Friday, March 18, 2016

Dismissed Policeman Who Allegedly Connived To Kill Bizman Cries That He Does Not Want To Die In Gaol..

A dismissed policeman who was arrested and detained along with three other policemen for allegedly torturing and killing a car dealer, Benson Obode in Benin, Edos state, Adeleke Adedeji, has cried out that he does not want to die in prison over a curable disease and for an offence he did not commit.

His plea for release was contained in a suit filed by his Counsel, Paul Osarenkhoe, at the Federal High Court in Benin.

Adedeji and three other policemen, Oniyo Musa (35), Abena John (33) and Henry Shobowale (32), are currently being remanded at the Benin Prison for stealing, murder and conspiracy.
Before their arrest and dismissal from the Force, the partners-in-crime‎ were serving in the Special Anti Robbery Squad, Lagos State, from where they allegedly committed the crime.

Thet were also accused of stealing the sum of N330,000 from the bank account of late Obode using his ATM card after they had killed him.

Family members of Benson searched for him for about 63 days before they finally traced his corpse to the morgue of the Benin central hospital where his corpse was deposited as unknown by the suspects.

Following petitions by the family of the deceased and civil society organisations, the policemen were arrested, charged to court and were ordered to be remanded in prison custody by an Oredo Magistrate, awaiting trial.

Adeleke in the suit, is seeking the court to declare his continuous detention without trial since August 2015, for an alleged offence of conspiracy and murder unreasonable, illegal and unconstitutional.

He is also seeking a declaration ordering his release unconditionally pending a formal arraignment.
‎In an affidavit to support the motion, wife of Adeleke, Modupe, said her husband has been managing a life-threatening ailment and has been advised to abstain from strenuous activities.

She stated that her husband’s health condition has deteriorated as a result of prison condition, adding that the Benin Prisons lacked the facilities to manage his health.But in a counter affidavit by Legal Officer of the Nigeria Police, Mr. Ledee N-ueh, the Police urged the court to dismiss the suit with cost as it was incompetent, frivolous, misconceived and an abuse of court processes.
N-ueh said the dismissed police officers came to Benin City without an authorization to arrest the deceased.

Meanwhile, ruling on the bail application has been adjourned to March 21, 2016 by Justice O.O Tokode.
PMNews reportage.

23 comments:

1. Why is he afraid to die?

1. I can't believe a police man is scared of going to jail.
      If Benin prison is not good enough for his health they should take him to Kano prison...

2. They must make sure he dies there. I hate killers especially kidnappers, armed robbers, rapists and yes, drunk drivers.

2. Good for him. Killers deserves no humanity

1. But other people are wicked when it's ibinabo. Hypocrite

2. So ibinabo that killed a man should be set free and the police men should be killed according to you. You are a demon!

3. Dear Nigerians. As you pray everyday remember to pray and ask God that you never encounter any situation in your life that will lead you to police station. Either as a complainant or a defendant. We have the worst police system in the world. Its God that protects His own. Too many corrupt hands in the system.

4. Dear Nigerians. As you pray everyday remember to pray and ask God that you never encounter any situation in your life that will lead you to police station. Either as a complainant or a defendant. We have the worst police system in the world. Its God that protects His own. Too many corrupt hands in the system.

5. You dont want to die in prison but you killed someone?
    I wonder why they keep people like this, he should have been killed a long time.

6. They should have a Taste of their Bitter Pill. I Hate Nigeria Police

7. You fear dead but you live to kill, you too face dead and enjoy the fun.

8. If only dis justice can be universal in terms of all the force agent being held responsible for their actions,not using some as a scapegoat while others roam abt the street as untouchable.

Rot in jail for all care

Nigeria police is sick n needs healing asap

9. May God help us from police wahala. Now they are talking about tinted cars. They like to give wahala. Arase you no try at all.

10. I no get strength to comment,, kinda sick

11. Same blog visitors that asked for ibinabo's release are now condemning this man. Tueeee

12. Ah ahn!

No be pesin he kee?

He deserves a firing squad, but since there's a disease waiting by the sidelines to take him, he should wait to die.

* kmt *

13. That will serve as an example to others, he should remain there.