Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: The Baby Mama Player...

Wednesday, April 20, 2016

The Baby Mama Player...

One of the most popular slang in the Nigerian entertainment industry of recent is the term "Baby-Mama" which literally describes a single mother or a lady who gave birth outside marriage. 

This practice has being in existence for so long but it gained headlines when entertainers, especially musicians popularized it by impregnating and having babies from their girlfriends and groupies.

The crazy thing about this trend is, it seems the ladies who are most times dumped after having the babies have no problem with this bizarre practice as most of them jostle to be baby-mamas to male entertainers. The entertainers who naturally flee from the so called "bondage" of marriage see this as a leeway to having children with no string attached as most of them even go to the extent of having many children from different women including unashamed beauty queens and regulars, while their teaming fans and colleagues applaud their "manliness".

While this practice rages on, the society bears the brunt of this menace. Apart from it being ungodly, it debases womanhood as the men (entertainers) now see young women as just a means to making babies but not good enough to wife. A woman is meant to be matrimonially attached before childbearing but due to their unabashed nature, they make themselves a readily available object to satisfy the ultimate desire of men- children; without conjugal affiliation.

If this trend continues unabated (as most young men are keying into it), the society would soon be filled with kids from single homes which are at the risk of developing behavioral patterns inimical to the larger society. Some people might argue this point but a child is naturally preordained to grow up in a secured home where both parents are available to guide and nurture them. 

A baby-mama scenario entails the child growing up in a home where the second parent visits once in a while; this attendant lack of sufficient bound from both parents in turn affects the psychological and behavioral construct of the child. No amount of visitation or gifts can fill up the void of the presence of both parents in a child's life.

This baby-mama practice also has the tendency to expose the child to domestic violence and general insecurity. Recently, there was a heavy social media war between a baby-mama and baby-dada- who tried to sneak a seven-month-old kid out of the country under the guise of Medicare. This social media war degenerated to the level of accusation being made of the kid being infected by disease by one of the parent. 

The unprintable names the partners labeled each other during the war of words would permanently remain on the world wide web and the kid would someday grow up and read how his/her parents fought dirty. Tell me how the grown up child would feel about his or herself, with possible jibes being thrown at them by their peers. We continually read and hear of teenagers committing suicide as a result of bullying by their peers; this presents a veritable tool to unleashing all sorts of jibes at the young child which may lead to reclusiveness, serious bodily harm or death.

Obviously, most, if not all the perpetrators of this act sees no harm in it. For the man, it’s just the easiest way to beget Children with no strings attached while for the lady, well... They know better. 

The earlier the ladies realize the harm they are causing to themselves, the earlier for them to save themselves from this menace. Finding a man to settle down with is not easy to come by for a single lady; how much more a single mother.

NB. 
Meanwhile, shout-out to the Baby-Mama crooner who publicly stated that she wants to be a wifey, not a baby-mama but her recent video screamed how she isn't even worth a baby-mama material. Who has seen Olympus has fallen or Cossy's Wanna-Be?

ATTAH, JOHN EDEH is a screenwriter and Filmmaker. Twitter: @JOHNiBLAZE

*John is it your punani they use to Receive the Babies?You made some points though but will whatever you say stop them?HELL NO!!!

118 comments:

1. Hehe
    End time punani baby mama controv

1. When a girl gets pregnant, everyone tells her to keep the baby and when she births the child, they call her baby mama. Society with double standards

2. When a girl gets pregnant, everyone tells her to keep the baby and when she births the child, they call her baby mama. Society with double standards

3. 100 likes for ur comment

4. Tell them oh! Me I sha won't keep any baby. If I miss my period I go take that injection e go commot. Me? Become a baby mama so that they will abuse me? Namsense!

5. U see? Society prefers a woman that has no womb from multiple abortions to one who has a child and functional womb. Double standards,i tell uu. Only gals and bois I stick to are the virgins.

