HELP !!! MY HUSBAND WANTS TO TAKE MY UMBILICAL CORD TO THE VILLAGE
Please hide my ID. My due date is 22 of this month but the way I am seeing it, I may even go in earlier than that because my body is rapidly changing. This will be my third child and my first son as i have a 5 and 3 yr old daughters but I did not experience this when I had them.
My husband told me that my mother in law is demanding that we bring my umbilical cord home to the village after delivery. I was shocked beyond word. I inquired to know why and he told me that its tradition. I didn't believe him until he insisted and I found out he was serious.
I couldn't comprehend it. He said that every male child in their community (Umu-eze anam) under goes the same thing. I told him that my cord will not be going anywhere because I never knew he and his mother were diabolic. He insisted that there is nothing diabolic about it.
When I insisted on knowing what they needed the cord for, he said that they usually bury it and then plant udara (agbalumo) tree over it. That it wasn't diabolical but merely symbolic of the position of a first child and the fruitfulness.
Since last night, I have been thinking. I even had a bad dream when i managed to doze off. Honestly, My mother in law goes to church and I don't doubt my husband but my spirit is not comfortable with this and at the same time I don't want to disobey my husband because he is a very good husband and father.
Please what do I do?
IS THERE A TRADITION LIKE THIS THAT YOU KNOW OF?
Arrant nonsense
ReplyDeleteIf the man did not take the one for his first son, I do not see reason why he will be requesting for this one, unless it is diabolical
DeleteYeah, I don't think it has any evil intent. Your husband and mother-in-law probably still believe in their traditional religion.
DeleteI thought this had featured in chronicles some days back?
DeleteI don't know if it's tradition, but my people do it too for every child. Na plantain dem use my younger sister own plant. There was crisis in PH (1993) when she was born, so we had to go to the village after her birth and my grandma did it. It's not like it's compulsory cos my elder brother (an only son) was born in PH and no umbilical cord was sent to the village. Mine too. So!?!?
DeleteI read this on Facebook via mamallete n motherhood in. Style.
DeleteThe mother inlaw na juju woman.
Ok, I just asked my parents...
DeleteMumcy says it's just an igbo tradition. She says the umbilical cord is not disposed anyhow. In our case, its planted with plantain.
I remember growing up, thinking that plantain and the navel has something in common, cos we (I and my siblings) all had plantains. We had a plantain plantation. I remember how popsy would take us to show us "our plantain". Lol.
They (my parents) say that when the plantian bears fruit, it's sold and the money is used for the child ("owner of the plantain"). Mumcy says that it depends on the part of igbo land and the fruit they value. We do plantain while others, udara (agbalumo).
*im from Abia state*
Poster no fear, na tradition. If you're igbo, ask your parents. And, thanks for this post. My parents just told me a lot of things now. Lol.
Please, note that the its the cord that falls off the baby's navel that is buried.
Please scratch my first comment, I had not asked properly.
Like seriously?
DeleteBeautiful and gifted pls your sister should go for deliverance because her life will be like the season of the plantain.when the tree is bearing fruit,she will be ok but when the tree is not,she will be stagnant when my he tree is bent,her life will be bent.I am a member of MFM and I also attend CLAM "o lord settle me program" and pastor woleboladitunntalked about this plantain and placenta issuemthe ish is real.your parents don't know what the ancestors has done as regards the plantain and placenta.I am serious.
DeleteHIAN! Make una see o!
DeleteAnon 14:48, everything you've written up there will go back to you a hundred times more!!!
What rubbish? Abeg carry ur blindness get out from my face!
All of u shouting deliverance are actually the ones that need deliverance. Madam MFM, please go and get delivered of foolishness, blindness, stupidity, bitterness and myopic reasoning. OLODO!
Superstitious mofo!
People that will not look at themselves first before seeing the devil in others! Anu ewu!
You wey dem no bury your navel,why you dey run from one church to another? How's your life?
I swear, if u were here, na better slap I for give you. Bunkom!
#pissed
Yes it's an Igbo TRADITION, not ritual. Make una dey read well. If it's as bad as you people are carrying it, why are Igbos doing well?
DeleteMany people would have been dead, with bent destinies, dried life and all that. Una too do for this blog.
Tueh!
Anon 14.48, you're senseless.
DeleteSo you are bleeding because anon 14:48 spilled the sour truth. I pity u
DeleteMy mom told me about that,but hers was planting a fruit that will be used to remember when you were born.Could be any fruit.
DeleteIf he had an ulterior motive he wouldn't have informed you. He would have taken it conveniently and u won't know. After all, in Nigeria it is the father that takes the umbilical cord for disposal. So I think he may be harmless
Delete@Beautiful and Gifted...U are very correct..My dad did d same with my brother's unbilical cord..He is fucking rich abd doing well for himself..Dont mind dat anon talking trash..If u dont know anything about Igbo culture pls shut up.
