Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Osun State Will NOT Pay March Salaries

Friday, March 18, 2016

Osun State Will NOT Pay March Salaries

From all indications, the Osun state government will be unable to pay the March salaries of its workers, as the state only got N6.23 million in federal allocation for the month.

This is far below the N56 million it received in September 2015. 

Rauf Aregbesola, governor of the state, has said the sum will not even be enough to pay electricity bills for the state secretariat.
“Money coming from the Federation Account has dipped seri­ously and our hope for survival is in our hands; what our forefathers lived on was agriculture,” Aregbesola said back in September 2015.

“For September, our state got N55.8 million. The money we received cannot pay for the power supply by Ibadan Electricity Distribution Company (IBEDC) that we use at the state Secretariat monthly.”

According to the accountant-general of the federation, the state got a gross statutory allocation of N1.677 billion for February, slightly above the allocation for Ekiti, Ebonyi, Kwara and Bayelsa.

Osun also got N19.418 million and N726.1 million from the exchange rate gain and value added tax, resulting in a total gross amount of N2.423 billion for the month.
The total allocation for Osun was seen to be higher than Nasarawa, Kwara, Gombe, Ekiti and Ebonyi.

However, with the removal of the N70.989 million, N945.881 million and N1.400 billion in external debt, Irrevocable Standing Payment Order (ISPO), and other debts, the state was left with a net allocation of N6.23 million.
With a wage bill of over N2.6 billion, the net allocation of N6.23 million would do next to nothing in the southwestern state with meagre internally generated revenue (IGR).

Every other state of the federation had a minimum net allocation of N1 billion.
Bayelsa, Ebonyi, Ekiti, Kwara, Gombe, Nasarawa, had a net allocation of N2.984 billion, N2.167 billion, N1.377 billion, N1.815 billion, N2.300 billion, N2.169 billion respectively.
With a wage bill of N2.6 billion, Ekiti, like Osun, led by Ayodele Fayose, may also have problems meeting its wage obligations.

On the high end, Akwa Ibom, Delta, Lagos and Rivers state got N8.557 billion, N6.062 billion, N6.612 billion and N5.427 billion respectively.

culled - www.thecable.ng

55 comments:

1. March?.. The nit wit hasn't paid December salary... And the previous months were half salaries.

2. Ok na. The workers are to celebrate Easter with empty pockets?Oriegwu!

1. How much did Osun govt coughed out for the oni's wedding?
      Now they can pay salaries of people that worked for it.
      Murdafukers!

3. Lmao. They should come and make mouth again. Language people

1. Bwahahahaha. James. You are wicked. Choi

2. Anon22:20,I know you are the same anonymous troll dat always insult like no 2moro.U said una have 3 people on the Forbes list.E don happen
      Oya,make Ur "Forbes list " brothers help out their own people.

4. Naija my country what's the way forward?

5. Too bad. Country gone bad for real.

6. These people keep playing on the intelligence of the masses.
    Its aregbesola that took those loans and now the people are the ones suffering for it. With the over bloated and padded projects executed with the loans.
    Sm govt will take loan to build govt house etc which has no economic value.

7. So paying electricity is more important than paying workers.god punish this ram look alike governor

8. Na wa ooo the harshship is too much in Bayelsa. No salaries since January, workers are frustrated. If salaries are not paid before rhe month ends people will die ooo.O God please come to our rescue. The state is too dry.am reporting live from Bayelsa.

1. You guys voted dickson so deal with...as osun ppl will deal with aregbe

9. Osun in the news again for not paying salaries. Mtchewww.

10. All this estimation is for what na, why can't he just be a nice governor.

11. Where is our Minister for Agriculture?

What innovations has he rolled out or did I miss the memo?

12. Kogi state hasn't bn abl to pay salaries for 5months now too,Nigeria is nt in trouble

13. He was just taking fake and dodgy loans so now he must pay up!

14. Hahahahahaha....
    Is this a joke or something?...
    Good for them!....

15. There is no kind of story we hv not heard in this country

16. What is wrong with this man?

17. Only in Nigeria will you work and not get paid at the end of the month......

18. So you can have enough to steal from..no state Governor in this country Can deny it doesn't have enough money for salaries how? When the recurrent expenditure is most times more than the capital expenditure? This greedy ugly long beard man be telling stories to the poor people of the state since 2000.

19. #bringbackcorruption

20. I hope they are not complaining. They voted for change

1. Same way you voted to call some people Osu. Same you voted in your family to kill your brothers and inherit their property. Send away their wives and kids to hawk gala and pure water

21. I hope they are not complaining. They voted for change

1. Your stupidity is alarming! People from our side the country could mistake your reasoning for the level of education on Nigeria, unfortunately, it is not so. You are Just a daft human being.

If we had voted to retain Jonadaft, from where would he be paying state allocations since 90% of the nation's revenue comes from oil sales.

For one, oil prices have plummeted while even the export have dropped since Shell declared a Force Majeure due to militant activities.
      Where would Jonathan have paid monies from? Oh I forgot, he could release some from those looted by him and his cronies.

2. Anon23:13,Pls GEJ managed the economy better than the daura dullard. This is what you get when you choose an illiterate. dat failed almost every subject in school including English and Maths.to rule a country.
      Shebi una want Change, una don get an naw. Just learn to tighten ur belt the more. This is just d beginning. This is history repeating itself.This is the same thing that happened when he ruled some years ago

3. Anon, a beast is better than you. Jonathan is daft abi, then u are as good as dead. Imbecile!

4. Monica, YES! Jonathan is daft!

If not he won't meet $65Bln in our account, be earning astronomical oil revenue and still end up borrowing to pay salaries!

I agree he is your hero, that is fine, but it doesn't change what it is: GEJ is daft!

5. James, your education has been wasted if you say someone that earned $18 higher than budgeted Crude oil prices for 4 years but still ended up borrowing to pay salary when Oil price fell to $65 had managed the economy well.

But you are now saying someone doing the same stuff at $32 as Crude prices is not doing enough. Truly you should return every penny spent sending you to school.

22. Sorry ooo!
    Let me know if any of you needs some of my dollars ....
    Love from America :)

1. Anon 22:35,I hope you are making plans to be shipped back. Trump is on his way to the White House.

23. Can't there be an uprising or revolution in this hell hole of a country. Nigerians are so weak and the only thing they know how to do is fight the govt with internet. Wake up you dumbfucks and start holding this people responsible. Now watch them insult me in the comment section like the retards they are

24. Men....Thats my state oo.Thank God my mum is A federal staff.How she for do?but she will be forced to still help pple.

25. You would never see xoxo and her cohorts on this type of topic never
    But if it is to insult,create drama and gossip u would see them on such post along side that stupid woman xp.

26. This is one of the wickedest acts that happens all too often in Nigeria. How can you expect someone to work months on end without an income. How are these workers expected to meet their financial obligations, feed and house themselves? Wickedness of the highest order.

27. Nigeria with our miss placed priorities, no money for salary but there's for electricity bills. Who want light without food on the table, to watch tales by moonlight or Nollywood movies? Let this politicians keep pushing the masses, when they snap out of their peaceful demeanor, there will be a great change indeed.

28. States should learn to fend for themselves not depending on FG for every of her needs. Is the masses that are suffering more everyday and our leaders are not feeling this hardship at all

29. Mr James, Jonadaft abi Jonadull was in the Govt house for how many years??? May God keep us all alive to see the positive change this present Govt would achieve. Idiot like you expecting to see results within the snap of a finger. After all the shit ur brothers thievery put us in?! I just wonder if it's actually a brain between ur ears!? Mtcsheeeeeeew