A Lagos Island Customary Court on Wednesday dissolved the 17-year-old marriage between a transporter, Haruna Amunikoro, and his wife, Alimotu, after he complained that his wife built a house without informing him.
Granting the husband’s request, the court President, Mr Awos Awosola, said that the effort of the court to reconcile the parties had failed, as Amunikoro insisted on divorce. “The marriage between the two parties is hereby dissolved with effect from today in accordance with the Lagos State Customary Court Law, 2011, Order 3, Rule 7, as amended. “The custody of the first child and only son, Anus, 15, is awarded to the father while that of the two girls, Simiyat, 10; and Aishat, 7, remains with the wife.
“The petitioner should pay the children’s feeding allowances of N10,000 on a monthly basis through this honourable court and should also be responsible for the children school and hospital bills. “However, both parties are granted unhindered access to the child/children at any reasonable time of the day,’’ he ruled. Awosola also ordered the petitioner to give the respondent N250,000 compensation within seven days of the judgment with which to start her new life.
Amuniloro, 42, who resides at No. 91/93 Odunfa St., Lagos Island, in his petition, told the court that his wife, a trader, bought a plot of land in Ikorodu and built a bungalow on it without letting him know. “My wife has also started giving out tricycle and motorcycle to riders and they pay for them on installment, which is the same business that I do. “I have warned her severally to stop the business but she would not listen. On two occasions she has stabbed me with a kitchen knife and a scissors. “My wife is not sincere with me. She hides so many things about herself from me. I cannot cope with her secretive ways any more, please separate us,’’ he pleaded with the court.
Alimotu, who did not deny the allegations, said that she started being secretive with her husband because of the sudden change in his behaviour and his infidelity. She told the court that their marriage which was once blissful took a different turn in 2012 when they rented their own apartment. “We were staying in my husband’s family house before we rented our own apartment in 2012, since then my husband has been unfaithful to me. “He brings different kinds of women into our matrimonial home and sleeps with them on our bed. “Whenever I confronted him, he beats me. On three occasions my husband beat me to a pulp and stripped me naked.
“I joined him in doing the same business because it is a lucrative one, but since I started it, I have had no rest of mind,’’ she said. Alimotu, who had consistently prayed the court to reconcile them as she still loved her husband, however, pleaded with the court to dissolve the marriage without further delay. “Since I have been begging my husband and his family for so long and nothing positive have come of it, please dissolve the marriage so I can go on with my life,’’ she said.
Vanguard reportage.
WHAT!!!!!....This man was jealous of his wife's success oooooo...WOW!!!
Who is from the same ethnicity as this family? Is that name for the son real????
ReplyDeleteSo you didnt see anything else apart from the ANUS? 😒
DeleteLol. weyrey
DeleteHahahahahaha, I join you in asking o. Anus kwa?
DeleteI don't think so. They probably shortened the actual name and this is a sort of nickname or it was misspelled. I think it's supposed to be Anu which means mercy/favour.
DeleteTypical Nigerian man. Instead of him to thank God someone in the family is successful he is there spewing rubbish. God dey!
ReplyDeleteDon't mind him, intimidated by success.
DeleteDon't mind the yeye man. And the woman will continue bring successful, building more houses without hiding, and he still pays her off and for the kids school fees and feeding.
DeleteMen jealous bastards . That's how the thief I married said I should put his god forsaken name on my property !!! Me lai lai . I refused and he stylishly ended the marriage ole barawo.correct woman .
ReplyDeleteSupported!! Lai Lai ooo! Ole barawo of a man. Put his name on your own property. See audacity. Mscheww
Deletehmmmm...it's a thin line between Love & Hate
DeleteI give up! I don't think this marriage thing is for me. Damn! Is there ever any good news about this institution? From one filthy news to another. They all tell you, mostly the ladies, "I don't know about them, but my marriage is the best", until they can no longer pretend. That's when you start hearing very demoralizing news like the one above.
ReplyDeleteFrom your mouth to God's ears
DeleteDont give up. Keep an open mind. Trust me. There are good marriages out there.
