Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigeria Records First Baby Conceived From Frozen Egg

Friday, April 01, 2016

Nigeria Records First Baby Conceived From Frozen Egg

Nigeria has recorded the first successful birth of a baby conceived from frozen egg of a 44-year-old woman, who had suffered infertility for eight years, making it the first in the country and West Africa.

The birth and conception of the baby, named Tiwatope, which is the 5001st in the world, was carried out by Nigerian fertility specialists at The Bridge Clinic, a Lagos-based fertility treatment centre, where the mother  had her eggs frozen using the vitrification (flash-freezing) process.

Announcing the medical milestone,  a fertility physician at the Bridge Clinic, Lagos, Dr Emmanuel Owie, said the birth of the baby on February 16, 2016,  effectively puts Nigeria on the global map as regards the practice of oocyte (egg) freezing or cryopreservation, a new offering in the in-vitro fertilization (IVF) space.

He said prior to the birth of Tiwatope, the new practice seemed to be an exclusive preserve of the developed world of Europe and North America.
He said: “Tiwatope’s mother had her eggs frozen for two months, using the vitrification, also known as flash-freezing, process. This is the cutting edge technology in cryobiology, where the eggs or oocytes of a woman is dehydrated and the water content is replaced with ‘anti-freeze’ solution (cryoprotectants) before freezing. This will prevent the formation of ice crystals which could destroy the cell.”

On her readiness for pregnancy, Owie noted: “We fertilized the eggs using a standard technique known as intracytoplasmic sperm injection (ICSI) to overcome the egg shell which normally gets hardened with freezing.
“The fertilized egg was subsequently transferred into her womb, resulting in the pregnancy with Tiwa. She had her antenatal care in her family hospital and delivered the baby boy through Caesarian Section.

“At The Bridge Clinic, we celebrate Tiwa’s birth as it is a further demonstration of our coming of age in the practice of assisted reproductive technology. It is a show of the sum of our strengths — our people, our process and our infrastructure. It demonstrates our commitment to global best practices which ensures that our offerings are in tandem with what is obtainable in the developed world, both in variety and in quality.”

NOTE

Noting that the baby and his mother are in good health, Owie said egg freezing was particularly recommended for women diagnosed with cancer, who may lose their fertility during chemotherapy; women with a family history of early menopause; women with objections to storing frozen embryos for religious and/or moral reasons; and women who want to delay child-bearing in order to pursue some personal goals.

-Vanguard

41 comments:

1. Our God is a miracle worker 🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏

1. Thanks to the parents for believing in Nigeria and contributing to this great achievement.
      CAROLINE EKANEM,,,,, would have suggested they go to Canada or USA. This is the first in West Africa when there has been multiple separation of conjoined twins in Nigeria and west Africa as a whole.
      To a commercial sex worker of 25yrs in the trade, the thought of performing an eye surgery is an impossibility. Please don't judge people based on your ignorance, while you take years to learn your trade , others train day and night on other things.

2. Wow.. Am happy nigeria is getting better in d health sector

3. Stella get ur facts right, Nodica has gotten a baby from frozen egg.

2. God be praised! Congratulations madam.

1. Na real congratulations o. On a side note. Doe anyone know the real parents of that abandoned Akwa Ibom child? The one labeled a wizard or some kind of nonsense like that? I know SDK' ers will do CID work and find them. M message to them is that they are a disgrace to the whole of Nigeria, Also, they just threw away their own OBAMA because that cute boy will do very well in life. Their loss.

1. Hope the babies won't have frozen brains like Emjay?

2. Hope the babies won't have frozen brains like Emjay?

4. We are getting there,

the process of egg retrieval na die.
    too many injections to make ur ovaries produce multiple eggs before the egg collection and freezing.

1. Some people will think it is just to collect eggs (from fowl) and put for fridge.

2. As in...a roller coaster of emotion

5. No! Tiwa is not d first FE baby.

1. In Nigeria, she is.

2. Really? Who then?
      People like you just open your mouth and talk nonsense. Why don't you buttress your ignorance with a fact? Mention who and where it was done.

3. Madame BlackB...wher u frozen too?...

6. Niice, at least there's some good news coming from naija

1. Stella nor go enjoy u today?

2. Good things has always come out of Naija but we thrive on negativity to the extent of not paying attention . I won't be surprised if the Bridge clinic paid for this to be news.

7. Niice, at least there's some good news coming from naija

8. Wow!!!!
    D baby is truly a tiwatope!!
    *faithful bv enemuwe thelma*

9. This hospital is just behind where I reside! G.R.A Ikeja! Ooooooooooshey! Interview tinz *scampers to the next street*

Kelvin dat Edo Boi (Stellz cousin )

10. Oh nice one.
    Plus one for The Bridge hospital.

Numerous options for women.

11. IVF is not cheap1 April 2016 at 13:03

Abeggy thisi s just pure advert joor.Bridge clinic is not the first to produce a baby through frozen egg joor.St Olive in Lekki and fertilaid in Abuja also have history.I don't trust st ives yeye clinic

1. Tell them o! Even that coconut head anony up there dey say I'm lying!

12. Is that why the baby's face looks frozen? Lol. Congrats though 😊

13. Plz can stem cell transplant be done anywhere in Nigeria? Does anyone have an idea of d cost?