Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Double Standards....

Saturday, March 12, 2016

Double Standards....

For the Law to be termed fair,it has to be handed out to its citizens in the same coin,same way,without fear or favour....
The piece you are about to read was sent in by someone who feels the same way i do and probably articulated it better about my piece on 

Dear Mrs. Korkus,

My heart is saddened. In 2013, I was in India when a high rise building collapsed, killing over 50 persons. The Government declared all those involved, including officials in the ministry of works, housing, power and water, wanted. In panic, the developer and engineers ran away. They were remanded two weeks later, charged to court and tried. 

In 2014, TB Joshua's guest house collapsed, killing scores of expatriate followers and worshipers. He held a press conference, insulted us by showing a doctored tape of a Bermuda helicopter hovering over the property which irreverently caused the unfortunate incident. He was never hunted like a criminal.

The South African government flattered the LASG for the inquest carried out on the case, demanding that justice be served for the scores of innocent lives that were lost due to the prophet's total disregard for authority. Documents were shown, proving that he was asked to stop construction. Yet, he gives sermons from his pulpit daily and has never showed up at any court hearing two years and counting.

Come 2016, I saw Richard Nyong in handcuffs with the site contractor. On the day of this unfortunate incident, Richard submitted himself to the closest police station without incident. The state government didn't acknowledge that, instead they claimed he was arrested. LASG also said he was told to halt construction on the collapsed building. FYI, there are no documents to this effect. The shanties around that area were marked for demolition, yet Lekki Gardens was dated on the day of the incident.Who is fooling who? 

Richard is still remanded in prison. What charges have been leveled against him? What is good for the goose should be good for the gander. We have clearly displayed our double standards. Preferential judgment for indigenes + clergymen and scape goat treatment for others.Our country Nigerian has refused to change and it is a sad development. 

BY Timi Ekiyegha

91 comments:

1. Everybody wan form equality speech now. What is the big deal about handcuffs?

Na everything una go blow out of proportion. Abeg make una go sitdown. Mtchewwwwww.

1. You are a fool cos you can't even get the message that was passed across but all you saw is handcuffs. Idiots

2. Jayem, did you even read it? If yes, did you understand? Hian!

3. Jayem, did you even read it? If yes, did you understand? Hian!

4. Jayem.. I try so hard to waka pass your comments here..
      Did you even bother to read the piece?? Or you just looked at the pictures and commented????

5. Pls read before you reply or you keep your mouth shut. If you have nothing to say.

6. Big fool indeed!!! Illiteracy is the cause of your ignorant comment. Buhari pls do something about the education sector so that we can see less of comments like this.

7. Why do we love injustice? Indeed we are living in the last days when the Bible said we will say " good is bad and bad is Good" why are pple always quick to fight the government when they are trying to bring justice instead of fighting them to bring justice when they are not doing it?
      Why is it that nobody came out to protest that somebody ought to be prosecuted for the death of those that died in synagogue but we are quick to ask that why should a man who has boycotted certain rules to erect a 5 storey building that has claimed more than 35 people's lives?
      These are common pple that are struggling for their daily bread.
      If pple are not disciplined not doing the right thing, they will continue in their greed to boycott the law.
      #therichman'slifeisimportant
      #thecommonman'slifeisimportant
      #everybodylifeisimportant

8. Whoever thinks these guys are being victimized should move their family into one of the remaining standing flats in that estate

9. And she claims to school where again? Austria? Or Togo? Illiteracy.

10. Exactly. Does it mean that because TB Joshua is walking free, RIchard shouldn't be prosecuted? Let TB Joshua be arrested and tried. But it does not erase d fact that a wrong was done here. Lets step away from TB Joshua. Is Mr Richard responsible for the loss of live? Yes. Did his actions cause people to lose their lives? Did he build a 5 storey building for a foundation layout of 3 storey against the laws of building? Yes. This story is sentimental but it doesnt change d facts.

11. U were rushing to b d first to comment without reading d whole thing. Before u type rubbish, Pls go back and read d whole thing.

12. So because TBJ is walking free so no other person should be prosecuted for similar thing? Nigerians!!! You are your own problem!!!