DeleteMy parents had mine preserved for a very long time, pending when they'd have time to go to the village to plant it. We do it too and I'm from Cross River. In the days of our parents it was used to remember the age of the children since they were not educated enough to keep records.
DeleteBlood of Jesus Christ
ReplyDeleteI think it's mere tradition, but then again what do I know?
DeletePoster pls calm down.
DeleteIf ur not comfortable with it, just cut small piece of cow meat & dry it, gv it 2 ur hubby 2 take 2 d village & everyone will be happy.
Hehehe Royalty yi ni crook ooo! Simple!
DeleteIt is wrong and has spiritual implications.
ReplyDeleteThank you. Very. Strong spiritual implications. That child will be dedicated to the village idol that controls that ritual . Very soon when he is all grown up, the spirit will be asking the fellow stuff he does not even know. God help our ignorance.
DeleteDashen the sensational....
DeleteA big lie..They did d same with my bros own..He is d richest among his peers now..NO shaking..He is bless beyond measure.
DeleteEven though I see it as just tradition, I kind of think they is a spiritual connection somehow.
Delete@money maker wife, why have you been emphasizing on your brothers wealth? Is poverty the only spiritual problem you know?
In uk you don't even know how they dispose umbilical cord. Only in Nigeria they attach so much of importance to it.
ReplyDeleteShut up there! Mumu
DeleteY r u shutting her up? If she give birth in UK so she ll DHL it to Nigeria abi?
DeleteExactly. When I had my kids in the U.S I don't even remember how theirs was disposed. And I don't think my hubby had anything to do with how it was disposed sef. But each to his own. Can't condemn the tradition or the beliefs of others
DeleteThis woman shoud try do everything possible not to make this happen!
ReplyDeleteIt's a bondage, It's more like burying the child's destiny. Burying umblical cord under a tree???? When this child grows up, he'll then begin to go from pastor to pastor seeking deliverance. Things our parents put us through sha. Demonic tradition. If they can bring up a biblical basis 4 this, they should now.
Idiot...say the one you know! Oya what's the biblical basis for drinks to be poured out to ancestors before drinking it? Over sabi! It's simple a tradition to signify that the child is from the village and they believe that the tree cements his root to that village & no matter how far & wide he travels, he'll never forget where he comes from. There's nothing diabolic about it, just an age old tradition
DeleteWhich dead and buried ancestors? That's why African have so many spiritual problems. God help us!
DeleteAnonymous will u take it easy.. Haba. Say your own if u disagree with her, what's with the cussing. Jeez
DeleteThere's no spiritual implications biko..My brother became a millionaire before his 25th birthday and he is doing very well..We have even forgotten his umbilical cord was buried when he was born..Pls tradition should be respected.
DeleteThis Money Makers wife, wetin happen na? Is your brother the only rich man in your village? Kai!
DeleteJuju things.
ReplyDeleteJuju things from the "I" people.
Delete*Looooooong hissssss*
Igbo people and tradition sha.
DeleteThe Bible says give to Caesar what belongs to him. But I still think they're might be spiritual implications. The intention. Might be good but the devil might take advantage you know.
I think the poster should pray that if it's not for a good purpose they shouldn't remember asking her for it. Just pray!
Hian!
ReplyDeleteNon that I know of. But wait where is the man from so we can do a little research bout where he comes from. We could asked people around if it confirmed then we know it isn't diabolical. We are in the 21st century for fhuck sake. Some traditional practice needs to be abolished.
ReplyDeleteSome senseless contributions like yours should be abolished on this blog
DeleteThis must be d O people
ReplyDeleteU must b definately stupid, umu sum place is no o ppl. Idiot
Delete"I couldn't comprehend it. He said that every male child in their community (Umu-eze anam) under goes the same thing."
DeleteTribal bigot, pls go and Wear your glasses. It's actually the "I" people, your people.
Your umbilical cord was probably buried with a dead ancestor or in your village shrine. Do I wonder why you are the way you are?....Nah!!!
Anon 12:42....i had a good laugh. thanks. James;your tribalism has made you blind. Omo nna!
DeleteEnd time
ReplyDeleteYou already know it's nothing, then why sending it to stella. Why do women like crying over nothing?
ReplyDeleteJesu....
ReplyDeleteNothing wrong with it my dear.In my culture, we do the same.My daughters own was buried on a palm tree and the palm tree automatically belongs to her.It's common, unless you don't want your child to possess his/her possession. Omenala ga adigide!
DeleteJesus! Fan you need deliverance. The the palm tree is cut off or pulled down nko? Will your daughter die?
