Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: How A Nigerian Banker Was Allegedly Killed By His Colleague After Baiting Him To Crime Scene With Dinner Invitation

Wednesday, March 09, 2016

How A Nigerian Banker Was Allegedly Killed By His Colleague After Baiting Him To Crime Scene With Dinner Invitation

The human heart is the most deceitful of all things,and desperately wicked.” 

MR OROGUN AND FAMILY.
This Bible verse readily comes to mind when you read about the circumstances surrounding the death of Nigerian-born Managing Director of Guaranty Trust Bank in Liberia, Mr. Daniel Orogun who was allegedly murdered in cold blood by an associate who invited him and his family to dinner on January 24, 2016.

It was learned that contrary to information received after the incident that Mr Daniel Orogun was celebrating his an anniversary on a boat cruise, investigations, according to close family sources, revealed that a client of the deceased invited him to his seaside mansion where the unfortunate incident occurred. 

Dinner at the seaside: 

According to reports, the client has been inviting the deceased and his family to his seaside mansion home for dinner but he could not honour it. However, it was gathered that in November last year when the banker wanted to honour one of such invitations, he failed again after he accidentally injured his thumb on his car door while preparing to honour it. 

Elder brother opens up: 

Elder brother to the deceased banker, Felix Orogun who spoke with Crime Alert narrated how the ugly incident took place.  He said he led a Late Mr. Daniel Orogun family delegation to Liberia after receiving the sad news of the death of their brother.   His words: “His wife, Isioma told us that on that fateful day, after church services that Sunday, my brother Daniel was having a haircut at home when he received a phone call from a customer reminding him of a dinner invitation. Reluctantly, he, alongside his wife and children, decided to honour the invitation after the client called three more times. 

Before he left the house, he took a bottle of wine and some soft drinks. Being a football fan, he was said to have called his client to inform him of developments in the Chelsea and Arsenal match.” 

Narration by deceased’s wife: 

According to his wife,  “On getting to the house of the host, he offered us drink but Dan went into his vehicle and brought a bottle of the drink he brought from home. After a while, his host said we should all go for a boat ride and return for dinner. He took us to the boat, not knowing that there was no life jacket. We were eight in the boat — my husband and I, our three children, our host, Mr. Kailondo and two others. Experienced divers A diver named Michael was also following us on a Jet Skii, while our host was in charge of the helm.  Before we set out on the calm river,  I asked for safety procedure and life jacket, but was shocked when our host said there were no life jackets but we were assured that there was no problem and that experienced divers were with us. It was too late for any of us to get out of the boat because as soon as I raised the question about life jacket, our host, Mr Kailondo quickly moved the boat from its moorings.

“While we were inside, Michael the diver was displaying some acrobatic as he followed the boat with the jet skii, two other divers were seated at the nose of the boat. When we got to a point, our host suggested that we should ride into the high sea. Dan and I rejected the idea. We then stopped, relaxed and were chatting while Dan was responding to news on the football game going on through his phone. Music was going on in the boat. Dan was at the back seat. 

Our host took a bottle of whisky, emptied part of it into Dan’s cup, luckily he saw it and challenged him by asking whether he has forgotten that the cup was his. I made sure he did not drink from the cup again. 

New twist:

“While everyone was relaxed, our host was watching my husband and dancing at the same time. All of a sudden and unexpectedly, he started the engine with very high speed and made an almost 360 degrees anti-clock wise turn with the boat. While the children and I fell inside the boat as we lost balance, my husband fell off the boat into the river. Michael, the diver that was following the boat on jet Skil was suddenly no longer in sight. Surprisingly, the young men that were sitting on the nose of the boat did not fall inside the river, which shows they were expecting such a move. Instead of our host to stop, he rode away for a few minutes while the children and I were screaming for him to go and get their father.   

He reluctantly turned the boat to go and meet him, and he put-off the engine midway. 

Struggle for safety:

“In the meantime, my husband was swimming towards the boat, while I was fighting hard to prevent the children from jumping into the river because they wanted to go and rescue their father.  I cried and pleaded with our host to go and assist my husband while the children were crying. I also pleaded with the two young men who were sitting on the nose of the boat to throw the rescue rope to my husband but they refused and suddenly claimed that they could not swim though our host introduced them at the onsets as divers.   