Lekki Gardens unlawful unsealed that building.... So let them face the law. FYI where the building was built is a reclaimed land, 2years ago that whole place was water so extra attention should have been paid, the extra 2 floors should never have been added. This is a one man coy and every single thing is approved by Richard!!! He approved that extra 2 floors so yes he is guilty!!! As far as I'm concerned more people need to go down too and not just The MD and Contractor. There must be some shady govt officials involved too those ones need to be prosecuted too.

Enough of this TBJ and Richard comparison... Let all of them face the law.

To those people who keep bringing up TBJ, my advice is that you all should start a campaign against TBJ, so the govt can look into that case again immediately. Justice must prevail!!!

13. After I reply now, XP will nau unveil another miss aboki with marked contoured face.
      Nah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

In Australia where I live...the story is for another day.

14. All this vision seeking ppl as na tb joshua una de rake if d dude was a member of ur family am sure you will demand equal right. No one should b above d law they should all get equal treatment. Somebody remind me about d death toll 4 synagogue again mscheeew

2. Yes o!b what is god for the goose is also good fro the gander! They should also arrest TB ASAP!

3. Hmm,, JEHOVAH GOD take control of this situation

1. That building was suppose to be 3 storey building. That was what was approved. But he went ahead and added additional 2 story building. The foundarion couldn't take it hence the fall. And it was also said he used substandard good which I will attribute to the contractors. But he should have stopped at 3..

I agree he shouldn't be in cuffs si ce he presented himself to the nearest police station and he hadn't been found guilty according to the law but I think when you are carried from the police station to court, you would be made to be on hand cuffs, just like if you are taken from the prison to court room. At least that was what I was told when the likes of metuh and Nnamdi came to court with cuffs, these people too haven't been proven guilty..

4. Buhari should be ashamed of himself.
    Why is TB Joshua walking around a free man?

1. Lagos state Government, not Buhari. Olodo!!

2. You are just too dull, always passing senseless comments
      What has this got to do with Buhari
      Pls take time off

3. James this your second coming is worst than your first outing. Please crawl back and resurrect again. Maybe you will grow some sense then.

4. Eskis me TB Joshua is Yoruba Man of the Year, he delivered over 100 heads. What did this one deliver? They should lock him up.
      Ogboni Fraternity Rules. T B is loyal. Hehehe

5. VeryGoodBadGirl12 March 2016 at 15:11

Even if you want to blame the federal govt, was Buhari the president at that time. You sef sha wan comment.

6. Mr Jemisi alabase, if any government is to be blame then its your beloved brother who even went to greet TB after the incident because he was looking for the vote of TB's followers.

5. Seriously why is this man in cuffs?
    I have asked myself that question several times, what crime did he commit? Why is he remanded in prison and not coming from his home to court?
    Afterall he voluntarily submitted himself and its really not his fault what happened.
    Every body is just looking for who to blame, if his father was a minister or if he came from a wealthy home I bet this rubbish won't be happening.
    *deep sigh*
    RIP to those who died in the unfortunate building collapse.

1. He built beyond what he should and that resulted in the Death of about 35 pple and he is being remanded for nothing?

2. It's not his fault and that's fact
      Not like he put a gun to their heads and killed them all

This man should not be in prison.

3. It's partially his fault they died. Infact it's his fault they died because if he had sticked to the 3 story building that was approved, the building wouldn't have fallen. But he went and added 2 extra from what was approved and the foundarion caved in

Its the fault of the contractor also because he used substandard goods when he could have used better quality goods

4. Chi Exotic - how can you say it's not his fault that they died? Are you okay?

6. Very true, its absolutely double standards, Ambode needs to be really careful here, The govt is a shame, what have they done about all the houses in ebutte meta and Lagos island waiting to collapse, no doubt lekki gardens should answer for the deaths but Lagos govt is only being reactive and trying to look like they are working. No sir, we are not stupid

1. For those blaming ambode and buhari, we're they in power when Tb joshua's incident happened?

7. Hmmmmm, hand cuffing him like a criminal, where as others are walking around free. All the collapsed building in lagos how many contractors them hand cuf? Not to talk of trying them, just becos he's not an indigene, God is watching all of you

1. Exactly!.I don't understand the "handcuff" aspect. Not like he resisted arrest or was the least aggressive. If this isn't part of "corruption", I don't know what is. kmt

2. You guys are so ignorant!!

3. Sigh.
      Please when ANYONE in police custody is taken to court, they will do so in handcuffs.
      This is the law almost everywhere. Not just Nigeria.
      If at any time you didn't see that, please note that it should have been done that way.
      Please the handcuffs thing is not an issue.

