Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: The Made in Nigeria Campaign

Friday, February 19, 2016

The Made in Nigeria Campaign

Here goes......You know who wrote this!!!

There has been renewed talk lately about the need for Nigerians to patronize locally made goods, (someone should have added… and services!). Championed by Senator Ben Murray Bruce, and supported by the Senate President Bukola Saraki, the Minister of State for Industry, Trade and Investment, Hajia Aisha Abubakar and a large crowd of online campaigners, so much ink, saliva, and emotions have been invested in this old, and perhaps boring story. 

Senator Bruce, who goes by the moniker “the Commonsense Senator” even introduced a hashtag #BuyNaijaToGrowtheNaira. He hasn’t quite explained the connection, but with the exchange rate melting down and the Naira yo-yoing, everyone including our neighbourhood electrician, and his friend, the battery charger, have both become experts on the fortunes of the national currency.  

Senator Saraki has promised that the Public Procurement Act will be amended by the 8th National Assembly to make it mandatory for the government to patronize locally made goods. Minister Aisha Abubakar has proposed a “Patronise Naija Products Campaign.” 

It all sounds so familiar but what has triggered this latest effusion of patriotism was a Made in Aba Trade Fair in Abuja, where locally made products including shoes were displayed and purchased by the snobby class now acting as great promoters of Nigerian identity and entrepreneurship. Senator Bruce and the National Assembly have also purchased made in Nigeria vehicles from Innoson Motors, a local vehicle manufacturing company. The interest that this has generated is good publicity for Innoson Motors, and it will probably provide good justification for the National assembly purchasing more vehicles. It is also an excellent advertisement for local entrepreneurship. There was a time in this country when the phrase Aba-made was meant to be denigrating, but today, corporate suits and other items made in Aba have made it to the status of a Trade Fair. 

We must be reminded nonetheless, that this buy Nigeria campaign, or proudly Nigerian, as it was once called, has been promoted in one form or the other for more than 30 years. At a time, Federal Ministers chose to wear Ankara fabrics, which is supposed to be locally made, and at another time, the Federal Government only patronized Peugeot Motors, which then had a thriving car manufacturing company in Kaduna. Virtually every government has tried to promote Nigerian goods. And there is certainly no doubt that there is a lot of entrepreneurial talent out there in Nigeria, a gift for innovation and a capacity to aspire.  

Given the right, enabling environment, Nigerians are willing to help government promote the objectives of diversification, backward integration, and non-oil exports which are at the root of all this talk about made in Nigeria. The YouWin exhibitions held between 2014 and 2015, showed great potential, especially in the agriculture and food sector, and the need for government to encourage entrepreneurship and manufacturing. But lessons were also learnt, and it is the same lessons that should guide the current patriotic excitement over locally made goods. In the end, Senator Bruce, patriotism is not enough, lest it turns us all as someone warned into “scoundrels”, seeking economic restoration without the right strategy and attitude.  

The first lesson is that we need to truly encourage the transformation of Nigeria into a primary, productive market, and not a secondary market for the dumping of goods.  We may be celebrating the fact that some Nigerians are making the effort to produce goods locally, but really how much of that local production is local? I can bet that the leather that is used for the shoes we are being encouraged to buy is not produced in Nigeria. Our local entrepreneurs import leather, manage to produce something labeled Nigerian, when in fact the entire value chain could have been truly local? Innoson Motors is well known in government circles, but have we measured how much of those Innoson vehicles is actually local? 30%? 

Before Innoson, we had Omatek and Zinnox computers, advertised as made in Nigeria goods. But where in this country do we have young technicians producing computer chips and other components? We need to take a second look at the concept: made in Nigeria, and be sure that we are actually talking about the same thing. What is the answer? I think government must in the long run insist that those who seek to sell in the Nigerian market, must set up their factories here, and produce for the Nigerian market inside Nigeria. We have all the raw materials that may be needed, and we have the market, the biggest in Africa. 