Delete@ Blunt, please is you are judging from what you read on this Blog or elsewhere you are making a BIG mistake. The fact that some marriages are failing doesn't mean yours will fail. Always think twice before making such utterances words are powerful you know. Just have a Positive & Open mind about marriage and it wil work out fine for you.
DeletePlease you will marry, stay married & be happy.
Believe It
God bless you Cissy. Thanks
DeleteAnd you too hon, remove such torts from your mind.
DeleteIt all starts from the Mind you know.
Be Positive...U will get the Best IJN
He felt intimidated
ReplyDeleteWhat a chicken.
He is just jealous of her success period!
DeleteThat was a strong woman over there who knows and understand the essence of investment.
Who dwell solely on just one income? In this harsh economy?
Imagine a strong woman at her status (probably she's not educated) know what it means to have streams of income.
That is a strong woman over there
I feel like giving her some hug in person.
*e-hugs*
God gave her wisdom and four sight to reason and plan beyond their poverty state, and to know what it means to reason,plan and invest but Instead of the husband abi horseband to appreciate her God given skills, he is there portraying some silly act of jealousy.
Left for me, that's a good woman who can manage a home if they "he/she" work together.
"Probably she has might have tried informing him that she brought okada "from her savings" and she's giving them up for lease, she prolly saw his negative reaction and kept to her humble self." who knows.
Typical Nigeria man.
I don't know why this generation of men are just been lazy. Abasi akan!.
I have said it, my investment will be solely for me and my kids irrespective of how wealthy my husband will be.
if I try letting you know that, ha Honey, I want to buy this property for investment, and not for we to live in, of course his reaction right there will determine if he wants me been open to him or not henceforth or keep mute and go with the flow..
I love hardworking women.
If i don see 99 na 1 remain to complete 100 way I never see, if not for God.
I can't shout mbok.
What a foolish husband, cronic womanizer, jealous man and you still ask for divorce. Go to hell.
ReplyDeleteU all should b truthful for ones now. Will u b happy if ur husband kept such thing as secret for u? Wen Stella say die u all will die ?
DeleteI just tire.... Madam stella and stake holders of this blog make una talk true for once. so biased you guys are. Anyway which one be my own na the men wey una dy use tie wrapper I blame. So keeping secret property is now good. Una dou!
DeleteRaphael and monkeynofine, let's be realistic. A man cheats on his wife even as far as their matrimonial bed without remorse. She simply has hindsight and was prepping herself for a day like this. She can't be hated for that. Under "normal" circumstances partners should be aware but when domestic violence And cheating stories Reign, this woman is the real Mvp!
DeleteStella please don't let u r support for women blind u. Dis exact thing almost ruined my mum home, before my dad do anything my mum will b d first to and even handle a part of it b it anything. My dad was mad wen he find out date my mum had build a house somewhere without letting him know. If not for God intervention and d strong love my dad very for my mum na diff tory we for dey yan now.
ReplyDeleteOfcourse as a woman I will be very angry if my husband does same. Its an issue of trust not jealousy.
DeleteAnon 7:10, always read through your write-up before posting ok? too many errors
DeleteI agree ur mum did a painful thing but are u sure ur dad didn't do sumthing that triggered her to take up such a project. For instance a woman who has all girls maybe tempted to do sumthing like this when she starts to see behavior or hear comments dt make her feel her kids arent important. She may want to protect her daughters interests by providing them with such things. Before when the man dies u will just hear he had one illegitimate son and dey wld just gv dt one everything like or her inlaws wld say she has no son so let dem take everything,leaving the woman stranded. Pls try and see it from ur mum's side.
DeleteAnon. U are right but some men don't deserve to know the truth. It's only when a man is responsible and is always there for the family that u think of telling him everything you are doing or u plan doing. Some men will not do and won't allow their wives to do the right thing. Once they know the wife av such plan, they will make sure the woman spends the money on unreasonable thing till the money finishes.
DeleteAnon 11:27, God bless you for this.