All this while, Michael the diver who was following the boat was nowhere to be found. I had to start calling for help with my phone when I saw the way things were going, I called for help from outside. 

Belated last minute efforts:

“Reluctantly, our host removed his shirt, jumped into the river, swam and met my husband who was already swimming towards the boat, held him back to prevent him from swimming towards the boat by clipping his hands to his body.   The next thing was that he sank into the water with him,  stayed under the water for some time and came out of the water from another side without my husband.” 

The distraught family members of the deceased further alleged that when questioned after the lifeless body of the banker was found three days later at the scene of the incident, their host simply attributed it to witchcraft.

Doubts over role of Liberian security:  Lamenting the manner the case is being handled by Liberian security operatives, the family spokesperson said;  “These criminals and murderers ought to have been taken into custody instead of allowing them to roam the streets of Monrovia with impunity.” He also appealed to Liberian  Director of National Police,  Mr Clarence Chris Massquol,  who is alleged to be an in-law to the man that hosted the bereaved family, George Kailondo and the main suspect,  not to allow marital ties to succumb to the pressure that this relationship will exert upon his office.

Vanguard reportage.

I dont understand this story...why would he commit the crime in front of several witnessesß

73 comments:

1. Very wicked!!!

1. Let God judge.
      Rip to the dead.

2. Wait oo,if truly that Dan denied this devil incarnate a loan as they said,why would he honour his death iv? Isn't it obviously that this man just want to end his life. He drowned the poor helpless man forgetting that there's God ooo.

3. I watched a replica of this case on crime channel.
      Yes,he did it in front of so many witnesses because he knows people will believe that since everyone was watching,it isn't a crime. This guy in CI was found guilty and sentenced to life without parole.

4. There was no Obstacle at sight, why will he swing the boat with such force that Mr Banker was thrown inside water? His plans of getting him drunk didn't work if not he would have said he was drunk and jumped and when they do a toxicology report it will add credit to their part of the story. This is a new method of killing people without much forensic evidence, people should watch crime channel.
      A man went thru the stress of wooing,dating and finally married a lady and drowned her on their honeymoon. He convinced her to jump into the ocean with him from their boat and since he was an expert diver he would rescue her. She died. They later found out he went all that miles to get back at the girls dad after so many years. The man didn't even recognise him.
      Proving this case was like a hard nut but with technology and several psychologist and one silly mistake by the dude. The girl actually had a device that was recording their fun honeymoon,it was later discovered.

5. He allowed the man to swim for a while so that by the time he dives into finish him the banker would have been tired to fight under water.
      This is first degree murder.

6. During the Liberia civil war Kailindo (a well armed Sierra Leonne citizen) looted generators and other valuable items from Lebanese businesses in Moronvia using vehicles loaded with armed ULIMO-K rebels.

Kailondo is a known war criminal so I cannot understand why Mr. Oregun will associate with him.
      Kailondo announced last week that he is starting Moronvia Air on June 2016 - I guess he will be using the GTB money he has killed for to start it.
      I hear the Liberian police are in his pockets so no case will come out of this.

7. What fuckery? Madame u didn't do well o. You should have bit the bastard on the scrotum and designed his body with ur finger nails. You allowed them stay put while ur hubby was swimming to survive? Let me not even blame u, cos I can't imagine how confused and helpless u must have been

And the 2 idiots called divers were watching? OK let's assume that as he turned the boat you all fell along with ur hubby, he would have succeeded in killing the entire family and will claim it was an accident.

You shouldn't have gone on that ride without a vest. Especially with your children on board. It was a costly risk you took.. These idiots must be prosecuted.

He prolly has a loan hanging that only ur hubby is aware of. As I can't seem to understand the reason for this day light murder

1. I don't understand this story either. Did this man actually commit murder in plain sight or the wife is filled with grief and wants to hold someone responsible for her husbands death so she now thinks she saw things she didn't see? What was thr man's motive in the first place?

2. Trinity your stupidity reigns supreme.... Daft idiot just shut up sometimes

3. The heart of man is really desperately wicked.

4. Omg! The heart of man is truly filled with evil..Stella, It was all planned, after all that happened, he jumped into the river to rescue the man right? and they both were below water level for some time. In his defense, he would say he could't swim but had to jump into the river to save his friend as no one else was willing to,he could also say they both almost died as he was struggling to help his drowning friend blah blah blah. This man is a murderer and his defence will be, why will I want to kill a man with so many witnesses, I'm so angry right now and I pray the family gets a good lawyer that will throw him in jail (Harvey n Mike kinda thing)mtscheeeew!