People come here, take our raw materials to other factories in other parts of the world, send back the products and then make profit iat our expense. We end up creating jobs in other parts of the world, and receive finish products that could have been produced here. No. If Toyota and Nissan want to sell cars in Nigeria, then they must produce the cars inside Nigeria and source their materials and labour majorly from here, and brand the vehicles Made in Nigeria and export them to other parts of the world.  In recent years, there was such discussion with Hyundai and Volkswagen. Minister Aisha Abubakar should look at the records. Innoson can then compete with Toyota Nigeria, Nissan Nigeria, Hyundai Nigeria and Volkswagen Nigeria. The same argument goes for every other product in need of direct investment. The point is not about being local; it is about developing the capacity to turn Nigeria into a world-class production and economic centre. 

The second lesson has to do with quality and standards. The recent debate has been about indigenous patronage as a test of patriotism. I don’t think that is the right focus. People like quality. In a capitalist system, they will make their own decisions and choices with the capital at their disposal.  And we shouldn’t be talking as if Nigerians should produce made in Nigeria goods to be consumed only by Nigerians, whether good or bad. The vision, consistent with the ambition of the authors of the country’s various development plans, is to produce world-class products inside Nigeria. What we have seen is that locally made goods often fall short of international standards. They lack the competitive edge.

It is good to buy Aba-made, but our ladies who are used to Hermes and Louis Vuitton are not likely to trade their designer bags for Nnamdi bags, except the latter can compete and become a global brand. It has been reported that many Nigerian goods sent for export are often rejected overseas, for such simple reasons as packaging or basic standards. No amount of patriotism can by-pass that.  We have a Standards Organisation of Nigeria and an Export Promotion Council: what is the synergy between them and the various SMEs striving to break into the export market?

The third lesson is that government must just make up its mind about this whole thing about the diversification of the Nigerian economy.  It is not the responsibility of one government or administration; it is a process that should move Nigeria from being a democracy observing electoral commission rituals, into a developmental state. We were almost there under the military quite ironically, but then the military also lost it due to bad attitudes. 

Once upon a time in this country, there was regular electricity, manufacturing companies, both local and foreign thrived, salaries and pensions were paid as at when due, potable water was available, the leaders sounded as if the Nigerian people and their welfare were important and there was a suffocating vision of Nigeria being the “giant of Africa”.  

When students graduated from universities, teacher training colleges, and nursing schools, they were sure of immediate employment, which brought them life-long fulfilment. Brilliant students got special scholarships; every student got a bursary, our schools attracted students and teachers from every part of the world. And now, here we are wondering why? What happened? This collapse of the Nigerian standard is the worst thing to have ever happened.  Younger ones may not even believe that indeed Chinua Achebe was right when he wrote that “there was once a country.” 

The challenge can start with re-discovering that lost country and moving forward from that point.  I mentioned services in addition to goods earlier. And I ask: how many Nigerians are satisfied with Nigerian services? Many families won’t even employ a Nigerian nanny or driver. They would rather look for people from Asia and West Africa. Builders won’t recruit Nigerian masons: they ‘d rather use artisans from Ghana or Togo. When foreign companies set up businesses in Nigeria, they bring staff from their own country, and violate the expatriate quota in collusion with our own people; they even import cement and other equipment from elsewhere and our officials look the other way. We don’t even respect ourselves as a nation. But we love slogans. 

So, the matter is not as simple as just buying Nigerian goods. It is not about trending hashtags, slogans or propaganda, but a decision to move this country beyond the on-going knee-jerk, desperate elite war of position within the political spectrum, and see what can work for the people’s benefit. We want to buy made in Nigeria goods, and yet every start up business in this country is facing serious challenges; the more established manufacturing outfits are groaning. Every election season, the private sector pretends to support the political process, but once its chieftains are not allowed access, control or influence, they become closet saboteurs. 

I consider that to be a subject in the heart of the future. What needs to be done is before our very eyes, but its starting point must include the education system. Very few parents these days still buy the services provided by Nigerian schools, the private ones that receive better patronage train the children to end up in foreign schools including schools in Ghana and Benin Republic. Nobody is training quality artisans either, because all the Government Technical Colleges of old have been shut down and many of our young men are more interested in kidnapping and riding okada. So, where are the critical young men and women and institutions to drive the renewal we seek? The matter is so complex; it is the reason I don’t envy anyone who is President of Nigeria. 

BY REUBEN ABATI.

Hmmm!!!!

