Uche says she has sent this story to another platform a few days back but did not get the desired result or answers she wanted and she was advised to bring it here...She says she is a BV and tells her Nightmare story as a tenant and seeks answers to the questions raised.The photos you see are photos of where she stays,all renovated at her expense...she is not broke or hungry,just seeking for a solution.
Please read her story and be Objective...No childish banters here.This blog deals in real issues and we offer real solutions...sometimes..LMAO!
''Hello Stella,
this is my first time ever writing to you to have a story published on your blog, but I feel like I must do this because I am really pained and there must be someone out there who can understand my plight and bring my story to the attention of the appropriate authorities for Violence Against Tenants and Women. I have reported the case to the police. My neighbours have gone to give their statements yet my landlord denied the allegations including assaulting any of us when he was invited. I have also written to other blogs but haven't gotten any help yet. I was cussed out for putting up pictures of my apartment but I did so because I didn't want anyone thinking i'm hungry, homeless and looking for sympathy. All I want is justice !!!
My name is Uche. I am a hardworking 32 year old female entrepreneur and I consider myself quite successful at what I do. I live in a 2 bedroom house in Surulere Lagos, rented, renovated and furnished by me without the help of any one. In fact when I moved into my house, it was in a terrible state and so I used my hard earned money to fix the house because the landlord refused to do it. It was not a problem for me because I felt I would be able to fix to my own specifications. The premises also houses 4 more flats, although I was lucky to get the detached mini - duplex in the back and nobody's rent is below N1m.
Fast forward 6 months after moving into my home,I got bladder infection which I treated and after that I wanted to buy a water-pumping machine and a water tank for my personal use, because the central tank used has lots of dirt in it and brings out brownish water. When I went to get consent from my landlord (who also conveniently lives in the same compound), he told me to give him the money so he can use in drilling a borehole because what we presently use is government water. When he kept insisting, I refused. He told me it was selfish of me to think only about myself and he would make me suffer and forbade me from buying a tank or pumping machine. Being that I am only a tenant who didn’t want to make or cause trouble, I let the matter go and continued to use the water provided by the landlord, which is pumped and circulated only at his convenience. I continued to be a good and peaceful tenant, even gifting my landlord a phone for Christmas and giving his wife and kids some clothes as well.
A short time after that, the fuel crisis began. I was lucky enough to have made friends with the manager of one of the gas stations nearby and because of this; I was able to help the other tenants buy petrol…in fact it got to a point where I was collecting everyone’s jerrycans, including that of my landlord to buy fuel for them. However, it was here that things began to take a sour turn.
The other tenants and I began to notice that our petrol would mysteriously always go missing. It was very strange and we naturally assumed it was the security guard stealing from us. When we took the matter to our landlord, he neither said nor did anything, which is quite unusual because he normally would take action on such a matter. At this point, we decided to take matters into our own hands by writing our names on our respective jerrycans and buying a padlock and key for the storage space for the petrol and gave it to the security man. We told him to always lock the storage and not give access to anyone. Nobody would be able to get fuel without him unlocking the place. Yet the fuel still kept getting missing. I realised that my landlord always bought not more than ₦1,000 (One Thousand Naira Only) worth of petrol at a time, and the last time I helped him buy fuel was 3weeks ago, but he would run his generator every single day. I thought nothing of it until the thing that happened next.
As fate would have it, I had bought a jerrycan of petrol for one of the tenants, who is a director in one of the federal government agencies the day before The following afternoon, I was on my way out of the house when I perceived the smell of fuel. Further investigation revealed that the storage room was open and my neighbour’s jerry can was open. By the time I got outside, lo and behold, I caught the security man pouring petrol into my landlord’s car. To say I was shocked was an understatement, but I didn’t say a word, instead I got into my car and drove off. From there I called my neighbour and told him what I saw and asked him to check his fuel when he got home.
When my neighbour got home, the security guard opened the storage room for him and an inspection revealed that more than half of the petrol in the jerrycan had been stolen. The security guard claimed it leaked but there was no trace of leakage. Next thing the landlord appeared, ready for a fight, and asked him why he chose that day to check his fuel and not the day before. The next thing the poor man knew was that the landlord gave him two slaps and started to hurl insults at him and said he is giving him 7days to pack out of his house. PS: his tenancy expires May 2017. He also called the man’s wife on the spot (who coincidentally is my friend) and told her that I am sleeping with her husband. The man tried to walk away and my landlord followed him even into his flat insulting him.
I got back home some few minutes after 9pm, met another of my neighbour who happens to be a manager in a new generation bank(PS: she has also been physically assaulted by my landlord in the past) while exchanging pleasantries she began to tell me about the fight. My landlord appeared, pulled my shirt, slapped me and started beating me. My neighbour ran outside the gate and started calling for help. It took the intervention of people to save me from his grip.
I still have an existing tenancy and i'm here wondering if I should give up my rent and go look for another house.
When I moved in my landlord collected 2yr rent plus service charge and till date hasn't given me or any of my neighbours receipt or agreement to sign. He usually gets feisty anytime we ask for it. My neighbours and I are living in bondage. He has done a lot of intimidating things to me, ranging from asking the security man to knock on my door and walk my guest out. Not once or twice has he done this. He says he wont have anyone he has fallen out with in the past enter his compound and doesn't care who the person is. Sometime back, he locked the control that supplies water to my flat simply because I complained the water was dirty, had a foul odour and suggested to him to make arrangements for us to wash the tank.
Stella I am sad,depressed and confused and would appreciate advice on how to handle these issues. Are there no laws governing landlords? Aren't tenants entitled to some rights? Please and please I'll greatly appreciate if anyone out there has information on the relevant authorities that can help me sort out these issues. Please find attached pictures of my apartment. I spent money to make it comfortable and the thought of abandoning it is heartbreaking especially with the current economic situation.
Hiannnnn!
ReplyDeleteYour story such sounds like a movie. I just pray ur get the right authority to deal with this situation at hand because years back when having prob with our landlord, reported him but he won the case. So u would ve mind ur business since it wasn't ur fuel that was stolen. I don't know if u get my point.
DeleteIf she's truly a bv then why did she have yo get advice from someone else to bring her issues here..she should have made here her ist point of call knowing fully well that Stella's bvs are more efficient with things like this...all blogs have their uniqueness and strenghts..make she no dey lie abeg
DeleteGet a blutant lawyer. Fears for one's life in Naija is real. Security at stake.
Delete....LOVE ME SOME SDK.......
Sister girl,ur landlord is trying to frustrate u out of that house seeing that u have actually made it very nice n classy,he wants u to leave so he could get another tenant n collect a higher sum for the house,if u have friends in the army I think it's time to use there help
DeleteNawa oooh
DeleteI read it on linda's blog first then I commented that she sends it to Stella's blog , but as usual Linda never posted my comment . I'm sure u will get the help u need here
DeleteAnnieemen, ur comment is so on point. He has seen the effort u put into renovating the house and wants u to leave. If u truly want to leave, plz scatter the house back to the state of which it was before. Stop being all nice and good. Stain the walls too.
DeleteThis issue is a serious one.
DeleteLiving in same compound with the landlord is one thing I dread but sometimes we gat not choice.
Please get a lawyer. Before you do that, mind your business.
I'm afraid you will have a little problem. You don't have tenancy agreement or receipt of payment. If he's to make a refund, how will you prove you paid rent and the amount you paid?
