Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: News In Brief Today - 1/4/2016

Friday, April 01, 2016

News In Brief Today - 1/4/2016

Hello...Did you just whisper 'Thank God it's Friday?LOL

1- I Won’t Sign 2016 Budget, Unless… –Buhari

-President Muhammadu Buhari said, yesterday, in the United States that he would not sign the 2016 Appropriation Bill, passed into law by the National Assembly, last week, unless he critically reviewed it. The President, who spoke at a meeting with the United States Secretary of State, John Kerry, in Washington DC, said in view of the controversial alteration and padding of the budget proposals, he needed to review the document to be certain that its contents tallied with the authentic budget proposal presented to the National Assembly.

2- Fulani Herdsmen Invade Enugu  Community Kill Two, 19 Missing

-Anxiety and confusion has enveloped Abbi Community in Uzo-Uwani Local Government Area, Enugu State, following the invasion of the area by Fulani herdsmen who unleashed mayhem on the people, killing a brother and sister apart from razing down about seven houses and several motorcycles.
Altogether, 19 persons were declared missing in the community even as several others were also wounded with machetes by the invaders.

3-Ibe Kachikwu: Things Are Looking Up

-While speaking on the efforts to address the challenges in his sector during the Senate Committee sitting yesterday, the Minister of State for Petroleum Resources said, Nigerians should have a little more patience for things are looking up. “I share the pains of Nigerians. I feel that pain every day. I walk the streets and those who are following my trajectories since I resumed office would see that even on Christmas day, I was at the refineries. On Easter Day, I was in Lagos monitoring fuel distribution at the depots. “I have given 24/7 attention to the problems in this industry, which are unbelievable. I have continued to work with one sole purpose in mind, which is that every problem will have a solution.”
The onus lies on patriotic Nigerians to help him achieve the feat and say no to those attempting to sabotage the recovery process.

4-No Going Back On Foreign Coach – Pinnick

-President of the Nigeria Football Federation, Amaju Pinnick has defended his decision to go for a foreigner as the new Super Eagles coach, insisting that no local coach can give us the desired results.
In a chat with newsmen in Lagos yesterday, Pinnick who still looked weary after the demands that attended Nigeria’s failed bid for the Afcon 2017 ticket, said he cannot afford to stay in office and see Nigeria lose out in the qualification for Russia 2018 World Cup.
“I cannot put our World Cup hopes on a local coach. We need a world class coach who can reshape our football.”

5-Biafran Struggle Attracts Foreign Countries

-The sustained agitation for a sovereign state of Biafra appears to be attracting some attention from foreign countries, following the visit of the Phillippian Senate President’s aide, Lady Cynthia Esgurrna Touraha, to Owerri.
Vanguard gathered that Touraha was a guest of Imo Bilie Initiative, IBI, a non-governmental organization that also champions the cause of ensuring that Indigenous People of Biafra, IPOB, gets justice in Federal High Court, Owerri.
It was also gathered that Touraha was in the court to witness the day’s proceedings yesterday in the suit filed by IBI against the Federal Government.

6- Delta Communal Clash: Ijaw, Urhobo youth Leaders Sign Peace Pact

leaders from Ogbe-Ijoh and Aladja communities, Delta State, both of whom have been involved in an age long land dispute, have met and resolved to sheathe their swords, pending the implementation of the resolution of the boundary committee set up by the state government.
The youth leaders from both communities were led by Ekere Christmas for Ogbe-Ijoh, while Wisdom Onotomre led those from Aladja community.

7-Agatu: Benue Leaders Flay Buhari, Army, Police, Gov, Others

A joint meeting of all Benue socio-cultural groups and religious leaders has flayed President Muhammadu Buhari, Army, Police chiefs, and the state governor for failing to visit Agatu and other besieged Benue communities after the mass attacks and killings in the communities by suspected Fulani militia.
They contended that the action smacked of insensitivity and care free attitude on the part of the leaders to the plight of the people of the state.
A communique issued in Makurdi at the end of a combined meeting of the Mdzough U Tiv, the Idoma National Forum and the Omi Ny’Igede, on the killings and wanton destruction of property of Benue indigenes by Fulani herdsmen, they expressed worry at the delay in setting up of the Presidential Investigative Panel as promised by President Buhari.