76 comments:

1. I might be a nigerian but I don't trust any made in nigeria item. They won't last .I rather spend my money on stuffs that would last .my 2cents

1. U might be a Nigerian that means ur not even sure,"Confused"

2. I thank God that someone from GEJ administration wrote this. The problem with the Naira is not a matter of harsh tags, BBC even made a mockery of it but for Nigerians they thought it was a KUDOS! They culdnt even see the sarcasm...the question is why didn't he tell all these to GEJ when we had surplus money from Oil boom???? there must be a spirit that comes with power that makes these people daft in office.

3. Chai Rufus Ugo, so you don't understand might in this context?
      Chai, please return to school. Start with preparatory class for KG 1.

4. Abeg wu fit help. Me with the email to send jokes to stella, can't remember pls

2. BV Ruben Abati, Mr. all noise no action.

3. Sum1 wake me up wen you have summarized it!!!

4. Excellent write up. You can't be championing what you haven't laid foundation for. This guy's really think some social media stunt will be enough. There are so many things that if the right foundation is laid, the Nigerian youth will excel and compete with the rest of the world.
    How will the youth access and utilize this foundations if they are laid when most are content with a few mb, a browsing phone and a blog where they can spew all the hatred in their hearts.
    God help us.

1. They usually become king solomon and philosophers when they have been kicked out of office. Once they are there all they think about is steal, steal, steal!

5. Too long!

And please don't expect me to buy Aba nnaya, where Givenchy is Givnenchy, Tommy finger, Ama kip kip, Lacroste, etc

1. Lol as in eh
      Atleast they should make the effort of spelling correctly

2. Abril the spelling is on purpose

If not those high brand designers can sue them

3. Abril,,,why will they get the spelling right?
      Have your own brand and promote it. Afterall givenchy is not an indigenous brand. Make good products and come up with your own names.
      While we laugh and continue to patronise foreign products, we shouldn't complain about the exchange rates! If you cannot afford the rates, buy the fingertommy and keep quiet.

6. I no buy any made in Nigeria goods at all. Not good at all

7. I need to save this page. This is what I call in depth analysis

8. In a nutshell, buy made in Nigeria goods. Promote the group of our economy.

9. Nice one Abati. So now we need to start working on the raw material ourselves and then manufacture the good? Do we have factories for that? We can build? Yes we can but some 'idiots' will use it as an opportunity to steal and here comes another set of probing.

10. D idea is not bad,looking at dollar versus naira buhaha,but can naija made stuff serve us? Clothes,shoes,cosmetics,toiletries,electronics,cars,computer and its accesories,phones,drugs,et al basic needs? Hmmmmm! I doubt that very much. Naija can't make most of these,let's just pray that dis dollar buhaha normalizes.

1. It cannot normalise o, this is simple mathematics. People work and manufacture stuff to maintain the strength of their own currency. Unfortunately, we don't manufacture anything so how does it want to normalize???
      Our Naira managed to be strong because we were exporting oil and we had a boom but unfortunately, the global oil price has fallen flat and deflated our 4 tyres. So we are gonna be here for now, and things will keep getting worse.

11. OMG! OMG!

This is what I have been saying.
    He just write everything I wish I could type anytime I see people saying we should stop importation

It is not about buying Nigeria
    Or stopping importation
    It's about all this things he mentioned and more

Funny how cost of production and Labour is expensive in Nigeria making foreign product cheaper than ours.. This is why things from China thrive in Nigeria market.

In China they have low, economy and high quality of which all this qualities can compete with any price.

If an importer brings in high quality from China, he will make more money than those selling made in Nigeria product

If he imports economic quality, nor money for him
    If he imports low quality, so much money for him

Things need to be set in place before manufacturing can stand very well in Nigeria

Then again I have asked this question, how many of our made in Nigeria products are actually made in Nigeria?? Very few. As we still have to import raw materials for this items..

So people saying importation should stop should know it is not about to stop now..