8. Very well said. You have covered all aspects.

9. This is Nija for u. May God help us all sha

10. Replies
    1. You didn't feel bad for the 35 pple that died.

11. Truth is that I have been to busy these past few weeks so I haven't really been following the recent events in the news.I need to be abreast of the facts before I can say anything...Make u no go goof.

12. So true..... We need to stand up for Richard Nyong, tb Joshua should be in jail as we speak too. Is there anything anybody can do? This is just so sad.

1. TB Joshua should be in jail? For what exactly??? Ikuwaa onu!

2. TB Joshua delivered over 100 heads to Ogboni. He can't go to jail. Neverrrrrr

3. Fan Emmanuel did you just buy a phone this year? Even if you just stumbled on the use of Internet, you also don't have a TV??? You seriously don't know why TB Joshua should be jailed???

4. But y should TB Joshua be in jail? Following ur reasoning, is Richard d owner or contractor of lekki gardens.?? Biko.. Use brain, its important

13. Very true. I don't know why TB Joshua is still walking around a free man. A lot of people should go down with him as well. Nonsense

14. Is only the poor man that can pay for a crime while the rich walk freely on the street. Naija will never change.

15. Go and arrest dangote for the people his trucks has killed.....nonsense
    You can't touch tb joshua. ..He is not an estate developer, the contractors shld face it...The good that tb joshua does to nigeria cannot be quantified...who helps the poor keke him? Who honours people in nigeria like him? Do h know hw much the synagogue brings to the economy of this nation everyday? Do u know the amount of foreigners that visit nigeria bcos of him..The synagogue is like a tourist attraction to this nation...It cannot be shut..tb joshua can't be arrested he single handedly sent a message to GEJ to accept defeat...bcos the war and blood shed he saw afterward was too much...
    Tb joshua has done much good to this nation than u can imagine.
    When abacha ' s govt arrested him with false allegation of drug..It was then and then he tld abacha of his death and tld el mustafa of his prison...
    The collapse of the scoan building was a sabotage. .The govt knows it
    Truly a prophet isn't honored in his home.
    EMMANUEL

1. Correction.. Synagogue used to be a tourist attraction, on Sundays one can't drive through to roundabout bcos of serious hold up.. That was then.
      Now it looks like a deserted place on Sundays.

2. Queen and boss... Come see your church member oh

Wait oh!! Why have I not seen your comment on this post?

3. Thank u oo. Ppl been trash talkin a man of God.

4. Emmanuel.

God is with us.

He is untouchable

Tongue out

5. Gbenu e soun. TB Joshua delivered to Ogboni. He is loyal

6. This comment has been removed by the author.

16. I tire for that country. So many drunk danfo drivers kill innocent people in Lagos almost everyday i hope they also get jail terms? how many of those killer drivers have been jailed in Nigeria? Why are they selective? I just tire for that country called Nigeria. Why can't they treat everybody the same? The law is the law.

1. What you are saying is there should be no law and order. We should all continue in the jungle abi! Continue!!

2. Queen and boss why u dey shame to use your id??? Hahahaha

17. I don't understand why Nigerians are so obsessed with hand cuffs. Being in hand cuffs does not mean you are guilty. In western/developed countries people are hand cuffed as soon as they are arrested and are being transported to the police station where they will be processed and probably released a few hours later depending on what they were arrested for.

They might not even go to court because in some instances depending on what the offence is the case is dropped and not taken further to court. They might just be told to pay a fine.