DeleteMy encounter similar experience from my mum. Before she passed on to glory (sleep well mummy), things were do tough for us, I left Benin to go look for greener pasture far away north. God blessed me with a bank job as a contract staff. All my savings, I was always sending to my mum so she could have something doing atleast cos she was still under my father's roof, breaking melon, doing farm work in another man's city. Whilst I was working, God in heaven can attest to this, the only thing I used my money to get fit myself was suit and shoes. I couldn't give myself a befitting accommodation, I was always sending her money. Being a wise woman she was, she stopped farming (cos a woman who was in her 40's due to stress and suffer looked like 60yrs old woman, she couldn't mingle in meast if her friends or go to church freely bcos of wanging tongues left right centre). She built a store, yes built a store from the proceed I regularly sent to her. She started a provision store on one of these govt parastatals. She was doing very well, coupled with 'onijara' business. My father because so jealous of her. She told me my father will always make some kind of offensive statement on her on how her daughter is caring for her and all that. Did I mention my father has 3 other wives thou separated else where, with grown up children. The day she died oh God I can't forget that day in a hurry •wipes tears* mummy who ever did this to you, will never know peace, God's anger will surely be on that person until they confess. Wipes tears again. The day she died, I didn't know, I was on my way to Benin, I got to our house expecting to hug her as usual cos she was very sick, (I left home to go look for money so we, my father and I could take her to TB Joshua). My half brother and my father had taken over her shop. No respect to my mum, her effort nothing. (Before she fell ill, my mother was the one feeding the house alone, cos according to her, my father said he doesn't have). They opened her hard earned store on a daily basis, while I was busy mourning my mum. All the expenses for the burial was done by me. The only thing my father bought was the coffin that's all.
Fast ward few months after her burial, they shot down the store, no money to continue, the parastatal ceased her stores and big caravan from him.
Few yrs after she left me, my father has been disturbing my life with calls, on how he needs money bla bla bla. He knows I am very ok now. I bless God. Well I have decided to disown him and believe I am an orphan.
I have been living as an orphan for 4yrs now. he never added any fatherly figure to me, he did not train me through uni, he believes you don't train a girl child. If not God that saw me through.
Sleep well mum. Your only daughter will always love you till eternity.
I can't believe I'm crying typing this. *wipe tears*. this is the first time I am sharing this story.
Pardon my errors.
In this case, I don't think you'll go thru what this woman went thru with her ex-husband and not do what she did. Bringing your mistress to your home and beatings on top! Haba!
DeleteAwww @ anon 14:33, take heart dear. Oh!!! Am so so Sad with this your story. Take heart dear, accept my warmest sympathy. Ooooooh...life
DeleteI can imagine what u went thru.
God will protect u dear...so touching
@Anon 14:33, the Lord will strengthen you. Be strong my dear. Look up to him alone.
DeleteGod bless.
*E-hugs*
*Kisses*.
I love this woman! She get sense! Since the husband started misbehaving she knew she had to make herself financially secure before the uncle will come nd say he is not doing again. He is now jealous becos he no longer has control over her, namsense. Now she has bought land nd built her own house, while d uncle is carrying babes inside rented apartment kikikikiki, correct! That is one thing I love abt most Yoruba women, they are very industrious.
ReplyDelete....and wise.
DeleteIndustrious ke?
DeleteThey are only industrious with their Pussy abeg!
Leave industrious for the Igbo's
Ehee! The man is a devil with 2 horns and a tail but the "angelic" wife who was stabbing & building houses is without sin, kwo? Y'all are just a bunch of fish brains
ReplyDeleteYou are very stupid!! So you expect her to tell the man when he's carrying dirty oloshos upandan becausr he finally managed to rent house.idiot.when he was spending his money on cheap prostitutes she who you call fish brain was busy investing and upgrading her life and he's jealous. Grasshopper brained useless jealous nigerian men
DeleteAnon 11:47,
DeleteWrong comment . This comment of yours is not meant for anon 7:16.
So you see why it's wrong to throw insults on any post.
