Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Man Whose New Born Baby Died Due To Alleged Negligence At DELSUTH Cries Out To Alert Others..

Friday, April 15, 2016

Man Whose New Born Baby Died Due To Alleged Negligence At DELSUTH Cries Out To Alert Others..

OH DEARQ...This is so sad!

Extremely Poor Service Delivery at DELSUTH Neo-Natal Intensive Care Unit (NICU) Ward.

Dear Stella,
Am not so sure of how many persons are looking for a medium or know any to express the injustice they suffer arising from poor clinical service delivery in Nigeria, but I want to use this medium to appeal to you to take this issues as seriously as they come to you until justice is delivered. Your platform has been a voice for addressing issues surrounding the helpless and most vulnerable in the Nigerian society. There is need to further publicize these issues.

On the subject at hand, it is becoming no news that patients admitted for care in our hospitals are further admitted to the great beyond by the clinical attendants due to lack of care equipment, expertise and empathy on the side of the Doctors/nurses. They have their licenses to kill rather than to save lives which they do with so much ease and pride.

My name is George. My experience is one that leaves me with astonishment as to how we can possibly progress as a nation in every area of our lives when we approach every issue with an attitude that further abuses the word lackadaisical, leaving Lexicographers with the trouble to find a word that describes this attitude.

On the 19th of March, 2016 my Wife and I arrived the Delta State University Teaching Hospital Oghara, Delta State (DELSUTH). The ambience of the hospital on the outside was breath-taking and unexpected after driving through the highway that leads to a rough terrain with clustered tacky buildings. My Wife was admitted on Emergency to the Obstetrics and Gynecology Ward of the Hospital where she was placed on some clinical apparatus to monitor Blood Pressure which they termed pre-eclampsia in pregnancy. 

While being monitored, the Doctors began brainstorm sessions as to the best procedure to save Mother and Child which was rational and professional owing to the fact that the pregnancy was nearly 30weeks.  
The Doctors took the decision to have a C-section to ensure the life of the baby was saved. My Wife was delivered of a Son at about 7:00pm same day. From inception of birth, my Son and newborn began to experience the wickedness of a Nigerian Society earlier described.

As the Paediatrics Doctor on duty received my Son and admitted Him into the Neo-Natal Intensive Care Unit (NICU Ward) of DELSUTH, he was in urgent need of Oxygen. As a dutiful Father, I hastily went to the Gas Plant of the hospital from where Gas will be issued to assist my Son in breathing only to meet the absence of the attendant. I called a number posted on the door, and a man picked chanting “I dey come, I dey come”. I was in company of a parent who had their baby in the NICU ward whose oxygen was exhausted and was in urgent need for supply. 

We spent 35 minutes before a man strolled on a motorcycle to render service. This is crazy 35 minutes wasted was enough to kill the children who could not aid themselves in breathing. As it is a norm in Nigeria, “thank God say he come”; after all him fit no show at all”. He carried the bottle that contained gas for 8 hours use costing six thousand naira per bottle. 

My son according to the Doctors was of Extreme Low Birth Weight (ELBW) and their first words of encouragement was “He will not make it” also “It is a 50:50 chance of survival”. That was the best way they could show empathy except for very few who made me know that I should be hopeful for a miracle. I persevered. Stayed strong believing God for a miracle. 

I was made to always run laboratory test for my Son. Blood samples were taken from him at every point in time which left me wondering if this is safe practice. Some lab tests were conducted in the hospital laboratory while other tests must be done at Sapele town in Delta state at Biomed Laboratory as advised by the Pediatric Doctors. Annoyingly, one is not notified on when this test will be conducted in order to avoid driving by night through the dangerous road between Oghara and Sapele. You are called in between times to go run tests. I did all of that because my son needed it without complaints.

Strangely my Son became short of blood and needed some ‘fresh blood’ to sustain Him as said by the doctors. Unfortunately my Wife and I were of same blood group but different from His. We had to source for donors. We were gracious to go round the hospital to see donors who assisted. Annoyingly, I was mostly accosted by the nurses or doctors of the Ward, and sometimes at the wee hours to get some Mililitre of blood for my Son. I could imagine they felt I was a lazy wizard sleeping while other were busy getting blood for their children. My Son became ill according to their diagnosis and need as much as 250ml of blood for transfusion. 

This was communicated to me at around 8:00pm. Thank God I met a student Doctor who volunteered to donate since it was for children. When we finally got the fresh blood, the Doctor on duty started the transfusion and in 10 minutes stopped and was to leave for a dying child. I asked him if it was safe to leave a child going through infusion for another and he replied positive. I also asked him if he will return to continue the process and he replied positive. On return he told me that the process could not continue as the line of infusion was blocked and we need to continue the next day with another 170ml of fresh blood to be supplied. 

The central Pharmacy centre was another bottle neck to receiving drugs for emergency as the female pharmacist were either with their phones going social or utterly distracted with their male counterparts by African Magic. 
Fast forward to 25th March 2016 (Good Friday), at 3:00 pm I was told that my Son was critically ill, not responding to breathing and was advised by the consultant to either let him die or be placed on a bigger machine to assist him in breathing. The bigger machine called the Ventilator never worked for more than two hours to assist my son in breathing.

At evening, I met one Nurse Ngozi at the children ward whom I begged to look after my Son who was battling with life. She made know while browsing through her phone that she was not in care of my son and that the nurse for him will soon arrive. That was a child who was in and out of life. Minutes later one Doctor Aso arrived and asked to see me. His first statement was that my Son will not make it. I kept quiet and asked him what was next, he asked that I buy some drugs which I did. As doctor in care of my son, I tried to exchange pleasantries. When I gave my name he told me that there was no need for pleasantries as he was busy. 

I gave him the space required. Few minutes later the nurses and doctors were looking for the drugs I bought. I excused myself from the room to make a call and on return the Doctor told me my Son could not make it. I went close to my son and found out that He was breathing, then alerted the doctor. With laxity in him he told the nurse to administer one or two things. He later told me that the child suffered from infections that had eaten him on the inside. And I asked but how come, infections from where? He gave no explanations. He also told me that it was the Adrenaline given to my Son that still sustained him. And it would last for one hour. I stepped out and returned in 30 minutes to find my child wrapped up. I asked what it meant and they said He could not make it. I asked again why was my son wrapped and nobody came to inform me where I sat close to the ward where every parent stayed and the same Doctor Aso told me he was busy with some stuff and the nurses are busy and he felt there was no need to inform me until they are through. 