DeleteThis happened in the oldies. Before people accepted Christ and now the belief of planting on one's umbilical cord so that as nothing stops the growth of that plant nothing stops the child's growth has stopped
Ideato have you accepted Christ? With this your venom filled life?? I think the deliverance should start from you,cos your heart needs nkpocha na nzacha,before olutu Fan Emmanuel
Delete@Fan Emma, some people think Christianity means forgetting about ones tradition,the umbilical cord of my 3kids was buried under different plantain trees, those trees now belong to them. There's nothing spiritual about it, no incantation was made.
DeleteFan Emmanuel pls dont mind dat efulefu ideator goat.
DeleteMadam even satan dey preach bible, if ur mind dont accept it den talk to ur husband.
ReplyDeleteYour. Mothe
ReplyDeleteCool fm.... Why not source your own stories.
ReplyDelete827 comment 2016
Yes!...
ReplyDeleteMost villages in Igbo land embibe in this tradition!...
There is nothing to be scared of..
A well educated friend of mine in the US that is from Enugu state came back with all his children's umbilical cord for the same purpose...
Some villages in Anambra engage in it aswell...
This is tradition and there's nothing diabolical about it!...
I have never heard of this before. Lemme ask my mum
DeleteThat is why Africans remain backward. Your friend went to the US and backwardness refused to leave him. What happens if the tree is cut down? Or evil spirits possess the tree,u'll start running up and down to pastors. Something that should be abolished.
DeleteThat's why when I see certain Africans in the US, I study them for few weeks... Then I RUN!!! Especially the backward type...
DeletePls do no try this rubbish....
ReplyDeleteOh Lord. .. things we hear daily
ReplyDeleteI see a tag along to ancestors. Everlasting God!
ReplyDeleteWonderful
ReplyDeleteEven if there's such tradition which I very much doubt u shouldn't even think of it or allow it bother u,most mil can be very diabolic church or no church,meanwhile someone going to church isn't a guarantee he or she is a believer,my dear it's 2016 don't take yourself back to 1800 biko!
ReplyDeleteMaybe your mother is a grand witch & went diabolic on her daughter inlaws and now you're scared of your shadow otherwise there's no reason you'd open your foul mouth & utter that rubbish that most mother inlaws are diabolic. Everybody must comment on everything on this blog, if you're clueless as to what's going on...just read & observe rather than expose your emptiness
DeleteAnd your mother is among the diabolic mil,abi?
DeleteIdiot annonymous;yes most mother in laws are diabolical,that includes mother's. You think it's easy to drop traditions(evil or not),because you go to church. You are the one who shouldn't comment,not Lolo. Ode!
DeleteIts demonic,diabolic and satanic pls dont indugle...Do some kinda of connivance with someone n get cow/goat instestine aside wheneva you put to bed!U hand over the intestine to yr hubby for his rituals...wish people understand the spiritual implications that comes with all this kinda of traditions...pls woman the destiny of that baby is in ur hands is either you make it or mar it.
DeleteOme na na ndi du lu fa, culture n tradition. Father deliver us
ReplyDeleteIs it d baby's umbilical cord that u r talking about? The one that falls off after some time? Well, where I come from, it is usually given to the father of the child, he can do what he likes with it. But usually, it is buried where plantain is planted. It's just d tradition, nothing fetish about it. I think it all depends on d family. I mistakenly swept my son's own out wt some refuse.
ReplyDeleteyes oo. igbos do it, its a tradition. they did it wit all my three kids except dat we didnt have to take it to the village; theit umblical cords were buried in their grandparents house here in JOS. though my kids are all females.
ReplyDeleteThe one I know of, I don't know if it's diabolical oh, but back then I have seen them bury the umbilical cord and plant plantain on it, my mum used to say then that any plantain planted there produces big bunch heads, I don't know how true that is, but there was nothing diabolical about that.
ReplyDeleteNa wa oh this is serious
ReplyDeleteYes o... I think it's mostly in the east. I asked my mum out of curiosity and she confirmed it. Even my hubby says it's normal. I don't get it and heaven knows that my cord ain't going nowhere when God finally answers. Hian
ReplyDeleteCool FM is a thief.
ReplyDeleteYou're the only one that understands this post
DeleteEveryone else didn't see the vision.
Cry to your family becuse jesus won't come down to attend to this mattter,is umbilical cord manure or ferterlizer to grow plants? Are u a leanrer? Madam if you love your children and u want the best for your self don't joke with this matter at all!
ReplyDeleteThis story,has ruined my favourite fruit for me(Agbalumo) I will never look at it the same way again.
