Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Buhari Talks About His Biggest Shock Since He Became President Of Nigeria.

Friday, May 27, 2016

Buhari Talks About His Biggest Shock Since He Became President Of Nigeria.

The biggest shock he had during the past year as President was the realisation that Nigeria had over the years squandered all its precious foreign exchange on the importation of food items and other frivolous items including tooth picks, President Muhammadu Buhari said in Abuja yesterday.

He spoke to editors and newspaper executives in a brief interview to mark the administration’s first year in office.

President Buhari said last year, when oil prices fell to $40 per barrel, he summoned Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria [CBN] Godwin Emefiele and asked to see what it was that Nigerians were buying with foreign exchange.

He said to his greatest shock, he found that most of the imports were food items. Nigeria, he said, discovered too late that it was over dependent on a mono-economy.

He said, “Up to 2013 we were earning on average over $100 per barrel from oil but by fabulous coincidence, it went down to about $30 per barrel when we came in. There was no money to import food. For me it was the biggest shock.”
He said in the course of its history Nigeria became an oil economy and “we left agriculture and solid minerals and everyone went to the city to look for oil money.”

Buhari also spoke at length about his opposition to naira devaluation. He said when he was military Head of State in 1984-85, World Bank and International Monetary Fund [IMF] experts advised him to devalue the naira and remove subsidy on petrol and flour. He said even though they pressed him hard, he did neither of the two.

He said this was because countries that benefitted from currency devaluation were developed countries that produced more products after devaluation and were able to export more because their goods became more competitive.
He was told, Buhari said, that Nigeria’s petrol was being smuggled out to neighbouring countries because it was very cheap but he countered that what our neighbours consume is only about one large Nigerian city’s supply.

President Buhari also said, “When I was removed [as military Head of State] in 1985 the dollar was one naira fifty kobo. Now naira is 350 to the dollar. Tell me the benefits we derived from that. How many factories were built in those years? Economists are not able to explain this to me.

I am still waiting for economists to tell me why we should continue to devalue the naira. However, I don’t rule the country alone, so we must accommodate the economists.”

Buhari also said contrary to what observers think, he believes in privatisation of state owned firms. “It is much more efficient,” he said. He however said NNPC’s four oil refineries must be revitalised before they can be sold because he will not agree to sell them as scrap. 

He recalled that as Federal Commissioner for Petroleum Resources in General Obasanjo’s military regime in the 1970s, he signed contracts to build Warri and Kaduna refineries and to expand Port Harcourt refinery as well as build the depots and pipelines.

He said, “Should we sell them as scrap? We cannot spend so much of our national resources to develop infrastructure and then sell them a scrap. We must first take into consideration our state of development. We must repair them first so we can negotiate with the buyers from a position of strength.”

Dailytrust reportage.

WOW....we are in more trouble than is thought possible!..GOD SAVE NIGERIA!

74 comments:

1. Guys, when I went to do business in NPA I was shocked to my bones. There is NOTHING we don't import. Even water sef. It's was the day I saw imported smoked fish that I totally lost hope.

2. Beautiful and gifted u never see anything. We import common pencil

3. even bushmeat oh,shockg

2. They should stop the country, I want to come down please.

1. 😂😂😂😂😂 Doppel oh! Which bus stop? Oya pay your fare!!

2. Hahahahahha!!! Doppleganger!!!!!

3. Lwkmd!

The brakes have failed.

Just sit tight. You aren't going anywhere.

4. U are seriously funny...stop d country!av not recovered from d laughter....

5. You cannot come down o. There's no bus stop. Its one way flight

6. Lol @ white diamond nor be small thing o, brake don fail , sit tight

7. Lolz😂😂😂...cant come and come down. We're in this together...very disloyal

3. Buhari is just confused, clueless and useless.

1. He has a point but dnt know how to go about it, he should have provided alternatives first before the ban on some foods stuff. May be next year or there about, he can then stop the importation of food stuffs and within this period, the economy must have been stabilized. I pray we survive this.

2. Did you actually read the article? Or is your so porous that you will revert to type in any given situation?

4. Buhari should start working.Enough of all these stories.

It is well with Nigeria.

5. This man should just resign cos it's obvious the only thing he knows how to do is to rear cows...

1. What a rude person you are. Such a grossly disgusting comment.

6. Too much talk. NO action at all.

Your minister is trying to bring foreign exchange as we will be manufacturing pencil and exporting it. Otondo

7. Buhari the disaster, Nigerians greatest mistake.
    Sad indeed!

8. Keep shut @Buhari

Stop shouting

9. the most stupid and clueless president ever....before u came in( during goodlucks regime) nigeria had the biggest economy in africa. mr president obviously isnt here to lead nigeria forward but he is here to fight his so called enemies(pdp). all the pdp members that relocated to apc he hasnt probed a single one. for instance ameachi river state governor who used the states money to sponsor apc, has he been probed. mr president permit me to call u the most CORRRUPT PRESIDENT IN THE HISTORY OF OUR DEAR NATION.