I told him that his feedback process was poor owing to the fact that I was close to the ward and my phone numbers were on my Baby’s file. This time he was raising his voice at me that he told me my son will not make it so what was I saying. A nurse tried to intervene to calm him down and he replied “leave me let me talk to him”. I was astonished. Was there voodoo at play here? A doctor shouting at his patient who did not raise his voice at him, wonderful? In 10 minutes to that discussion, I was handed a billing sheet for my son. That is what they were busy doing. On one of the nights, we paid for Oxygen and it was not properly placed for the child’s breathing all through the night to assist His breathing. This was discovered by a male nurse who accosted the female nurse who after claiming she had properly placed it apologized for not placing it properly.

Stella, that same hospital in 7 days lost 4 children including mine and in 2 weeks lost 7 children how do you explain this? I am calling on you and other meaningful Nigerians in the Medical sector and regulatory arm of the sector to look into the process of hospital management at DELSUTH to ensure optimal delivery. The likes of Dr. Aso and his cohorts without medical experience and empathy are still on the prowl in our hospitals looking for kids to devour.
In writing this letter, 

I am sore and of the high opinion that my son was handled worse than a lab rat at the NICU ward. His death was among others but most especially due to lack of care arising from abandonment and outright neglect as my Son was battling for life while they swiftly gave up on him. There was no drug or test not bought or carried out carried out by his parents and none abandoned.

Most annoyingly, I have written a letter stating my displeasure on the extremely poor service delivery by the doctors and nurses of the DELSUTH NICU ward to the HOD of Pediatrics DELSUTH since the 30th of March 2016. I am yet to receive a written statement addressing me as to how they are handling this case. If we do not all rise up to the challenge and face this ugly monster that stares us directly in the eyes in our hospitals, the nearest future may leave us with astronomical increase in unbearable mortality especially in infants. 

Yours Sincerely.

George Ogbolu.

This Post has a RIGHT OF REPLY

159 comments:

1. Sigh!!!.which way Nigeria? God help us

2. When those who can afford it go to the u.s to birth their babies, y'all be screaming why are they all going abroad. Nigeria is wacked. No value for life. I watched on TLC channel how a woman in the u.s had preterm baby at barely 4months and the baby was rushed to ICU. That baby was nursed there with rapt attention by the medical team till he became 9months, fit and healthy. If it were to be in Nigeria, they will just help you abort it. Here was I thinking this baby will make it since he is said to be 30weeks. Just 8weeks to be full term and he couldn't be managed. What a shame.
      Pls if you love yourself, register at a good private hospital If you cannot go abroad rather than depend on the lackadaisical medical officers in govt hospitals.

3. You stone only get the best of specialist in govt owned hospitals private are all out for the money

4. The most painful part of this story is the lack of empathy by the Docs and Nurses....even if the child was not going to make it, they should have comforted the parents with hope till the end. I know it is not good to wish evil for your adversaries but all I will say is IT IS WELL. May God restore George Ogbolu in multiple folds like he did for Job in the bible. Take heart Sir cos it is evident that not only is your child demise hurting but the manner in which the so called experts handled the issue.

5. Mr Man, now let me give you food for the thought.
      Now, swallow spit and brace yourself. Enough has been said about the healthcare providers.
      I put it you that part of the blame 60% goes to you and your wife (being lenient).
      Pre ecclampsia don't just happen. I didn't hear you say that you registered for antenatal??? One important routine test they do during antenatal is urinalysis and BP, once they see protien in the urine they will mark her as LHIGH risk patient". If you also registered for antenatal, her blood type and yours would have been checked earlier and written in her folder.
      Pre ecclampsia is a child killer. It reduces the amount of blood/oxygen supply to the baby in the womb. Food for the baby comes also through the blood. So your child has been starved of food and air for about only God knows how long, I can state that your child was already dead on arrival. That your child was born at 30 weeks is not mandatory that survival is sure. Extremely low birth weight at 30weeks, I have seen children who are just 27weeks and weighs more than your child,those ones will have even better chances of survival.
      If all of these were done at antenatal, your wife wouldn't have been an emergency at all. Pre ecclampsia is a killer of both mother and child everywhere in the world.
      Now you all know that the healthcare system and the facilities are below standard, why don't you prevent and protect yourself from becoming an emergency? You sat at home and starved your child for 30weeks and expect the hospitals to perform magic. The doctor that had to go and attend to a dying patient as well as return to transfuse your child is the person you want to start chatting and gisting with "ofcourse he doesn't have that kind of time".
      Finally,the doctor that donated blood for your child, did you give him blood to keep for you? Please go and take several seats, even as a father,you failed your child. A child that with that weight at 30weeks, pre ecclampsia is a manageable condition. You have no excuse for not attending antenatal. You can cuss me out but I am just giving a tip for your wife's next pregnancy. The condition has a high chance of repeating. Register her for antenatal as early as cos you might lose both mother and child next time. Go to the internet and read of pre ecclampsia the drugs she is meant to be taking is not even upto 500naira but you will sit at home until you become an emergency.

6. @iyaibeji:if u can afford it, a good private hospital is better,yes they are expensive,but they know their survival depends of the money of patients and referrals. I've experienced both worlds;Luth,Gbagada general and now Lagoon. The difference is so clear.

7. Anonymous 19:33. I don't think that a man who could articulate his grievance this meticulously will refuse to register his wife for antenatal or ignore anything that would jeopardise their lives. Does this man sound to u an ignoramus?

Yes the child may not have been able to make it no matter what, but they didn't have to write him off so quickly without empathy. I don't think that he's blaming them for the death of that child, but his grouse is with the default in the doctors'/nurses' professionalism. Anyone who pays attention to details will be pained esp if u know that death could have been prevented.

I'm just grateful to God for the opportunity I had to birth my kids outside of this country. The things I hear just baffle me. Even if I will have more kids I sure ain't having them here. No way.

8. Anonymous 19.33 what makes you think his wife wasn't attending antenatal??? My God! Smh. Medical negligence and lack of empathy has gradually become a norm in Nigerian hospitals. I had a miscarriage and had to have a D & C to evacuate the remnants of the fetus. The nurses at the general hospital I was using were angry because I was asking them questions about the procedure.one of them said "madam it is just a D & C. An abortion! You want to tell me you haven't done it before?" and they all started laughing. Let me not relive that experience. Very heart breaking experience. Sorry sir, may your son's soul rest on. Amen

2. Look for a good private hospital and register your wives for ante natal,you people will not hear!...
    All these public hospitals are glorified quacks!...leaving your life in the hands of all these student doctors to use and do praticals...
    Nigerians and cheap things are like tea and bread....Tueh!...
    RIP to the innocent soul!...

1. Unfortunately I have to agree with you. I always tell people that when it comes to child birth, leave no stone unturned. Always go for the best

2. Shut ur dirty mouth there madam too know. I too know. ITK.. if dey go to private hospitals, will u provide for them????? Ur mouth don dey run too much.. I no blame u.