ReplyDeleteHahaha
DeletePlease ship all Agbalumos down my way ooh. Yummie
Hmmmmmm them wan tie your womb woman.
ReplyDeleteIF YOU ARE NOT COMFORTABLE WITH IT, PLEASE DO NOT CONSENT TO IT.
ReplyDeleteLISTEN TO THAT INNER VOICE.
Cry to your family becuse jesus won't come down to attend to this mattter,is umbilical cord manure or ferterlizer to grow plants? Are u a leanrer? Madam if you love your children and u want the best for your self don't joke with this matter at all!
ReplyDeleteYes,there is a tradition like that in Igboland.its mostly done for first son.there is nothing diabolical about it please relax your mind because you don't need anxiety or stress now.wish you safe delivery .
ReplyDeleteWe do it where I come from so it's nothing new and there is absolutely nothing diabolic about it biko.An orange tree was planted on my brothers umbilical cord ,hes a medical doctor now and happily married. The orange tree is still in our compound,produces very sweet oranges!!!! We all pluck from d orange tree. Am frm obosi,anambra state.So it's common amongst anambra peeps.
ReplyDeleteNwanyi obosi.
I am from the same LG as you and I have never heard anything like this. So please,do not say it is common amongst Anambra people. Speak for yourself alone please.
DeleteOoooooo,Nne be ayi. Amakwooom na ndi obosi si ntuaa eme. Asi si go kwom idemili so kwo mother in law nwa tupu nfu ife deere. Biko kedu afa ana etu iii, abum Ada Nweshii, Nnukwu Nnem fa bu Onowu.
DeleteDaalu soo, Nwanne mmadu.
Ada ide!!!!Nne m abu m onwereego.
DeleteNwanyi obosi
Read this somewhere. Mshw
ReplyDeleteYour child will remain poor for ever and if he dont serve that juju there, he will never progress in life. Always putting their children in BONDAGE OF THE DEVIL
ReplyDeleteDONT DO IT. Foolish husband and yeye mother in law.
Knowing how mischievous and idle some people are, it's possible someone else sent these stories to her. It's better to keep calm till we hear from her.
ReplyDeletePlagiarism is wrong on every level.
Yes.in most part of igbo land they do it and it includes both male and female children.there is nothing diabolical about it because I have mine and it is a palm tree. It is an age long tradition of the igbo people.
ReplyDeleteMadam if you are a practising christian, then you should know that you cannot conform to whatever stupid and archaic tradition.
ReplyDeleteStand your grounds and say no since your spirit is against it like you said.
And just so you know, the fact that your mother in law goes to church shouldn't make her motives any less suspicious to you.
I'm more of a spiritual(personal relationship with God) than religious person..so I don't see a church-goer as being more upright or holier than someone that hardly goes to church.
So,anyway, at the end of the day, the decision is up to you.
Santa maria!
Hmmmmmmm,different folks with different strokes.
ReplyDeleteHello sweetie. How u doing?
DeleteTRULY THERE IS NOTHING DIABOLICAL ABOUT IT. IT'S TRADITION, WE DO IT IN MY VILLAGE AS WE DO CIRCUMCISION. I AM FROM IMO STATE. WE BELIEVE IT BRINGS BLESSING TO THE CHILD.
ReplyDeleteOf course it has always been an Igbo tradition though many people stopped doing it because of brainwashing from Christianity.
ReplyDeleteKing iwu Eze akporo gi! They are really brainwashed. Forgetting that culture means #Peoples way of life.
DeleteFa ajugo odinala nke fa,nwerezie nke ndi ocha etigheri onwe fa anya!
Hmmmmm. My dear don't do it. Don't put the live of ur child in bandage. Have u been giving him before for the other kids u had? If u are a Christian, talk to ur pastor it. I feel there is more to it that meet the eyes.
ReplyDeleteSome tribes do it. My ex ikwerre boyfriend showed me his kid brother's peku like they call it. Had a tree on it. I don't think it's a big deal.
ReplyDeletePlease don't do it ooh! They preach against it in mfm Cus they will tie your kids glory. The udara won't make your child progress in life. Please don't give him and enter serious prayers. You can even go to MFM and meet one of the deliverance ministers and they will enlighten you more about it.
ReplyDeleteMFM this and that. Is that the only place God answers prayers? Have a seat please. Religion will be the bane of a lot of you.
DeleteEverything mfm,yet they ve plenty spinsters there.
DeletePlease don't do it ooh! They preach against it in mfm Cus they will tie your kids glory. The udara won't make your child progress in life. Please don't give him and enter serious prayers. You can even go to MFM and meet one of the deliverance ministers and they will enlighten you more about it.