Just get a lawyer first.
Your house is beautiful.
She did post your comment because I saw it
Delete13.40 she never posted your comments as usual so why do you still go there and comment? Is it so you'll come and type it here? Mumus all over. I'm sure you're always begging there that's why she doesn't post your comments
DeleteAll the money you used renovating the house wl have gone a long way in building you own house. I pray u get justice for the assault
DeleteAnon 13:40...u are lying. I saw ur a comment suggesting she bring d prob on sdk. Linda posted it. Just take time to read beyond d first page. It's there. U guys shld stop this ass licking and beefing.
DeleteUche Listen to me and listen well!!!! I had a similar situation but wasn't physically abused by my landlady; instead d Son poked d hell out of me, considering my kind of job at d time, it was emotional laden... At d end,I left Everything as in Everything, she refused to pay back my 50k non refundable, lied she didn't say ,she was gonna refund, I got pple to talk sense in2 her, 4where!!!!!!pple said I shd get Police involved ( God I hate complications)others said, destroy the tiles , the toilet wear, d Kitchen cabinets , the wall, everything u fixed, damage it, cos u added value by fixing all that and now she will hike d rent for d new person! My sis, it took d words of my Dad for me to let go, he said , let GOD do his work, don't get in d way of Gods battle, mk sure u don't destroy anything, walk away and u will c his works!!! NNE I swallowed my pride and truly left everything behind!!!! She actually thot I was going to get police involved ( that is far beneath me) and UCHE u r beneath any stupid police case!!!! U r a woman, single and IBO!!!! Well trained from what I can deduce of ur write up!!!! Take ur things and leave that house, GOD will bless u, in a way u least expect!!!! Trust me! B d GOOD woman with a beautiful soul u r! Don't let rifraffs bring u down to there level!!! Do not involve police( lame) do not destroye anything ( it makes u Super human to walk away) .... Let d peace of GOD b with u
DeleteChai! Anon 13:40,ur comment is there on lib. She posted it ooo. U guys shld stop jamming these two bloggers naa. I saw ur comment suggesting she takes her case to sdk. It was posted. World people!!!! Tufiakwa!
DeleteThis story doesn't add up at all. A landlord beats you up and you didn't go to Police that same day. Abeg go Sidon jor! Let's see what blog you take it to next. Stella abeg give us better gist!
DeleteDear Uche, you stay in surulere going by your story. You can walk into office of the public defender at barracks just before stadium and lay your complaint.
DeleteI'av a friend that have issues with her landlord, anytime she's having discussion with d guy, she record it, she fought with d landlord, she snapped herself to get evidence of injuries d landlord gave her
DeleteBabe for dis Lagos, u no get evidence of anything against yur landlord? C'mon babe, no receipt no pictures of injury, no voice records of insult
Abeg wise up
My Landlord thinking i'll put tiles in his house, if I hear, na rug I buy put, wen I go pack I go carry my rugs dash Mallam
I once paid my landlord 6mths rent ahead, as I was about completing it only for him to tell me that I didn't pay d full 6mths that it's remaining 20k, chaiiiii fellow Bv na so I open Segun Arinze eyes for d guy, he brain reset, d guy want scam me
For d d day I had plan of moving out anytime I started paying 6mths, I can shout
Babe
Just get a lawyer, print out your bank teller, if any argument next time pls record it
Get some evidence against him
My friend made her Landlord to sleep in jail for 5 days
Waoo..first I must commend your high of furniture. Very classy. I love women who have taste and have it together. However, the first rule is that u shouldn't over furnish a property that isn't entirely yours. Granted that you'd want to make your haven comfortable and all,..but the disadvantages outweighs the advantages, and that is what has happened now.
DeleteI like what the anonymous above me advised, that u shouldn't go low to his level by destroying what u used ur hard earned money to create. As it would seem like u put fire to burn ur own sweat. It's painful but there's a way out.
First you can sue ur landlord for assault and defamation of character. If he assaulted u in the presence of other tenants then u have a strong witness strength to prove the assault took place. That is if they do not chicken out due to cowardice.
Secondly, if he wrongly accused u for dating ur tenant and it isn't true, u may wish to pursue that as well. Cos keeping quiet may translate to accepting guilt. At least to exonerate yourself before his wife who's ur friend, and for the sake of ur integrity in the neighborhood.
As for the tenancy agreement, u messed up my dear. U sound too intelligent to allow yourself fall victim of such. Entering into any agreement should be accompanied with paper documents or legal tenders. How do u intend to prove that u still have a valid occupancy or that you should be refunded if u decide to move? If others like u do not have a written documentation binding u to that property, and all u have is word of mouth, perhaps u can all gather ur bank statements from which u transferred payment to him as proof. This may help slightly if u didn't pay cash. Even if u paid cash, u should have a receipt that'll show u transacted business with him.
Is the man blatantly refusing to refund? Is he denying any tenancy agreement btw you? Or you are just being apprehensive in advance bcos of his behaviour? Go to the police station to make a formal report first of all, then seek to know where matters like this are resolved in ur jurisdiction.
Lastly, make sure that u have a few of ur neighbours on ur side to back up either of ur claims, as this will further strengthen prosecution or whatever u choose to absolve. Don't leave without giving a "fight"..to at least some of the issues stated above. If u can't get ur money, sue him for assault or defamation of character. The man is just wicked.
@sisi Eko. Love your comments. The landlord is a bully. Sue his wicked as. Go straight to high court , not magistrate court. Get a very good lawyer, he would come begging. Litigation usually takes long, your lawyer will also file a restraining order against him. I just dealt with one stupid landlord, now he is begging me to withdraw the case.
DeleteDon't post childish banter comments Stella nwunye Korkus. Chai This is a serious matter. Brb wt ma comment.
ReplyDeleteLandlord started beating you ke?? OMG! I was boiling all through coz I had one experience with my previous landlady.She was always telling me she would show me she is from imo state and I showed her I was from old bendel.
DeleteThe very day he fought you he was supposed to sleep in cell that night then u both get a lawyer,off course u don't have to park out for any bloody landlord but with your write up,I see that you are a peaceful person and can't make trouble so let me give u a simple advice.
GET A LAWYER ASAP TO REVIEW EVERYTHING,Lagos state have a very strong tenancy right so try and get a lawyer that is into landlord/tenancy case.
I am telling you writing to different blogs up and down with pictures of your house is not the issue.
As u are moving up and down the case dey cold it is better when it is hot( talking from experience)
I wish this stuff happened to me honestly the man for spend money taya.
That is how some usless landlords are the landladies especially are worst, @ some point they start getting jealous.
Imagine a landlady with her 3 daughters standing at your gate that u can't drive in after all u didn't pay for parking space.
Then u drive in with full speed attempting to crush them and they run off the way hahahahahahahahahahahahahaha.(memories)
And after spending money for renovation they come and say u did the it higher than their budget and to your taste therefore they won't pay after signing agreement with you they increase the rent so they don't get to deduct the money for the renovation,you disagree
And they start giving u problems expecting you to run away and abardon your rent.
First tenant left her 500k after 7months
Then she tried it with me mennnn everything turned against her she couldn't blv it na,spiritual oh,physical oh am ever ready.
She ended up begging na.
To the extent she went to UK and met someone who knew me after a year...then I have left the compound and she stated telling the person so u know that lasy and started raining curses on me.hahahahahahahahahahahahahaha.