3. Nigeria hospital killing people since 1203..
      The annoying thing is the way they will tell that the person didn't make with no atom of sympathy.
      I have experience it b4.....very nonchalant set of people.
      Rip baby

4. Who says private hospitals are better, it's even worse... same thing affects them all. Ineptitude, non-challance, incompetence, lack of passion for the job et al.
      Nigeria is a failed state struggling to get up. Imagine of all item of the budget to slash it's the health that is not even enough and added to provision of tricycle... Mtchew.

Your prayer should be, not to fall sick to the extent of being admitted in those hospitals.

5. May d heavens reply ur comment.
      Private hospital! Wheres d money
      Queen, du u av children?

6. My dear it was when I had a miscarriage two weeks ago,that I knew what its like to be completely helpless regardless of how much money you have.
      I had lost so much blood and needed transfusion immediately. My hubby had donated his blood,gave it to the doctor that did the evacuation for me. The doctor kept the blood in his office and was busy with phone calls.
      I was in a private ward. I needed to wee,so I called one of the nurses to come assist me to the bathroom. I couldn't stand for one second as I had lost so much blood.

The nurse helped me to the bathroom and left. When I was done,I called for her and I could hear her saying I DEY COME ABEG.
      By this time,my hubby was in the doctors office urging him to come start the transfusion.
      Next thing I knew,I slumped in the bathroom. With the last strength in my body,I grabbed a mop stick close by,and started hitting the door. That was the last thing I remembered.

I woke up a few hours later. My hubby had cried his eyes out. Apparently,they had told him only a miracle would bring me back.
      Abeg I don't want to start crying this morning.

Mind you,this was a private hospital in Ph. A big and good one at that.

Only God can save abeg.

7. Most tyms de go to govt hospitals bcz de v bin warned abt d complications eida on d part of d mother or child.most private hosps evn refer dem to teaching hospitals.YES they do!!
      So its not a matter of bin cheap or ignorant my dear..
      Rip to d lil one

8. My dear, it's just God. Forget either private or public hospitals o,. May God console your family dear Poster, it's well with you.

9. Sometimes my Dear it's not about been cheap,but where you get specialist,most private hospitals don't

10. And people do not die in private hospitals? What of the ones that have survived in Government hospitals? Where were you born?

11. It's not about thee hospital but the attitude of doctors. I gave birth in a supposed good hospital here in Abuja. I am yet to get over the experience. My boy was a small 3.4 but the doctor tore me right to my anus. I couldn't walk for two three weeks straight. I had to be stitched inside and outside cos my cervics tore as a result of inducement that was very unnecessary all because he wanted to catch a flight that morning. With all these injuries, no antibiotics was given to me or good pain killer, just Panadol. After all these I was presented with a bill of #110000 for normal delivery. When I got my self and confronted the doctor, you need to see how he was giving baseless arguments. It's just to commit one's self and the doctors who will deliver u in the hands of God jare. Meanwhile God punish the MD queens hospital, Wuse Abuja.

12. When illiterates talk...

13. Nora Nelson,
      Sorry for what you went through!...
      From my findings,Port harcourt has the worst medical personnel in Nigeria!...
      I would rather use the health centre in my village than to use any of them...

14. Stupid comment. Private hospitals aren't better equipped than good public ones if u don't know. Ode when private hospitals hv emergency cases why do tgey freer u to public ones with the facilities? Abeg how many private hospitals have NICU units fully equipped? When u have no idea of what u talking about u tend to spew rubbish na. Do u know how many consultants are there in a public hospital? With different equipped departments the private one u going to na one man doctor that works only to the best of his knowledge but public will consult a most themselves who told u public hospitals are cheap? I gave birth at FSH abuja total fee amounting to over 200K

15. It is actually their attitude at public hospitals not really their competence that is d issue

16. @ Nora nelson,if it were a good hospital, u shuldnt even be allowed to stress urself to the toilet @ all,rather they would use catheter to drain ur urine and u don't have to stress urself out by leaving ur bed.
      There are msitakes everywhere, even abroad sef, but naija own too much!!but I can't imagine myself giving birth in naija sha cuz I wouldn't wanna risk it all

17. Sad. May God comfort you for your loss. Some nurses are just horrible really. Our minister for health has a lot to do, which can start from a state. It's just so sad.

18. Queen and boss of this blog, as a medical doctor who has worked in both the public and private sectors, I categorically state that the public hospitals are better equipped than their private counterparts. And are better in all ramifications than them. Case closed

19. Whatever you call yourself just look for a place to hide your ignorant self ! You have no business being on social media let alone making comments.
      What do you know ? It's so glaring how ignorant you are , you do not even know how government and private hospitals are run , totally clueless too as to how doctors are trained meanwhile you come here to type foolishly . Use the Internet since you at least have a subscription, find out the roles played by medical students or your so called student doctors.
      IGNORAMUS

3. Kai Nigerian doctors and eliza nurses will not kill someone. And they will be crying that government is not paying them their allowances.

Mr. Man may God comfort you and heal your wife.

we have lazy government workers in this country. I DEY COME, I DEY COME WORKERS

1. Tell me y people would like to return to nigeria even when they are old ? NHS England!!! Is d reason y. Why are we blacks wicked to ourselves? That's a baby for goodness sake nd they were still non challant about it. Common cat in d uk was weak on d ground nd police with ambulance were st d scene, that was d day o gave up on Naija

2. Naija doctors!!! Arrogant set of people.. Dats how due to thier negligence my friend and baby died last yr...dem dey vex me badly..
      Dats y I love d fact dat some of d patients relations are given d doctors dat misbehaves beatings of their lives in ubth these days..before cmd come down from him block hand don touch dem..mtcheww
      Nonsense and ingredients

3. @LadyJ Na so hand go touch you when you come hospital, okponku live you!

4. Kai Nigerian doctors and eliza nurses will not kill someone. And they will be crying that government is not paying them their allowances.

Mr. Man may God comfort you and heal your wife.

we have lazy government workers in this country. I DEY COME, I DEY COME WORKERS

5. LUTH is worst. The population there no be for here. If u re nt being referred by someone or know someone that knows someone. They wont even listen to u.

6. This post sent shivers down my spine. Sorry for your loss Mr George, I pray God restores all that was lost and replaces your son with beautiful children.

Truly, I don't understand what's going on in hospitals nowadays, some of these doctors and nurses need to be sacked for people who are wiling to work and help. I hope there is a response from them.