10. the most stupid and clueless president ever....before u came in( during goodlucks regime) nigeria had the biggest economy in africa. mr president obviously isnt here to lead nigeria forward but he is here to fight his so called enemies(pdp). all the pdp members that relocated to apc he hasnt probed a single one. for instance ameachi river state governor who used the states money to sponsor apc, has he been probed. mr president permit me to call u the most CORRRUPT PRESIDENT IN THE HISTORY OF OUR DEAR NATION.

11. the most stupid and clueless president ever....before u came in( during goodlucks regime) nigeria had the biggest economy in africa. mr president obviously isnt here to lead nigeria forward but he is here to fight his so called enemies(pdp). all the pdp members that relocated to apc he hasnt probed a single one. for instance ameachi river state governor who used the states money to sponsor apc, has he been probed. mr president permit me to call u the most CORRRUPT PRESIDENT IN THE HISTORY OF OUR DEAR NATION.

12. Father Lord,make Nigeria better again

13. oga president did u even have a plan on how u will rule before u started ur stupid campaign that you sold lies like pure water to gullibe nigerians. now that u are elected under ur leadership everyone is suffering. no food,fuel,light. tomatoes is so expensive now that most families no longer make our nigerian food called stew. people are trekking everywhere cos our cars cant even be fuelled. weddings this year are being postponed till infinty cos no one knows when this madness would stop. workers are being sacked everyday. people can no longer pay their childrens school fess. fulani attacks on poor innocent citizen. boko haram attacks. buhari is A CURSE on nigeria. business men who import and export can no longer do so. BUHARI LEAVE NIGERIA ALONE, U ARE SET TO DESTROY US.we regret ever voting u in.

14. oga president did u even have a plan on how u will rule before u started ur stupid campaign that you sold lies like pure water to gullibe nigerians. now that u are elected under ur leadership everyone is suffering. no food,fuel,light. tomatoes is so expensive now that most families no longer make our nigerian food called stew. people are trekking everywhere cos our cars cant even be fuelled. weddings this year are being postponed till infinty cos no one knows when this madness would stop. workers are being sacked everyday. people can no longer pay their childrens school fess. fulani attacks on poor innocent citizen. boko haram attacks. buhari is A CURSE on nigeria. business men who import and export can no longer do so. BUHARI LEAVE NIGERIA ALONE, U ARE SET TO DESTROY US.we regret ever voting u in.

15. oga president did u even have a plan on how u will rule before u started ur stupid campaign that you sold lies like pure water to gullibe nigerians. now that u are elected under ur leadership everyone is suffering. no food,fuel,light. tomatoes is so expensive now that most families no longer make our nigerian food called stew. people are trekking everywhere cos our cars cant even be fuelled. weddings this year are being postponed till infinty cos no one knows when this madness would stop. workers are being sacked everyday. people can no longer pay their childrens school fess. fulani attacks on poor innocent citizen. boko haram attacks. buhari is A CURSE on nigeria. business men who import and export can no longer do so. BUHARI LEAVE NIGERIA ALONE, U ARE SET TO DESTROY US.we regret ever voting u in.

1. Wole aka skd addict aka James well done.

2. Ahah lovelace so u sef notice. SMH

16. This govt loves excuses and blame games,happy children's day

17. Baba should better come out of the shock and address the problems

One year don waka and nothing to show for it

18. This govt loves excuses and blame games,happy children's day

19. GEJ left a completely broken economy for Buhari.
    The biggest part of my family live in Australia...I can't really be bothered.

1. Really?
      Tell us more

2. You mean Australia?.The end of the world...

Nothing is happening there,stop typing like you are staying in White House

Abegi

20. His only shock is dat he thinks that Nigerians will not speak up against his gross incompetence.

21. Kikikikikikiki!

Odeshi nwanne!

We no dey shake!

Bring it on, we stand for ground, gidigbam!

Hehe!

Please, nobody should come for my delicate neck o.

22. This is a guy who have been in the system of Gov for decade and it is now he realize Nigeria squandered all its precious foreign exchange,why did he not fit it when he was first rule the country or oil minister,question is why is Buhari rule the country on in the media;Nigerians do not allow this guy to fool u with media propaganda.

