The management of the University of Ibadan (UI) Tuesday evening shutdown the institution indefinitely and ordered the students to vacate the campus with immediate effect.
This development came after students of the institution staged a protest over management’s victimization of a student who took part in a recent protest by the students as well as poor power and water supply in the school.
A circular issued by the Registrar of the school, Dr O.I. Olukoya, Tuesday evening said the management, in order to safeguard lives and properties had decided that the school should be shut indefinitely and that students should vacate the campus immediately.
The circular titled “Disturbance of peace and threat to lives and property on campus by some students of the University of Ibadan and other students” ask students to comply with the directive till further notice.
Dailypost reportage.
*Do we have any students here that will tell us what actually happened?
Hmmm...academic maanagement will always have advantage over students..Ijoba amu ni mu ogun
ReplyDeleteMc pinky
I read a thread on nairaland about it, apparently a level 500 engineering student was expelled/rusticated from the uni for taking part in a protest over poor power supply amongst other issues, he was singled out and victimised, the students decided to boycott all lectures in solidarity with their fellow colleague
DeleteHuh?
DeleteWhat is really going on?
So painful
Delete@EbonyGold or Ebonyfool..imagine d way u ave allowed ur stupidity market itself using promotional sales..u started it and pple are throwing a lot at u.all u could. Do is come here and type
ReplyDeleteSorry1
Sorry2 bla bla
Are u just learning how to read 1-50 ni by using play-away method**if u try dat irnu again..bad belle
Mc pinky
She's seriously seeking for attention
DeleteHian.
DeletePot calling kettle black.
Is it your stupidity?
U mean come back Peter, come back paul, fly away peter fly away paul. Kikiki
DeleteMiss Aboki..gum dey ur brain..
DeleteMc pinky
U.I too?!
ReplyDeleteWhat are the new generation Nigerian students turning to? Rogues Everywhere
ReplyDeleteWhat do you mean by that?didnt u read d reasons for the protest?am very sure you were never victimised in school that's why you have the guts to make such comment,you have no idea.
DeleteNa Omo Mummy she be for school ni
DeleteHmmmm, schools just getting shut down
ReplyDeleteIndefinitely! Protest everywhere
ReplyDeleteGo home and rest.after all most of you don't even know the importance of education. If you pay ur way through school you will not protest for any reason.
ReplyDeleteYou are an idiot...so if they paid out of their own pockets they should b denied social amenities... You that know the importance of education and graduated with good result...were r u now?...because you had d benefit of going to a private school...you don't know wat others are going through...
DeleteWell said @EbonyGold.
DeleteBut you were so rude and uncouth to sdk yesterday.
@ebonyGold.don't tel me u r doing promotional sales in order to expand ur stupidity life circle?
DeleteI see no reason why students should be deprived of their rights..
Am pretty sure u r suffering,just tryn to hide ursef.mumu
Mc pinky
Somebody is ere trying to be popular on sdk by force n u answering the fool. Of cos dis thing is an old bv trying to get noticed using a different ID. So y answer d ass hole? When u ignore dem they'll find another strategy to be noticed. Bastard
DeleteIgnoramus...what do u even knw@ebony!
DeleteIs dis EbonyGold just totally stupid? Am sure ur one of those spoilt brat dat attended all des private uni whr dey teach u guys nofin,, so students shudnt protest when they are living and studying under non-conducive situation? First time to comment tho,, (hi BVs)
ReplyDeleteWahala full this country too much. The students should go and rest at home. The fuel situation is something else.
ReplyDeleteGood for them
ReplyDeleteThere was also a riot in covenant university during the weekend because of unavailability of water and light. The buttery was destroyed and security men were beaten by the students.
ReplyDeleteVery good.
DeleteAfter paying so much, they are still denied basic amenities?
Nigerian students are always downtrodden.
Na wa!
ReplyDeleteUniversities shutting down like no man's business.
My Alma mater Uniben, I doubt will.
The school authorities will respect themselves. Students too.
Besides, Uniben students don't have time. Their own is to read, pass and graduate.
No time for wahala; no one wants to be rusticated. No one wants to be made a scapegoat anymore.
The days of Aluta has gone.
But students will always be at the receiving end...so unfair.
Will students just wake up one day, jobless and start a protest over nothing? No!
Suffering and smiling mentality has so eaten into our system that everyone thinks it ok.
When a few resist, it's a problem.
Nigeria, which way?
Things fall apart and the center cannot hold.
Mere anarchy is loosed upon the world.
This comment has been removed by the author.
ReplyDeleteInstead of making sure the existing universities are on solid footing esp with regards to basic amenities, such as, power, water, clean and academically-inspired environments, the stupid leadership keeps minting new universities that are subpar on every level. Many of these students know their rights and are willing to fight for them. Kudos to the new naija youths. You are the difference you wish to see in the world. Naso me seeam
ReplyDeleteSolidarity for ever!!!...@ebony, i'm not sure u understand what it means to be in 500l engn n be expelled?...ignorance is a disease!!!...back then in UNN, our sch fees was hyped when I got to 2nd year!!!guys really protested both finals n other levels. In the actual sense, final years had little or nothing to loose but they joined in d protest even the SUG join the protest...tho we all paid dearly for the protest but we succeeded.sch fees was reduced, SUG was manipulated and dissolved!...but immediately my set left d school everything got hyped again...that boy shouldn't be rusticated!...it's too much of a punishment!