Men no time oh,one should know their right abeg.
Never u stay anywhere the owner of the house lIves that's my advice to everyone.
The only advice u can get is to get a lawyer,assault esp against a woman is a serious offence n shd not be taken lightly,again collecting rent for 2 yrs upfront is another offence.and failure to issue u receipt and tenancy agreement after paying for same is also another offence and u need them now jncase you to press charges.there r implied n express terms in every tenancy agreement which includes the right of tenants' peaceful enjoyment n occupation,any breach of same entitles u to some action.i have given u snippets of what to do u need to get a lawyer very important or contact me on bendiniandaurelio@gmail.com
DeleteSome landlords are just terrible. Its reasons like this i thank God our landlord lives very far from us.
DeletePoster i know help will come yourway through this blog. Just be patient.
The Law protects tenants more than landlords. I do not even know how to go about proffering advice to you, seeing that you do not even have any evidence of payment (although I think a bank deposit slip can serve as one. The state has in reality been laid back when it comes to protecting tenants, they only make laws without really implementing/executing (e.g it is unlawful for a landlord to demand for 2yrs rent). But in some cases they have done a pretty good job.
DeleteAnyway, you can make a complaint at the Office of the Public Defender, their office is at Western Avenue, Surulere. They'll invite him over or refer you to the appropriate Ministry in charge at Alausa who would ensure that your right to peaceful enjoyment of the property is restored.
On the other the hand, you can avoid him the best way you can & move out when your rent expires. I've always made it aa point of duty never to live in the same compound as my landlord, saves one a lot of trouble. Wish you the best.
So was it really necessary to say you sent it to anther blog and you didn't get help. You are a bv or so you claim and you know help resides here so where you not an idiot not to have sent your chronicles here. We don't need pictures to prove you're not a broke ass cos that might be your sugar daddy's house. You know a station manager hence you buy fuel for everybody in your compound, nne do you own a truck?? Your landlord walks out your guests maybe cos you're a runz girl and he hates the fact that several different men troop in to sleep with you. You have 1M and didn't rent a house in Lekki na surulere you go, mtcheeew. End time story.
DeleteA man beats you up and you allowed him sleep in his house that day , I mean he just beat you for free ??? And you are educated?? If you don't act to fight for yourself who will?? Naija is an insane place so always be ready to be tactful.
DeleteGo to the nearest police station to make a report ,,, ve it documented that you ve made a proper complaint. Get a lawyer to write a petition to the DPO, the area commander,, the Lagos state CP ,, copy the human rights and ministry for women affairs. Copy every every necessary people
All the people can be copied in a day.
Don't bother taking law into your own hand s cos already the time in btw is too long. No man can slap me and I will walk away I will put my car into reverse and run him down in his own house I swear but at times things happen that one will just become a Mugu.
You need to fight it babes ,,, it's your fucking fight so fight that thief of a landlord to standstill.
Well spoken
DeleteHahaha German juice say as e dey hot so this German juice trouble is written all over you Kai.
Delete14.55 give me five, you'really intelligent. How convincing are these pictures? Not at all so why post. You must be mad to spend a lot renovating after paying 1M rent. Abi which part of surulere do old dilapidated houses rent out for 1M? You'll get a new mini flat in Oniru, VI for about 850k.
DeleteAnon there are houses in surulere for as much as 3m for tent a year. Depending on the area. And who says it's everyone thay wants to live on the island??
DeleteDid you have agreement with your landlord before renovating the house, if you did not just forget that money you put in there. Now go and get a lawyer since the matter is already reported to the police station so you can recover your remaining rent. And ensure you have make up your mind to leave the house before going to a lawyer cos the landlord wants you to leave so he can get another high rent for the renovations you carried out. Good luck to you
DeleteDis poster is a hypocrite! Jeez! Is it not d same advice dey gave you on the other blog; Get police, get a lawyer, leave d house jejely dat ur getting here? Whtz u pples priblem? Ur obviously daft Dtz why u tuk d story to d other blog first knowing fully well ur ardent reader of sdk. No Stella even mum pass. Why a u soon bitter? I use to like you but I don't know again wit Dis ur petty behaviour. If u like don't post buy at least u've read it. Mtcheeeeew
Delete19;03... Bird of a feather!! It takes a thief to know 1, give u 5? cos u practice same thing, u assume she does!!! Well d analysis made sense ' Public Toilet Things' mk una take am easy!!!! Women of easy Virtue. Oriegwu o
DeleteWhat are some of u anonymous saying? So she cannot choose to live in surulere even though her rent can afford her a lekki apartment? And yet you guys will say people should live within their means and stop forming big babe? Her offence now is that she chose a less expensive area to furnish to taste? Oh my goodness. Even if she's a runs girl, does she deserve what she got from her landlord? Is the rent free?
DeletePosting the pictures was very necessary because it allowed readers like me understand the extent to which she invested in the apartment. Why would she publish her sugar daddy's house and yet makes it public, knowing the landlord can see it and call her out? Does this make sense to u? Smh
Rather than proffer her a solution, if u have any, u decided to scrutinize the victim because she chose to luxuriate with her own money. This is the same behaviour that u guys put up when a rape victim speaks up. You immediately attack the complainant instead of analysing the matter at hand. Na wa for una
Don't post childish banter comments Stella nwunye Korkus. Chai This is a serious matter. Brb wt ma comment.
ReplyDeletePlease pack out from that compound,I hate trouble.Dont because of the renovation you did to make you lose your joy in that apartment.That man may be diabolic and deal with you if you ain't a strong prayer warrior.Shun how much you spent,when there is life,there is hope.Stay Safe.
DeleteMadam u posted on another blog and didn't get help,i don't know if u wanted linda to go and fight the landlord,is it not same get a lawyer they were telling there,they are telling here,u people should fear God oh!
DeleteSaw this yesterday on another blog and the comments there was so childish. Hope u find a solution here.
ReplyDeleteMonkeyweyNoFine, so you dey wander from blog to blog. Jobless women
DeleteAnon 13:17 please shut your dirty mouth....what are you doing here...jobless being...if you have nothing good to say...hang yourself and stop looking for people to cuss out for no reason...what is wrong with what she said...mongo park!!!
DeleteHow on earth someone will post something like this on Linda's blog and expect to get matured replies is beyond me. Nne, you miss road waka go there oh. Na giveaway kids you go de see their comments.
DeleteWhy wouldn't she go from blog to blog?? You are the ignorant one. How would she know what is happening in Nigeria when Stella post 20% of the daily happenings in Nigeria. Please get enlightened..
DeletePlease get a lawyer and be ready to play rough with this idiot!I'm disappointed that exposed and educated people are taking all this rubbish because of fear of being kicked out. Pls check out the Lagos state law on tenancy. He is also at fault too for not signing an agreement with you as you can also claim anything. May God help you through this
ReplyDeleteThis girl is just display her house for nothing, Stop this stupidity and get a lawyer.
DeleteLawyers n human right activists pls u ppl should come to d poster"s rescue. I hate injustice of any form....*sad*
ReplyDeleteReally sad
DeleteI would like to hear the landlords side of the story cos I know how you tenants behave!...
ReplyDeleteUche,you made a mistake...how can you spend more money to repair and renovate a house that is not yours?,..