2. Ma oke na ngwere now have an opinion!...who is this one again?...
    Oh you want to use Cossy and co to shine?...
    Failed screen writer and film maker!...

3. Abeg wetin concern you? This baby mama of a thing will continue to be in existence, moreover, this world will soon come to when many people will prefer to have kids on legal contract.

4. Na their cup of kunu.

Say no to baby mama.

If he can not property wife u to be the mother of his kids, then take a walk.

5. Though I don't support all these baby mamas cos most of them are desperate and greedy but who are you to tell them what to do with their lives?...
    Mumu man!...

1. The Queen,somebody has to put somebody in order.

That it's feels good doesn't make it right but since baby mama business is very lucrative now, am sure they would won't even heed to this article or the writer.

6. Unfortunately, this Baby mama craze has come to stay.
    In a way it shows that girls are now deciding to keep their babies instead of doing abortion.

1. As long as its an ATM card

7. I almost thought it was Reuben Abati's writeup until I finished the first two paragraphs. John, you are right but with the way things are right now, if being a baby mama is what will put food on the table, ladies will do it. At least, they know the father of their child.

1. Really? Temporary relief and permanent damage???

8. Doesn't stop him from saying it stella!

Yes, right now, this day, someone would get pregnant for a man who doesn't want it and tomorrow it will happen, and the day after the next...but shouldn't stop us from saying it.

I don't know how some women are wired, some have very faulty wiring. Stop having unprotected sex! Nurturing a child is not for babies!

He who has ear, let him hear!

9. Moral decadence is on the rise people just don't care about morals no more.

1. The devil is on a prowl with new techniques to destroy & to devour, in the name of modernity, liberation, freedom, digital age etc.

10. There is nothing anybody can do. Baby mamas have come to stay.

Shoutout to baby mamas. Carry go nothing do you.

goodluck to the newcomers.

11. Wetin concrrnt me......they should keep being baby mama.....I am seriously in need if a baby, just that i am afraid to skin dive bcos of AIDS, if not i for don get like 2 kids by now

1. But who would be sick enough to allow you touch them. With this your face like strong lumps of melted shit. Mtsheww

2. do u knw u need to have money or be good looking in order to have a babymama? u have neither of those ugly ass mf kpom kwem

3. Anon. 10.47 Once he has the molar u will see shameless girls who will be willing to do anything to get the dollars without minding if the person is looking like an ape or something. Nowadays most of them are after the money and not how the person looks like. Rather they go close their eyes when doing the something lol.

Kwakwakwa.
      #eyesrolling

4. Go back to school you fool
      Skin dive with your ringworm face.

5. Wow you all should stop bullying Henry Eze, please. Leave his looks alone. Comment by disagreeing or agreeing with his comments. You who are insulting his looks hope you can create a human being. And for those of you who neva born be careful. God does not forget, continue dey cuss am .

6. This ur comment remind me of one of my sisters in law wey sabi yab people say dem worwor,any small thing ugly any small thing ugly, when God wan catch am as she born baby girl like this eehh,u go fear atutupoyoyo nah( sorry baby girl,I normally don't yab, na ur mama cause am). She try dey arrange and rearrange d pikin,whosai!nothing dey shake for d pikin side. She don humble by force hehehe

Sherry's Daughter

12. Celebrities are humans, they have weaknesses, they are public figures and hate when their weaknesses are exposed to the public because it destroys their brand and image, so they tend to preach and imposes what's wrong to the gullible mass population of their fans as being right each time their wrongs and weaknesses are out in the open.

That's the reason many of them are in support of baby mama and themselves are perfect example.

Your comment will be visible after approval.

13. Like I normally say, only pity those who became baby mamas by mistake. I have come to realise that ladies are the ones who shamelessly force this boys into impregnating them in other to marry them but it has always been backfiring. I hope his trend stops soon.