7. Shut down that pharmacy! That's not a hospital.
    Meanwhile, a sentence caught my attention, how come your son is neither you or your wife's blood group? I thought atleast one parent can give blood should need be? Dr's in the house please explain. Maybe I'm wrong

1. Maybe his Landlord is the father of the child..?.. ......

2. I was very much confused how d child's blood group is different entirety. I wonder y no one else has made a comment bout dat

3. i am wondering myself ooo.its an Error.

8. God help us in this country!the lack of professionalism in every area is appalling.

9. Ha! The ministry of health should look into this please.

10. Some NIgeria docs are devil incarnates

The Lord knows best

11. Nigerian doctors and health workers ingl general! Terrible! Horrible! Heartless! Whatever oath they took isva waste........killing Nigerians since 1502.

They have killed my dad, bro-inlaw, friends. God punish them all.

1. And punish you more IJN amen!

2. Why is everybody around you dying? Your hand clean so?

12. Oh my!

What irks me more about all these bad hospital reports is the lack of emphathy and sanguinity on the part of the doctors.

What will it take to offer soothing words to a grieving parent or spouse or sibling?

Shouldn't our teaching hospitals have an on call psychologist abi psychiatrist or a grief councellor or something?
    Someone to be there for a grieving parent/spouse/sibling?
    Soothing words will go a long way in calming down someone that feels the doctors/hospital didn't do enough to save their child,whilst they seek for justice.

We really do have a long way to go in this country..

1. I always scroll through comments, read yours before reading the others. I love how you write. You should try your hand at writing for real, if you don't already. P.S am a lady, and no am not gay. But unashamedly sapiosexual. Lol.

13. Mr George, I am so sorry for your loss. No one should ever have to go through. I am deeply sorry. I only pray that God strengthens you and your wife during this period.
    For the sake of next time, please register your wife early when she is pregnant. Pre eclampsia can be managed very well if you start ante natal early. Your baby's delivery was obviously an emergency meaning the mother and baby were in critical condition. That's is the only reason a 30week baby will be delivered. The sad news is in this country, many of our hospitals don't have facilities to take Care of a 30 week baby. That is what the doctors meant with the 50:50 illustration.
    I will also state here that all the errands you ran, you shouldn't need to have to do that. You shldnt have to get oxygen yourselves, there should be a well oiled process in place to make sure every patient has everything they need in place and everything they need done for them. This is not the doctors faults. They are not administrators and they don't run the hospitals. Those to blame are those who embezzle money meant to refurbish hospitals,hire adequate staff and buy equipment
    You mentioned that the doctor transfusing your son left him to attend to another patient. That was probably because the other baby was in a worse condition and they were no other doctors on ground. And you mentioned that you and your wife have a different blood group wt child, that doesn't seem right to me.
    But you were right in saying that the staff should fix their attitudes. Don't tell a man his child will die as if ure referring to a goat. Don't play wt your phone in front of a worried father. In a ideal situation, a counselor shld have been assigned to you to help you through the process. The man in charge of the oxygen is very irresponsible. Staff should be trained to take their jobs seriously. Not only health workers, the non chalant attitude is common with all civil servants. The bill issue is also inappropriate, but when patients don't pay, they hold those that treated them accountable. But doing that to a man who just lost his son is cruel.
    I know we think fighting corruption is a hopeless cause in this country. But politicians will continue to steal the money meant for us here and people will continue to die while their children go abroad if they have a sore throat. You may think it won't affect you but don't wait until someone you love is in this position. Sometimes I just feel like going naked and cursing these politicians.
    Again sir, I am deeply deeply sorry. May God comfort you in this time and give you double joy for your sorrows.
    #Dahlia#

1. God bless your heart dear. You response is so soothing. We can't continue to say God help Nigeria and It is well while the politicians steal us blind, we have to speak up, stand up and fight back.

To Mr George, I am sorry for your loss. God will strenghten and comfort your family

2. I think therz an error in the story! The baby was most likely same blood group wv the mother bt blood couldn't b taken frm her @ that time bcos of her condition.

3. Not completely true. My colleague started her antenatal as early as she got pregnant. Her husband took her for every appointment.
      Pre eclampsia was discovered on the delivery day and we nearly lost her. This was even a popular private hospital in Lagos. Leave that thing. God protects us. The lack of negligence is too much.

14. Am so sad and sorry for your loss Mr George. it's high time people place value on other people's lives. Public servants are the source of deteriorating the development of this country. Case doesn't get this worst before its been investigated and checked in other places.
    Much stories will be said than actions. I just pray give you and your wife the fortitude to bear the loss. The boy was a fighter and he will surely fight back.

15. That's too bad.Where are we heading to??? This is an ''i don't care attitude'', negligence of the highest order. How can you fix an oxygen on a baby and left it unchecked?? If its an infection that killed the baby,how come they could not find out ant treat it all these while with all the test you said has been done.Did they just found out at the last minute? They need to be thought a lesson.

16. My dear, its not everybody that can afford the bills of a private hospital. if u can u should to be grateful to God. Nigeria, we keep praying for u!

1. I would rather go hungry than to patronize quacks!...
      Meanwhile,why collabo and get your wife pregnant if you can't afford a good hospital?...
      Poor men should stop having sex biko!...

2. Queen of stupidity, keep it up.im sure your kids have inherited your stupidity by now

3. U r a very big goat @ i am the queen. Are all fingers equal? if u dont have wat to say just keep ur silly trash to urself.

4. Madam Queen you are just a big goat! May u never know poverty. Idiot.

5. Youur brain obviously does not process well. U are yet to reach maturity in ur thinking. And u cannot think more than what ur little brain can handle.
      I know that when u attain that level,u will start making more intelligible comments. Till then we will have to endure ur overwhelming level of ignorance.

17. It is well my brother... so sad

18. This is his version of what happened. I'm a doctor and I know what goes on in the NICU, it takes grace for those babies to survive especially the ELBW babies. I think the issue here was right communication between the managing team and the patient's father.

19. The worst hospital in Australia is better than the best hospital in Nigeria.

20. Sorry for your loss sir, may God restore with another. May God save Nigerians from all these quack hospitals.

21. This seems to be a new trend abi na wetin?

Hospitals are now competing to outdo one another in negligent killings? Hian!

We neva settle one matter finish, anoda one is rearing its ugly head.

Oya na...which hospital is up next?

*Ghanaman signing out*

22. Sorry about your loss, it's really sad... but let the truth be told, from the beginning, your child had a very low chance of survival(in nigeria, delivery at 30weeks when the lungs havent matured) and you were rightly informed to prepare you or to make you take decisions like moving to a facility with better equipment. I agree that empathy on the part of the doctors seemed to be lacking but this people have to watch human beings die everyday despite doing their best and it takes a psychological dimension.Teaching hospitals are for the extremely sick who struggle to survive. I have been in such situations and I can't count how many times i have had to go aside and cry like a baby despite the hard man i am after breaking bad news or certifying someone dead after running up and down. You learn to detach yourself with time so that you can be in the right frame of mind to help others that continue the struggle and prevent yourself from going mad.

