Nigeria's President Muhammadu Buhari has ordered the security forces to crack down on cattle raiders accused of killing hundreds of people this year.
Soldiers and police would "go after the groups terrorising innocent people all over the country", he said.
The raids are seen as the biggest security threat facing Nigeria after the Islamist-led insurgency.
Nomadic herders from the Fulani ethnic group and farming communities often clash for control of land and water.
The announcement comes after national outrage over the killing of at least 20 people on Monday in a raid on the Ukpabi Nimbo community in south-eastern Enugu State.
In a statement, Mr Buhari said he deeply sympathised with those who had lost their lives.
He had ordered Nigeria's army and police chiefs to "secure all communities under attack by herdsmen", Mr Buhari added.
"This government will not allow these attacks to continue," the president said.
In February, about 300 people were killed and tens of thousands left homeless in a tit-for-tat raid in central Benue state, local media reported.
Homes, food stores and churches were also destroyed, reports said.
More than 1, 200 people were killed in 2014 by different groups of Fulani herders, according to the Global Terrorism Index.
Who are the Fulanis? By Naziru Mikailu, BBC News
The Fulanis are believed to be largest semi-nomadic group in the world and are mainly based in West and Central Africa.
In Nigeria, there are two types: The semi-nomadic herders and those who live in the city.
Unlike the more integrated city dwellers, the nomadic groups spend most of their lives in the bush and are the ones largely involved in these clashes.
They herd their animals across vast dry hinterlands, something that often puts them at odds with many communities, especially farmers who accuse them of damaging their crops.
However, the Fulanis have sometimes been attacked and have their animals stolen by bandits, prompting reprisal attacks.
The conflict has been going on for about two decades, but following the upsurge in attacks this year the government is under increasing pressure to take steps to curb it.
BBC reportage.
That is a very good move.
ReplyDeleteBaba go slow
DeleteHahahahahahahahahahaha...
I like the new development
DeleteOur soldiers are gradually silencing boko devils and these ones are gaining strength.
DeleteGod forbid! Nice move by the president.
No one will aknowledge now that he is the first ever president to crack down on these murderers who have been killing for ages
DeleteFoolish govt foolish idea..se na now u suppose act abi..
ReplyDeleteHad it been one of ur relative was among those killed then ur action will have been so early.
I remembered one dangerous pot-hole along Ibadan xpres way.the pot hole has bin dia for over 2years but it was amended when Obasanjo's convoy ran into it but hundreds of nigerians has lost dia lives dia and notin was done
Mitchew...next jare
Mc pinky
I like the way they addressed him,Mr Buhari Mr Buhari...
DeletePlease ignore my manner,oburo my fault,this man emessgo every thing up!
The bandits never give second taught on reprisal attacks...
ReplyDeleteThe government should holistically look at it from both ends.
Important point you just raised.
DeleteSomething needs to be done as fast as possible
ReplyDeleteCrack down? They have gone back to their countries!
ReplyDeleteStory for the gods
ReplyDeleteHe is backing them behind the scene
Its about time!
ReplyDeleteAfter giving them time to go back to where they came from,I guess everywhere go quiet small now.HYPOCRITE!.There is absolutely nothing anyone Can tell me,Buhari is a Wicked person,those inciting statements in 2011 are enough for me to conclude on that.It takes a person with a wicked mind to speak that way just cause you lost an election!..abeg I no fit write again.
ReplyDeleteGbam!!..
DeleteWell said!...
This govt stupid Sha. See as their trying to make it seem like d fulanis were attacked first. Una di very stupid.
ReplyDeleteHyprocrite...even his facial expression and body language...I don't listen to the jagon people say, actions always stay winning....evil tribalist, that's who this bokohari is
ReplyDeleteLies! Lies! Lies!
ReplyDeletegoooood
ReplyDeleteI hope they will kill some of them. I will do party if i hear say some of them die.
ReplyDeleteBetter!
ReplyDeleteYou need to read this: Top 10 Things You Should Know In The History Of Nigeria
Since last year, he suddenly noticed their murderous activities. Buhari walker welcome ehn
ReplyDeleteBecause ppl used social media to cry out Na. He could no longer protect his boys. Tho he gave them ample time to flee to their death zone lands. Useless things.