1. You are so on point my dear queen. In those days it was just few Young naive girls that get pregnant out of wedlock, but nowadays na full fledged matured shameless women that allow themselves to get pregnant all in d name of forcing d guy to marry dem or extorting money frm the guys.. tufiakwa

14. Babymama becoming a norm in Nigeria . Lol

15. Replies
    1. Please what's your point?
      Anna banner as a case study!!!

2. What's your point @stellla

16. Abeg let pple live the lives they choose. U pple are the ones that have tagged the ladies 'Babymama' like that is their first and last names. Sigh. Being a baby mama isn't it better than aborting babies.. Yimu.. these kids sef are opportune to see their dad onces a while and even feel their presence and presents. Many kids and adults do not have Fathers, have really never called anyone 'Father' and never received gifts from anyone as Father. They still survive. I agree such single parent living somehow has physiological effects on the kids, but hey they will survive and grow up and accept fate.

And Nigerians, stop tagging these ladies with rubbish 'babymama' name. People's destinies are different.. people make mistake.

1. Yes,is better than aborting.
      But mind u,their main aim is to trap the guy with the pregnancy, so abortion is out of it.
      So you guys should stop asking if is better to abort or not.

2. Portable viv please don't generalize biko. Not all of us aim to trap guys with pregnancy. Infact a lot of single moms have their baby daddy begging to wife them but won't accept and I am sure u have heard or seen such. I don't like how people go all holy when it comes to this baby mama issue. Y'all make it sound like its a stigma.

3. Potable the potable engineer of student in a bank( according to her. Hohohohoho

Better beg for a job nicely here or you go join your fellow frustrated mate and be earning 13k teaching at Alaguntan, Oke Aro.

4. Portable vi, jst cos a man put in u in his house doesn't mean every other single lady out there is foolish, stupid and desperate. When u were dating, u must have probably gotten pregnant and aborted the baby(normal thing).. if another chooses not to abort the baby, that doesn't make her desperate. U pple shud stop calling ladies desperate abi tell them they want to trap the men.

Most times women get pregnant for a man cos they love the man and want to have his baby, not cos they want to trap or get married.. the difference between u and a single woman with a baby is that certificate that bonds u and ur husband which doesn't even make u better than the single woman with a baby.

U ladies shud learn to respect women who choose to have babies out of marriage.. ur life isn't better than theirs.

5. @dew drop,i didn't know you are a baby mama......I know some are mistake.
      Sorry about that

Baby ok,am taking about the desperate ones n mind u not everyone go about aborting.
      Please also find a man 2 wife.

@anon rip

6. How can I love a man and want to have his child and yet the man doesn't love me enough to always want me by his side.?
      I don't pray to practice that kind of love ...Make I no lie...

How will a man...remember my name just cause I had a child for him?....If not for the child he won't even remember i exist. ..

By and large to avoid stories that touch....We ladies should stop having babies illegitimately...moreso our society frowns at it....and women get to be stigmatized..fellow women will tag you man-trapper (that doesn't even work sef men don wise up)....men will see the lady as easy ..They too want to taste the national cake...

Yes some men prefer women who have had children ..but what's the percentage ?....

There will always be a post on babymama not one post on baby papa...

Please..not every lady dating and isn't a babymama has aborted. ..I believe we should correct that notion ..

Life as we know it ain't fair....I won't as a lady use my hand to darken some areas of my life...

Finally I have a question....
      WHO IS A BABY MAMA?
      ....i know single mothers are those who single handedly take care of their kids or kid...is know some a widows too...so who fits into the description of a babymama?

7. Lol portable we are all baby mama's or potential baby mama's as far as we are women and would have children someday, abi won't ur baby call u momma? I dewy I am a single momma n a very proud one at that lol....