1. This is part of Nigeria's problem!! See English coming from our youth!!

23. It is well with Nigeria....

24. This is a guy who have been in the system of Gov for decade and it is now he realize Nigeria squandered all its precious foreign exchange,why did he not fit it when he was first rule the country or oil minister,question is why is Buhari rule the country on in the media;Nigerians do not allow this guy to fool u with media propaganda. He has come to do the bind of slave maters who destroyed the system,he's busy travel all over straighten the bond of slave master who hand Nigeria over to his ancestor

25. This is a guy who have been in the system of Gov for decade and it is now he realize Nigeria squandered all its precious foreign exchange,why did he not fit it when he was first rule the country or oil minister,question is why is Buhari rule the country on in the media;Nigerians do not allow this guy to fool u with media propaganda. He has come to do the bind of slave maters who destroyed the system,he's busy travel all over straighten the bond of slave master who hand Nigeria over to his ancestor

26. Well,turn things around Mr president that's your job isn't it?

27. Fantastically corrupt Country when oil was sold at above 100 dollars per barrel,a Fabulous coincidence at less than 40 dollars per barrel and Finally a shocking Country.Who will rescure us from this pool of Besida?

28. Enough of this 'toothpick' nonsense Mr. President and get to serious work. One year has gone already.

29. Bitch old man!!

30. Buhari is a dullardinho, with no brain.

1. And your father is a drunkard !suicidal fool

2. Anon 13:59 if you want to reply all the idiots here with no home training you will just kill you battery.

31. it means dat nigerians have not staryef d real recession that is to say its d beginning of hard times.GOd SOS o.STella .pls come b help me i want to go to GErmany like you pls d suffring in naija id overbearing.

32. Demented president

33. I won't comment on this as am tired of cussing him out.

34. And the SDK bvs fools all come out with their myopic opinions.
    Your precious GEJ left the country in ruins and you all expect a leader to lead with rubble.
    Poverty stricken mindset of people who will rather enjoy now and let their children suffer tomorrow.

35. Dis man should resign to save dis nation from doom! Buhari couldn't even solve a single problem,he's there ranting and fighting pdp and bokoharam which he sponsored to destroy Gej's administration. If u were there when Ebola struck, d whole country would hv wiped away. Clueless president!

36. Father Mbaka come and dance to the music you created. I hope you are very happy now and still making excuses for Buhari. The change has thrown you to the Bush as parish priest to Buharis cows. Ngwanu dance dance dance. Aoki juju catch you too. Come out and Make a statement. This is not touching the Lord's anointed but stating that the person he supported is starving Nigerians and trying to Islamise the nation. Ogini!!!!!! God will judge the wicked. Abacha bowed to our prayers for Nigeria in Distress, this one is not exempt. Nigerians pray. Complaining won't change anything.

37. Super story....... We are waiting for your may 29th day speech.

38. Nigerians please use your brain. U say work, with what funds? Do you know what happening in the world? You expect a miracle yet applaud people that put us here. When oil was 70 dollars last govt was already borrowing to pay salaries. We are in DEEP trouble. We need to pray we don't turn to Venezuela

1. Proper pratice of federaliism is what we ought to turn to now,and these admistration should stop complaining and resign if they can't work.

39. Mtheeeeeew.........akuko Mike Ejeagha!!

40. Info we know already.. So What next?

41. Buhari yes Nigeria is in shambles. What next please. Enough of all this lamentation. Way forward is all we ask for.

42. Buhari is not competent. He does not have competent hands too. He just appointed his friends and brothers.

43. Hahaha, e no give una mouth again, when una de shout sai baba nko, apc change, and the change is now shame. God bless Nigeria

44. I still ponder on the ways Nigerians use their brains.... Maybe if we call the "BRAIN" an "APPLICATION" they will start using it...... I still don't get why people can't just put sentiments aside and genuinely reflect on the current state of the economy and how we find ourselves here??? Many just talk without thinking deeply, Yeah APC's mantra for campaign was "CHANGE" but we can;t expect this supposed "CHANGE" in just 1 year looking at the severe damage the previous administration caused us, i ain't taking sides, infact am not a fan of APC.... Am not just biased about the whole thing...... "STOP BLAMING PMB" for Nigeria's predicament.

1. Lie lie,we are to sentimental. Even me sef I am guilty. That is why a family wld hv a thief and murderer in their house and cover up for the person in the name of family cover up for each other. They wld hv a child molester in the family and bury the moleststikc ion case like it never happened. We wld never admit to the true facts on ground but wld rather cover it up bcos of sentiments. We hv to wake up and start thinking beyond our hate or dislike for a particular person & pray things work out for the better

45. PMB u are not d only one dat has experinced shock ooo, me too. My biggest shock since this regime came into power is buying 4 seeds of tomatoes N200