Sunday, April 10, 2016

Woman Who Stayed In An Abusive Marriage For The Sake Of Her Kids Stabbed To Death By Hubby.

This is the sad story of how a woman who claimed she was staying in an extremely violent marriage for the sake of her children met her untimely death..

Seventeen cuts lined Alejandro Uribe’s forearm like tally marks — each, he said, for a year he had been with Nadia Saavedra, his hometown bride from a riverside village in Mexico.
Ms. Saavedra had asked her husband to leave their Bronx apartment in late January, after years of absorbing his abuse. But Mr. Uribe grew obsessed, cutting himself and, after Ms. Saavedra called the police, planting himself in the stairwell and knocking on her door.
A short stay in a hospital psychiatric ward had not kept him from grasping at a vanishing marriage. He took to walking the 400 or so steps from his new home to Ms. Saavedra’s apartment — past a boxing gym, a pharmacy, two churches and a mosque — to watch who came and went. He followed her to Manhattan. He called their 16-year-old son, Uri, almost daily, asking about a man who he suspected was Ms. Saavedra’s boyfriend.

On Ms. Saavedra’s 34th birthday, March 7, Mr. Uribe waited in the hall outside her second-floor apartment, this time without knocking. When Ms. Saavedra opened the door to take their 11-year-old daughter, Naiyela, to school, he pushed his way past the girl and forced Ms. Saavedra into her bedroom.
She screamed her son’s name, but by the time Uri broke down the door, his mother had been stabbed 13 times. His father, shirtless, moved the 12-inch kitchen knife from one hand to the other before plunging it into his own rib cage, forcefully enough to pierce his heart. Mr. Uribe’s dead body crumpled on top of his wife’s.
A neighbor, Celin Feble, 16, heard Ms. Saavedra screaming “Stop, please stop!” She did not understand the gravity of what was happening until she saw Naiyela, weeping, emerge onto the sidewalk with a small black-and-white dog. Uri walked outside with blood all over his hands.

As murders in New York City have fallen to record low in recent years, domestic killings have come to make up an ever larger part of detectives’ workloads. The cases often take shape out of the Police Department’s view — less than one-third of victims and abusers in domestic homicides have had previous contact with officers — frustrating an agency that is trying to home in on the most violent and vulnerable people.
Nadia Saavedra
And, like gang killings and attacks by mentally ill people, domestic murders occur overwhelmingly in poor neighborhoods, where jobs are scarce and seeking help from city agencies is not necessarily the norm. Among those neighborhoods is Mott Haven, part of the 40th Precinct, a two-square-mile trapezoid at the southern tip of the Bronx that is one of several pockets in the city where domestic violence and killings persist.
To understand what drives such violence, The New York Times is documenting each  homicide in the 40th Precinctthis year. It recorded nine murders in the precinct last year, the 11th highest total among the city’s 77 precincts. It had recorded five as of Saturday, more than all but two other precincts.

Police officers in the South Bronx are trying to break through the shame and fear that often keep victims from reporting abuse, visiting them repeatedly even if they slam the door.
The killing of Ms. Saavedra, who lived in a private, five-story walk-up building, emerged from the same swirl of jealousy, mental instability and silence that makes it difficult for investigators across the city to anticipate domestic violence.
Ms. Saavedra told relatives that she was staying with Mr. Uribe for the sake of their children, despite the years of marital problems. There were no reports to the police of domestic abuse, though she filed for a temporary order of protectionwith Bronx Family Court on Jan. 29, after Mr. Uribe cut himself and banged on her door; the order was never served.
Lincoln Medical and Mental Health Center, where the police brought Mr. Uribe after that episode, released him after less than two days, reflecting the difficulty in decoding risk factors.
At a recent public safety meeting, Sgt. Michael J. LoPuzzo, the commander of the 40th Precinct detective squad, expressed regret that Ms. Saavedra had never told officers she feared for her safety. “Maybe we could have prevented that,” he said.

Even in retrospect, relatives struggled to pinpoint the moment a tumultuous marriage had turned murderous.
“They have many problems, for many years,” said Omar Mendoza, a nephew of Ms. Saavedra’s, with whom Mr. Uribe came to stay after leaving the hospital. “It was nothing new.” But, he added, “I don’t know why he makes this decision.”

The couple had gotten married in their hometown, San Pedro Aytec in Huamuxtitlán, Guerrero, when Ms Saavedra was 15 before moving to South Bronx. “They did seem like they were very much in love,” said Magali Garcia, a neighbor there who attended the wedding and now lives in Florida.

-New York Times

If you are in a situation like this,please use your teeth to count your tongue and be wise!
These domestic violence casualties are increasing by the minute,dont add to the figure!

39 comments:

1. I want to ask one question,what if you get married and your husband dies would u say bc of the kids u would live with the dead body?
    An abusive man is equal to a dead man.Bury that man and move on with your life.....Dead body no dey stay with kids is better to be safe than sorry.

2. Shantelle loves Tuscany10 April 2016 at 13:36

Women in same situation are in Nigeria and they are bn advised to watch WAR ROOM. Una never chichumchim. Continue watching,I'm done advicing you empty heads to leave.(because you lack self love)
    Btw stella,any feed back from flora okwousa?

SHantelle

3. Oh my....she could have walked out to avoid this tragedy

4. Maybe the man has a long dk dats why she decided to die there

1. Always talking out of point, must you comment? Can't you read n go

5. Women need to wake up. On no account should you stay married to an abusive man, especially in a lawless country like Nigeria.