8. Potable viv rip to your mother and father, beggarly cockroach international h'engineer of SDK.
      Hope you've started saving for tfare to your village.
      Jobless scum. #mashedbeansandscatteredegg

9. So dewdrop is a single mother? No wonder Trinity is your 'best' friend. Lol

10. Yes o she is my best friend. And yes I am a proud single momma. @jasmine

17. I feel like pinching my husband on days my morning sickness really hits me soooo bad! I wonder how a woman will go through these 9 months without a partner, have the baby and raise the baby alone.. And still receive tons of insult from people for being a baby mama.. They are really brave o!! Under different circumstances like widowhood it is understandable since the man is dead.. Heaven knows i cant be caught dead playing baby mama to any man.

1. U nailed it my dear. I wonder y a well brought up lady wil choose to go through all d trauma, abeg girls shld learn hw to use condom. It saves a lot of stress nd drama. Parenting is meant for both d father nd mother.

2. The height of it is after going through the emotional stress and pains of pregnancy all alone, the baby father may wake up 1day and take your baby from you or start dragging custody of the child with you in court.

You are left high and dry. Most times, he dumps you and marries another.

3. Mrs A spot on. If their plan to tie down the man with pregnancy didnt work as planned. They will start making a noise up and down like do not judge when condom is 50naira. Abeg abeg. They shld carry their cross. Na their choice wetin come be my own self. Mtcheww

4. i wish the entertainers will start paying for child suppport just like USA, at least d children will get a good education . Baby mama though is a no no to me.

5. My thoughts exactly,cant imagine going thru those everyday sickness all by myself..

6. Not necessary abeg. Condom bust, people get raped, mistakes happens.

7. Dewdrop shut up please. Next time use condom. A babymama is a stigma if you don't know, sleeping without condom what do you hope to achieve? which rape? That is 1% out of 100 and family joins in raising those ones not outright fuck and carry belle. Why are they called bastards then?

8. Anon 14.26. Correct na real bastard.

Kwakwakwa. See them defenders of the universe.

Odiegwu..

9. Dewdrop, even under that circumstance shouldn't the man be there to at least support you since it was obviously not intentional on the woman's part...I'm glad some people at least see reason with me.. I'm not judging baby mamas but it is more honourable to do the right thing than bring an innocent child into the world without adequate love from both mum and dad. I say this not because I'm a saint just saying it the way i see it..

18. Replies
    1. Good to know you see am, next time make you use condom.

19. Abeg who is the cossy's wanna be?

20. Different strokes for different folks is how the cookie crumbles.

Judge not.

21. Baby mama's on the blog no comment???

Isn't this the John 'Attach' who was distrubuting that Transgender BBA's picture on different blogs last year? Forgotten her name.

Xyz spotted at shop rite, xyz spotted at industry nite, was wondering what kind of hungry by force PR that was OK bye

22. Different strokes for different folks is how the cookie crumbles.

Judge not.

23. It's their choice and I believe they are adults, so they know what they want.

24. Nice write up but abeg na them get their punani

25. That's the most lucrative business now n the easiest way to becoming a celebrity. Like people 'll ask........
    "what's her claim to fame"? lol

26. God's plan was for a child to grow with mom and dad. Growing up with both parents balances the child. Am totally against single parenthood though I know it's not the fault of some women e.g widows

27. As usual,

The woman is condemned, the man walks scot-free.

Men condemning women since 1433. John Edeh wear a condom, tell your fellow men to do so. I know you are raw-dogging 10 girls as i type.

1. 1 Billion likes...He talks as if those women climb ontop of themselves and get pregnant..We women will always take d blame even when a man is ay fault...Mtcheeeeeeeww!

2. Sweetheart, since the woman is the one who goes through 9 months of discomfort, shouldnt she also be wise in these matters?

3. You had to be Ibo. Knew it! Ibo people be getting pregnant and aborting like everyday. I know so many of your aunties and mothers that are childless and be buying babies upandan. Why are there so many baby factories in the East? You guys need to tell your neices the truth. That your childlessness is caused by your series of abortion. Tell them to desist from it. Help the Igbo race. By the way, I'm a babymama to an ibo guy, and I can feed his whole family, including his daughter who is mine.

28. Henry Eze, so there is a woman actually opening legs for you with protection? Is she in coma?

We need to organise "women conference"

Chai.