DeleteAs quickly as possible
ReplyDeleteEnd time tourist
ReplyDeleteWhy did it take him soooo long to react? These herdsmen has been slaughtering people like say it's a competition amongst them to see who will kill most? The robbery attacks & kidnapping that they perpetuate nko? The crackdown should have the effect of a sledgehammer oh no kid gloves approach to this issue cos na so them look boko haram until they grew wings & became something else. The IG of police sef na tolotolo! Until the president gives orders that is when you will realize that the people you are sworn to protect are been killed by a group & that such group needs to answer for their crimes abi? Msheww
ReplyDeleteSo they can quietly go back to where they came from. Away from any retaliation from the affected pple. But God is watching.
DeleteSo they can quietly go back to where they came from. Away from any retaliation from the affected pple. But God is watching.
DeleteMtchewwww.. Those who helped perpetrate the act have gone back to their base which is Chad or Nigel. This people usually invite them, they come in at night, they carry out their attacks during the early hours of the morning like between 2 am to 4am like thieves, to capture their visit unawares and leave as soon as they are done.. Because if they are there till morning they know they will be killed as others would be aware of what's going on.. I wonder why they don't do their attacks during the day when people are aware of their surrounding
ReplyDeleteHope he is for real..
ReplyDeleteTomorrow now he will order the force to protect their interest.
What is the actual number of persons killed by the Fulani terrorists in Enugu? Is it 6, 7, 20, 40 or what? There is something terribly amiss when the police PRO, media outlets and govt agencies cannot even agree on the definite number of lives lost following these types of mayhem. Still, why can't Buhari address the nation directly on this sensitive/volatile issue instead of going through his aides? Or he doesn't think this merits his urgent attention? Even more, what is the govt's policy agenda going fwd to stop the carnage in various parts of the country by Fulani herdsmen? Whatever that policy is, hopefully, it starts with the termination of DSS's Lawal asap. Nija cannot afford to have the DSS boss/administration so glaringly compromised, uncivilized, unjust and inhumane. #goodcausetospeakup
ReplyDeleteWhat is the actual number of persons killed by the Fulani terrorists in Enugu? Is it 6, 7, 20, 40 or what? There is something terribly amiss when the police PRO, media outlets and govt agencies cannot even agree on the definite number of lives lost following these types of mayhem. Still, why can't Buhari address the nation directly on this sensitive/volatile issue instead of going through his aides? Or he doesn't think this merits his urgent attention? Even more, what is the govt's policy agenda going fwd to stop the carnage in various parts of the country by Fulani herdsmen? Whatever that policy is, hopefully, it starts with the termination of DSS's Lawal asap. Nija cannot afford to have the DSS boss/administration so glaringly compromised, uncivilized, unjust and inhumane. #goodcausetospeakup
ReplyDeleteWe pray drastict step should be taken in putting this to an end, for Christ sake enough of the blood shed.
ReplyDeleteIt's cos he was threatened by Massob, Agbekoya and OPC, that's y he came on air to make this statement
ReplyDeleteHow many of you bvs in your lives have ever seen a fulani cattle herdsman armed with a machine gun before?....raise up your hands!
ReplyDeleteHow many of you have seen a fulani herds man driving a car or a group of herdsmen being driven in a truck by a fellow fulani herds man before.. and without the company of their cattle and their rods and staffs?...raise up your hands!
How many of you have heard of/understand the term, "cattle rustlers"?... raise up your hands)
Sigh!..
Think!.. my fellow Nigerians and reason with your God-given brains.
That's all I have to say.
How many of you bvs in your lives have ever seen a fulani cattle herdsman armed with a machine gun before?....raise up your hands!
ReplyDeleteHow many of you have seen a fulani herds man driving a car or a group of herdsmen being driven in a truck by a fellow fulani herds man before.. and without the company of their cattle and their rods and staffs?...raise up your hands!
How many of you have heard of/understand the term, "cattle rustlers"?... raise up your hands)
Sigh!..
Think!.. my fellow Nigerians and reason with your God-given brains.
That's all I have to say.