But at the time of their initial arrest, they will be hand cuffed before they are transported to the police station. It is for the safety of the police and person arrested because no one knows what they are going to do at any given time, some people freak out at the thought of being arrested and have reacted and behaved very irrationally. Hand cuffing them does not mean they are guilty.

Nigerians should try and educate themselves and if they wish not to do so then they should not comment on issues they know naught about.

1. U are just missing the point. They are telling u to compare it with d tb joshua's case. Aaaaaaaaaarrrrrrrggggggh.

U just dey talk dis same shit everywhere

18. Poster you are so right on this one, I wonder when all this will stop in this country. It is only in nigeria,that some people are more equal than other,

The law in this country is implemented for the poor alone, once you are rich powerful and influential, you are above the law.

19. Are they even aware of when handcuffs should be used?

Do they even read the Miranda law before they arrest people(or e no dey applicable for naija)

Ha amakwa ihe wu Search Warrant? SMH

Nigerian Police still has a long way to go,the Judicial system needs a complete over haul. My rant is not isolated to this post alone.

Imagine someone that went to the station himself is still paraded upandan. That place is filled with lies and crime..I can never feel safe in around the police station,they strike me like Ndi Agbero.

20. If Freezer didn't speak out, all he attention whores wouldn't have spoken. Mscheeeeeeèw

21. What is this bullshit about someone in cuffs? come on,Nigerians,you can do better.I mean scores of lives were lost and all u guys can talk about is cuffs? What happened to taking responsibilities for our actions? Richard owns the Lekki gardens and so should take responsibility for whatever happens good or bad. I am sure whoever wrote this article is one of those who survive off Richard. Wasn't Dasuki and Metuh recently placed on handcuffs? Were they not still facing trials too,What happens to those rendered orphans and homeless? Those that were cut down in there primes? All what you can think about is handcuffs. Stella I'm disappointed in you.

22. Sorry to say but richard allowed his arrogance and love for money that led him to where he is today. The building was initially a 3 storey building, they removed the roof that was already done and constructed 2 more floors on a 3 storey foundation all in the name of making more money. The drainage is wack, the whole place gets vadly flooded anytime it rains. The plan he gave people when they paid for the houses is not what he built, he built houses all over the estate where there was supposed to be green area and the whole place is choked up with buildings left right and center. He has issues with the residents of lekki phase 2 ajah cos he refused to give them c of o, he was still claiming to be the landlord after people paid for the houses,he was charging them exorbitantly for light until they chased him out of yhe estate.

1. Finally, someone is talking sense.

2. 5 storey on a 3 storey foundation??? Mr developer & engineer if this is true then that's wickedness of the highest order.
      All for money smh

I concur with equal treatment of citizens.

RIP to the lost lives.

3. ..Finally someone who knows about the shady dealings of the Lakki Gardens management commenting.
      I bought into this housing scheme and truth be told many more houses will collapse. After paying so much for a duplex,I came into the country to collect the keys and my heart was filled with anger. Structurally the houses aren't compliant to engineering and design standards.
      (I am a Dutch trained civil/construction engineer and hubby is a structural engineer and we both practise in North America).
      Homeowners have been trying to reach the management and he wouldn't even respond. All he wants is money and more money in the likes of electricity charges.

While he is considered innocent until proven guilty, he is not to be exonerated from all of this.

Imagine if Bp or Shell executives claim it is not their fault when there is a blow out or an oil spill; then whose is it? As an exec due diligence is ensuring organizational standards are followed and upheld at least if your company has one.

...Before the collapse hubby and I always talked about how our house won't last 4 yrs and the hard decision of not selling it cos we don't want people to die in their sleep and this came up in the news.

Nigeria needs to uphold standards in all disciplines. Enough of bribery to get around things that affect Human life.(We need to call out COREN).

23. Nigerians, is it ignorance or what? Handcuffs are part of the deal. Once you are in custody, you are handcuffed. It doesn't make you a criminal. Many of you watch movies, some of you travel abroad...please try and educate yourself on legal processes before you start talking. If TB Joshua is still on the loose, it is only a matter of time. Mr Richard did not try to make noise about his case, he handed himself over. This article is right in asking for all to be treated fairly but biko handcuffs are part of the being arrested package. Stop making noise.