1. Lmao @ is she in comma? Chai bvns Una no go kill somborri for ds blig.

2. Kikikikikiki. ...do you people take that kid seriously. He is always in fantasy world and spewing out his imaginations as if it were reality.

29. What is ur business Mr writer. You cannot teach an adult what's right or wrong they have that decision to make themselves. If they choose to be baby mama let them be. Though I don't support it but will not judge them either. I know most are desperate but assuming the men were carefull enough to use protection those ladies won't force them to get pregnant.

1. Lol. Who get preg? Who pushes the baby out? Who opens her punani so wide and collected the pregnancy? Who go thru the sleepless night of raising the baby? If its thru cs who suffers the pain? Abeg abeg. If the ladies insisted on condom or abstain, pregnancy/being a baby mama wont come up. Some of them derive joy in it in order to extort money from the man. Say big no to baby mama cos its nt in our culture.

2. Sexiest mother.. we were sounding reasonable until u said 'they derive joy in it in order to exhort money from the man'.. that's soo lame.. what stupid thing to say about ur fellow woman..

3. Baby oku and u know its thru. The truth hurts anyway. I said it base on what i have seen in the environment when i was growing up so pls stop it.

30. thunder fire d bastard dat wrote dis. i stopped reading after he said people raised frm single homes end up having behaviour inimical 2 society.i was raised by a single mum. me and all my siblings have achieved feats dat u can only ever dream of but cqn never attain. if u ever have daughters, may all of them be raped u bastard kpom kwem

1. You guys are getting it wrong. The baby mamas being referred to are those girls that want to trap a man with pregnancy in the hope of becoming their wives. Majority of the men don't end up marrying them. Did your mum try to trap ur dad with belle?

2. Leave the idiot that doesn't know his real father. I have seen children raised by single parents that turned our real good. Infact my former landlord is a product of one. The dad got the maid preggy, the wife threw out the maid bt lucky for her an elderly woman who didn't have a child took her in sent her to school while she helped raised the child (my landlord). right now the children of the madam comes to collect money from the maids child and the madams first son lives in one of the flat in the house. Living off the younger brother who is the son of the maid.
      He is the only one doing well amongst the fathers children.

So how a child turns out depends on the way he or she is brought up. If you raise your child properly he or she would do well in life regardless of whether the father is there or not.

31. do u knw u need to have money or be good looking in order to have a baby mama ? u have neither of those ugly ass mf kpom kwem

32. Say no to baby mama, is their life and their cookies.....am out of here biko

33. Agama lizard alias lizzy baby you talk too much. so your name is lizzy baby

34. Hmmmmm! It takes two to tangle. When a man av sex with a lady without condom, what were they expecting? A television? Abeg na two ppl played that game, so stop being one sided dis writer or whatever! I can't av a child for any man out of wedlock, am team celibate period, or if u must do, wear a condom. Asap!

35. If the guy is not serious, my dear tie your legs together.
    Yes, ladies won't stop but the truth must be said always.

I won't be surprised at seeing a baby mama's rant on In House NEws today or this week. And tomorrow another one will carry belle begin beg Stella to post her mail.

Value yourself, save and start-up something.

36. John, how about the baby papas? must you make reference of the beauty queens? You have gotten your one minute fame, you can shut up now!

37. I don't know what I like
    but what I don't like is
    people pretending that
    their opinion matter when
    it doesn't.
    BabyMama-ism is here to
    stay, not like I'm supporting
    it but as long as people keep
    having sex, and school girls
    abandon their educations and take up
    the post of a groupie, BabyMama-ism
    is here to stay.
    If you want to make a difference start
    with your sisters at home.

*Sips Hennessey from a platinum chalice and adjusts concave lenses*

38. If your husband did not meet you a virgin and you did not meet your husband a virgin, then you are no different from a baby mama. You just did medicine after death. Period!! Let those who were having sex before marriage and even did abortions come here and be throwing stones.sin is sin!!

