Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Arik Airline Suspends Domestic Operations

Thursday, April 21, 2016

Arik Airline Suspends Domestic Operations

The Aviation Union in the industry have grounded the operations of Nigeria’s carrier, Arik Air over what they described as a large debt of N12.5billion to Federal Airports Authority of Nigeria.

The unions according to Channels TV, shutdown the airline’s operations on Wednesday after a year long negotiations failed.

Passengers are the most hit following the dispute as hundreds of them could not embark on their journey.

Meanwhile Arik Air has confirmed the situation, in a press statement issued by its management, the airline said the action by the workers’ union is connected with the long-standing and unsubstantiated claim by the Federal Airports Authority of Nigeria (FAAN) of high indebtedness to the agency which is now before a Federal High Court in Lagos at the instance of FAAN.

Arik said this is not the first time that FAAN workers’ union will be taking laws into their hands by disrupting its operations and that the airline is compelled to suspend all domestic operations for today, and this will remain in force until the unfortunate situation is resolved.

21 comments:

1. Every sector of the country is in a mess.
    This govt needs to wake up

2. Arik air always in the news for the wrong reasons

1. Damn right!!! Very incompetent people.Customer care is zero,upon how expensive they are.I did them some years ago when I was in law school and I never understood why my mum loved them so much.Anytime we were on break and I wanted to go home,she'd keep shouting 'make sure you fly Arik o' and that usually annoyed the hell out of me.They should just stop them from flying totally so that other airlines would learn to behave.

2. And everybody must know you have entered aeroplane abi? Hian for naija.

3. Arik you people should pay your debt, stupid airline, I wonder why people still patronize them..

1. They fly all routes. Arik is the only airline that flys benin-lagos and lagos benin. What other choice do passengers flying that. Route have?

2. Aero flies Benin-Lagos.

4. Johnson Arumemie but why are you like this. Why must all your Companies have same fault. You make money but don't do the necessary payments it's only to abuse your workers you no. Sir pls Change. Na so u dey owe. Salaries for your other Company forgetting people have families and they need to fees and pay fees.

1. More to come. With he pdp things were not good, I wonder how things go be in the next one year for arik. He owes us in arik too. Sometimes 3months

2. Kidnap him and demand for ransom na. Hian!!! At ur own risk o

5. In fact let them suspend themselves. Their own is too much

6. Aside this situation on ground they should shut down already or step up their game.
    Instead of continously given people Fufu service for the Pounded yam service they'd already paid for😞😞😞😞😞😞.

7. Whatever!

Your comment will be visible after approval.

8. Yes it's normal and it's been resolve. We're flying now.

9. They should shut them up for good if they cant give good services.

A lot of complaints from this airline. Na only una waka come Lagos

10. And people will still fly Arik abroad. I cant even use them for local.
    The funny thing is they are even more expensive than KLM and Iberia when travelling abroad.
    Even if I get free Arik ticket I won't use them.

11. I hope they ban them for life! Stupid airline with stupid management