Stella,
As an ardent reader of your blog from Sussex Uni, which keeps me abreast of what's going on back home, I felt I obliged to share the story of a Nigerian named Luqman facing deportation from UK.
Luqman Onikosi studied both his undergraduate and postgraduate degree at the Sussex Uni and has Hepatitis B, a chronic liver condition. After completion of his program, he applied to extend his leave to remain in the UK on human rights ground to access a superb Health Care/insurance for students but was denied by the Home Office. He claims that the ineffective treatment in Nigeria which has claimed two of his siblings life from same ailment will be a death sentence if the deportation goes through.
Myself as a Federal Govt sponsored student here in the UK, studying and also taking note of what makes the UK great, what made this small nation with a population of under 70million colonize a World 100 times it size. This triggers my learning process both academic and generally with a view to return home and change my country as crazy as it sounds.
So the case of Luqman intrigued me, not only that he faces deportation or the claim of ineffective treatment in Nigeria but the manner in which British students campaigned for a course they felt unjust.
I was more interested in the radical but civilised approach to demonstration which Nigerian Students should learn from,not barbarism and vandalisation like the case of Afe Babalola and others, where they block innocent commuters on highway and others. There where no police, no thuggery, no hooliganism but a strong clear message through the press, pamphlets and occupy public place agenda, making passionate and fervent statements to support their course and insisted on deporting Theresa May, British Home Secretary for Immigration.
Please let Nigerian Students learn to protest like this, cos it sends a clearer message than those distorted with violence for which their campaign may end up misconstruing the content of their protest and also truncating their education.
Attached are the video, pamphlets and press release fighting against Luqman's deportation in the University of Sussex Campus UK.
Thanks
|
If i tell u say this country never tire me. Imara na abum ezigbote onye asi. Choi
ReplyDeleteNawa oooh
DeleteSide eyes! All this English for what na
ReplyDeleteSeen
ReplyDeleteAbeg make I hear word, send him back home the disease for which he's crying for is not curable even in the uk but can be managed with food and healthy lifestyle which he can get here in Nigeria.
ReplyDeleteAbout 80percent of black Africans have the virus resident in them and can only wake it from its dormant stage with the aid of improper intake of certain kind of food and if such is avoided it remains dormant true out life so my guy no fear Nigeria never bad reach this your stage of claiming all manner just to remain in the uk.
You wicked no be small
DeleteHahaha...i laugh in spanish. You want to come back and change which country, Nigeria ?? your eye go clear when you return. Nigeria is absolutely not ready to jump into your imagination when we have lawmakers who oppose gender equality and promote structural and tribal bias. You also do not need to cite or vituperate our Universities back home as we only act in accordance with our society, what works in a civil society as the UK wouldn't work in our crazy nation, supported by the saying act like the Romans when in Rome. Your write up is also weak, Solidify yourself.
ReplyDeleteThis is not an English essay or test for English...people like u feel u know too much. However, your comments indicates that you have schooled abroad and knows what it feels like to meet the reality upon return but remember "IT IS ONLY CRAZY PEOPLE WHO THINK THEY CAN CHANGE THIS WORLD ACTUALLY DO CHANGE THE WORLD" a Quote from Steve Jobs. So encourage the writer not discourage cos a better 9ja will do all of us good.
DeleteNonsense. Yet the ones back home will stay on twitter and be trending bring corruption back.
ReplyDeleteIf you have overstayed your visit, LEAVE.
Hepatitis B has no cure, it is like someone saying he must remain in the UK because he has HIV. Do they cure HIV in the UK? Citizens pay for the NHS you are protesting for yet instead of you lot to stay home and develop your country you will go and be protesting in another man's land spoiling immigration for other people.
This is a very shameful and stupid thing. UK is the tightest in terms of immigration laws and they will never bow for pressure from a 3rd world country . All of you there must remain so that others won't be able to go and have their own fair chance of education, greedy lot. Queen elizabeth is not Buhari o. Ain't got time for rubbish! Next thing now he will claim he is homosexual.
Let him go to his MP through the nearest CAB in his borough. CAB will give him a caseworker and a pro-bono immigration lawyer to follow up through his MP.
ReplyDeleteOk,seen
ReplyDeleteLuqman..Nobody will kill u....Come and face your country
ReplyDeleteTah! Hepatitis B is not deadly na. Only if you don't take care of yourself or you drink like a fish. Please Nigerian's stop lying. If you can't marry to get paper, move on.
ReplyDeleteHep B? Already killed 2 of his siblings, hmmm I dey fear my naija people. Does he just need medications or liver transplant? May God heal him.
ReplyDeleteNa today you know say animals full our continent? Any small thing we will fight and kill ourselves but when the white man comes, we surrender and become their slaves.
ReplyDeleteMy fellow students need to read this
ReplyDeleteBut iro!
Na to dey shook knife dem sabi
Awon tasuedites oniranu
Ok.
ReplyDeleteWhenever they want to deport a Nigerian, u will hear a pathetic story... Mostly lies. I have a pathetic story to tell too. No be only Una wan stay Yankee. Who said hepatitis has no treatment in naija?
ReplyDeleteLmao. Student visa don expire. Abeg come back home.
ReplyDeleteI feel this excuse is not genuine enough to overstay your visa and also extend your stay there. Had my masters degree in the UK and even if their health care is good, you can also get treatment here in Nigeria for hepatitis B after all those who have it and can't afford to travel out are faring well. Please don't make naija look so bad. You could have married an oyibo or gotten a job to stay back so I don't see any reason why people should protest.
ReplyDeleteThank u jare
Deletehe says it killed his 2 brothers bawo .....uk is no longer tolerating stories because of this new wave of immigration from syria ..
ReplyDeleteis he willing to pay for his treatment or want to use free nhs on taxpayers .....one lady said if she goes back boko haram will kill her..
ReplyDeleteYea I heard of it. Am in brighton by the way.. Smh at comments.
ReplyDeleteIf Luqmans parent can afford a foreign education for both undergraduate and masters in the UK which runs into millions then they can afford to treat is ailment. I think the authors post is for us to learn how to demonstrate not asking Luqman to comeback.
ReplyDeleteUmpire...Na you get sense pass on top this matter and you understand what the author was saying. Nice one
ReplyDeleteCome back home and give other people the opportunity to have a chance.
ReplyDeleteSome Nigerian in the UK are just pathetic weak men turned slaves for the white/Asian men.
Any way whatever luqman s case maybe, much luv to white students that came out to speak for a black.
ReplyDeleteam philo All thanks to Dr Osaze who cure me of hepatitis B, I was almost contemplating death until I came across Dr osaze's testimony and recommendations online and I contacted him, and he administered his Haber medicine on me, and within a month and two weeks I bounce back to my normal health status. In case you want to reach him, you can contact him through his email: drosaze39@gmail.com or call him at +2347089275769.