Because nothing have been set in place. If things are set in place, the same people who import this things will throw in money to make them in this country

I know a man who was trying to manufacture something that people usually import from China. And the man wasted so much money in doing this importation but yet it didn't work as the cost for production was high. He lost so much money and just started importing and branding it made in Nigeria

Do you know pampers (Nigeria pampers) like it's called is made in Egypt not Nigeria?? Lol

And yet when you go to the market you will hear we have Nigeria pampers and UK pampers. Lies. The Nigeria pampers is made in Egypt, brought into the country and sold as Nigerian made products because cost of production is high

I know another person who wanted to manufacture diapers in Nigeria and the cost was high even after setting up everything, he couldn't continue now he imports it and brand it made in Nigeria

So please how many of this things that are made in Nigeria are actually made in Nigeria. Very few

1. You always end up sounding so stupid just Because you want to sound intelligent.

2. You must be very daft to come under my comment to say trash.

Keep your stupid moving honey. I see them and skip them.

3. @Just amazing.

She made some valid points.
      Rather than insult her, perhaps you could share from your abundant wealth of knowledge, so we all can learn.

I do not read anything Reuben Abati writes.
      However it's obvious the naira will move to 500 naira soon.

We are in dire need of an intervention and I'm surprised that clear cut strategies to cushion the effect have not been laid out.

It's like being in a sinking ship where no one knows what to do.

Having said that, I'm positive that things will get better eventually. I actually joined a small forum where we discuss and share tons of cost saving and cost management techniques that we utilize, saving lots of money at home and work.

While we wait for government to do its bit, look around you and search for cost saving solutions for yourself.

4. Hi Faridah,
      Can I be a part of this forum? I will like to learn these savings & cost management techniques. How do I become a member please?

5. I will hate to call you @Just amazing cos you are just more than stupid.
      Fab mum, you don't need to reply this bigot that has no particle of sense. Fool, you just condemn someone's ideas yet you don't have anything to offer. This is why Nigerians will keep suffering because you don't think. Nonsense.

6. Faridah, please share what you learn on the forum here with us. Send the article to Stella to post. Thanks luv

7. How come na only you dey know so many people that want to go into production?

12. Hahahaha!!
    This piece covers the salient points pretty well.

Poignant as always.

13. And then again when we come to education we see cases like millions of people going abroad to school

The amount of money sent out from Nigeria abroad for school fees runs into billions of dollars yearly

But would you ask this people to stop a choosing abroad?? Why should they when the schools in Nigeria are no longer up to Standard?? When someone can easily come out with first class without earning it but either slept their way thru it or bought it

These people who go abroad have better educations than those who schooled in Nigeria and most of them don't even return to work here as they have better job opportunities abroad.

The most annoying is the fact that schools in Ghana, Benin Republic are even considered better than those in Nigeria..

Go to the ministries today and more than half of the people working there are not qualified to be there... Most of them there are bunch of illiterate with fake certificates working their escorting money from the government because they feel Nigeria belongs to them

Those who really deserve this jobs are left on the street without jobs. Nigeria has a long way to go before things can be upright again. It's not about punishing some people because but punishing everyone who is messing up our country

Until then will we be great again.

For those that come to make corrections please I didn't proof read.

1. I love you for this comment. You are my Friday woman crush; exactly all I have been saying since about our educational system, it's degrading by the year and yet we are expected to have made in Nigeria scientists. I cant deal even the kind nysc sef, I pray they scrap it off coz to a big percentage itz of no use. My point of view and am entitled to it.

14. You sounded as if you were in my office when we were arguing about this same point yesterday. You are 100% right with this. I read to the end because you keep saying my mind.

I know there is something in you but you messed it all up when you decided to be a politician. Anyway, who wouldn't beat the drum of his master?

15. This comment has been removed by the author.

16. I stopped reading half way but I got his message..

Purchasing made in Nigeria goods is a beautiful approach but the government should put in place the necessary enabling environment for these to thrive in this country.. one of the major problems we have in this country is policy implementation..

Imagine the Fed govt placed restriction on 41 imported goods which one of them is tomato paste which comes into this country as a raw material and re-constituted further as our usual tomato puree and paste without putting on ground the required conditions for local production in Nigeria.

Subsequently we might be faced with the challenge of combating smuggled Tin tomatoes in Nigeria which will pose a great health challenge to the citizenry.

1. To even produce and register with CAC,trade mark and nafdac is costing up to 300,000k to meet up to their requirement,so tell me how are the govt encouraging made in Nigeria goods?