Sometimes I feel like our religion discourages women from divorcing their husbands, thereby encouraging them to continue suffering in their abusive marriages. This is a serious issue that needs to be addressed.

1. The story is kind of confusing. It didn't seem they were still staying together when he killed her.

6. Now the kids she stayed for won't save her

7. So who is going to take care of the kids she was staying in the marriage for?
    May her gentle soul RIP. She should have left the jerk.

8. They no dey hear word!!!!
    See what she have to the children she was trying to protect!
    Rip

9. To all the Nigerian women in abusive relationship who have refused to leave because of stupidity, I raise my totoh lips up for Una

Sidon there till he kill u join

10. I'm just speechless on this story.
    There's loads of women that have husbands with undiagnosed mental illness.
    When I heard one ladies story, she's a popular designer and we're friendly, have mutual friends. The husband will beat her, fling her against walls, even tried strangling her, to d extent she started sleeping with a knife underneath her pillow. The day she finally left him, she just jejely moved out when he went out, no fight that day, nothing. He still came to kidnap her kids from her parents house. Put her thru a lot.
    I'm glad she's out now, dou still fighting for her kids, but atlst she can visit them now. And this was smone that never touched her, thru their 7yrs courtship.

1. My dear, many mentally deranged men in this Lagos.

There's one who toasted me when I and my friend went to a restaurant for lunch. He paid our bill and sent his card through the waiter. When I refused, after plenty whatsaap chat (he's fat and I couldn't deal Biko) He abused my life history. I didn't let him pull me down to his level. I ignored.
      For a long time after that strange numbers kept calling me and trying to know where I was. I didn't even tie it to him. Until one day, I was driving along Lekki road with my friend by 11pm. Was taking my friend to her house in chevvy. Next thing someone was horning beside me. Blaring horn. I no even notice Na my friend see am. She asked if I knew the person. I turned saw him. Smiled and waved. He now sped ahead of me (of course he drives one of those sports cars with 4 exhaust). I maintained my lane. As I got ahead by 3 roundabouts I looked in my rear mirror and saw this guy driving like 40m behind me with dimmed headlights. I thought I wasn't seeing well. I asked my friend to help me confirm. She confirmed he was the one. Omo! I picked up speed oh. The guy now picked up speed too and put his headlights. He now caught up with me and was making threatening gestures from inside his car. If you see craze that day? 😂😂 My friend and I were so scared. See James Bond. We saw RRS vehicle parked by chevron. We quickly drove straight to them. When he saw he took a turn by the roundabout and entered chevron road and waited for us.
      We explained what happened to them. Luckily they said they will drive behind us. We didn't go into chevvy. Instead we we entered Carlton gate. And bade them goodbye.
      We now told security at the gate what was happening. We now called our friend who lives there. That's where we slept. I no even shame say Na bathroom slippers I wear. I'm sure he was trying to know me or my friends house. Who knows what he had in mind?

Fast forward one year later, I stumbled on someone's IG page. I say make I do tatafo. See her flaunting this idiot as her hubby of X years. With TWO kids. I looked at the pictures and all I felt was pity for this woman. To be married to such a mentally deranged man.

2. Really mental man

11. Hmmmmmm
    No matter ow hard u try to help,unless d woman is ready for help herself,ur efforts are jst in vain. Sometimes all u do is pray to God to sustain/preserve her life.

12. Most of the people that commit domestic violence have a mental problem. The thing is, these women are trying to cure a problem that is beyond them. An obsessive boyfriend or spouse is not it at all. It's best to move far away and change your number for a long time. You will have to also lose friends as some friends will snitch just to keep you in hell. Even family can have your number but not your address. Until his obsession switches somewhere else.

13. From what I read up there I think she was living with her children and not with her husband.

14. No form of abuse shuld be tolerated,women ooooohhh if u r not happy in ur marriage why stress it, u tink u will mk heaven for bin in an abusive marriage abi. Rubbish

15. Hmmm,women leave abusive relationships
    Thank God my mad ex fiance of 2 years finally broke up with me yesterday,the kind of beating, insults and disgrace I received from that insane man eehn,only God saved me.
    Whenever I broke up with him, he will turn it to violence oo,saying that he will pour me acid or shoot me and the man I'm leaving him for.in fact I knew I couldn't marry him but how would I leave him after all those threats. I turned it into prayers and fasting and yesterday he called to tell me it was over and that he doesn't love me anymore, Bvs you need to see the way I jumped for joy,I'm free at last from the grip of the devil.hmmm and to think I wanted to marry him after just 3 months of dating.babaGod thank u so much for opening my eyes.ladies abusive men are insane,run away from them please and shine your eye before marriage

16. ...when he drives recklessly trying to crash the car u are both riding in cause he's upset.
    ...when he beats you cause u refuse him sex, and he still has his way.
    ...when he comes to ur house after 12 a.m just to be sure that u are actually sleeping in ur house.
    ...and he says he loves you and doesn't want to lose you.
    MANY ARE MAD, BUT FEW ARE ROAMING

17. Such a sad news. Domestic violence and abusive relationships are not to be condoned with. If he hits you once, he will do it again.run while you still have the breath in you.

18. Nawa oh, may she Rip!

19. Hmmm so sad it ended this way for her.
    I wish woman in abusive marriages could just walk away and stop looking for flimsy excuses to stay put.
    May her soul RIP.

20. Better alone than dead, wish women would work out on dv but the society no allow n most can't fend for themselves, anyman that says be a housewife watch him na so e dey start, he wants u totally dependent on him , pls sister save up as much as u can cos one never kmows...

21. Ladies when will thou learn... R.I.P to the dead