23. I'l advice all pregnant women to register at good private clinics.. RIP to the babies..

24. My heart just broke for this man.and his wife.And D baby...
    May God comfort u Sir.

This is soo sad.u swear an oath to save lives but "confusingly" take dose same lives u swore to protect and sustain....
    May God deal with dem accordingly.

25. Private hospitals are not exactly the best, you just pay more for a nicer environment but if someone is to die, it wont change anything. Teaching hospitals still have the best hands its just that the environment and conditions are degrading to humans

1. Those good doctors In public hospitals have their own personal clinic!...
      Why don't you go to their own private clinic to avoid stories?,..

2. Yes they have their clinics but remember they are still employed by the Government and can only be at their private hospitals when they aren't on call.
      Also remember that the hospitals are usually ill-equiped. Forget the AC and Plasma TVs, forget the water dispensers and sweet air fresheners, they can't be as equipped as Govt hospitals.
      They also can't afford to have enough staff as the Govt hospitals.
      Why do they always refer people to Govt Hospitals? Why are Govt Hoitals always the last resort? Clearly because they are better.
      This isnt about the cash cause by the time you calculate all you truly spend in a Govt Hospital, there's almost no difference.
      Here's my advice: If you must birth in the country, go for a Govt Hospital but ask for a Private Ward. Be prepared to grease palms and you'd be treated like royalty.

3. Because not everyone can afford it you empty skull!!!

4. Government hospitals aren't cheap o! They ain't cheap at all!!!

26. Sorry for Ur loss sir.... I am no medical personnel but are the workers to be blamed for lack of equipments in the public hospital. Then not to mention that the hospitals are seriously understaffed.. Do you see the line of patients always waiting for maybe 3 to 4 doctors a day,DAT is enough to make a sane person insane... Then when he left Ur child half way through transfusion to attend to a dying child, I bet if he hadn't done that, the parents of the child would also call him names.. I always use teaching hospital, and I bet you that is where you can get the best medical treatment.. The problem is that the ratio of staff to patients is very poor.. They are humans too.

27. Mr. George, first of all am sorry for your loss, second of all, you should have known better than to take your wife to some quack hospitaL. I will dare Not step my foot in any teaching hospital for Headache complain. Sad a story if I must say. May God console u and ur family

28. Another thing about the poster... i understand your grief, but i feel those doctors did their best considering the circumstances. Neonatal infection is common with the premature so asking 'from where' infection entered is wrong. Andrenalin or dopamine etc can help with sepsis, septic shock or in the event if cardiac arrest which may be what happened. At least they were there taking care of you child till the end and keeping you informed. Negligence is the absence of that and their is such a thing as end of life care once the chances are minimal

29. @I am the queen and the boss of this blog...REALLY??? You must have been born with a silver and golden spoon. WHEN THE GOVT HOSPITALS WERE BUILT...DIDN'T THEY KNOW THERE WERE PRIVATE HOSPITALS BUT STILL WENT AHEAD TO BUILD. I'LL RATHER BELIEVE YOU ARE STILL A KID.

1. Who dash her silver spoon? Even bronze own she no see. Allow her make she dey run her mouth with yellow teeth like tap. E don tay wey she get diarrhea of the mouth.

30. Kai Nigeria,is it not in that same Delta state FMc,that I lost my cousin brother out of neglect,they had road accident on there way returning back to lagos after Xmas celebration at Agbor,Fmc asaba refused attending to him when Frsc brought the victims to Fmc,before they could put a call through and my bros reaching to Asaba cos Frsc also abandoned them too and left,he had internal bleeding and died,this is a boy at the prime of his life,that was so excited to visit village after a long while,out of neglect he died leaving his mum and an only brother cos they were just two boys.our Nigerian hospitals really need a revamp both in human and other wise.his death was so painfull.forget my gbaguan and get the message bikonu

1. My dear FMC Asaba na him worst pass ooo.dey dont value human lives at all.that was y i insulted all of them d last time my sist put to birth.she was in Labour and A doctor's wife was also in labour.do u know dat about 5Doctors surrounded dis woman n none was with my sist?abeg forget matter.na God we dey beg.

31. To all pregnant women and TTC women in Ajah side, pls try Royal Infirmary Hospital Badore. You won't regret it

32. Am so sorry about your loss Sir. This is so pathetic

33. That remind Me, I have a friend of mine that went into early labor at 25weeks in the western world..The child is a hale and hearty 1+yr old chilD. Only in naija tht most women who have complications in their pregnancies dont hv a chance at survival.May God save us in this country.

34. Oga how come you and your wife are the same blood group but that of your son was different? Na away match? Its a pity some medical personnel take out their frustrations on patients as a result of them being overworked and underpaid.

35. RIP little one.
    This man sounds and writes like a learned person. So he must atleast have an okay job. I'm very sorry about d loss of ur son. Pls let this be the last time you visit any govt hospital. They are death traps, ppl won't hear. When the wife was pregnant he shld have looked round for the best hospital for delivery. Best hospital doesn't mean most expensive hospital. Iv been to some not so xpensive hospital but with good doctors. From d moment ur wife is pregnant you shld have been saving money for d unexpected, bcos child birth anything can happen. You may need CS, and it's not until dat time you start going round looking for CS money.
    Govt hospital are crap, let's just accept it and always look for alternative. I pity d lady, carry a baby for 9mths and eventually return home with nothing. We must not joke with our health. Many are quick to buy IPhone of 200k, but to bring out 20k to go to hospital n treat malaria, dey will prefer going to chemist and buy drug of 1k.
    Sorry for ur loss, for the next baby as soon as ur wife is pregnant. Start saving money, register her in a reputatable hospital uv heard from ppl dat they are good in Pre-natal and Ante-natal care, do your research wellll. Speak to ppl that have received care there. Draw out a plan, even for d unforeseen circumstance.

36. Am a medical doctor and in as much as they had bad PR,i must say that in Nigeria,our neonates dont usually survive before 30 weeks.Even in the best of centres in Nigeria.Our fetal viability here is 28weeks but any doctor practicing in Nigeria knows that from 32 weeks survival is better.i sympathize with you and i ask that u take necessary actions to seek redress

37. And I dey here dey find work wit my R.N and R.M result

38. I honestly do not have faith in the Nigerian medical system. RIP to the child

788 comment 2016

39. This is really true. You will also find worst cases like thisin LUTH. Doctors and nurses should fear God. I experienced this when i was in LUTH. God should not allow us to be at the mercy of these blood sucking doctors and nurses.