1. "Sin is sin" so you and Shekau, the leader of Boko haram are the same?

2. Believe it or not, many of us marry as virgins! The mentality that everyone is having sex before marriage is a lie from the devil to make it look normal, its not!

39. People should learn to mind their business- at least no be their toto them use they collect and make the babies.

let God judge.

40. Honestly I think about 90% of these women are victims. A lady tells a guy she is pregnant and he seems all supportive even goes to see her parents and and after like 4 months he now remembers that his pastor warned him against marrying a fair lady. I still believe that if a man does not want to marry a lady he should do everything to protect himself from babymamarism. And to all the ladies that our quick to always point fingers and ridicule baby mamas. Welldone. But let us always remember that some of us can't cut the necks of live chickens but we know the right pills to take that will quickly conjure back our lost period.

1. Lol @cant cut the neck of life chicken.

2. True talk my dear. There are varying situations that might lead to this 'mishap'. I personally do not point a guilty finger on any girl because I was not in that shoes they had on at that time . Those who have taken 'pills to conjure their periods' are the ones who make the most ridicule of single mothers.

3. Except you were raped, don't call yourself a victim!

4. Thank u anon 16.35.except u re raped dnt call urself a victim.when u ve unprotected sex wat do u expect as a lady.y ve unprotected sex in d first place.even if u do y dnt u take care f urself immediately or u foolishly thought d guy wil rush 2 pay dowry once he hears u ve missed ur period.d truth is dt gals nd even some f our mothers re shameless this days . pregnancy out f wedlock is no longer a big deal 2 some women.i am married traditionally yet 2 have my white wedding bt I cn neva b pregnant b4 dt.cant even face my family nd friends with such mbok.

41. Cynthia Morgan sang a song on baby mama.And i don't blame the women that indulge in it cos many men believe that they are doing women favor by marrying them. So be it.

True

42. I agree with Spanish Lantern, the writer should know that some of them don't just choose to be baby mama's, and why judging only the mamas and leaving the papa's out of it?

1. That's the more reason it surprise me,ladies carrying ALL the burden and yet indulge in it.

43. Can people just let us single mothers be?? Is it your single mama? So far we no carry plate beg any mofo..I blame some single mothers though..They go about looking for pity and validation from society!

1. Ashawo! You must pay the price, meanwhile the guy that fucked you is out there living his life

2. Sexiest mother, why the hate though? Seems you are unhappy in your marriage and so you want to take out the frustration o. Single mums like me IE.look at your bio picture, local girl wearing bandana of 1962 on plaid-like pattern. Checked you bio, and all you could write was married with 3 boys to a DH. Is that your achievement? Don't you have anything concrete you have done for yourself rather than being a wife and a mom? If you were I. Caroline Danjuma's shoes, I will day I get the show off, you are married to a billionaire! But hey! You both can hardly feed yourselves so why add 3 boys to the legion, it will on breed more hunger! Chei! Anyway, find something tangible to do for yourself, so that your resume will move from married to DH to I'm now an exec on Airtel! I bet DH works for a single mum and she slaps him about just for your guys to feed. Ode!

3. No he's not out there..he's dead!! And that made me a single mum.you should drink honey cos you need it.

4. Cutemum dont categorize yourself as a baby mama, your situation is totally different.

5. Cute mum u re a single mum nd nt a baby mama

6. @cutemum sorry about your loss but you ain't a babymama na....you are a widow ..put in this phase cos of the loss of a spouse..
      God's your strength dear

44. lmao @ anon 13:15. please i dont want to laugh much abeg

45. Oprah Winfrey,Eminem etc are product of single parenting or broken home but still had and kept there goals in Life achievable. Even our lovely Genevieve Nnaji is a single mother which even gave her way in the limelight!
    Mr. Poster you have no right to dictate any child outcome in life. A child is a blessing from God whether from the vajayjay of a babymama. Wifeymama or groupie!