There are new houses that are well furnished with POP,wall screeding,treated water etc in that una surulere that you can get with the same amount you spent on this...
This should be a lesson to you to stop repairing renovating a house that is not yours!...
Some greedy landlords don't like their tenants living more than two years in their house cos they would want a new tenant that will pay for a fresh agreement and warrever fees they are collecting!...
Your second mistake is that you didn't collect your rent receipt after paying cos this your landlord might say your rent will expire next week!...
My advise is Since you have the money to make case,get a good lawyer and sue the landlord!..
OR
You live quietly and pack out when your rent expires...
Because you have left surulere is now our surulere okwa ya?? 😒
DeleteI agree with you on not spending so much renovating a house that ain't yours.
DeleteOn the receipt matter though, the landlord has shut himself on the foot with that. I'm sure she has a way of proving that the payment was made and the time it was made too. I also sincerely hope that she clearly narrated what the payment is for. With that, she has self covered. Under the Lagos tenancy law, it's a crime for any landlord to collect rent and not issue any receipt and this attractive ts a fine of 100k(on the landlords head).
Once she's able to get a good lawyer which id advise she does to wade into the matter, it's a win situation for her in that regard.
NB: I have the contact of this lawyer who advised me sometime ago (got his contact from nairaland)on issues regarding rent matters. He's quite good at what he does. You may want to contact him and hear from him so as to know the way forward.
0703 668 1104- Omonile lawyer
Well said Queen and Boss.
DeleteShe spent so much for a rented apartment - wrong move.
She kept buying fuel and gifting her landlord + family - another wrong move.
She wanted to fix a bore hole for herself in a compound where landlord lives??? - wrongest move.
Lady, you showed your landlord that you are quite wealthy. You were sort of intimidating him.
Secondly, your landlord saw that you had pimped the house silly and decided to frustrate you to park out so that he can get a new tenant to pay twice as much as you did being that you've renovated the place to quality.
My advice- do not fight this man. From your description of him, he may go diabolical on you.
It's either you laylow till your rent expires and move out or move out as soon as you can.
And make sure you learn this lesson- never fix a place that is not yours to standard quality rather look for apartment of such quality to rent.
Btw, more than one picture of your apartment was quite unnecessary. Makes you come off as a show-off person. I guess the same mistake you made that your landlord is trying to capitalize on. The best thing you can do for yourself is stay coded.
Well said Queen and Boss.
DeleteShe spent so much for a rented apartment - wrong move.
She kept buying fuel and gifting her landlord + family - another wrong move.
She wanted to fix a bore hole for herself in a compound where landlord lives??? - wrongest move.
Lady, you showed your landlord that you are quite wealthy. You were sort of intimidating him.
Secondly, your landlord saw that you had pimped the house silly and decided to frustrate you to park out so that he can get a new tenant to pay twice as much as you did being that you've renovated the place to quality.
My advice- do not fight this man. From your description of him, he may go diabolical on you.
It's either you laylow till your rent expires and move out or move out as soon as you can.
And make sure you learn this lesson- never fix a place that is not yours to standard quality rather look for apartment of such quality to rent.
Btw, more than one picture of your apartment was quite unnecessary. Makes you come off as a show-off person. I guess the same mistake you made that your landlord is trying to capitalize on. The best thing you can do for yourself is stay coded.
True. She over furnished a rented apartment. Number one blunder. The man don put eye for the place, he prolly wants to move in himself or get a higher bidder.
DeleteThen I hope he didn't toast u before and u shunned him o.lol. Cos I don't understand this bitterness. And may be the reason he said u are dating ur co tenant. Maybe he likes u sef. I guess he's aggrieved bcos of the borehole matter. Why should he think you'd pay for it so the whole house can use? Is he ur father? The man is manipulative abeg.
Na wah o!
ReplyDeleteBut wait o. Doesn't the landlord have a name?
You didn't leave a way of reaching you, in case any organisation wants to help.
But then, how did y'all pay for a house, and did not demand for the receipt immediately,even after months, especially, knowing the kind of landlord you have and the fact that you don't pay less than a million?
I don't even know what to make out of this story.
With 'calibre' of people you mentioned in your mail, no one has been able to stand up to the man, despite the assaults and insults?
Hian!
If nobody comes to your aid (hopefully, someone will do), y'all should let the man know that the fact that he's the owner of the house, doesn't stop y'all from exercising your rights.
Na undergraduates fit this kin landlord. Dey for don show am pepper tey tey.
He go just come back dey find his gen.
If this story happened this way you narrated it, and I were the one, I wouldn't leave my rent running and move, especially, after spending to renovate my apartment. Na me and the landlord go do am tire.
It's just that you don't even have a proof of payment, which means that he's likely to deny that you're not way past your rent.
My dear though painful move out of that house when your tenancy expires. The money you are going to use on Lawyers, police etc. it is better you use it for a new place. Learn a lesson from this, never ever ever use your money to fix up someone else's house. One shld never do more than painting, and little little things. My friend dat is an interior decorator always taught me that. It is better one rents a place that already has those comfort u are looking for. Though it will be expensive, but better to bear that cost.
ReplyDeleteYour landlord seems diaboilical that why I'm saying it's better to leave his house for him. I have a friend who wasn't gettn on with her landlord, she feared even leaving her clothes out to dry, suspecting d man and his wife can pour smthn on it, is that life?
I don't know ur budget, but my dear there are so many nice apartments out there, that same 1m can get you a newly built, well designed 1bed on the Island. Even gbagada, Maryland etc. you can get 2bed for 1m.
Why kill urself at ur young age over smone else's house. D man that is thief thief, and I'm sure he may be Yoruba, he fit dey visit all dese Alfas and pour smthn on d ground for you. And I be Yoruba o, but I know how Lagos landlord can be.
James keep off my comment, know dats your work. One love
My 2cents, wish you well dear Poster.
Oloriburuku bed and roses,thorns and maggot more like.you were making sense until you decided to bring yoruba people into the matter.was any tribe mentioned in the narrative? òmó ale nié ashiere ni awón to wo é dagba cos if you were brought up well,you would know better than to be discriminating again people like you becos you are not of same tribe.after una go begin talk like you are intelligent, if you are,you don't do things like this,being tribalistic is bad.all tribes should learn to love each other.
DeleteHaha hahaha anon leave bed and roses alone she is right only that when the landlord/landlady meet his or her match the story turn against them...if they like they go to okija shine no way. They would pay back every penny.
DeleteOn my case I made the landlady sign an agreement that she would pay for ev34y kobo spent on the renovation by deductING it from my next rent.
She sign after we estimated the whole sum...so the case was against her from every angry.
Even if it is 10naira u are spending base on agreement, either to be paid back to u,on for contract, or for rent or anything make sure u sign an agreement.
Coz to collect dey sweet na to pay back na em pain pass.
I would request a refund, if not whatever he sees, he should take. If I can't continue living there, I'll call people to quietly remove all my indoor renovations and pack my things and zap.
DeleteMy understanding is that the law protects tenants even more than landlords so I think you and your Co tenants should engage a lawyer. Also, the next time he touches anyone of you the case should be presented at the nearest police station for documentation purposes
ReplyDeleteThe law is on your side, get a lawyer. The next time he touches any of you, file a report with the police
ReplyDeleteIt's a very simple case. I see that you are a financially comfortable woman. You and your fellow tenants should employ the services of a good law firm. Serve the landlord a price of intention to commence legal action against him. Also assault and theft should be included. My dear no shaking. For someone who is as educated as you are plus all your fellow educated tenants you all are stomaching shit for now thing. He cant throw you out. Take care dear.