1. Wise thinking.that's his defence.why will he kill a man in front of his family.the man is a psycho nd he s claiming witchcraft. Wickedness of the highest order

2. True. And the question should be, why did he introduce the other guys as divers? He made them comfy and didn't provide them any vests. It'll now be her words against his. Nonsense

5. He had to commit the crime in front of the several witnesses 'cos he had NO other choice!!! he didn't know when next to get the man to honour another invitation and the plot was a MUST do.
    Stella this ur question sef!!!

6. Kai...people are really wicked. This post just reminded me of my very violent ex that kept inviting me over to his place. Someone that threatened to kill me and dump my body and nobody would knw what happened(story for another day). He lost his dad after our breakup and kept reassuring me he was a changed person. I actually felt pity for him and decided to go see him just one last time. (He is very persuasive). After all arrangements had bn done,i cant explain why i stopped picking his calls a day to the d-day. He just kept calling and calling. It must be God and my mum's prayers protecting me cos til date if anyone asks me,i still can't explain it. Since that day, he hasn't called nor texted. Recent stories of murder by violent exes makes me shudder when i think of what could have bn my fate. Thank God i never showed him my residence despite him disturbing me to meet my mum. May the killers of this man be brought to justice. This is so evil.

7. Kai...people are really wicked. This post just reminded me of my very violent ex that kept inviting me over to his place. Someone that threatened to kill me and dump my body and nobody would knw what happened(story for another day). He lost his dad after our breakup and kept reassuring me he was a changed person. I actually felt pity for him and decided to go see him just one last time. (He is very persuasive). After all arrangements had bn done,i cant explain why i stopped picking his calls a day to the d-day. He just kept calling and calling. It must be God and my mum's prayers protecting me cos til date if anyone asks me,i still can't explain it. Since that day, he hasn't called nor texted. Recent stories of murder by violent exes makes me shudder when i think of what could have bn my fate. Thank God i never showed him my residence despite him disturbing me to meet my mum. May the killers of this man be brought to justice. This is so evil.

1. My dear. When I read the above story reminded me of those I have encountered believe their lies and van revenge for Africa. I finally listen to God kept my distance

8. This is really serious. May his soul RIP

9. Sigh... This is sad, but let me say, they saw the signs and btw, why was the host insistent on having them for dinner? RIP to him. I dont really understand the story though.

10. I don't doubt the story @Stella, the guy knows that laws in Liberia is worse than in nigeria, so he will escape the wahala. Besides, it's the man's family's words against his/his men. People will say that the family is speaking out of grief ni, or have same doubt as you Stella did.
    For the MD to go with his own wine, he already didn't trust the host, that is my submission.

11. The heart of man is desperately wicked, the operative word being DESPERATELY.

He probably wanted to get him out of the way, by any means.
    Meanwhile, he can claim that he tried rescuing the man, but they both went under, and the man slipped from his grasp as he was fighting for his own life too.

And again, the three divers are his employees, so, it's his words against the women and her children.

The question should be, 'why did he want the banker dead'?
    Were they involved in a shady financial deal?

Na wah o!

If he really murdered this man in such a fashion, it's only God that would repay him accordingly.

12. Replies
    1. How? What missile was he dodging that made him swing the boat around like that? Do you know how much turn he would have made in such speed to throw that man off board?
      He has the boat so he knows the implication of that fatal swing.

13. Hmmm..there is something about this story.

Very sad though. I almost drowned once, so I kinda know what it means to "die in water".

14. So Sad!!Dere must hve been a deal gone wrong

15. Hmmm...I don't believe this story but anything is possible

16. I don't understand too.
    This is so Endtime-ish

17. Stella Kaliando killed Dan by drowning him, Kaliando asked for a loan which Dan explained to him that he can get for some reasons

18. This broke my heart.Some people are wicked.

19. Stella better understand he doesn't care bc he knows the other witness are his own people it would be difficult for she and her kids to testify against this man without any support from a Liberian.
    The man had the signs that was why something kept stopping him from going to that diner but I wonder why go on a boat cruise on a said dinner and they didn't ask for life jackets until they were seated.
    With the way the lady spoke she also felt uneasy about the whole stuff
    One thing I notice about we nigerians is that we do things to please people too much a while man would bluntly turn down that iv if he has double minds.
    Our own is make them for no vex or call us bad person.
    May God give her the grace to bear the loss and rip to the dead.
    Let's justice be done and there would forever be no peace for the wicked.