17. Well, quite thoughtful Mr Abati.

But I would like to differ(a little) about the "made in Nigeria raw materials" aspect. We have to start from somewhere sir, if aba shoes are bought at the rate at which we buy imported shoes, it won't be long before we realize we have to make the leather ourselves for maximum profit.

There are lots of loopholes to be blocked I agree sir, but we cannot sit back and keep looking at the loopholes and then end up doing nothing. Let's start from the buying, let the money from the sales be used to create a "raw material industry".

My humble submission.

1. Those aba shoes you see are more expensive than the same design brought in from China

When an aba slippers is going for 1500 and that from China is going for 800 - 1000,which would they people buy??

Of course they will go for the one of 800 because people want cheap. And we can't have anything cheap here when cost of Labour and productions is so high

This are the things he is trying to say. It's not about buying the made in Nigeria but making it possible for us to buy at a competitive price with the foreign counterpart

2. I would also say that we don't even have to approach this with a tunnel vision approach, we should produce our goods so that we can export them too, not just for Nigerians to manage and buy.
      If we have to help the Naira then dollar,pounds,etc should be able to buy from us.
      Selling our thing to ourself will do little or non.
      Fab mum is correct, when our cost of production is reduced and we can produce almost same or better quality than China then we can also think of unseating them by competing with them in the export to America, Britain, Dubai etc
      Good market sells itself, even if you hate it. You will complain but still buy it. No one is advertising for Home video, or Naija music yet the govt hasn't even considered them as a sector. Everyone is focusing on oil, now oil has fallen and we are on all fours. Quality and cost of production must be taken into place.
      Imagine what steady electricity supply will do to our industries even foreigners will come here and set up those raw material manufacturing plants, prices will fall, jobs will be created, naira will rise. It is a vicious cycle.
      We can't just sit down and be thinking that it is a matter of seconds for the president to say Naira rise and it will come to pass.
      It will take time and while it does, naira will keep falling at the moment.

18. I always like his articles but I didn't finish this.

All the same, buying made in Nigeria will atleast boost our Naira.

19. Short but insightful.
    It's so sad that we are where we are now.

1. This is 'short'? Maybe na the headline you just read. Lolllllll

20. FG should develop places like aba. Aba is like China in Nigeria but because the government have refuse to develop them for ages their production is not growing. If u buy an aba slippers and u don't sew it round it would likely cut. The government should invest in them first so that we can start buying made in aba stuff

21. Mr Reuben, we have leather in Kano and other Northern part of this country (Zoo). Why will I buy made in AbA when they are not even proud to put their names on it.
    You will see a shoe with Hugo BOSS sole and the label inside will be bearing Louis Vuitton or Salvatore ferragamo.
    The same senators that are canvassing for made in Nigerian products buy this things and dash their security guards. Innoson does not produce car here. He imports all his material and does coupling here.
    Enough of this cheap rant by this failed administration.

1. This is the best your empty brain could offer?
      You try but stick to selling pure water.

2. Can you even afford a Hugo boss 2.5ml perfume tester? Everyone talking nonsense. Even a street hawker in Nigeria wants to wear designers.
      All those Chinko nonsense translations has stopped you from buying pirated movies abi?

22. Abati is right.How many products used by americans are made in america. Many of their products are outsourced in china and india. the only exception is that d law in america requires d federal govt 2 buy clothing that is 51 percent made in america. D fact dat d product is made in 9ja isnt d issue, it mite even be made in china, but what percentage of that product is made in nigeria? Thats d question

23. Is the recent dollar increase driven by the need to discourage importation and promote indigenous goods? Is that the point? Because if that is the point, you are only frustrating the common man.

Buy Nigeria, Buy Nigeria. What exactly is the 'Nigeria' inside? The branding, the finished product or the raw materials?

A number of the things you call 'Nigeria made' are 'Nigeria semi made' or 'Nigeria branded' So even the guy producing the so called 'Nigeria made' has to import some components and he has to do that at the rate of N400: 1dollar. Infact, it is not everything we need that we have the capabilities for producing in this country.

You first start by developing the basics- the infrastructure! Cost of generating electricity alone for manufacturing is up to 60% of OPEX costs. After putting in adequate infrastructure, you should then work on our culture. We like to cut corners in this country even at the expense of people's lives. You cannot even trust the common plumber to do quality work, very few mechanics can be trusted in this country. If we don't get the culture right, if we cannot trust SON and the regulatory agencies responsible for ensuring quality, even I will not buy 'Nigeria' except it is Ankara, not to talk of the social media crooners.