24. If a building collapse, who should we blame? The landlord or d Engineer? To me it's d Engineer not d landlord, so why all these arrest tb Joshua talks. That's my own opinion b4 u guys will chop ne raw.

1. You will blame the landlord if he goes against the orders of the government.

Why would you turn a 3 storey building into 5 storey building?? In a place that is always flooded with water.

For them to approve 3 storey building that means that was what he set off to build and that was what the foundarion can take. You don't go and add 2 storey building extra on an approved 3 storey building.. Does it now make sense why he should be blamed??

25. Guys this is not double standard. These are 2 different cases . TB joshua is not a contractor or developer. The state government did not warn him about the building. Infact it was sabotaged. The government know what really happened. But the case of Richard is a case of greed which lead to the lose of lives. The government has closed the building . Warned him of the structure. This greedy wicked Richard layed a foundation of 3 storey building on a 5 story building ? How was he expecting the building not to collapse. Due to greed he wanted to pocket the money and he built a 5 story on the sand. Please let's not be bias here. TB joshua should face the law but let's not compare him with this selfish Richard.

1. Thank you Abeg, I tire for this pple.

2. You forgot to add that he was doing promo on the houses he advertised for sale "buy 2 get 1 free". Which reputable property developer does that ??

26. #Justice4all
    #FreeRichard
    #Successful

27. U said it n well. Equality b4 d law!!! God rest d soul of d deceased.

28. I am surprised that the snake girl has not come on to attack this poster for ever mentioning her "daddy in the load" and suggesting that he too should be put on handcuffs! The thing is, what were the souls of those victims used for? Is there head for head going on here?

29. So if TB Joshua is not in jail all other greedy pple should not be called to justice. We are talking abt innocent lives here. So he turned himself in, meaning? Why did he build against his approval. Guess someone has to be a scapegoat n serve as a lesson to all. In d words of Michael Jackson if u are looking for change, look at the man in the mirror. If we all did our little part the world will be a better place. I beg go siddon!

30. Please, let's not be sentimental over nonsense. This Mr Richards deserves to be treated like the criminal that he is. Both of them should go to jail. 35 people lost their lives! I agree that TB Joshua should also be brought to books. Ibinabo just got 5 years for drunken driving. Rev King got death by hanging. Justice must be served. If Nigerians are punished when they step out of line then with time people will live with the fear that NO ONE is above the law.
    *BabyPebbles*

31. Being in handcuffs in court does not mean one is guilty. All the people involved in this project must be arrested and prosecuted. I remember when TB Joshua's house of cards collapsed, President Goodluck Jonathan was one of the first people to pay him a 'sympathy' visit! It was wrong and sent the wrong signal. Knowing our country, which policeman would be foolhardy enough to go and arrest TBJ seeing he is the President's (and Governors') friend? The perceived double standards is because of our stupidity when it comes to religion and anything religious. There are still some idiots out there who feel these so-called men of God should never be questioned or called to order. Now that we have a government that tries to allow the law to take its course irrespective, people are seeing it as partisan. I agree, TB Joshua and all others involved in shoddy projects that result in loss of lives should be facing trial too.

32. Stellz, really you need not support everything. Lawyers get in here. Am not a lawyer but i try to broaden my view sometimes. Am a catholic so this isnt about TB Joshua. Lekki Gardens is a public limited company. secondly that building Richard was building was sealed, they unsealed it and was building a 5 storey building in a water lodge area with shoddy materials. How can he do that? Those labourers hadn't been paid, to be a casual labourer isnt easy Stellz. A woman and her little baby died in that collapse. Of course the government will persecute, they sealed a building you unsealed it. The families of the collapse at synagogue didnt want to prosecute, reasons best known to them.They went there for their private business, if those families refused going to court, well its their business. I know Richard well, infact his my brother's paddy all the way from Uniport. Greed and Pride got him into this. He wanted to make quick money selling substandard buildings to people. For TB joshua , he has God to contend with. Eternal light oh Lord grant their souls, May the souls of all the departed through the mercies of God rest in peace. Amen
    #thatnigerdeltagirl