When frustration clouds judgement, you have people flinging mud like it's going out of fashion. After all that barking...what was your point? Useless jealous Nigerian men? Is your father from Cameroun?
DeleteSo u all supporting dis woman? Jesus so u mean u can take such from ur husband if he eventually keep such secret from u? Going into same business with u without ur knowledge? Not to talk of building a house? Chai deal mennnn .
ReplyDeleteMa or sir,let's start with a lot of husband's hv secret properties deir wives don't knw abt,not businesses but lands. That is why a man wld die and u wld see he left behind 4 plots of land and 2 other built houses for his wife and kids. The woman may knw abt only 1 plot of land and another house he has for rent. As long as d man provides for his family it's all good. A lot o women own properties without deir spouse knowledge becos of things like dis,d resentment, d man may start to feel intimidated. So she does this secretly. Also once infidelity sets in,d woman has to wisen up mehnnn. Cos dt guy can do and undo if he meets a terrible girl. So I hv to secure urself. Me I support the woman oooo.
DeleteDid you read her own defence at all? She said she started being secretive with her husband when his attitude changed, he started bringing different girls into their home. Scroll back up nd read.
Delete@ monkey yur in for a BIG time bashing today...hehehe
Delete@booboo thanks a lot I think I didn't read dat prt
Delete. Just went bck to read. Good for d man. WISE WOMAN😂😂
My dear, I have a very good female friend, while we were all staying at Adiza estate few yrs ago, this babe had a house for rent in Marraba. She got married, demolished the house and built blocks of 1/2/3 bedrooms, a mini Estate.
DeleteWhile the husband was concentrating on his gas station project, she was busy doing hers.
I guess the husband is aware now cos, she told me he supported her financially.
Now that is a Real Man!
Why would a wife under take a project as big as a house without the husband's knowledge? It is very wrong.
ReplyDeleteWhy would the husband bring in prostitutes into their matrimonial home and even beat her on top of it? It is very wrong
DeleteDon't you know that if he had found out about her money he would have collected it for his useless purpose leaving her in emotional and physical poverty
DeleteLol, how a woman hides such baffles me. Am sure no 1 will talk about what the woman did. U claim you love your husband but wont tell him about the serious decisions you are taking? Who wont be mad? And the real issues with things like this that as a human being all you will ever think about is what are the other things she is hiding. And once you are in that state, divorce is certain
ReplyDeleteBut isn't this what we encourage women to do in abusive relationships? Stylishly empower yourself and move on.... Didnt you see where she said the man was abusing her?
DeleteNo woman wld hav reason to behave like this if d husband is a good man. Philandering man, she shld now tell him she wants to build a house,d man wld tell her to bring d money let him invest it for her or buy d land for her. He wld buy d land and claim head of d house and put in his name. If she dies 2morrow,the kids she is labouring for won't see shigbain. He wld marry anoda woman and gv her all this woman's sweat. It is only a bad man dt is treated like this. A good husband wld enjoy his wife and she won't hide anything from him.
Delete@ Y, you have said it all, i would definitely do d same in such situation.
DeleteThank you very very very much Y. God bless you. You get respeck. All these stupid selfish nigerian men who think they can treat their wives like thrash and still expect to be respected hahahahahah like we used to say in QC,it will shock yoy like shock absorber( even though the shock absorber is supposed to absorb the shock)
DeleteTuscany, you are either dafty or a chauvinistic pig.....did you read why she did what she did? So it's ok for the man to be having affairs anyhow....mumu
DeleteStupid jealous man!
ReplyDeleteThe conditions given to him is very good.At least,he won't leave the woman high and dry.
ReplyDeleteWise woman, nonsense let him go. She even begged to remain in d marriage but jelousy no let am. U can imagine if dis woman wasn't independent what she wld hv bin swallowing in d name of marriage. As her begging fell on deaf ears she no kill herself again na. I don't hv a job but God I can't wait for u to gv me one. This man may not really b jealous of her success the man wants to maybe marry another woman or he wants freedom to flirt and carry his girlfriends without fear of 1 wife tying him down. Good radiance....... Make him dey go b4 he carry disease gv her. The painful part b say dis kind of useless men,God used to catch dem in old age and na dis same wife go come dey help am last last. Mschewww.
