Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Sabon Gari Market In Kano Still Under Lock After Fire Outbreak....

Wednesday, March 30, 2016

Sabon Gari Market In Kano Still Under Lock After Fire Outbreak....

Blog Visitor Situation Report.

Hello Stella,So sorry that i didn't send pictures as promised that day. My relative was directly affected by the Kano market fire incident. The desire to take pictures faded away when i met the whole family in tears.
Meanwhile, as at today, the market is still closed. Efforts to make the market manageable is ongoing.

Abubakar Rimi Market, popularly known as Sabon Gari market is one of the largest market in West Africa. The market accommodates all of Africans as it is seen as the hub of cheap commodities.

The Relationship Between Traders.
Although, we can't rule out the possibility of an Ibo trader envying  a Hausa trader and vice-versa; but the market, for ages has enjoyed a relative success in building a brotherly relationship between different ethnic and different religious traders. 
There have been cases of reported feuds between Hausas and Ibos. There are also reported cases of pure jealousy between same tribes. (I personally know a particular scenario where an Hausa phone dealer is so envied by his Hausa neighbor) Some of this fact can lay credence to the arson story.

When To Expect The Market To Open
An average Northerner depends on daily business/sales to fend for his Family as the case maybe. For this reason, the market cannot be closed for a long time. Closing the market for a long time will definitely invite hunger on door posts. lol

Possible Cause of The Fire
There are different version of stories as to the real cause of the inferno. While some are guessing a deliberate cause(arson), the larger part of the public chose to go down with the electricity story as the cause of the inferno. There are accusations and counter accusations as regards which tribe or market section caused the  ugly incident. 

Whatever the cause of the fire may be, there are salient questions that needs urgent answers.
This is the second time in just a very short period that the same market is witnessing inferno. Why did all cases of fire start only in the night?
Just few months ago, Kano GSM market was gutted in fire and millions in cash and in goods submitted to the superiority of the angry fire. Both the GSM market and the two Sabon Gari fire incidences have a similar story line as to the cause. The state of our economic paralysis is also a major factor that aggravated the damages. Direct communication to fire service was down, when they eventually came, there was no water to combat the fire. Lol.

Stella, the fire burnt for good 22 hours. 

Whatever the cause of the fire may be, lets keep our fingers crossed while we await the reports from our forensic experts. If at all they are carrying out investigations o.  Attached are  exclusive  pictures for SDK

BVN FOR SDK BLOG

6 comments:

1. May God Almighty console eeryone affected. I hope they find peace within their souls

2. They want to dobotvloke tejuosho market, state government ti take over

3. I equally heard that they disconnected the electricity to avoid such but after the privatisation, the KEDCO guys went to the market, told those in-charge about the new organisation and gave them assurance of good service, not quite long, the incident occured and some guys are saying they'll definitely sue KEDCO. #NaSoIhear

See one Igbo Man after helping others to remove things from their shops, he left thinking that the fire won't reach his shop, chai chai everything burnt.
    Some of these Hausa boys really looted things, well they caught one and threw him inside the fire... #WAP #SMH

I entered the market on Saturday hoping to do my normal monthly shopping, all my customers' shops were razed down even the First Bank too.

I don't think they should be pointing accusing fingers on who started the fire when there are so many night security guards.

One man brought out his 'plenty' money, and went inside his shop to bring in some goods out, somebody picked the money and before he could shout, all the goods were on fire. #smh
    The fire dey mysterious shah and na God hand we dey.

4. That was how I saw a post someone made on face book. Instablog carried the news. Went to the guys page and I couldn't help but shake my head for him. He had already deleted the exact post where he said he is thankful to whoever it is that set the market place on fire as that should make the igbos leave their state to biafra land.. He had deleted the post but was screen grabbed before he did. But his other post were so tribalistic. He has so much hate in his system thay needs so much honey.

If this was arson then it's the same tribalistic sentiments we are dealing with whixh should stop. What will it profit you to envy someone else. Sometimes I read some comments here and I shake my head. The hatred can be felt from comments but to what end. When some people are busy hating, some are busy making money. I have seen different tribes come together and grow their business to a good height. There is so much growth when different people come together to make something work..

But with out mind set, I don't make know if that is achievable right now. We do have a long way to go..

For the sake of peace I do hope it was electricity malfunction..

5. Since APC is rulling is only fire out break all the time.