ReplyDeleteWhen we were children, we were shown where our umbilical cords were buried by the 'feet' of existing economic trees and told we own the trees as a result. This was done to those born in the village. Those born in the township, they were not told, asked or commanded to bring Thiers home. We were told it was done both as fun and economic empowerment. I never heard or saw anyone bring such from 'township'either voluntarily or forcefully. Today is no longer done in my village maybe because economic empowerment no longer is from economic trees but education and skill acquisition. At least while I was shown the ube tree that I acquired through my cord(a tree that has long been cut down to give room for more important things) I was old enough to witness that my younger siblings had theirs merely properly disposed. People should be able to distinguish between tradition and culture as a social act and as a religious act. I remember that growing up as child, when a baby begins to grow a tooth the first person that notices it and voices it out is expected to give a chick to the baby that would become of economic benefit to the baby as both baby and chick grow and the person is warned that if they don't provide the chick, the baby's entire gum would remain like that for life with only the vestige of a tooth throughout adulthood. So if you have no chick you don't say until you are sure someone has previously done so. Today there is no such fable again except for historical purposes. So while it was a social thing in my place then, some other villages may be making a ritual out of it till today
ReplyDeleteBvn member youngman
Great write up! You areeeeeeeee over correct! My umbilical cord was planted beside a pear tree and I derive so much pride knowing that that tree is 'mine'. Same were done for for my siblings.
DeleteI'm now a mother of two and I've kept my children's cords, will be buried and a trees be planted. Nothing diabolical or evil in it, it's just custom abi traditional. We are always trying to be more religious than the owners of the religion. It's just a way of identifying with one's root.
Thank u jare! Africans have abandoned their tradition for everything that the white man says. Things our fathers did for fun we now call diabolical and juju. Everything d white man says is correct. Our own ways are 'evil' and 'devilish' I don't know whether the devil resides in Africa because it's only here that everything must be juju. People throw baby showers abroad and even proudly announce the sex of their child. But here,people hide everything and even when u asked,u are termed juju and evil and they start kabashing u in their prayers. Everyone suspects everyone. What a life!
DeleteSo you don't know that the devil resides in Africa? What works here? Wake up and stop deceiving yourself. Why do you want to know the sex of an unborn child? Won't u see it after he/she is born? Witch!
DeleteI know of this culture because I read about it from one my Igbo textbooks way back in secondary school. Yes, the placenta with umbilical cord is buried and a palm tree is planted to show a sign of blessing to the family. The culture is trying to interpret the palm tree as a good tree which has a lot of usefulness. My teacher taught us that the palm was so useful that no part is a waste, from the leaves forming broom, fruits to produce oil for eating and oil used in lamps,one get sponge and soap also from same palm tree. You can make a house using palm fronds, make baskets,make body lotion from palm kernels intact my teacher explained that the palm tree was a symbol of blessings! But agbalumo tree! Hmmm! That one, I don't know.
ReplyDeleteThere is nothing diabolical about this, please relax, am from imo my husband is from enugu and I gave my mil my baby 's umbilical cord to plant in the village. My mother supports it because we do same.
ReplyDeleteI tire ooo! Everything diabolical diabolical, yet some people's behaviour, even devil dey fear.
DeleteHow do most women dispose theirs?
ReplyDeleteJust thinking
It's tradition. Nothing diabolical about it. Where I come from they plant coconut trees over the fallen umbilical cord. Was done for me and I did same for my son's.
ReplyDeleteHaaa. I only know of babies cord but for ur own Hmmm abeg run for ur life. The one am sure is the one of burying babies cord and planting fruits in it. Thats what my motherinlaw did with my first babies cord, when she requested for my second and third child's cord, i said no and jejely flushed it down the toilet. They didnt ask for my own oooo. Hmmmm.
ReplyDeletePlease tell your parents too...they shdnt have an issue with them being aware if ur husband and his mum have nothing to hide. Most importantly too, also talk to a true man of God and seriously commit this into prayer and FASTING, yes Fasting (a pregnant woman can still fast to an extent).
ReplyDeleteDon't know about that
ReplyDeleteIt's pure evil. Madame Pls tell your people. If anything happens to you now, he can easily get 2 of you as replacement.
ReplyDeleteThere is nothing diabolic about that...I did it wen I had my first son,his umbilical cord was buried in d village and a plantain was planted on top if it.My mother in-law is very religious like urs...this is a actually a tradition in most villages and mine(Oraukwu in Anambra state) practises that although its not mandatory... So reason with ur hubby wella and u two should decide on what to do ...My
ReplyDeleteITS NO BIG DEAL, MY MUM TOLD ME TO GIVE MY MOTHER IN LAW MINE WHEN I PUT TO BED, AND I KNOW MY MUM AND MUM IN LAW ARE NOT DIABOLOCAL.