ReplyDeleteMy Dear Anon, It's not so easy to rally all the victims around to sue the landlord. I bet you some tenants would rather choose to let her be a martyr while they remain anonymous. If all the affected tenants had one voice then they could easily take this land lord down but this lady to fight alone is very dangerous. Even if she gets a good lawyer and wins the case against this man, as long she is still staying in that compound then her life is not safe. Truth is houses are scarce. So poster you have to be wise. Stop all form of protest, keep your fuel by yourself, if you can't then make sure you use up all your fuel by emptying everything into your tanks. It's either you pack out or you become very wise. Avoid any confrontation with him & live on a low key till your rent expires, then you can quietly pack out. PLS DON'T SUE A LANDLORD IN HIS OWN HOUSE WHEN YOU'RE STILL A TENANT MBOK. Remember we need to all live to see a better tomorrow if you feel the threats are too much then Pls Pls pack out.
DeleteI don't see how she can continue to live there after sending this story out. My guess is that the landlord will see this, and that'll make the end of their dealings.
DeleteThe worst thing anyone can do is to live in the same compound the landlord. God forbid. Nne you're there thinking about the house what about ur life? Move out biko
ReplyDeleteMadam get a lawyer ASAP!
ReplyDeleteStart from there. Do not abandon your sweat for him. Also, very importantly... be doing midnight prayers on top his head. Stop being nice to him, you don't owe him that as an obligation. How can he be stealing from his tenants?
My heart goes out to you.. I hope someone who can help reads this story.
ReplyDeleteGet a lawyer and sue the landlord. Could you also stop spending so much renovating someone else's house? Every tenant affected should take him to court. He is not above the law.
ReplyDeleteI would first blame you for paying rent without signing any agreement or having any receipt to show payment.
ReplyDeleteSince you still have access to your apartment, you should get the police involved and a lawyer.
He hit you and that's against the law.
Secondly, whoever you get as your lawyer should demand for refund of what is left of your tenement fee paid since you're not the only one he didn't give receipt to.
If you and your Co-tenants can come together in one voice to fight this evil man called your landlord, then it would be better.
The struggle of renting an apartment as a single girl in Nigeria is real and a sad one.
Everyone assumes you're wayward because you want to live alone.
I still cannot fathom how a landlord will just come and grab your shirt and start beating you. Is he mad? What could have warranted that? And u fearfully continued as normal? You've been too passive my dear. Ontop of say u no owe am money? Nahh
Delete@Poster I hope you have picts as evidence...
ReplyDeleteYeye landlord and his wife can't caution him. You guys shld sue him.
Sew his old ass and get your rent back. But after, you will have to move out because he will lock your water supply again and your fuEl jerry can go lost
ReplyDelete*lights weed*
Sue*....stich ass ke...lol
DeleteShe's not a seamstress
DeleteToo much weed girl
DeleteMy dear, I am so sad to hear this story. It is wrong on many levels. Please get a lawyer. Contact women arise, an NGO as well as Lagos State Public Defender. Don't give up. This man should be brought to justice. Good luck.
ReplyDeleteSo annoying. Most lagos landlords are terrible. So terrible. I pray you get the needed help that you seek
ReplyDeleteUche nwanne m nwanyi, your house is fine, can I come and visit my big sis??? Hehehehehe. Back to d issue at hand..dont move out from the house until your rent expires, I guess ur landlord must be a yoruba man,cos he's acting like one...if u have d money and time, take him to court,just dat dis useless country is so lawless, if na abroad ehh. U for don make money from this case.
ReplyDeleteSee this he-she talking,cos u have access to phone and internet now, so that qualify u to give advice, Notice me or i die.
DeleteHehehehe...Faceless coward, jealous and hatred is written all over u, you are dead to me. You are just a living corpse. Get a life asswipe. Atleast i'm bold enough to put a name and my pix...if u got d balls,reveal ur ugly identity!!! And stop hiding under anonymous..Anuohia
DeleteFirst of all you do not renovate a home that is not yours, get a lawyer Biko some landlords in Nigeria are something else
ReplyDeleteUche! I know you like comfort but do you renovate someone else's home? Or redecorate a hotel room? No! Don't involve the cops for fear of your life, just look for another place to live . When you have moved,you can now fight the wicked land lord. Nigeria is a country that doesn't give a damn about her citizen!So I don't have faith in any cop or female activist org.
DeleteYou have to be very careful,you have only one life @ poster, abusive and wicked people can go the extra mile just to make you suffer and weak, please it is better you make arrangements to move out and forget about the money used for renovation, because money is not worth your life,security,and peace of mind.
ReplyDeleteI know the right thing to do is to fight for your right and not be intimidated but only the living and healthy can fight.
My two cents.
#positive vibes.
You're so right Red. Fighting back seems like the best thing to do but truth is that she can't be living there and fighting him at the same time. These old men are very wicked.
DeleteThis is Nigeria dear, leave this people telling you to fight him. Am sure you are capable of fighting but remember you are in a lawless and dangerous country, its not worth your life sweetie and you can live to get something better. Lost a very loved one as a result of silimar case, the jazz wey American hospitals no fit explain killed him. Better to be called a weakling n live than to be too brave but end up dying.
DeleteWell designed flat !!! And pls to authenticate your story don't post your email or contact details ,else this'll be just a cunny advert for interior decorating business.thank you.
ReplyDeleteI only lived in the same compound with my landlord once and that was when I was single. I saw 'nwinnn', my rent did not expire before I abandoned the place.
ReplyDeleteSince then, I swore never to rent an apartment where the landlord also lives with the tenants.
Landladies are the worse, they will be envying u especially if u are working and living comfortably. You don't go to borrow or beg for anything from them.
Single ladies especially suffer if they live alone, people will intimidate u and make life miserable for u.
I will advise single ladies not to live alone, live with a relative or share the apartment with friends or better still get a big man or force man as a boyfriend, let him be coming to see u there. They will let u rest in the house.
Also when you pay for a house especially in this Lagos, collect a payment receipt immediately.
ReplyDeletePlease get a good lawyer. All the affected tenants should sue him asap. Why on earth is your landlord intimidating and harassing you like this? If all I've read here is true, you tenants have taken this abuse for far too long and he feels he can keep getting away with it.
ReplyDeleteTalk to the tenants, you all can bring a joint action against him in court. If they don't want to, you can do it alone. Apart from his duties as a landlord that he's blatantly ignored, he's also assaulted his tenants? Imagine?
Get a good lawyer. When he receives the first letter, he would sit up. and if he doesn't, go all the way and take it to court. Don't be cheated out of your hard earned cash. Do not give up your apartment
And if you can afford to forfeit the rest of the rent then do so and look for an apartment where the landlord doesn't live in the same compound as tenants.
ReplyDeleteSorry for all the trouble but it would be nice to give that landlord a beating, let the boys arrange his brain just a little.
And you call yourself a writer and a Christian. Which brain you wan arrange?
DeleteU guys should go digging around dat compound, the guy has planted jazz! Bcos I don't see y matured pple like u and 'Men' living in dat compound can't gang up and beat nonsense from that man! This is utter rubbish!