When you have created the enabling environment, by all means, frustrate the 'importers of tooth picks' These things take time. They don't happen overnight. Please don't kill our economy further trying to promote Nigeria made.

1. Well said...

I'm tired of that phrase buy Nigeria to grow the naira

Very tired.

24. The Campaign for Made in Nigeria Products is HYPOCRITICAL!

I was reading this morning about the campaign for Made in Nigeria which was championed by Sen Ben Bruce, Sen President Bukola Saraki and followed by Reuben Abati..

My Take:

These men re looking for ways to earn Nigerians sympathy...
    If they re not hypocrites shouldn't they be more concerned on how to facilitate improvement,capacity building,empowerment and ensuring enabling environment.

Till today Nigeria import almost everything except BEER.
    No Electricity,No Access to Materials,No Empowerment,No Support & No Quality Control.
    When Sakari & His Family were ruling Kwara for many years what infrastructure did they put on ground..ALL I SEE IN KWARA IS A DIRTY STINKING LAND.

Before Ben Bruce was a Senator what contribution did he make to improve & strengthen MADE IN NIGERIA? Even in his Entertainment industry he couldn't do anything to fight PIRACY yet he's taking about MADE in Nigeria.

Reuben Abati when he was SA to Ex President Jonathan what was his contribution and advice to the president in support for MADE in NIGERIA?

Without a good foundation, Campaigning for Made in Nigeria products is just like creating avenue to PRODUCE FAKE & BUY FAKE

1. It's this reuben abati yes small letters, that I find most irritating. International hypocrite

2. Read everything Reuben wrote please then you would know he is not just talking about buy Nigeria

3. Did you bother to read at all?

4. Exactly, my dear. They are all coming now to talk nonsense.
      They all know the right thing to do but never did it.
      Reuben had an opportunity but spent all his time replying opposition, saraki was busy nursing senate presidency.
      They are all part of the problems in Nigeria. It is so unfortunate that we are where we are today. Unfortunately, people are calling for the head of Buhari. There is nothing he can do in the next one month, except the basic things are put in place,,, POWER, POWER, ELECTRICITY first and 50percent of things will fall in place.

25. Welcome back Reuben Abati.

This is the kind of sensible articles we know Abati for before he lost his common sense in the Jonathan government.

Well written and balanced write-up....I still haven't forgiven you for your action and roles as a GEJ mouth-piece. You were just a complete idiot at that time.

26. Patronising made in Nigeria goods is the way out. At a time nobody wants to use China product we classify it as fake but over time they have improved and even have different standard for different continent and country. They are now supper power in world of production. We can get there by building our own economy with this massive population of ours.
    GOD BLESS Nigeria.

27. Yes I agree with him , talking about the raw materials, our government should invite the company's that can produce it, give them lands and make sure they pay their taxes, and not over billing them. Then instruct them that all they will use in production most not be imported, it's should be from here but must be produced in the same quality as the one produced in there countries.

Www.wisefares.com# easy and cheap flights

28. Diversification is the answer. Government should encourage small and medium Enterprises thats wat drive d economy. Take for example the youwin program. I know of friends who have been employed by some awardee but d sad story now is that some of them are about losing their job because government has fail to release d other part of the money to d awardee in other for them to properly establish their Enterprises . this will further worsen d problem of unemployment if the government fails to#saveyouwin3.

29. Diversification is the answer. Encourage small and medium.
    Youwin3 edition alone has created about 4,500 jobs n d progress of the program is currently being threatened because government is yet to fully strengthen these businesses financially. Jobs will be lost, unemployment Increased time n money wasted if government fail to #saveyouwin3

30. Diversification is the answer. Government should encourage small and medium Enterprises thats wat drive d economy. Take for example the youwin program. I know of friends who have been employed by some awardee but d sad story now is that some of them are about losing their job because government has fail to release d other part of the money to d awardee in other for them to properly establish their Enterprises . this will further worsen d problem of unemployment if the government fails to#saveyouwin3.

31. I got bored hearing/reading stories biko.

32. Same with me ooo @mother nature.