ReplyDeleteYes, I have heard about it but I want to advise you not to do it. My hubby had a lot of hard luck in life and then it was revealed that someone was going to where they buried his umbilical cord to call his name and perform some diabolical stuff. So we had to fast and pray and God changed everything. Fast forward to when I had my son, my father in law started asking for my sons umbilical cord to bury and plant a tree under it. I didn't argue at all. I just watched my son closely and the day it fell off. I flushed it immediately. When he asked again 2weeks later I told him I didn't even notice when it fell off. That maybe one of the nurses had thrown it away because I was in the hospital for a week plus after giving birth. He was angry and I kept a straight face but very happy inside me because nobody will bury my son's body part and do any nonsense ritual. Poster please be wise. Don't argue, be watchful and discard it before they get hold of it.
ReplyDeleteI recall when my elder sis had her first child , then I was going to deliverance programme in mfm and I was told mist of the problems I was having was due to someone tempering with my umbilical cord any way , I didn't even take them serious but when my sis put to bed I was helping her with the baby and my mum was around . The day the umbilical cord fell I took it and unknown to me my mum had been waiting to collect it . I have my sis and told her to flush it in the toilet but she refused that I should let my mum do whatever she wants to do with it . ( mum wanted to take it back home to bury ) but when I reflected on the trouble I was going through due to the umbilical cord stuff , it's not what I wish anyone to go through so I flushed it in the toilet .
DeleteYou are right.
DeleteIt is a long Igbo tradition
Problem is, evil going there to tie ur destiny with stupid sacrifices.
Me sha, I am Idemili born and did not do it.
Thank God for obodo oyibo
Its tradition,bt not compulsory.it is nt suppose to b diabolical.its jst signifiers ur connection n root to ur linege.bt u knw bad pple full every where.make dem no use am against d child
ReplyDeleteIt is not diabolical my dear, they practice it in my place too, even Christians do it. You plant either udara, banana or anything that bears fruit. Though your hubby should have told you before marriage. Relax your mind dear, the child is equally his and he mean no harm. My 2 cent.
ReplyDeleteMadam pls don't try it. They will just use it to tie your child's destiny. If you don't know,know it now it's fetish and diabolic.
ReplyDeleteIf your spirit doesn't agree with it, madam no need sugar coating anything. Tell your husband and mother-in-law a big NO and stand by it and also get ready for a big fight
ReplyDeleteMadam, my church(MFM) will always tell mothers to burn the umbilical cords of their kids and flush the ashes down the toilet. Do not listen to your husband on this issue. Please protect your child from wicked foundational powers.
ReplyDeleteWhen I have birth I didn't collect the umbilical cord oh, but the one that fell off, I had to give my mother inlaw. She said she will bury it in the village. My friend that gave birth recently was given in the hospital, they buried it. She said it's the child's destiny blah blah... me sha I don't believe in it and i just gave my mother inlaw to make her happy. My baby's destiny is in God's hands mbok.
ReplyDeleteMine was buried. they've even built a house on d spot. Lol. My elder sis own was thrown on a thatch house, it's just what dey do..my son's own was discarded in d bin. Oyibo so send o.
ReplyDeleteYes in akwibom they use it to plant plantain
ReplyDeleteThere is a tradition like that in igbo land. I am a lady & i know where my cord was buried some 30 something years ago, though leg traffic has now obliterated it. As i understand no special fetish is done on it. A small hole is dug & the cord (nfe nwa) is thrown inside it & covered up. Some people plant special trees like Udara, palm or Sour Sop while some people will just cement over it. Nobody is trying to use you or your son for ritual & that's one thing i am sure of. Your husband needs your consent also to take the cord home cos both of you own the child. Why not follow him to the village and witness what they want to do with it; this way you could say no at any point.
ReplyDeleteLook at how u talking like she has no right to ask questions. If them no take am go village sef, wetin hk happen?
DeleteThis is so funny because I was just discussing this with my significant other. He said the same thing....hmm... I wonder where this umu eze anam village is...thought it was just my guy's own village because we're from the same state but different villages.
ReplyDeleteIts most likely superstition and has nothing to do with anything diabolical; but what do I know. The thing about superstition is that regardless of your religious inclinations, you are bound to believe in certain things that just can't be explained as a result of being socialized into a particular system. The impact of socialization becomes apparent when one finds that he or she has refused to let go of certain practices despite one's religious affiliations, level of exposure, education and station in life. This is why some Africans and Latin Americans have found a way of infusing Christianity with the practice of voodoo. In their minds, they have done nothing wrong and would love to break free but the human mind being as powerful as it is won't let man abandon all he's absorbed from the point of birth to adulthood without a fight.
