is to get the surgery done to remove the fibroid...the surgery done is called a Myomectomy.
    You already have a symptomatic fibroid,especially causing heaving menstrual period (menorrhagia) which could cause chronic anemia and lead to a anemic heart failure amidst other complications.
    Make sure you are operated on by a gnaecologist... that means you should visit a very good specialist hospital or a teaching hospital,so there are no complications being that you are yet to conceive.
    All the best!

13. Poster.it's happen to my cousin,she had fibroid and she has to be operated ,thank God its was successful and she was able to conceive .i think you should go for surgery in a good general hospital.wish u luck.

1. It happened to your cousin.she was operated on. You are welcome.

2. Nahme...wat hv u got to contribute (nothing)apart from saying trash on people comment get a life.

14. I think it does not hinder pregnancy rather,it makes one misscarray d baby along d line
    Just do it n get it over wt

15. Poster you need to stop being scared. Its advisable you go for the surgery now and get it over with. And yes you can get pregnant after its done and very quickly too. It is equally not advisable to try to get pregnant when you have fibroid because as your child is growing so is the fibroid growing and in some cases it will take up space in the womb meant for the child and also cause terrible pain and discomfort all through the nine months of the pregnancy. Also note that the fibroid may hinder you from getting pregnant. Please go for the surgery now before it gets too big. God bless you.

16. Dear Poster,Your best bet is to get the surgery done to remove the fibroid...the surgery done is called a Myomectomy.
    You already have a symptomatic fibroid,especially causing heaving menstrual period (menorrhagia) which could cause chronic anemia and lead to a anemic heart failure amidst other complications.
    Make sure you are operated on by a gnaecologist... that means you should visit a very good specialist hospital or a teaching hospital,so there are no complications being that you are yet to conceive.
    All the best!

17. If you had all these worries and questions,why didn't you ask the doctor? If you aren't convinced, get a second professional opinion. Well,that won't stop me from saying my piece since you asked,hehehe. U"re yet to get married, talk less of getting pregnant and you want to wait? Till when? That seems like a big risk considering you don't even know when or if you'll get pregnant when you eventually get married. Isn't it best to deal with the problem @ hand without worrying about the future? Cos really the future is unknown... So sorry for what you going through,it's a tough decision. God will see you through whichever decision you make. Amen.

18. Poster, I was in your shoes 5 years ago. After months of being scared, crying and asking "why me?", I had a fairly large tumour removed. I got married and was blessed with a set of twins afterwards. Sincerely, nothing prepares you emotionally for such news but you have got to be strong and do what's best for you. Ensure you follow all the post-op instructions diligently too, it is well with you my dear.

19. This comment has been removed by the author.

20. If the Dr was sincere enough, he/she'd inform you that though when you get surgery to get rid of the ones seen, it isn't a guarantee that it's gone for good...about 90% of unmarried ladies who got fibriods removed, had a regrowth.. I'll advice u hold off on the surgery for now and wait till u get married..so at least u can start ttc 2 to 3 months after surgery and that's if you couldn't get preggers with the fibriods...sometime they don't hinder one from taking in.. do some research on google on it as well!

1. Follow this advise poster is after surgery it would grow if u don't take in but but garlic capsules to be taking nd limit your dairy intake

21. Poster if you are going for operation I will advice you do it and get pregnant on time cos after the operations and you did not get pregnant it may reoccur again.

Some people have it but still get pregnant, it all depend on the
    location. Would have say you go the herbal way cos my friend did operation last year march, after the operation she was still bleeding. Only for her to go for scan and the doctor confirmed that she still has some fibroid that was not removed. The bleeding was not here o,but she took this native drugs from her village and everything is all dry up. Her menstral flow has come back to normal flow, am planning to travel to her village this weekend to take the drugs too cos my own flow is not here o with pains. Is cos I have been busy I would have gone for the treatment before now. I forgot to tell you that I also have fibroid but is 3cm. Wish you all the best.

1. Pls share d name of d village drugs o

2. Please tell us the name of her village and how to get there for the herbal treatment. Help us oooo we plenty for her

22. Am sorry I cannot drop the details you are asking for here, if you are interested to know more about it just drop your email address and I will send you a mail with all the details you need to know.

The place is in the north.

23. Please doctors in the house I have been having pain inside my virgina and I went to see a gynaecologist sometime last year, he said that the pain is nothing that I should relax and uptil now am still having the pains and is getting serious per day.

Also I have problem with my period since 2013 my period does not flow well, I went for scan and hsg x-ray everything was normal,
    I was palce on drug combination 3 then I had a slight change and after a while it went back to scanty menses later I was placed om m2 tone and nothing happened, please is they anybody that can tell me what to do bcos am always worried don't know how to handle this again. eevrythin started after I had miscarriage and my womb was flushed.Thank you stella.

24. Hello poster, if the fibroid is life threatening then you need to go and remove it.Myomectomy is the removal of fibroid and its best done when one is ready to have kids 'cos the posibility of it reoccuring is there.According to you its a multiple fibroid,meaning there maybe other small small ones which might not be removed as well.I will advise you to hold on and get married before removing it so that you will get preggers as well.Like i said if it causes treat at this point pls go and remove it.

25. I know someone that treats it the native way in Lagos. Very cheap and within months you are free.

26. Poster,since it comes with heavy flow, discomfort and pains,it is best you go to a good gynae to have it removed because you are losing a lot of blood as it it. Also,if it large and you take in,it may cause miscarriage since it is competing with the baby for space.

My elder sister did fibroid surgery when she was still single because she was menstruating twice each month with so much loss of blood and pains. She got married and has 3 kids now. So I don't think having it removed will make you not conceive.

If you decide to go for the surgery,your doctor should be able to tell you foods to eat to avoid a re growth0 of it. I wish you well.

27. Poster I will advice you get it removed to get yourself back. I removed mine in 2013,a student den wasn't married. Buh iam pregnant for my first baby. I was also scared like you but iam happy I removed it and can still bear children.

28. If you can bear the heavy flow wait till you have like 3 kids. It doesn't affect pregnancy so much.
    Take tranexamic acid 10000mg three times daily during your period. It reduces the flow.