Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Police detains Lekki Gardens MD, Richard Nyong Over Building Collapse..

Friday, March 11, 2016

Police detains Lekki Gardens MD, Richard Nyong Over Building Collapse..

Richard Nyong, the Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of Lekki Gardens, owners of the collapsed building on Kushenla Road, Ikate Elegushi, Lekki, is now in the custody of Panti Police Station in Lagos.

Lagos Police Public Relations Officer, Mrs. Dolapo Badmos, on Thursday said Nyong will be charged to court once investigations were completed.

Governor Akinwunmi Ambode had ordered all Directors of Lekki Worldwide Estate Limited to submit themselves to the Lagos State Commissioner of Police, Mr. Fatai Owoseni, within 24 hours or face arrest.

Nyong, it was gathered, reported himself to the office of the Commissioner of Police in company of his lawyer, Mr. Wole Olanipekun (SAN) and was detained after interrogation.

The number of deaths rose to 34 late Wednesday as rescue operation ended. Thirteen people were rescued alive.
Dailypost reportage.

44 comments:

1. He should face the music.

2. Everyone who stays in lekki knows squatters live in uncompleted buildings, if the building was properly sealed off noone would have gained entrance but I'm sure they put their stupid red X, finish! If this man is in jail so should TB joshua. Lekki gardens has helped a lot of people become home owners, compare their prices with others so people shouting good for him please shut up! You probably don't even know where their estates are you're just ff the bunch

3. TBs building collapse had 100+(hope I'm correct) including internationals but he wasn't arrested, WHY? Is he above the law?

4. Hmmm Mr Olanipekun na my oga o. Trust him to sort this out somehow. But mehnn..make I dey observe

2. Y dis fine man go dey build nonsense house wey no Strong, it is well oo.

3. Nyong? A kenyan?
    Let him face the music squarely.
    All these land they are reclaiming from the sea and not doing the needful leading to unnecessary death.

1. AKWA ibom, or Cross river.
      Tank me lerra

4. This man career go soon die. If Mrs LA sees this she will just pursue all the lekki gardens marketers.

1. I can't believe it took them this long to get Richard. He has been building houses with substandard materials for a while now. People have been calling out but cos he is not the "real" owner of lekki gardens government just turned a blind eye. Now they must take action

2. Why will the building not collapse when they won't fill it and wait till it's time before building on it. All that area is surrounded by water. Building a house there without proper sand,concrete or rod filling will end in disaster. Nonsense! Fine house that won't last even a decade before it bends one side before collapsing or collapses totally

3. Keep kwayet biko! Calling Richard like you know him

5. The begining of the end for him
    God help him

RIP to the dead

6. Good to know.
    But why no one arrested when a building. belonging to a popular yoruba pastor collapsed in the same Lagos . killing more than a hundred parishioners & miracle seekers?

1. If you're talking about TB Joshua, you might want to use Google. That matter is in court.

2. Are you thinking what m thinking?

3. James, I agree with you on this. Good he was arrested but is there a reason T.B. Joshua wasn't arrested that we don't know about?

4. Please help me ask.cause he should have been arrested and the death toll was even higher. That matter has suddenly died. We are in an animal farm,some humans are more equal and important than others

7. I hope this case will be treated with all seriousness that it requires, because of human lives that was lost.
    This accident should have been avoided if the relevant authorities were on top of the duties.

8. End time money and buildings
    Abeg notin concern agbero with over-load.a lot of tinz running 2ru my mind now.

Mc pinky

9. Richard Nyong is not a Property Developer and Lekki Gardens are not property developers. They are basically a marketing company. Property development is a serious business for serious people. Lekki Gardens is a Ponzi Scheme. Always said so.

10. I hope no be dem build golf estates victims shud sue them till dey file for bankruptcy! Kai! I love 'king of torts'

11. 34 Innocent people dead?
    E reach to detain o.
    RIP to d dead.

12. Na wa o, Person go dey fear to enter some kind buildings for lag again?

13. Oh Nyong.....his wife owns the company, he is from akwaibom and the wife is Yoruba. He is........let the chief decoders do the remaining. The wife is a very rich babe, terribly rich and extremely humble. I know them and I will not say more than that. Its so unfortunate this thing happens to them.....

14. Richard, ur problems have just started oh. Sabi u were feeling like a god. Remember Dod assess road u built on.

15. Good, its high time people are prosecuted over this kind of matter where many loose their lives over deliberate carelessness of land property developers.

16. Hmmmm...so this Lekki Gardens is a ponzi?? Oya decoders pls expose them cos I'm about to buy one of their. Units for 40m!

1. Which of the projects have they delivered on? After all the substandard house you see in their estates you still want to take a risk. Why not use your money to get a land in an estate and build over time. Be wise.

2. Add me on bbm and I will hook u up to a developer that'll sell a 3 bedroom duplex ensuite in lekki at same price....... 2b6fd0b2

3. OK thanks would add u now!

17. Na soo, I hear say the guy spoil business for real estate developers wey dey carry people money run and fix big big prices people no fit pay, now all of them don turn bad belle , they wan make e die now. Naija na waaaooo. we like to kill better things.

Make God help am and make e learn lesson shaa. its well.

18. All these ignorant people talking about Lekki Gardens, go home and do your findings. Stop blabbing the vomit some of our media houses cough up. T.B Joshua's guest house collapsed and killed scores of people,including expatriates. Yet, he was never indicted and continues to walk the streets of Nigeria like a king.

Richard Nyong never introduced a ponzi scheme as y'all claim. He had a dream and delivered on it. Everyone is given an opportunity with this man's generosity. They made a mistake by not sealing off the building's premises. The construction workers and squatters who had been driven from their shanties moved in as security was lax.

He submitted himself to the Authorities without incident instead of absconding.