ReplyDeleteI suggest you not jump into conclusions but ask question whilst trying to know more about your husbands culture and tradition. These things aren't all bad as you might soon discover. However if it turns out to be just the superstitious belief of his people which you are averse to because of your background (religion and culture), I would suggest you discuss it whilst looking for a sokutuon that best satisfy both all involved. If you can't, just let it be as long as you establish its their custom at work.
Succinctly put.
DeleteInstead of these people to encourage those in Kano to send mails even if its in Hausa language so that people can advise them wisely, they are busy stealing other people's work(s) 'without due acknowledgement' to feed their people. #BiggestShame
ReplyDelete#Word2Word #CoolFMKano #Yasmeen&Co
You're the second person that understands this post
DeleteEveryone else didn't see the vision
I don't think there's anything diabolical about burying the umbilical cord in Igboland. It was a practice in the olden days and I think some villages (obviously the village of the lady's husband) still practice it... Normally, the woman chooses a fruitful tree under which the cord is buried and the tree automatically belongs to the baby.
ReplyDeleteBut I think most of these practices have been phased off with the advent of civilisation. It's not a cause for alarm abeg.
I don't think there's anything diabolical about burying the umbilical cord in Igboland. It was a practice in the olden days and I think some villages (obviously the village of the lady's husband) still practice it... Normally, the woman chooses a fruitful tree under which the cord is buried and the tree automatically belongs to the baby.
ReplyDeleteBut I think most of these practices have been phased off with the advent of civilisation. It's not a cause for alarm abeg.
Old time religion.Follow your heart if in doubt before they make your son a deity.
ReplyDeleteYou cannot serve two masters simultaneously.Choose one.
Na wa ooo
ReplyDeleteThat tradition is ancient, uncalled for and diabolical but how about the fact that males are routinely genitally mutilated because a Jew says so?
ReplyDeleteTo the lady complaining, when you give birth to a boy, would you allow him him to be genitally mutilated?
If yes, then you base your reason on your religion and you feel that is enough.
In that same way, your MIL bases her reason for umbilical cord retrieval on her tradition (local religion) and feels it's enough.
Hope your mind is open enough to catch my logic.
Think.
Boys genitally mutilated in d name circumcision? Pls keep dt shit to urself,it is even beyond d Jews or bible telling u to do it,it has a lot of health benefits to d boy as well as it makes d place look fine. Nobody is mutilating any man by circumcision.
DeleteThank you anon 12:50. It has health implications.. if you dont know why something is done, research it.
DeleteHmmmm this brings to remembrance how my son was circumcised by a jew in the U.S. They are known to do it best over there. It must be a natural practice that God has blessed them with exclusively. Cos I know a lot of my friends refused that anyone else from a different tribe do their son's circumcision. They always insisted on the Jews
DeletePlease note that if you end up having it your way and your son ever misbehaves, your in-laws will attribute it to your refusal to allow them do what their custom requires. Remember Jesus Christ didn't ask anyone to abandon the his or her tradition neither did he say follow religion blindly. Its in matters like this that one has to apply wisdom. Remember, Joseph and Mary ensured Jesus Christ did all the necessary things required of them being accepted by their community.
ReplyDeleteYou had better find a way of talking privately with the doctor to ensure your cord does not leave that hospital with your husband. ..then pretend you haven't got an idea of what happened. No accusations or anything, just make sure that umbilical cord does not leave the hospital...Highly diabolical with dere consequences. you do not need anyone to tell you that.
ReplyDeleteIt's not her cord rather its her baby cord that is attached to d navel...after a baby is born,nurses uses a cord clamp to clamp it till eventually it falls off...shey u understand?
DeleteLol@i even had a bad dream. Don't scare yourself into having nightmares ooh.
ReplyDeleteWell,the umbilical cord of babies(both male and female) are usually taken to the village and buried at the root of any tree..mostly plantain (unene) etc.
This is when it falls off.
But the part from the woman,i know can be buried anywhere or disposed of in the hospital.
According to questions I have asked,they feel it makes the kids come home irrespective of which country they find themselves.
This is why some people would ask you if they buried your umbilical cord(alulo) somewhere if you refuse to go. LOL
Maybe her case is different ooh.
My dear,you are the only one who understand it and why it is done. Some of the people here claiming to be Igbo have never visited their villages before,some of them visited once but might not find their father,s house in the village when asked to go and yet they are here making noise about a tradition they know nothing about.
DeleteTriumphant,very true.
DeleteBut I think some people have never heard of it,that's why.
It is not a Nightmarish something,LOLzzz
Preggie woman,flush it down or give in. It is your choice.