ReplyDeleteKelvin dat Edo Boi ( Stellz cousin )
My dear. Pls post an email address or phone number you can be reached on. You can buy a new sim or create and email addy for this purpose. Lagos state has an agency for such matters. Also, concerning him physically assaulting you, do you have proof? Because we need to get him arrested. I will reach you and give you the number of a top police PRO officer. Your landlord is not above the law and has no right to treat tenants with such disdain. Also, you will need a lawyer, let him get ready for a rough fight. Make sure you get in touch with the agent that got you the house as well. Pele dear. Stella post her details here for us. Make we teach this man small lesson.
ReplyDeleteMove out pls...don't go to war with ur landlord. Forget all these internet warriors. He could go diabolical on u. My former landlady used to brag about how she won't go to court with anyone but rather na u go use ur hand,use nyt pack ur things comot. Don't plant flowers in someone's house. Meanwhile,Stella,thank u for not posting my first comment. Mtchewww. Swallow this one again.
ReplyDeleteMove out just like dat? Lol. U no get mind
DeleteNawa for u ooo,so u could recognise SDK and take ur story to a stupid blog where u won't even av a solution to ur problems,I hate people like these,abeg waka joor... Yeye dey smell,just go and get ur self a good lawyer,d man would loose at d end.
ReplyDeleteIt's this kind of landlord that some tenants deserve,my Parents are very nice people,homely and welcoming and always make sure are their tenants are comfortable, one of the tenants even drive my Dad's car to work if his is at the mechanic,the have water running 24/7,my Dad gives them freedom to enjoy their stay, yet one of the tenants owed my Dad rent of 6yrs,millions of naira,he packed out 2weeks ago without paying his debt.we heard from some people that they moved to their own house now,so all along they were building their own house and this wicked tenants didn't pay my parents their rents,my parents are Christians and took pity on them cos the tenant lied he and his wife are in finicial problems, all lies.They took advantage of my parents cos they are old and we the children all live abroad.well I won't curse them,they already cursed themselves doing that to old and grey people.
ReplyDeleteI pray your parents will be alive to see those tenants when God starts dealing with them. I pity them. My neighbour's did the same thing,theirs was 2years rent. They later moved to their own house. God ll reward all those who take advantage of others
DeleteAnon, please which area? My family is looking for a place within surulere, maryland, anthony or even island or okoyi with affordable rent. I promise we are not trouble makers
DeleteThat's the most painful irony. Some are lucky to have landlord /landlady turn to father and mother for them while some are not. Leave those tenants alone. Even the air they breathe is on lease. The day God wants to fight for your parents ehn! No one will know what they've done that's wrong. How can u build your house at the expense of old people who took u like their children? And you lie endlessly? They do not have the fear of God. If that their building comes crashing in their old age with no hope of shelter for them, then they will remember that it's what they sow they are reaping. Geez! Who does that? (so pissed)
DeleteNna ehn. Pls forget Christianity for a second abeg. You guys should find out where they moved to and collect ur money from them, every last kobo. Which kain wickedness be that.
DeleteThis is why I don't blame landlords that throw tenants out even for just a month delay in payment.
Uche, u don't have a problem. Yoour landlord assaulted you. The first thing you do is to report the assault too the police. Make sure you have witnesses or photographic evidence. Concentrate on the assault matter. By the time you lodge it at the police if your landlord bribes his way out, u will raise a stink until it gets to the inspector General's office. Thank God you have blogs to help you escalate your matter. As per the rent issue, even if there was no receipt, there should be an evidence that you transferred money to his account. If you didn't, no problem. Before you can be allowed to stay in someone's house, it means you were given consent. That makes you a licensee if your landlord doesn't want to acknowledge your tenant status. In Lagos, you are under different forms of protection. He needs to give you notice to recover possession before you can be thrown out. After the notice, he needs to get an order from the court. Once you notice he has filed the matter in court, get yourself a lawyer to enter appearance for you. By the time your lawyer uses delay tactics for him ehn, you would have been in that house foor two extra years without paying a kobo. The advice I gave you is for two different situations. The criminal and civil aspects. Trust me he would kneel down and beg you. You can contact me for more details. I am a lawyer. Please pardon typos.
ReplyDeleteDear poster, contact this lady if you don't have representative already.
DeleteGbam!!!
DeleteAnother thing please don't destroy the house even if you renovated it. He might bring an action against you for malicious damage and he would claim he did all the repairs himself. And please for next time purposes, when you are renting and apartment in Lagos, do not pay 2 years in advance, it's illegal. I know it is rampant but it is not in your favour. Please always collect your signed tenancy agreements and receipt so that you can be entitled to 6 months notice to quit and 7 days notice to recover possession. Also just be calm, your landlord is just a landlord and not God
ReplyDeleteThe assault case is enough to jail the landlord. Just go to the police , get him arrested and tell them you want to go to court for the assault.
DeleteThen sue him for harassment and threat shikena. I promise you the mr almighty landlord will be at your mercy.
After taking it to Linda that cares about shoes,bags,kardashians and egg plant .you came here bye bye biko.Stella take your time cos we don't accept left overs.
ReplyDeleteBEEF BEEF,oh Lord y are ppl so bitter?you better start praying for your own breakthrough .
DeleteTake the case to rent tribunal.its a court dat specializes on rent issues.but u no having a receipt of payment is an issue.u have to get dat.
ReplyDeleteShe can print her bank statement that shows her evidence of payments to the landlord. If the man denies it. And how did she get to the house in the first place so with or without a receipt she still has a good case. The agent that collected agency fees too should still be a record.
DeleteGet a lawyer. Everyone(tenants) can contribute to his fees n fight this...
ReplyDeleteThank God where I live, no landlord dey there. Wahala too much. For your best interest pack out because d landlord go do otumokpo for u.
ReplyDeleteI thank God where ever I live, I go ask God if it is worth it to live peacefully.
Park out my dear before d Yoruba landlord go diabolical. That is their way
With all your big mouth I expected you to be living in your own house and not pay rent. You are a fool
DeleteHahahahahahaha
DeleteThis story was on Linda blog. Hian.
ReplyDeleteAnyway, back to ur story, I think the landlord is using jazz on u guys that u can pay rent and u didn't demand for receipt. If I advise u to team up with ur co-tenant to get a lawyer bcos lagos law is in favour of tenant but they might betray u, humans can't be trusted. some of them might not ready to leave the house. What I will do in this situation is to more out especially your status. So u won't start unnecessarily spiritual and physical battle. This should serve as a lesson to you.
Maintain ur Lane with prayers till ur rent expire. If it's becoming difficult, look for another house. Life is more important dear
How can you not collect receipt for paying rent, rent oh, the landlord na your uncle? I just hope for your sake you still 've the teller, that is if you paid into a bank. That being said, why did you not arrest him when he beat you up. You guys are dulling in th a compound of yours oh. For now you guy should collectively get a lawyer to represent you guys, take him to court, then file a restraining order, stopping him from asking any of you to move out. Then seeing that he framed you and fought you get the police or soldiers involved, he sha should write an undertaking that nothing should happen to you or other tenants..... one second Abeg, I won think how my landlord go get mind pursue person wey come visit me (thought over, back to advice)...my dear be very careful with that guy, he is definately a bad person and May b diabolical, if you 've to move out, make sure you return the house how u met it, remove all the orisirishi you used to beautify it. A cotenant did it na, after beautifying the house our landlord now came n increased the rent tge next year, she sha moved out, not before damaging the house.