ReplyDeleteThe woman is neither loyal nor smart
ReplyDeleteHahahahaha pained jealous men. While he spends his money on prostitutes who will only give him AIDS,gonorrhea nd other std's she spends hers to build her own house and you say she's not smart?hahahahaha
DeleteSinging "Jealousy is the root of hatred" in Evi Edna's voice...
ReplyDeleteOld Cargo...
DeleteThis kind of thing is very common among the Edo's. Their men can jealous for Africa. Mind u am an Edo girl too, OBA GHA TOR KPERE ISE (Long live the king) lol
ReplyDeleteVery true...I'm an Edo too and my husband said I can never build a house, he av different houses and they are automatically mine. I just dey look am wt side eyes
DeleteHow do I get a blog I.d?
ReplyDeleteFoolish man
ReplyDeleteJealous man.
ReplyDeleteBrave woman.
The woman is very foolish. She will ask money for everything including pure water money from the horseband. Meanwhile she is building a house somewhere secretly.
ReplyDeleteYou do know that the correct spelling is husband right?...just making sure that you do cause this 'horseband' s getting out if hand
DeleteKathy you must be new to the blog. "Horseband" is SDK blog's way of referring to Husband. James the trouble maker lol, is right using that term (only for this blog o).x
DeleteLmao @ ANUS!
ReplyDeleteAbeg better the divorce now...than in decades time, this useless man opens his mouth to ask for divorce because she is too weak in bed or because she refused to shave. Pissed much abi...probably expected her to put the house in his name and be totally dependent financially on him....pooh.
ReplyDeleteNigerian women are opening...thank God. Live andecent life alone instead of misery tending to a boy called husband.
Marriage is not overratesd though...God help marriages.
Hehehe.
ReplyDeleteAnus? Chai oooh.
Wait,why is Oga upset that his wife got into the same business with him?
If you didn't have ulterior motives,you should even join forces together and make the business more lucrative sef.
See ehn,these days,women do not want to lose out anymore
This happened in the past where a woman builds an empire with her man(emotionally and financially) and she is kicked to the curb.
I don't want to blame this woman for securing the future of her kids biko,atleast now she will not start begging for rent upandan.
Hehehe@she is too secretive.
Madam you for still tell him sha,you shocked the life out of him.
*money
DeleteIphie she did well.
DeleteI could have done same if I was in her situation
She is a wise woman.
Very strong and independent woman.
DeleteI love Yoruba women. They are just too industrious. They dont depend on their husbands that dont give them money. I hail the woman. That is the type of woman i love to be. Continue being independent and do your own thing.
ReplyDeleteFoolish man that is intimidated by his wife breakthrough.
So right about the yoruba women being very industrious.it is undeniable.
DeleteThey don't have a choice but to be industrious..when their Yoruba demon will impregnate and abandon..
DeleteYoruba men, their stock in trade name to born and leave. Even if they stay, to take care of family name wahala. Thank God for their women!!!
The man is mad and backward. Why shouldn't the woman own her own property or run her own business? If that is why he is divorcing her he should hurry up and go. The son's name must be "Anas", not Anus.
ReplyDeleteSuch "wisdom" on the part of the woman and the infidelity on the part of the man will corrupt any marriage. The problem is, most so called "marriages" are no longer marriages. The union has lost its spiritual and emotional connection. It's now a man cohabiting with a woman who may or may not have children between them. The sad fact is, majority of "marriages" nowadays fall under this category. People dread the stigmatisation of divorce so they pretend to the public but behind closed doors they are divorcees living under the same roof.
You can't eat your cake and have it. You can't expect to "outsmart" your spouse, however pertinent your reasons may be, and expect a healthy marriage. The minute you can't forgive your partner's indiscretions and it gets to the point where you start feeling vengeful, perhaps a separation is in order. Stay apart and try to work your way back to each other.
