Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: FG To Inject N350bn To Revive Economy

Wednesday, March 23, 2016

FG To Inject N350bn To Revive Economy

To rebound the dwindling economy, the Federal Government, yesterday, announced its readiness to inject a total of N350 billion in the next few months.

The decision was reached at the end of a two-day retreat for governors of the 36 of the federation and members of the National Economic Council (NEC) at the Presidential Villa in Abuja.

The Minister of Finance, Kemi Adeosun, made the disclosure alongside Minister of National Planning, Mr Udoma Udo Udoma; Governor Abdul’aziz Yari of Zamfara State, who is also chairman of the Nigerian Governors Forum and Governor Willi Obiano of Anambra State at a press conference.

According to her, part of the money will help offset the debt owed local contractors, who had laid off their workers for lack of funds.
The minister added that the state governors were also advised to reduce the number of political appointees and aides as a way of reducing the cost of governance.

She said: “We deliberated extensively on the drop in revenue, particularly as to how it affects the state governments and their ability to pay salaries and obligations. The general resolve of the house and consensus was that there was need to bring in more cost efficiency in their operations.

"In particular, to look at the setting up of the efficiency unit within the state governments, to rationalise expenditure and, of course, to increase IGR. To that end, there was a need to generate data because data is the basis of any revenue collecting efforts.
“The federal and state inland revenue services collaborate to do joint audits to invest in revenue, relevant technology and efforts to improve collection. There is a need to develop incentives for both federal and state revenue generating agencies to ensure that there is an alignment of interest.
"There is a focus at state level on property and consumption taxes to help in improving revenue in a fair manner. Tax payer education must be intensified and to expand the tax base and ensure that there is a buy-in in the revenue collection agencies from the populace.

“State governors were encouraged, where possible, to rationalize numbers of commissioners and general political appointees and, in addition, cost control measures to be identified and implemented on an on-going basis and there was a sharing of best practices from a number of states that could be applied elsewhere.

“From the Federal Ministry of Finance in anticipation of the approval of the budget, we have virtually lined up about N350 billion which we would be pumping into the Nigerian economy in the forth coming months. We explained our rational and the processes that we have put in place, safe guards to ensure that this money actually achieves the desired objective which is to stimulate the economy."
In a similar note, Minister of Budget and National Planning, Senator Udo Udoma, stated that the council resolved to focus on agriculture. The resolve was in collaboration with state governments.

According to the minister, Nigeria has slated December 2018 and 2019 to achieve self-sufficiency in both rice and wheat productions.
He also revealed that state governments had been encouraged to identify at least two crops in their respective states for development just as they were also enjoined to open up some rural and feeder roads in their states.

Vanguard reportage

24 comments:

1. End time Injection kwa? Sweet injection is gud ooo

2. Dont sit at home and revive your economy trot the globe aimlessly and decieve yourself about seeking foreign investors. Who wants to come and invest where there is no good economy?

1. This is wia d problems lies.where are u pumping the funds to,and to whom is d bearer.

All dis looters around the world

Mc pinky

1. My lovely dude..make I folo u hiss.

Rbounding the economy when the looters are still in existence.

I weep for the liberty of my country when I see at
      this early day of its successful experiment that
      corruption
      has been imputed to many members of the
      House of Representatives, and the
      rights of the people have been bartered for
      promises of office. Note that The first sign of
      corruption in a society that is still alive is that the
      end justifies the
      means.Money and corruption are
      ruining the land, crooked politicians betray the
      working man, pocketing the
      profits and treating us like
      sheep, and we're tired of hearing promises that
      we know they'll never keep.
      Lastly,I Adeniji write to you Buhari that We must
      uphold the fighting of tigers and flies at the same
      time, resolutely
      investigating law-breaking cases of leading
      officials and also earnestly resolving the
      unhealthy tendencies
      and corruption problems
      which happen all around the rich and the poor.
      #I remain ab idealist#
      Challenge me if u can

4. End time great late good news

5. As usual and yet, no result

1. No result indeed.this country needs a selfless man to serve her,if not,we will continue deceiving ourselves

Mc pinky

6. Where will they get the money from? I thought they said Nigeria is broke. Abeg I tire for this country jare

7. Replies
    1. A confused govt indeed

In the sector of economy,either one,two,three open or closed.the consumption function has an autonomouse reaction.

Either you are earning or not,u must spend.with this,I believe injection shouldn't be d next action.let dia be leakages from both home and abroad,revive d economy by less importation and more of exportattion.

Can't go further,am fed up with this sick leaders

Mc pinky

8. Apparently, the Nigerian economy is sick hence the need for injection to resuscitate the economy.
    Get well soon Nigeria.

1. Trully d economy is sick cuz the national economy is not positively affecting my personal economy.

Economically,leakages and injection are two basic tools for economic stability bt in dis case,its called looter opportunity

Mc pinky

9. They should be fast about it before it finally colapses

10. Things are happening. NSCDC has embezzled 8 months salary so far (and still counting),and are not planning to pay any just to cover up the money Abolurin and his coholts embezzeled during his time. I'm in Ogun state,heard they owe some states less,but I'm not sure. EFCC better get that bastard and put an end to this barbaric money laundery covery. (Pardon my grammar,I never chop)

11. They should be fast about it before it finally colapses

12. Why not use the money to fix the electricity problem

13. Too much talk. They should bring the injection. I dont know if it HIV injection they want to give to the economy

14. This present Govt is suffering from mouth diarrhoea

Work n let your work speak for you