You have never been out side Nigeria?...Or you have but didnt notice that American and British English have variations?
Okay now,learn it here please...
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
52 comments:
Ok
ReplyDeleteWe mostly use British English in Nigeria, and yes I noticed all these through my Oxford Dictionary
Delete*Larry was here*
Nice. Don't agree with the biscuit one though. Cookie and biscuits are two different snacks and we don't mix them up in Britain.
DeleteClick my name for all your celebration cakes and cupcakes, cheers
Whether adult or kids its the same, its free.
DeleteNigerians mix everything... Both the British and American... Guess ours should be called Britican
DeleteI have learnt.
ReplyDeleteWaoh,thank you stella
DeletePortable Take note
DeleteOh chemist's is right. Thought that was Naija's way of saying pharmacy.
Delete@Ideato... LMAO
Delete*msFerragamo
Lmao@ ideato,she go gree hear? Swine like her.
DeleteWe need Nija own. Stella thank you and help us do the needful.
ReplyDeleteNaija dey mix both haha.
DeleteLike food ball pitch we dont say that nor do we say soccer's Field.
We say foot ballfield.
I think we use both in some cases.
You've posted this before na.
ReplyDeleteTrust naija, we dey mix everything
Was abt to say that too lol... reminder won't hurt no one...
DeleteAs in ehn.... Peckish wetin and how petrol take turn gas... English is truly not our calling
DeleteWe call drugs, medicine but for USA, na medication. Toilet nko, nah washroom!
DeleteHmnnn! Some of these words are used interchangeably. Most annoying to me is the letter 'Z'. Some people will be quick to crucify you for pronouncing it as 'Zed' instead of 'Zee' whereas you are correct.
ReplyDeleteNZUZU Izuu, Keep disgracing yourself. Why won't they crucify you when you reason like a goat
DeleteAnon, keep promoting me on SDK blog while you are wasting under anonymous. Na you go tire! I choputas not. Oh! I even forget that you are a by-product of a goat, that's why you were able to spot me out.
Delete*forgot* . Stupid he goat following me upandan.
DeleteNZUZU Izuu, you see your life? Even common English you no sabi. Hopeless school drop out
DeleteSchool drop out kwa?Ndi oyibo!From your tautology, the drop out is obvious. Ewu SDKB!!!
DeleteMhmm! Thank you. You af try! Next!
ReplyDeleteAmerica over sabi too much, y wont they just copy Britain wey get the language instead of putting all of us in this confusion
DeleteSoccer field, football pitch lol
ReplyDeleteGud 2 know..
ReplyDeleteWaoh!
ReplyDeleteWow
ReplyDeleteSo which language calls it Jersey? Oriegwu!
ReplyDeleteKelvin dat Edo Boi ( Stellz cousin )
Was looking out for French fries and chips... That one don do me sege... But as a proper Nigerian, we use them both, afterall, I am neither American nor British. I learnt o, check as cheque... wow. Nice one Stella
ReplyDeleteSometimes, when you spell cheque, some people will look at it as if it's wrong. Mtchewww
DeleteStella u've posted this before..no knowledge is wasted.
ReplyDeleteUche gi di ya
DeleteStella have you heard what flavour said about marriage? Did you hear the flimsy excuse he gave for not wanting to get married yet? He said that whenever most of his colleagues gets married, everything starts crashing down. So marriage is a distraction for him at this point in his career.
ReplyDeleteWhat a human being!
What business of urs is that??
DeleteNo face ur husband dick....de dere de monitor flavour life
Wooow na wa English get as e be.
ReplyDeleteTrouser - Pant
ReplyDeletePant - Underwear.
I suffered from the misuse of some of these words
ReplyDeleteI asked my husband to buy biscuit for me, he bought something like bread. I needed to bake it before eating.
I continued to say chips instead of French fries until of recent.
For toilet, I went to JC penny and asked one of the attendants for lavatory, she did not understand. I said ladies, she did not get it, until my husband said restroom.
Till today I still say boot. That trunk no gree enter my mouth.
I have a lot to write, but I am tired of writing. Work plenty for me.
But we use the word restroom in Nigeria naa.you should know that one
DeleteLol yea I know the biscuit. It's usually in a narrow tin and is soggy until u bake it. It comes out like a lil muffin. I actually was addicted to it when I was preggy with my first. Very white and soft eh. Oh America
DeleteOriegwu.....
ReplyDeleteYou've posted it before. Thanks though
ReplyDeleteSome words that has 'u' America no want am:
ReplyDeleteeg (America)
Favor
Flavor
Savior
color
Parlor. Etc
Bt stella u av posted this tin b4 na
ReplyDeleteBritish English all the way.
ReplyDeleteNoted
ReplyDeleteI use all both them English interchangeably.
ReplyDeleteStella what happens to all the comments I sent here?.... you swallow them?....abi you are partial in posting?....odi kwa wonder.
ReplyDeleteSend this to Toke, that way we identify which country she is imitating specifically. Then the aubergine should be sent to Linda. She likes that a lot.
ReplyDeleteWoow!This is good and have learnt thanks Stella.
ReplyDeleteIn Nigeria we were colonised by the British, therefore we adopt British English on this side of the pond. Anyone that uses American English is thus grammatically incorrect. End of!!!