8-Arrested Suicide Bomber In Cameroon Not Chibok Girl

A would-be suicide bomber who was arrested in Cameroon is not one of the more than 200 schoolgirls kidnapped nearly two years ago from the northeast Nigerian town of Chibok, a non-profit announced on Wednesday.
The Murtala Muhammed Foundation said three representatives of the Chibok schoolgirls’ parents reviewed photographs of the girl at its offices but she and a woman also detained “do not fit the description of any of the missing daughters from Chibok”.

9-Mediocres Made Jonathan Lose, People Were Already Tired Of PDP — Mantu

Former Deputy Senate President and a chieftain of Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Senator Ibrahim Mantu, has said ex-President Goodluck Jonathan lost the 2015 elections because he was surrounded by mediocres and amateurs.
Mantu, who disclosed this in an interview with online publication,Premium Times,said the former President alienated himself from those who were in a position to help him win the elections.
He said: “Jonathan lost because he refused to work with people who know the game. Most of the people Jonathan worked with were mediocres and amateurs. At a point in time, he even left the party machinery and employed some consultants to work for him.”

10-Zero Megawatt: 10,000mw Target Achievable By 2019 —Fashola

-The nationwide power crisis being experienced in the country worsened, yesterday, with a  total system collapse of zero megawatt at exactly 12.58p.m.
But the Minister of Works, Power and Housing, Babatunde Fashola, has reassured Nigerians that the 10,000 megawatts of electricity generation target set by the  present administration would be attained by the end of 2019.

-Vanguard

ENTERTAINMENT

*20 years after, Adenuga replaces Ikebe Super with Nnena and Friends cartoon magazine - New Telegraph

*9ice: Singer's girlfriend shares stunning family photos - Pulse

*Accomplished Woman Hillary Clinton Gets Nice Haircut, All Hell Breaks Loose - Huffington Post

*Actress Taiwo Aromokun and Her Twin Celebrate Their Birthday With Lovely New Instagram Pics

*AFRIMA unifying Africa through music 'Obasanjo - New Telegraph

*Aisha Buhari Unveils New Nigeria in Rebirth Art Project - Thisday

*Album Review: Lil Keshs YAGI!!!! The street is definitely ready - Daily Times

*Amber Rose's New Emoji Line Blatantly Calls Out Bill Cosby - Huffington Post

*Anticipating Kiss It Better Music Video By Rihanna - Guardian

*Comedian AY Challenges Iyanya and Flavour With Hot Sizzling pictures

*AY, Ireti Doyle, Yvonne Jegede, Beverly Naya star in romantic comedy, Fusion - The Authority

*Beyonce Launches Sporty clothing line - Guardian

*Blac Chyna: Model's mum shares selfie with her, Rob Kardashian - Pulse

*Ashton Kutcher & Danny  Masterson Gush About Being  Dads~E

*Tatyana Ali Reveals She's  Engaged—and Pregnant!~E

*Nick Jonas Opens Up About  Miley Cyrus, Purity Rings and  More~E

9 comments:

1. The people and so-called men of Enugu are a disgrace to the human race. How can they standby and watch those dirty fulani rape their women and burn their homes. Men of Enugu, why can't u fight back? Who do u want to come and fight for u? U people are fools. A bunch of pussies. Assholes. U can't even protect ur women and u call yourselves men. Idiots.

2. Why didn't he talk about the budget before travelling?

Hmmm.

3. I don't understand. What's wrong with this Fulani people?

Dem chop craze?

When did they come down to Enugu?

Evil people.

4. Philippines should please mind their business.

Pokenosers.

5. Why does the President speak about National issues only when he is outside the country. And its never complimentary- always derogatory comments. I tire for the man sef. His style of leadership is so primitive.

6. Fashola !!! what is happening??? The situation is getting worse pls do something fast.

7. tHIS ABOKIS fulanis i dont know what is wrong with them. God should take control