40. Mr OP, sorry for your loss. You sound like an educated man with some exposure.
    Medically speaking, it was only a miracle that would have saved your child at 29weeks.
    I had my twins at 34 weeks in the USA. They spent 12 days in NICU. We paid close to $50,000. $50,000.
    I wrote the amount twice to show you the price we had to pay for those babies.
    What chicken change did you pay to expect a medical breakthrough? Have you educated yourself on Preeclampsia and chances of survival of ELBW babies in a 3rd world country like Nigeria. Abegi!

Healthcare is expensive and this is Nigeria. Next time, prepare to pay big money to fly your pregnant wife abroad. Are you a learner?

1. Thank God for safe delivery. But $100000 for your twins? Thats over N30M o.
      Money good sha.
      P.S: sorry for your loss @poster. Twins will be your next. Amen.

2. Mumu just reread what you wrote. People in Britain are getting a better quality health care for free. Great Britain is indeed Great Britain.

3. The person calling me mumu, do you know it is taxpayers, paying almost 40% of their income that fund the NHS?
      I'm sure you don't with your small mind.
      Nothing is free. So next time you want to quote someone, take a breath and use google so you do not sound unlettered

4. So if u are an average Nigerian no need to have children? Okay oooo... It is well with our souls. @poster sorry for ur loss,may God bless u with twins.....

41. The usual norm with *some hospitals in Nigeria too sad.

42. I'm really sorry about the loss of your child Mr Ogbolu. As i read through your story, i did not see reasons for you to blame the healthcare professionals. Your child was a PREMATURE, EXTREMELY low birth weight baby (less than 1kg weight at birth) at 30wks.this means your baby's problems started even before birth, he was not growing well in the womb due to the pre eclampsia. Now we all know that preterm babies come with a lot of attendant problems including reduced ability to fight infections, breathing problems, etc, not to talk of a baby less than 1kg...the problems will be greatly magnified. At birth you were told that the chances of your baby surviving were slim which was the gospel truth. You complain of them calling you at odd hours to come and get blood, would you rather u were not called till morning when the child would have packed and you would still be the one to complain bitterly about wickedness. Did you commend the doctors that were smart enough to operate you wife before her pre eclampsia turned into convulsions? Did you commend the doctor in training who donated his blood to a total stranger? You think it is easy? If you have worked in the neonatal ward of a teaching hospital you would know that it is the most stressful department of any hospital, coupled with extreme shortage of staff (doctors n nurses) and you expect a doctor to stand and chat with you while a baby is probably gasping for breath and he has to commence CPR? I think we should put all things into proper perspective and be considerate before we come to a public platform such as this to cast aspersions. If you want to blame anyone please blame the government in charge of healthcare that has made everything difficult such that even the few existing healthcare professionals we have that are not enough for the existing population are all going abroad to practice. Sorry again about the loss of your child, i pray that God grants you succour in this difficult time and replaces what you have lost.

1. Very apt response. However, I understand the man's pot of view owing to grief and pain in his heart.

Op, the problems I see here are poor communication skills on the part of the doctor. But like someone already stated up there, at some point, one has to detach himself so as not to loose his sanity. That's not to say empathy shouldn't be exercised.

The absence of the oxygen man is another story. Lack of commitment to work is one of th reasons why nigeria is in the mess it is in today. Its disheartening seeing people go about their duties with so much nonchalancy. I'm not sure what can be done to salvage this situation cos it's deeply ingrained in many already.

All the same, take heart bro and may you find the rest to move on from this point.

43. what a pity... mean while @ http://www.onpointnaijablog.com/2016/04/nigerian-celebrities-you-never-knew.html

44. Na wa..this is sad.this post just reminded of my friend that lost her daughter in lasuth.due to negligence too.after 3years of ttc.finally a beautiful baby girl..and those people killed her.its just sad.

45. I am a doctor not trained in Nigeria but presently working here. In as much as I can see some aspect of negligence on the part of the hospital staff which includes the oxygen staff who re-appeared after 35mins but most of our hospitals are under staffed and the few there are overworked and rather than the government to employ more personnel they would rather keep the money for themselves so they can go abroad for their own health care because if you look at it critically why is it same doc who was transfusing your son still has to attend to another dying child. As docs we aren't super humans we too get tired and sometimes over react like the part of shouting at you or not explaining properly. It's just unfortunate..may God comfort your family.

46. Dear grieving father, sorry for your loss. May your son's soul RIP. now to the matter. Extreme low birth weight means your baby was less than 1kg and we all know that even in the best of centres like in the USA, outcome or survival of those babies is poor, you can google it. even the ones that survive come down with epilepsy, or mental retardation and Cerebral palsy. the doctor explained to you that your child's chances of survival were poor. I don't think it's doctors fault that the oxygen man was not available or that you were made to run around for blood and stuff. in places where things work, everything will be made available and you'll be billed later. let us not be quick to throw blames at the doctors and nurses. I agree some deaths in our teaching hospitals can be prevented, but let us also acknowledge that even in the midst of numerous handicapping conditions in our country, some people have been snatched from the clutches of death by this same health system everybody is quick to castigate. you said 4 children died in a week, you did not say how many were discharged, why? I understand you are grieving but don't take it out on the health workers. let us pray for Nigeria to become better.
    once again, sorry for your loss

47. Sorry for your loss. The doctors are not even efficient and later they will have the mouth to go on strike. Our government need to do something on this mess they created.

48. That is how Doctor Anyanwu of st David hospital Ikenegbu Owerri goes about killing people in the name of owning a quack hospital.so many quack nurses working for him,he even traind them to become auxiliary nurses.I almost died there.Will sue him in due time

1. Sue my dear. Please sue! Too many people are keeping mute on the issue of quacks. Very sad.

49. Ahhh... nwaanyi ataa afufu mmuo!..
    Rest on, lil one. Take heart dad n mom.

50. Too bad it's high time our government need to concentrate on the health sectors, ENOUGH IS ENOUGH.

51. There is just no value for life in this country. Even doctors whose job is to save lives will look at a parent and tell him that his ill child won't make it and goes ahead to kill d child. Which way Nigeria?

52. Useless DELSUTH ...na only strike they sabi...today nurses,tomorrow doctor,next tomorrow non health workers...

53. Really sad. RIP to the Lil. One

54. Private hospitals ke? Spring hospital Port Harcourt, a hospital without an incubator.May God save Nigerians especially women and children from Nigerian doctors who want to be rich by all means at the detriment of their patients.