Yea, the dream is as a result of what she's had in her mind. It's the psychological effect playing out in her dream. Lol
DeleteIts done where I came from. (Igboland) mine a palmtree was planted. And they don't tell anybody where its buried until u come of age. I didn't do same for my child thou, as he is from a different tribe. And the said tradition is not practiced where his dad is from. I don't think its diabolic. BT I worry as someone could use the tree as a point of contact to the child for good or bad reasons if the person knows where the plancenta n cord were buried. I advice u flush it down immediately it drops. And pretend like u didn't know when it dropped.
ReplyDeleteAbeg this woman relax. That is how ppl will start bringing their family ish to blogs.
ReplyDeleteI didn't give birth in dis country, but Iv heard my grandma or smone mentioning it abt how they bury women's umbilical cords in the village. It's not diabolical, dou I won't give mine away o, bcos of my faith. But I know its done, not really anymore in Lagos but in villages.
Why not talk to ur mum, grandma and adults dat can advice u accordingly. Not washing ur marriage issues on a blog.
Abeg relax , I don't think ur mum inlaw is trying to harm you or ur baby. Thread cautiously, d worst thing a married woman can do is to be enemies with her hubby's family.
Am from ikwerre and we do it........but if u are not comfortable with it you can flush it down the toilet
ReplyDeleteAm confused here. Does the poster mean placenta or the dried up umbilical cord? In some places, its just a sign of fruitfulness, in your said town it could be a sign of same said fruitfulness. i know my husband's sister had all but one of her children's placentas taken to their village and the planted orange trees on them and today, all of them are married with their children and the orange trees are still there and they even joke about how sweet each one is.
ReplyDeleteBut my dear, if you are not comfortable because that is where it starts before psychology will play pranks on you in future, just talk to your husband and if he refuses, pray over it and then let God be with you.
If you are a covenant child, no evil will befall you. I had my children in Lagos, and i have moved out of the compound i was staying when i had my children, and i had a garden behind the house, so now that maybe another occupant must have taken over the place, should i be bothered, no now, because am a covenant child of God.
God bless you and safest delivery in Jesus name,Amen
It is juju practiced by the borrow culture people.
ReplyDeleteAll these comments! I thought Stella was trying to point out the fact that cool fm kano's princess OAP used a story here on chronicles in her own radio show without recognising the fact that she pulled it from SDK blog.
ReplyDeleteThe third person that understands this post
DeleteI was just laughing reading comments
They didn't get the code
Oh thank u o. Same thing I thought when I opened the post. But eh, me sef just joined in the topic regardless. Loll
DeleteIT IS FETISH, DIABOLICAL, CALL IT WTEVA...BUT PLS BE CAREFUL.
ReplyDeleteThis is a post I sent to Lailasblog. I wonder how it ended up here
ReplyDeleteYes o... I think it's mostly in the east. I asked my mum out of curiosity and she confirmed it. Even my hubby says it's normal. I don't get it and heaven knows that my cord ain't going nowhere when God finally answers. Hian
ReplyDeleteEven though nothing evil was attached to it in the times past, she has to be very careful... Tradition isn't what is was used to be anymore, they've been editted and grossly improved upon for evil ends. If nothing of such was done for the kids on ground, i don't see any reason why the third child need to have his/her birth diffently... Osondi-Owendu sha
ReplyDeleteAm hearing this for the first time. Poster my spirit is against this. Don't concur with them. Ife onye amaro anaro egbu ya. They should have considered this nonsense tradition before marrying an outsider. I have some friends from that your husband area, none confirmed this. Christianity all the way jare.
ReplyDeleteThat's how Stella put up this post to prove to us that Coolfm Kano lifts stories from her blog, and the comments went south 😂😂.
ReplyDeleteSee their mouths like "It's diabolical...It's your destiny.... Evil spirits will possess the tree....Do it! ....Don't do it!....It does not matter.... Your child's destiny will bend like the tree" 😂😂😂
Una no just get the post. Simpuuuu!
Lol...i was too ashamed for them that i couldn't comment. Stella pls come and make it clear to them o.
DeleteAhahah abeg leave us oo.
DeleteSIMPLY STUNNED.
ReplyDeleteUrm stella you know most of your blog visitors are generally dull.
ReplyDeleteYou should have linked this to your previous post.
LOL @ NATURALLY DULL. THIS POST WAS SENT TO LAILA, STELLA LIFTED IT.
ReplyDeleteKano OAP stop stealing our STellas blog post without giving credit to her ooo....
ReplyDeletePLEASE DON'T DO IT!!!!!! Find a way to avoid it.
There's nothing attached to it. Its only a matter of culture and adherence.
ReplyDeleteIt might be tradition, you should do ur assignment now by finding out of its true. Look for people from the same village who are knowledgeable about tradition and ask them questions about ur concern.