ReplyDeleteGbam
DeleteMadam, don't run away. Deal with him first. Sue? Nah!!! First of all, put salt in his generator. Then pay area boys to come and deal with him.
ReplyDeleteUche's story is a sad one and unfortunately, this is similar to the plights of most tenants especially in Lagos. My sister is a victim in the hands of her landlady too because she is single woman. I would love for you to seek legal actions but can you bear the heat while the case goes on? The victimization from your landlord will increase and you won't enjoy this at all. I will advise you keep to your self and wait till your rent the expires. Do not think of your loss cos your happiness supersedes that. If you are a Christian, continue to pray to God for justice. He will surprise you.
ReplyDeleteSeriously get a good legal adviser whose specialty is on housing and property. you and the other tenants can sue him. if it is possible, get enough proof that will help you in court. For example, anytime he beats any of you, let others record or video it. The point is, just try and get enough proof that will assist you guys in court. And when you finally win the case, please, please, please,starting investing in building your own house ( cos, am sure the money u used to rent that flat and furnish it will buy at least half-a-plot of land).
ReplyDeleteWhat is all the panic and talk about regarding the furnishing of her flat.
ReplyDeleteIf she moved into an empty flat then when she moves out she should leave the flat empty the way it was when she moved in.
The only thing she cannot take with her is the paint on the wall, everything else she should strip off and take with her including any wall paper she put up.
Life is easy, don't make it difficult.
Read carefully,renovation of the house and not the furnishing of the house.
DeleteUche, thats not a gud story, I once leave with rubbish landlords lk that fews years back, it was so terrible, I mind tells me to be more prayerful, it ws a room self containe, d man collected both house, water and nepa money together yearly. Later I started to issue with him wen Nepa pple came to cut d lite, I was like, but have pay my Nepa bills to this man,he has more than two wives so definitely, he didn't pay Nepa,to cut d story shot, if not for GOD, somtin else wld have happen to me, alone d line I got a visa to UK, so I had to leave buh my house rent has not expired. I left to UK with d hope my Family wld com park my sturf, before thy came, d man done remove evthing that he needed in house. Even I after I came for back to Nigeria, I went to him to ask for balance, I saw my DSTV attached to his building, d man is so diabolical ehh, I even hear say he fought one of d tenant, d guy die, d man buried man at d back of his House cause d house is near to d canal. So my it's better u leave or be very prayerful cos someone that has confident lk that, surly he's not alone. At d end of my story I came back one day and met a snake in my kitchen. D rest na God
ReplyDeleteMadam, deal with him. My landlord is a Benin man and when he wanted to do anyhow, I showed him craze. It took the help of my pastor to calm me. Now he calls me 'igbo witch' and I call him 'yeye man'
ReplyDeletePlease get in contact with this lawyer, 08033220750. He is a lawyer with over 20 years experience and has his chambers on the island, this case is kike his specialisation. You would be refunded all your expenses in that house and and move out after 6months, trust me. Your landlord was not stubborn like mine, mine was at the ogunlana and he was charged to court. That man is a confirmed physco. He showed me pepper until i was introduced to this lawyer. Within three months according to the verdict of the high court judge I was refunded my expense well over 4m. Stayed till I got another apartment and my life was hanged over his neck. He was made to write an under taking that even if anything like headache and I complained he would be picked up and put behind bars till i am OK. This is Barrister Eric's case.
ReplyDeleteNice one. He really needs to sign an undertaken
DeleteI don't like trouble so if I were in your shoe will avoid the man like plague and move out when my rent expires.
ReplyDeleteI don't understand how you all can take this crap from your landlord. My friend, all of you should team up and get a bad ass lawyer and rip him to shreds, then move out afterwards. What nonsense. Next time, never ever live in a house where the landlord also resides and never do renovations you can't let go of so nobody gives you sh*t and ties you down. In this Lagos? Give yourself good brain please.
ReplyDeleteI see here that he didn't give u or the other tenants any receipt. He can easily deny collecting money from you sef. Get a lawyer asap!
ReplyDeleteUche please seek a very good lawyer, even if you would leave there which I advice you to, make sure you get your refund .
ReplyDeleteAm disappointed in u. How can u claim to be learned and not receive ur agreement and receipt the day u paid? I hope u dint pay cash hand to hand?
ReplyDeleteIt is only the apartment i noticed, lol. I like.
ReplyDeleteIm sure you would get help here.
Like someone said every blog has its strength .
Oturugbege. Lagos Landlords and tenants issues is one day one tory. That is how one yeye Landlord was giving us his Moses law and commandments that I should not wear trousers in his house. My guests are also forbidden of doing so. We dare not consume alchohol while in his compound. Compulsory night for every tenant including my 11months old baby. Can't you see he is mad already.
ReplyDeleteUche your Landlord is troublesome and by look of things, he is grounded both physically and spiritually. My dear, just try to avoid him until your rent expires. I live in Surulere too so I can assure you that you can as well get a good and new apartment within the same range. And next time, don't try to renovate for any gold digger. Go for what you wanted and make serious enquiry before parking in. All na experience, you will get over that with time.
I for like to see how the outside of the house looks like sef. Cos it seems this babe really elevated the apartment that even the landlord no believe say na part of him house again lol.
DeleteAnon 16:13 crawl back to ur hole. No be me say make u live for rat infested room. Ur bitterness will give u stroke very soon
ReplyDeleteYou are a bv?
ReplyDeleteAnd you first took your problem to other blogs because you believe sdkers are razz?
And did the blogs with class give you what you wanted to hear?
YIMU!
Anon 15.67 the place is @ ogudu,it's a 4bedroom flat all ensuite,downstairs. It's on renovation at the moment, the tenant left it all messy when they left.
ReplyDeleteAsk of nos 8 Salvation st Opebi Ikeja( Alahajha), she and her Son Kayode are both DEVILS!!! The Onibanjos or so!!!! Devils. I stayed there ard 2005,Evil landlady and her devilish son!!!! If not for d girl I was dating at that time ( now my wife)I would have taken that woman tons cleaners
ReplyDeleteNot all landlords are wicked and evil.
ReplyDeletePresently, I live in same compound with my landlord, and they are such a blessing as within one year of moving in, positive things began happening in my life. Very loving, accommodating, trouble free and nice family. Even if there is no light for weeks, there is always water as they pump with their gen and never for once bother tenants for fuel or any of the sort. Where I lived before was total opposite. Evil, fetsih landlord that visits ijebu all the time and drops concoction all around the compound.
Just pray before moving into any house that is not yours for God to lead you to a blessed house.
I am an Estate agent, and the first mistake you made was not demanding for your receipt of payment which shows when your lease will expire. He can reduce your years of lease or you can increase it, depending who wants to outsmart who!
ReplyDeleteYour second mistake was renovating a leased property as your personal house. A fresh coat of paint, new mosquito nets, and screen net frame and security door if there is none is okay. Looking at your pictures, you have added value to his property and he wants you to leave so he can get a new tenant to pay higher rent.
Your third mistake was wanting to get a personal tank and pumping machine, in another man's house! Why didn't you buy bottle water instead? You have the mobey, invest in water dispenser inside your house and be buying wholesale from the water company because you seems to have connection.