55. Its not wether its a private hospital or not ds nigerian doctors are wack thats how i lost my daughter in prime medical consultants here in portharcourt due to the doctor's arrogance and i dont care attitude very lousy set of peadiatricians dat care abt noting but fashion and money. They act based on ur complaints and not their findings.dat hospital is a death trap.no sympathy nor empathy from d stupid nurses.

1. I have been to Prime Hospital PH. After my first consultation, I vowed to never return. That hospital has always had a bad reputation.

2. My cousin gave birth there last month without any hassle Thank God o.

56. Let's fix Nigeria. There should be no medicine in universities anymore, let's have pre-medicine. You have over 2milliob students applying to school to study medicine and maybe 500 get in. Nigeria's population is growing and we need more doctors. Don't judge people by being able to pass chemistry its stupid. I know we need smart people to study medicine but we have lots of them not allowed to go on cos of a flaw system. Let everybody go to medical school write same exams and have same standard knowledge. I have a lot to write but you can read my article coming out soon on how to reform the medical sector.

57. I feel for this family. The fact is our health care is crap in this country. Both private and govt hospital. May God give us the grace and means to afford the best. It's not like I'm extremely rich, but myself and my husband are working in d corporate world. I am a regulat traveller too, but usually to d UK. Before I even got married,I always said I can't give birth in this country. I am my mothers only child, so you can understand.
    As soon as my husband then fiancé proposed to me, I started looking towards applying for US visa. Just so when I plan to give birth after marriage it will be easier. I went to America for holiday for 2wks just to have a feel of d country and re-establish relationships with the family I have there. Then my 2nd visit was to get my wedding dress. All dis was just to get a knowledge of d country, so when I get pregnant after marriage. No be say I like America like that. Prefer Europe.
    After wedding I got pregnant. Immediately pregnancy came I renewed my visa. I started investigated hospitals and those family have used. I am my husband started saving from d time PT came out positive. We forgot about changing of car we wanted to do. I brout 60percnt of d money while hubby paid for 40 percent. Hubby's dad paid for ticket. Like that we scrapped about 15k dollars. This was 3yrs ago. And everything was successful. Little or no complications and my baby has his passport.
    After then we became broke, but it was well worth it. Once I began work, and luckily hubby got promoted, our finances became good again.
    I can't for anything give birth in this country. Start making plans as soon as you even think you are pregnant. I know not everyone can afford dat sort of money. But if some of us can afford to buy a 3.5m car, is our health and child not more important than a car.
    If you can afford it, kindly start saving from when you are pregnant. Either to a good private hospital or abroad.

58. Sorry for your loss.
    May God comfort you.

59. I can relate to this because it happened to my son and God saved him

60. Private hospital is good, private hospital is good...my sis nearly lost her life then her legs in Eko hospital in 2010. The trauma she & everyone in my family passed through no be here! It is God that sustains one in this country.
    Sir am so so sorry for your loss. May God wipe your tears and that of your wife & restore that which was lost through carelessness. I pray that you will also find justice. I am sure they will soon reply with a well packaged nonsense defense.

61. Please if you must use a general Hospital, use mother and child centers. I don't know if they have them in other state but they have them a lot I'm every local got in Lagos. Those hospitals are up to date. They have everything necessary to a premature child. Their neonatal wards have incubators, oxygen and what have you and they have nice doctora.i gave birth to my son in the one in surulere. Their service was top notch. We even had break fast, lunch and dinner for new moms and the food wasn't any how..

When they noticed my child had jaundice, he was taken to the neonatal ward and their were Alot of premature babies there in their incubators. Some of them were referred from another hospital. And those child survived. One was born at 26 weeks and the baby survived..

62. For those talking trash about blood group, Mother and Father with A can have A or O in children.
    Mother with blood group B and Father with Blood Group A can have children with Blood group A, B, AB, or O. check http://canadiancrc.com/paternity_determination_blood_type.aspx
    Go get sense

1. Did you finish reading that article you are quoting? Did you read "Mommy's paternity secret'?

63. For those talking trash about blood group, Mother and Father with A can have A or O in children.
    Mother with blood group B and Father with Blood Group A can have children with Blood group A, B, AB, or O. check http://canadiancrc.com/paternity_determination_blood_type.aspx
    Go get sense

64. DELSUTH Oghara no cheap o. e dare for pocket o. who no go no know.

65. Sorry dear poster for your loss. You shall have many sons and daughters IJN.
    The Nigerian health sector needs urgent attention from all indications. I wouldn't put the blame entirely on the doctors.the chances for A baby born at 30 weeks in a country such as ours is 50-50 just like they told you. Its so sad but true because we don't have enough facilities and professionals.

I gave birth at one of the general hospitals and 30 minutes after my delivery,i was told to vacate the bed as there was shortage of bed for those in labour. With so much bruise,i had to go sit somewhere and the doctor discharged me barely 1hr after I gave birth so you can see how over crowded govt facilities are and they are highly understaffed as well.

Take heart brother and pls be a source of encouragement to your wife.

66. @ Queen u talk before u reason. Accept my condolences. Last two weeks Thurs I gave birth to a bouncing baby boy and d nurses @ kubwa general hospital almost frustrated me despite my water bursted on wed nyt dey still asked me to go home DAT I was not in active labour. But my God proved dem wrong and I gave birth on Thurs nyt by 6pm. So above all pray for a God sent nurse and doc

67. @ Queen u talk before u reason. Accept my condolences. Last two weeks Thurs I gave birth to a bouncing baby boy and d nurses @ kubwa general hospital almost frustrated me despite my water bursted on wed nyt dey still asked me to go home DAT I was not in active labour. But my God proved dem wrong and I gave birth on Thurs nyt by 6pm. So above all pray for a God sent nurse and doc

68. Negligence!!!

69. @cocolette... with your black pu**y... him for give the doctors trophy for trying to do their job? shio...

70. Prime medical consultant is d worst hospitall in ph, big name, big building but non expirenced young young doctors.nurse elizas .their Md is d wife of the owener pf d clinic so for dat reason they made her d Md. Dat woman knows no jack but fashion. U will bring a sick child she will b busy admiring ur shoe and bag.very lousy doctors they wont carry d baby for examination. All they do is to ask u wats wrong wit d baby d next tin is admission and bill. Mtswe!!! Babies die their like no 2moro and d worst is dat d nurses wont show any remorse.