1. True. I learned the hard way. Infact I don't eat outside my house these r the last days

20. Wickedness with all alacrity!!! God will punish the idiot

21. The Liberia man has got loan that Daniel helped him to get from the bank unlawfully and he ain't ready to pay up,that's why he decided to kill the only witness to the loan.this life eeeeehhhhhh.

22. and GTB naija no fit do anything for their staff by fokkowing this case to a logicsl conclusion....yeeye dey smell nooni sharumi

23. Stella d answer 2 ur question is simple, itz thr word against his and we all knw whuz word day ll bleiv coupled wit d fact dat d man is an Inlaw 2 thr police chief

24. Pre-planned... when every other plans failed, he didn't mind clearing all the family. I pray justice is served. Evil world we live in.

25. When will Nigerians realize that Liberians, an unfortunate group of people with no origin, do not like us at all?
    Or that Ebola nigga( May his soul never rest in peace) has been forgotten so soon?
    May Dan's spirit begin to haunt that son of a repatraited slave.

1. Liberian are heartless people..It has nothing to do with Nigerians. .they are wicked by nature

2. My dear, you are right! Liberians are soooo wicked!!! This isn't about this story, I've dealt with them before...

26. mumu taking a bottle of wine does not mean he was suspicious....its common practice to take wine for your host if you are a dinner guest...it is only we Africans that always want to eat eat and eat without giving back.....it obviously was a set up....may God give the family justice

27. Stella, I believe the story. These are the last days and the devil is in a rage... Demons are openly controlling people, how do you explain the story of the guy who killed his 7 year old brother and fed his penis to a DOG? #demonsonrampage

28. Stella, I believe the story. These are the last days and the devil is in a rage... Demons are openly controlling people, how do you explain the story of the guy who killed his 7 year old brother and fed his penis to a DOG? #demonsonrampage

29. The banker may have loaned him money ( big money ) and when it was time to pay he refused. Business gone wrong. Painful death. R.I.P to the dead.

30. Bankers, deals and murders. However, why go to such length when he could have hired an assassin? Assuming this is what actually happened, my advise would be for the woman and her kids to be very careful. This particular case would be impossible to prove except God himself takes it up in court.

31. They should have insisted on life jackets. They even risked their children's lives by taking them to the dinner. The whole scenario definitely looks pre-meditated but it'll be hard to prove. May the deceased rest in peace.

32. women's intituition is always spot on, if only this woman had listened to her voice, I cant for anything let my kids most especially enter a boat without life-jacket. I will make a scene.
    Most times when we suspect a maid is stealing from us, or hubby is even cheating. Most times we are right.
    I don't know if dis man did this thing purposely or not, but God will punish him.
    Where was even his own family? you want to take my whole family on a trip, where is urs.
    Even if he didn't do this purposely. He is still liable bcos its wrong to put ppl especially kids on ur boat without any safety precaution or life jacket. If it were abroad he can be sued for wrongful death or manslaughter.
    Now this poor woman is a widow. I hope GTB will take care of them.

33. The Story is so sad. The man was having signs not to go but he ignored it. I can only pray Justice is done.

May God give the family the fortitude to bear the loss.

34. simply because he will get away with it.. i pity the family how they watched their father die.

35. If that is how it happened, then it is so heart wrenching. Infront of his kids? Wife? The story is so disturbing, wickedness. What was the motive of that rich client? How does Mr. Orugun's death benefit him ? Or is he acting on behalf of some other person ?

36. Sometimes there are hints...honoring the invitation was difficult...maybe it wasn't Gods will he honored it

37. The Liberian is guilty and heartless.
    There r simple ways that showed this man never had to honour the invitation. A lesson to us all. The deceased injured his thump. When things r happening like this never honor the invitation. Block the number.
    RIP
    That. Whiskey was to intoxicate the deceased to it will be lil he accidentally fell off the boat.
    Stella thanks for sharing and reminding us people r heartless.

38. PD Young Billionaire11 March 2016 at 04:37

Wow