I totally understand the woman's decision to secretly build a house and go into the same business as the man but I can never endorse such treachery while a wife still lives under the same roof as her husband.
Must you stay married when your hearts are so far apart? If you feel so aggrieved by your husband's indiscretions, why not move out and enjoy your independence? Why fight to keep the "MRS" title while your actions are very "un-mrs-like"?. A woman has the right to leave her husband due to infidelity on his part, same way a man has the right to leave a marriage due to secrecy on the part of the wife. Though forgiveness is desirable, it isn't so easy when you've been stabbed at back by the person who vowed to have your back.
Ladies, don't get it twisted, as empowering and liberating and enviable as this lady's actions are, they are very wrong. If you must stay married, you have to play by the rules. Infidelity separates a marriage spiritually, it's up to you to forgive and be reconciled with your spouse or separate from the erring spouse or get divorced. But remaining in a marriage with so much bitterness just to keep up appearances is fraudulent. God hates divorce but he hates bitterness and unforgiveness as well, if not more. If you believe you will be punished by God for ending a marriage, be rest assured that the same punishment awaits any spouse who remains in a bad marriage where he/she has to cut corners or rely on trickery just to remain married. Marriage is not for everyone, marriage is a union where your tolerance and patience with be tested constantly and only the spiritually and emotionally mature individual can stand the test of time. You need divine intervention and wisdom, especially as a lady to survive the storms in matrimony and maintain your dignity regardless of the outcome. Most importantly, be careful whom you decide to get married to, that decision may make or mare your life. This is purely my opinion.
First, your opinion is too long
DeleteSecond: the woman played the player.
Third: she is free.
Too long
DeleteOff point
Bounce outta ere mehn
DeletePshewwwww!!!!!!
To those of you saying she was wrong to hide such a thing from him,did you also read the part she said he started misbehaving and was bringing women into their home and sleeping with them on their bed and he beats her. Pls would you tell such an abusive man about your finances?
ReplyDeleteYES!
DeleteMr olodo annonymous screaming yes.i bet u re a man.
DeleteWhen the foundation is laid on sand, this is what you get.
ReplyDeleteWomen wey dey condem dis woman,guys wld naturally b jealous. But ladies u better wisen up ooooo. If ur husband is a cheat U better tighten ur belt while praying for him to change. I hv said my own 2 cents. Cos dese men are not loyal. B a good wife and assist as much as u can but tighten ur belt and prepare for anything. Incase u find urself dt u hv started to treat different STI's u can move on or b prepared for d backlash u wld get when u tell no sef or protection befor sex. Disease is not good oo and before u knw it he has given u cervical cancer through his wandering dicks and u wld just leave ur kids behind for no reason.
ReplyDeleteBitches ain't Loyal too
DeleteI think this was a premeditated divorce by the wife.She wanted out all along and was preparing the future.It came sooner than expected.
ReplyDeleteHmmmmm...
ReplyDeleteVery wise woman. Ask the man what he has done with his money ( carry women up and down). This is how they waste their youth and when they are old they have nothing to show for it. And u want the woman to fold her hands and watch u destroy her future.
ReplyDeleteThe woman is better off without that man. When you are married to someone with no future ambition then you have to start making secret plans for your future. I've always wanted to invest money in something that will give me enough money to pay my kids school fees whether I'm working or not. To my utmost happiness I married and I was so excited that I will have a partner to join resources with and invest heavily. Well I married a Class A loser, lazy man, gambler, leaking basket, no future ambition. Na so I begin dey hide money o. Luckily we are no longer together but that experience really taught me not to judge any woman that's making secret investments. I cover this woman with the blood of Jesus as she moves on with her life.
ReplyDeleteP.S I'm not surprised the man's family didn't settle it. What kind of family raises a useless man? Jealousy no go gree them see road.
My own nah which kind name b Anus? When dey start to bully d pikin bcos of im name now d parents go dey complain. As far as i am concerned this is child abuse