71. Sir,you won't understand at all.i respect you for being honest .may God console you.the problems of a premature infant are numerous and well documented...pls Google it.do you know there are not up to 10 newborn intensive units in Nigeria that have ventilators.google the risks of ventilators especially in a premature (elbw >1kg being worst).d infections from ventilators are extremely resistant to antibiotics.your child's blood pressure was dropping due to extreme sepsis hence d need for adrenaline for resuscitation.the problem here I can see is the communication gap.the lack of empathy in your eyes is a result of stress and staff shortage.im sure all staff were rooting for your kid but u won't know.but it is already known that the prognosis is poor..........That being said,Preeclampsia tends to repeat itself in subsequent pregnancies..pls register madam on time for antenatal so that the "useless" urine test they do every clinic can detect any protein ,and the bp monitored too.these are all pointers to preeclampsia.it is very common and if treated on time by simple bp drugs ur wife would never have had a premature delivery.......women pls go for antenatal on time.........Finally I must commend the doctors at delsuth for tirelessly battling to save your baby.even d one that donated his blood...God bless u.its what we do.PLEASE GOVT Synchronize the departments in teaching hospitals for Christ sake.every dept should have its own lab,pay point,and oxygen ports from the wall bedside.not to be sending pts up and down anyhow.potters should be employed in their numbers to run errands now.it is well with Nigeria

72. Prime hospital at cocaine village in port harcourt is a death trap naaa, I heard the owner is an ogboni man and uses innocent children blood as sacrifice steady.their own is to recommend c s so that the bill will be high.

73. FROM MY INBOXPls Stella hide my ID...I am a big lover of ur blog and I love u baje😘😘😘
    Straight to my reason for writing you,I want to keep it short and concise I am a doctor practicing in Nigeria and trained abroad
    Firstly dear mr who sent his chronicle I am so sorry for ur loss but I should address this issue so you understand pre eclampsia is no joke as u could loose both mother and child when situations like this arise our first view is to save the mother ,if we can for the child God be praised...In your case at 30wks, survival chance was very low and if you found it offensive that they told you straight up am sorry but that's the practice..I have seen patients flare up over the fact that the physician didn't inform them of the survival chance and made them waste efforts trying to save their relatives(to some they really don't want to cry over spilt milk) would you have loved that they lied to you about the survival chance??i don't think so!Doctors don't do magic that's why they tell you straight up!
    You also stated that you saw a number of other kids die ,Sir even abroad neonatal mortality for preterm babies is very high not to talk of Nigeria where the situation is worse off!!to keep this children in incubators,prevent from infections and all that is not beans 34wks and above is still even ok to manage but in a case of 30wks With extreme low birth weight i'm sorry again but it's a gamble even if ur child made it mental retardation amongst other complications ain't the best for you now!!
    Lastly I read a comment which is the main reason I was moved to send this mail when queen of the blog mentioned that private hospitals are better and what not.... it's unfortunate that in Nigeria we see private things as levels(I don arrive syndrome) including schools and all that.once it's government owned,elites and the average Nigerian feel like it's poor service and all that... well I understand the lag and reduced enthusiasm they have towards their jobs..can u really blame them incentives are low or not even forthcoming but them still they try..You see one thing is sure you are assured of capable hands and right thinking heads in this government owned hospitals.You can have a problem with the services ooo Yes!!but they are not out to make extra money or waste ur time unlike private hospitals which their main motive is profit profit against ur own well being!yes some people might have been lucky to give birth or receive treatment in this private hospitals and everything went well...lucky you next time u might not get so lucky...very few of this privates have facilities that the government has!very very few and if they do one doctor na pediatrician,gynecologist,surgeon at once ..It's crazy but that's the Nigeria we find ourselves

Again poster am sorry for your loss pls don't be bitter move on and don't waste your wife's life if she has a history of preeclampsia already next pregnancy pls register her where she can get correct treatment and monitoring don't take stupid advice,,better luck next time!!!
    Lots of love everyone...Dr jayyy!!!

74. Oga George, it will be nice to hear from the hospital. Meanwhile you can report the matter to the medical and dental council of Nigeria. ONE THING IS SURE FROM YOUR OWN STORY. THAT CHILD IS NOT YOURS. ASK YOUR WIFE WHO GOT HER PREGNANT

1. What a mean and nasty comment! God have mercy on you.

2. @Reply... it stands to reason? How come the baby has a different blood from the parents?

75. Stella, please investigate this very well. I had my daughter 5years ago at 26 weeks in a private hospital and we were sent there. The baby survived. They were all very nice, especially the head nurse

1. 5 years ago the hospital just started...Go dere today!! They go fustrate ur life.nothing to investigate

76. I use first rivers hospital a private hospitalin phc , the attitude of staff is unbecoming lately. U must threaten them to treat your case. I wonder what the problem is with nurses and doctors lately

77. Mr George ogbolu should be grateful that baby didn't make it. Your wife had pre eclampsia + your blood didn't match that of the baby? Hmmm something should be clear to u at this point. The paternity of that child should be querried. One of the common aetiology of toxaemia in pregnancy is when a woman gets pregnant for a new consort. I think you should look within and solve the problems within. Besides Extremely low birth weight has a 50-50 chance of survival in this environment .Good bye

78. my advice to you mr George Ogbolu is to grieve your baby silently and pray that this mistake you made coming online does not bomerank on you. I believe you understood all the issues raised from effect of pre elampsia on mother and baby and its reoccurence to the querried paternity of this child. You should be very grateful to God for your wife's life and fight to protect it come next pregnancy. To think you were very inhuman to opt for a scar for a baby that has a slim chance of survival. i am very sure the obstetricians and pediatricians gave you this info before the c-section. Dont make this experience too painful for your wife, for life she would always remember this child because of that scar and least i forget, did they tell you that her next delivery would be via c-section except you meet a zealous obstetrician that want to try vaginal delivery? i can bet you with this online history except you go to a remote village, no doctor would go an extra mile to do that for you. May God give you the fortitude to bear your loss.

79. My dear pre - eclampsia killed even keffi in the Almighty US of A. It is a killer disease and the doctors did well to save your wife's life first. Google neonatal mortality in this country..The figures hit the roof. The problem is complex. Nigerian hospitals lack a lot of things needed for care of preterm children....the doctors can only do as much as the can given the circumstances. As for the empathy issue...I guess the doctors just wanted to be honest with you. I've worked in a neonatal unit before; I remember playing the caring card; I kept telling one particular lady that all will be well, her kid will recover. Unfortunately the child took a down turn and died. The whole family took it out on me; everyone kept asking me what happened? You said the baby woukd live ! You deceived us! I was like shuo! How did my words of encouragement now become a sin? Since then I just stay neutral and tell the parents the truth as it is. I'm not trying to downplay your loss or say no medical practitioner can do any evil..I'm just trying to make you see that these things have so many angles to it. May God help you and your family come through this period of loss and give you another child as soon as possible.

80. No need for a long talk anymore.

PLEASE SUE THEM ALL... 'Slam' them with both criminal and civil suits, and claim an extremely huge sum of money.

Let them rot in jail...