The police is not your friend, whether you get a good lawyer or human activist or not, the case will be turned against you, because you will be accused of fighting a landlord over his property.
When you start this litigation with your landlord, the other tenants will begin to pull back one by one, because, they have family, and in this hard economy, where will they start looking for new flat, unlike you. It will be a shock to you then. You think they don't gossip about your connection with a fuel Manager and source of income?
My suggestion is for you to start looking for another flat and avoid the landlord until you move out. And when you get a new flat, avoid all these mistakes I listed above.
Madam pls before you leave remove everything you fixed, bring POP down, remove whatever tiles or wooden floor you fixed. All dat fine block you put, remove everything, remove all the light switch, remove the bulb sef so if new tenant wants to view the house no light bulb to even view the house.
ReplyDeleteOwe Nepa, owe water corporation money, write crayon allover the walls.
Se the man says his crazy, he will jam crase person. Thank God it's not smone like me he met, I will leave o, but I will destroy his precious house before leaving. Anuofia osi
Lmao. All the 'fine block' na wall paper na.
DeleteFirst u implcarwd yourself by renovating that house in such a stylish way and secondly u shouldn't have put ur self in a business that is not urs.if u want to leave u need a gud lawyer who would stand for u in ur demand for house rent.I advise u to leave before it becomes to late for u
ReplyDeleteI am a landlady and as I read all these comments I felt so very glad I took the decision not to deal with my tenants directly. My houses are handed over to an agent. I don't even know my tenants. Even though tenants complain that agents make houses expensive but this is one very good reason why its better to use agents. I cannot stand altercations. Even when you are not a problematic landlord, some tenants come into your house with an already made mindset that all landlords are enemies.Therefore anything you say is already met with stiff resistance. I cant deal. I just simply allow the agent deal with all tenant issues. If there are any repair issues to attend to, I send my workers and the agent supervises. Tenants have lived in my house for years and I have never met them. I don't live with tenants and will never advise anyone to build and live with tenants. You will be setting yourself up for insults.Build your own house separate and build tenants houses separate. Now to the Poster:-
ReplyDeletePoster, your landlord is very very wrong. Recently, a landlord was jailed in Lagos for 3 years for assaulting a tenant. One landlady is currently on the run for setting her tenants house on fire.If you get a good lawyer, your landlord will learn a lesson of his life. He is supposed to give you a receipt. It is an offence for him not to give you a receipt. He cannot push you out. You are entitled to 6 months notice if you are a yearly tenant and you paid for one year. It is against the law to collect more than one years' rent from a tenant in Lagos State. If you get a good lawyer, this man is in hot soup. And I think he does need to be taught a lesson. Simply because people rent your house doesn't mean you should treat them with disrespect.
I do NOT allow tenants renovate my house without an agreement signed. Experience has shown that tenants will renovate and when leaving will strip the house of their renovation leaving the house in worse condition than it was before they took up tenancy. A smart landlord should not agree to any renovation without spelt out terms in black and white. Its either you renovate and you sign that all permanent fixtures will be left in place when you are going or the calculation for whatever permanent renovation you wish to add will be done and subtracted from your rent. You therefore cannot lay claims to the renovation anymore.However if the renovation is beyond my budget as the landlady, the request will be declined in black and white.
ReplyDeleteYou cannot sink a borehole nor can you buy your own private pumping machine. The house was let out as is and you agreed to take it as is. There is water supply already. Borehole and pumping machine are the exclusive duties of the landlord. Some tenants when they are leaving may decide to block up the borehole and remove the pumping machine, destroy pipes etc and vandalise the entire house. Then the landlord will have the task of spending so much money to get the house into shape again.As a rule, renovations request by tenants should be approached with a lot of caution.
Having said all this, please get a lwayer. Your landlord over stepped his boundaries.
I do NOT allow tenants renovate my house without an agreement signed. Experience has shown that tenants will renovate and when leaving will strip the house of their renovation leaving the house in worse condition than it was before they took up tenancy. A smart landlord should not agree to any renovation without spelt out terms in black and white. Its either you renovate and you sign that all permanent fixtures will be left in place when you are going or the calculation for whatever permanent renovation you wish to add will be done and subtracted from your rent. You therefore cannot lay claims to the renovation anymore.However if the renovation is beyond my budget as the landlady, the request will be declined in black and white.
ReplyDeleteYou cannot sink a borehole nor can you buy your own private pumping machine or tank. The house was let out as is and you agreed to take it as is. There is water supply already. Borehole and pumping machine are the exclusive duties of the landlord. Some tenants when they are leaving may decide to block up the borehole and remove the pumping machine, destroy pipes etc and vandalise the entire house. Then the landlord will have the task of spending so much money to get the house into shape again.As a rule, renovations request by tenants should be approached with a lot of caution.
Having said all this, please get a lwayer. Your landlord over stepped his boundaries.
I am sure you paid him with a cheque,that is one of the proofs of payment.Your apartment is really beautiful,I am afraid you spent too much money on a temporary abode.I think you should involve the police as well if possible for your protection and also for them to call the landlord to order.He is such a foolish man.
ReplyDeleteYou guys shld also stop buying fuel to keep in the house since it will be stolen anyway.Use inverter most of the time instead of generator.
ReplyDeleteMadam engage a lawyer, then go and sleep....your landlord will pee in his pants after the lawyer is through with him...on the other matter...."How can u pay rent of over a million plus and you didn't request for receipt and tenancy agreement before payment"...that's scary and careless.... You need a very good estate lawyer to prove the existence of this tenancy...you can engage me too...thats my specialty (07062933761)
ReplyDeleteMadam, send a mail to me. I will give you contact of two well seasoned lawyers who have handled several tenant / landlord cases in Surulere. However, if you are not interested in pursuing it the legal way...move out, but keep the door locked till your tenancy expires. If he breaks in , report him to the police that he stole your money (not all those police stations at surulere, straight to panti). If possible, try to record one of his assault on you or another tenant. When you are finally leaving, ensure you remove every single thing you put in that house. Petty yeah.. But it will give you some sense of satisfaction. Next time when you want to rent a new place, get a freaking receipt and take pictures of the initial state of the house. I hope this your house is at Alaka because I don't understand how a mini flat is 1m in Surulere. Hian.
ReplyDeleteI am shocked to say d least coz I know dis family in question. Wen I relocated to Lagos, Uche accommodated me for 3 months + before I got my own place. I knew dis man was mean d day he threw his 14years old daughter out in d Cold at night for Sometin a parent wld overlook. It was the same Uche dat brought her in at midnight to sleep at her place. D annoying thing is dat I warned Uche about her closeness 2dis family, Dey use her washing machine weekly, she gives dem her car to drive, d man's wife had a spare key to d house, wen uche travels she shops 4d kids, dia last son was so attached to her dat sometimes he wld refuse to eat unless aunty Uche comes to feed him. Dis man threw his newly wedded tenant out of d house at night with thugs.. I knew he was mean and devious but I didn't think he would extend it to Uche based on their relationship with her. This matter has to go to court abeg. U sef Uche, ntor! Onye Oma CY, d familiarity was too much Abeg and I warned u, if a man beats his wife is it tenant he won beat. Now ur eye done open.
ReplyDeleteNext time don't renovate without a written document stating how your money will be paid back to you.secondly go to this agency that treat landlords n tenants issues at Ikeja,if you are not satisfied with the out come get a lawyer.